Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Suspicious Minds # 2

Kregel Publications Suspicious Minds # 2

Elvis has definitely not left the building! That's what crime-scene cleaner Gabby St. Clair discovers when she does mold remediation at a dilapidated old house. To her surprise, she finds the dead "King" in a crawlspace---still wearing his blue suede shoes. There's no way she can keep her nose out of a case like this! 240 pages, softcover from Kregel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Suspicious Minds # 2
Review 1 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Have you ever read a book that was so funny you wanted to read it out loud to your friends? Have you ever found a book with such original inner dialog and snappy attitude that you think, "Wish I'd thought of that." Ever have a story that is so intricately put together that everything is important and every detail is necessary? No words wasted? Well, if you haven't discovered a treasure like that yet, then I suggest you go to the store and order this book now. Suspicious Minds is brilliant, funny, intense, witty, romantic and downright awesome. I totally loved this book even more than Hazardous Duty, and that's saying a lot because I thought it was the best! And ironically in the midst of all the other stuff going on in Suspicious Minds , there is also a deep spiritual thread that is meaningful, and a kiss or two that would make even the stodgiest reader swoon. Did I mention I loved this story? I don't want to spoil things by giving away important details, so just trust me on this one. It's like a comedy-suspense-mystery and definitely worth buying. Christy Barritt has created a whole new genre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
R Webber
Love the crime-scene cleaner job - so unique. Interesting characters. Plot kept me guessing. Entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Let me get it out of the way first. I LOVED that this book is set in my hometown. I enjoyed recognizing all the places and being able to say "I've been there!" It's also great to see a book set there and not have made up places by authors who use creative license. Now I actually love the story itself. The mystery is extremely good and it keeps you guessing throughout the story. I wanted to gag myself when Gabby found the bodies. It made me feel all icky and gross like I had actually been there myself. The description of the finds are not graphic but they make you feel like you're actually there. I really like the chemistry between Gabby and Chad. There was much more zing between them than her and her boyfriend. I'm not a huge Elvis fan (I like young Elvis, that's it) but I found it both funny and sad to see what a huge following he still has. It's actually sad to see how some people are still obsessed with a man that's been dead (yes he is!) for over 30 years. It's like they're still worshiping him. I did love the scene at the seafood restaurant . It was hilarious although I would have been mad if I had been tricked like that all for the sake of a protest. It was a great way to add humor through a grim storyline. I really enjoy these books - not only are they are fun read but I've actually learned a lot about crime scene cleaning. I really can't wait to see what Gabby's next adventure is going to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
I loved Suspicious Minds. Funny, fast paced, I just love Gabby and her quirky friends and her way of being brave, no matter how much trouble it gets her into. Very fun book. I can't wait to hear more from Christy Barritt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
It takes skill to write a story filled with humor, suspense, romance, and creativity. Christy Barritt has done it in once again in book two of the Squeaky Clean Mystery Series. If you loved Gabby St. Claire and all the trouble she got into in Hazardous Duty you won't be surprised to find her in the middle of it in Suspicious Minds. And, if you haven't read book one, go ahead and buy them both, you'll be glad you did.Gabby St. Claire, crime scene cleaner by trade, detective by circumstance, finds herself in the middle of a double murder investigation and the target of the killer. How can she get into such a predicament? For Gabby, it is easy. She goes to a potential job site to look into cleaning mold from a crawl space and discovers the body of an Elvis impersonator. When the dead man's wife asks her to investigate the murder Gabby can't say no. Her next visit to the crawl space uncovers another body and gun shots fired at her. Can this sleuth wannabe solve the crime without being killed herself? And can she learn to listen to her heart and search the lonely places there to find faith and deep relationships?Christy Barritt's cast of characters are creative and endearing. You will be eager to find out what happens to each of them. I highly recommend this book and its predecessor. Then, look for book three when we find out how Gabby's future predicaments and relationships turn out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
Rarely are sequels as entertaining or as well written as their predecessors. In this case, Christy Barritt not only manages to match the appeal found in Hazardous Duty, but has actually exceeded the fun. This time Gabby St. Claire, crime-scene cleaner finds herself scrubbing up another mystifying scene when she literally stumbles upon a dead Elvis impersonator. The laughs never stop coming. Yet, we feel for Gabbys struggles as she sorts out her personal life and begins the road to a spiritual journey and self discovery. And what of her would-be competitor, Chad Davis? As annoying as he is handsome, could they possibly team up without conflict? Even he comes under suspicion as Gabby pieces together the myriad of clues leading to a double murder. Adding the threats against her own life. In characteristic lovable humor, Christy Barritt has woven a delightful tale that can be enjoyed by any age and gender.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denice Stewart
