Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna

WaterBrook Press The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna

Meet the women who played pivotal roles in Christ's birth! Elizabeth is barren, yet trusts God's promise. Mary is a virgin, but says yes when God asks her to bear his Son. And prophetess Anna proclaims the Messiah's arrival. Unpacking each verse from the Gospel of Luke, Higgs illuminates their love, faithfulness, and obedience to God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Review 1 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful & Intriguing

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
menkens
Location:Wilmington, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
As with other Liz Curtis Higgs books, this one I found to be very interesting and lots of "food for thought" ... page 19 "He chose her -- an older woman with an unproven womb -- in order to display his power, his might, his authority. And he blessed her to honor her faithfulness. The truth is, God's strength is fully revealed when our strength is fully depleted." Just one of many thoughtout the story of Elizabeth, Mary & Anna!
I am hoping to do as a small group study later on this year because I would definitely enjoy the thoughts of others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aunt Lee
Location:Irving, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love all Liz Curtis Huggs books. She has great insight into God's word and brings to live with humor and everyday understanding.
This is an excellent book I would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful! Thank you Liz Curtis Higgs!

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
deandeib
Location:Boothwyn, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave copies to both my Wife and 14yr old Daughter for Christmas. They both LOVE the books and spend time discussing sections after they've read them. I know the book will have a lasting impact on each of them and they will have a richer understanding and much greater appreciation for God's servants Elizabeth, Mary and Anna for all their Christmas's to come! And yes, also for The Baby In The Manger who made it all possible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful meditations for the soul

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debby
Location:Crestwood, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz Curtis Higgs has such a unique and refreshing understanding of biblical characters and allows her readers to experience a deeper and very special perspective of the emotions they must have felt, emotions that we also experience. This book was given as gift to the special women in my life, sisters, friends, and co-workers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ordered from Christian Book Distributers and have never been disappointed. Wasn't this time either. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great little book!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Penny Godwin
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book after seeing Liz talk about it on her video with Ann Voskamp. I loved the book so much, I bought it for all the women in my small group. One of those women then bought it for all the women in her groups! This is the perfect devotional reading to get your heart ready for Christmas. I will now read this every year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a bookclub discussion

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:Chelan, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I invited friends to join me in reading and discussing the book for Advent. We met at the beginning of the season. The discussion questions led us to real sharing about the way we approach the Christmas season and how we could keep Jesus as the center. We loved the way Liz brought these women to life. She gave us much to consider. I think that each of us could relate better to the reality of their lives after reading this book. Thank you, Liz!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book we used for Bible study

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maxine Smith-dawson
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved the book. We used if for our women's Bible study it was a great resource and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to enter the Christmas Season

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sheila Knox
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be very enjoyable and encouraging. I like Liz's style of writing and how she brings history and fact while pertaining it to our every day lives.
This is a great book for personal study during the Advent season or if you want a good read during Christmas.
Liz focuses on the 3 women, Elizabeth, Mary and Anna but also their male counterparts: Zacharias, Joseph and Simeon. When you think you have the Christmas story down pat, read this book and you'll realize how much more there is to know about the Christmas story.
Definitely a book to enjoy every Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!!

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Liz Curtis Higgs has a way of making you feel part of the story of these wonderful women of Christmas. You learn about their obedience and love for God in a whole new way. It's inspiring and gives hope for ordinary girls today that we also can be used by God if we step out in faith and trusting His plan for us. I bought several of these for friends also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Gift!

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
joyfulchallenge
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a wonderful book. Liz has a way of capturing you, grabbing you by the hand excitedly, and taking you on a journey long ago and far away. But she makes those stories of old, fresh and new, so real, and shows how the God in those times is the same today.
I've loved this book. So many wonderful gems within. Stories I thought I knew brought to a new perspective. A book I would read again and again each Christmas. ...or at any time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth reading any time of year!

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Lewis Koster
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've done much better at keeping Jesus in focus this year, and "The Women of Christmas" by Liz Curtis Higgs has had a lot to do with that.
If you've ever been blessed to hear Liz speak, you know she has a verse-by-verse teaching style. This is exactly how the book is set up, going through the birth narratives in Luke 1-2 and Matthew 1-2 verse by verse. I find this method helps to slow me down and really ponder what Scripture is teaching.
The book starts by focusing first on Elizabeth, mother of John the Baptist, then Mary, mother of Jesus, and finally the prophetess Anna. The details Liz provides give new insight to what for many is a familiar story. For instance, Elizabeth's husband was unable to hear or speak throughout the duration of her pregnancy, and she kept herself in seclusion for five months (Luke 1:24). Imagine how happy she was to receive Mary into her home and have someone to talk to! And think of what a blessing for Mary to hear Elizabeth declare she was carrying the Messiah (Luke 1:43) when she may not have been sure herself if she was pregnant yet. I can imagine Mary traveling to Elizabeth and going over and over in her mind what she could possibly say to Elizabeth to explain what God was doing in her life. What a gift for Mary to hear Elizabeth's declaration? And who could understand Mary better than Elizabeth, and vice versa?
"The Women of Christmas" consists of 8 easy to read chapters (the first chapter took me 12 minutes to read) and has a study guide with discussion questions at the back of the book, making this great for groups as well as individuals. This book is well worth the read regardless of the season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read anytime of the season!