Gabby St. Claire has done it again. As a crime scene cleaner and ameteur sleuth, she finds a dead body in a crawl space, and the mystery begins: Who killed Elvis? Gabby cannot keep her nosy little self from interferring, er. . . investigating this unusual crime. With snappy dialogue, fascinating characters, and fast-paced fun, "Suspicious Minds" was a book I couldn't put down until the final page. A must read if you enjoy mystery and humor!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
In Suspicious Minds crime scene cleaner Gabby St. Clair is back, larger than life and up to her cleaning eyeballs in another murder. Not only do we get to see the quirky yet lovable Gabby again, but the cast of oddball neighbors hold starring roles in the book as well. Add a new love interest in the form of surfer dude, Chad Davis and youve got a zany mystery that no one could resist. I certainly couldnt. I zipped through the fun murder mystery in a night and sat forlornly waiting for another. What? Murder fun? If you think murder cant be a hoot, Barritt proves you wrong when Gabby branches out from crime scene cleaning to crawl space mold remediation. But the moldiest thing she discovers in the disgusting spider infested space is the body of Elvis. Yes, Elvis. A tribute artist, that is. Gabby, the wannabe forensic investigator and soon to be one if she finishes college, cant help but investigate the murder. And if that isnt enough to keep her busy, one Chad Davis surfer and retired morgue attendant turned crime scene cleaner gives Gabby a run for her cleaning business.Suspicious Minds is the second book in The Squeaky Clean Mystery series from Christy Barritt. Barritt has penned a terrific second novel that combines a strong mystery, boat loads of humor, and romance. Gabby is a loveable, witty, and caring character. But Barritt doesnt leave us merely with a fun read, she brings non-Christian (Gabby is gonna get me for this) closer to faith and along the way shows believers how they might be misconstrued by seekers. And theres a more serious thread about loneliness running through the book as well. Please run, dont walk to your nearest book store and pick up Suspicious Minds and if you havent read Hazardous Duty, the first in the series, snatch up one of those as well. Youll race right through them and like me, sit in longing for the third book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kay Day
This book has everything: murder, blood, guts, romance, a dead Elvis and a live one, a surfer, an animal rights advocate, and too many good looking men for one girl to deal with...This mystery is wacky and loads of fun, but at the same time some really important issues are addressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anita Reaves
I like quirky characters. And most of those quirky characters are detectives of some sort like Monk and Psych.The heroine in Suspicious Minds is a student of forensic science. To earn money she opens a crime scene cleaning business which I think is an extremely interesting job. One that I would not like to do. She is hurled into another investigation when she discovers an Elvis Impersonator (make that tribute artist) under a job site she was inspecting.This book is a cross between CSI and Monk/Psych. If you love those shows youll love Suspicious Minds. Christy Barritt writes with humor and wit and manages to keep me turning the pages. And I love the romance that keeps you wondering, will she end up with her handsome neighbor?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
A.K. Arenz, Case of the Bouncing Grandma
Elvis has left the building . . . permanently.When crime scene cleaner Gabby St. Claire takes on the challenge of mold removal from a home, she doesn't count on encountering a dead Elvis in the tiny crawl space beneath the house. And with Gabby, discovering a dead body isn't the end but the beginning of an investigation that will have you laughing and guessing through the last page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenness
This book is as fun as the first in the series. Plot twists and quirky characters make this a great read. Can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
adoptive mommy
If you like Susan May Warren or Dee Henderson you will love this author. She writes about a crime scene cleaner who wants to be an investigator in a way that is intriguing without grossing out the reader on all the details. It has lots of mystery and suspense, with an underlying Christian theme. You will fall in love with the main character Gabby as you follow her story through twists and turns. Don't forget to also check out the first book about Gabby, Hazardous Duty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Suspicious Minds # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Sprout
This is one of the most entertaining books I've read in a long time. It's full of quirky characters, starting with the heroine who runs her own crime scene cleaning business. When she is asked to give a quote on a mold remediation job, her discovery of a body leads to one surprise after another. The story will keep you turning pages till the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.