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Christmas upon us, what a better time to post this review. I'm going to be technical first; it's a really quick read (though I spread it out and used it as a devotional this month). As usual, Liz writing style is amazing and makes for a wonderful read.
Every Christmas I read the story of Christ's birth. And even though I've read those versus numerous times, and from different bibles, I've learned so much from this book, and it has really opened my eyes and made me appreciate these women even more. So many times I caught myself amazed at something I overlooked in these stories..I really enjoyed how she uses different translations of a verse to get the point across.
This book isn't just about the women, Liz also talks about their husbands, Elizabeth's husband questioned God. Mary's betrothed worried. But despite it all, they remained faithful to God.
These women are brought alive in the book! Each chapter opens with a Christmas carol and those set the theme for the chapter...And scattered through each chapter are encouraging and enlightening quotes from women from Liz's online bible study.
Liz really out did herself with this book.
Truly a beautiful read, I recommend everyone read this!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this book review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Women of Christmas

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Bullock
Location:Boston
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful book to prepare for Christmas and Share with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Encouraging Christmas Read

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrspriceisright
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like all of Liz Curtis Higgs' writing, The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna is easy to read and yet informative and thought provoking. Don't forget encouraging. Her focus on the women of the Nativity really helped encourage the reader to review in detail the miraculous steps God took to bring His Son into the world.
Higgs' also encourages women through this book. She shows how God used these women in mighty ways. He's not the misogynist that some try to make Him out to be. Just within the birth of his son he used a married woman, a single girl, and a widow. She does not leave out the men God used like Zachariah and Joseph, but her purpose is to teach ladies about how God used woman in the incarnation, and in my opinion, she succeeds.
I enjoyed how she used different translations throughout the book to clarify the Bible text and meaning. She also uses quotes from other women who apparently have done this study with her. In fact, there is a study guide in the back of the book which would be great to do with a group of ladies or even individually. I also looked at the bibliography and found the resources she used very reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good short Bible study book.

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
anny69
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Bible study group is doing this book for a short Advent/Christmas Bible study. It is able to be done in a month - one meeting per week, and we loved reading and discussing it this time of year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well dome

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
crystyna
Location:Pflugerville, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. It is a great way to gain knowledge of other women of the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful Celebration of Christmas

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz Curtis Higgs is blessed with the gift of sharing testimony in a powerful and meaningful way. I wept my way through this book from sheer joy as I became even more aware of my Savior's love and acceptance. She takes a well-known story and makes it seem new. And not only that, she personalizes it by bringing events right into her readers' lives. Yes this happened centuries ago but women share a sisterhood with Elizabeth, Mary and Anna that transcends time. A powerful affirmation that the sacred event of two thousand years ago is still relevant today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Women of Christmas by Liz Curtis Higgs is a wonderful book for the Christmas season or for any time of the year. The book covers the lives of Mary, Elizabeth, and Anna in the months before the birth of Jesus and a few weeks after His birth. Each woman is presented through Bible scriptures and the narrative of the author. Mary is newly betrothed but she is pregnant, Elizabeth is old and barren but she also becomes pregnant, and Anna is old, widowed, and lives in the Temple waiting for the arrival of the Messiah. Of course the story also includes Joseph a carpenter who is betrothed to Mary, Zechariah a priest who is the husband of Elizabeth, and Simeon also a priest and living each day waiting to see the promised Messiah. The one thing that all three women have in common is that their hearts belong to God. And Mary and Elizabeth are blessed to have husbands that love and obey God.
Liz Higgs does an excellent job in presenting the story of these three women and showing the involvement in and contribution of each of them in the Christmas story. The style of the writing made for easy reading and enjoyment. Liz wrote a paragraph or two to introduce each woman and then a verse of scripture was given and Liz would then give her interpretation of that verse, another verse was given, Liz would interpret, and this style of writing was continued throughout the entire book.. This form was also used for the three men in the story. This style of writing made the Christmas story so easy to understand and brought new thoughts to mind even though I have been hearing and reading the Christmas story for decades. A study guide is presented at the end for individual or small group study. This is a small book but it packs a big punch.
I definitely recommend this book to all who would like to know more about Mary, Elizabeth, and Anna and their participation in the Christmas story.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Preparation for Christmas

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I've read the verses over and over through my life - there's really nothing earth-shatteringly new about what's presented..and yet... Somehow Liz made the verses and thoughts new and inspirational, as she took us through a phrase at a time. The included insights and thoughts from others were an added blessing. I think this beautiful little book would be an excellent addition to your bookshelf as you walk through the days of Advent, and let your heart reflect on what it was like for these women, over 2000 years ago. Three women, three stages of life...something for each of us women to relate to. And what does the Lord require of me? Should my faith be any less than theirs?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>