Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Wedding for Julia, A - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Wedding for Julia, A - eBook

Julia Beechy is so stunned, she can hardly breathe. Her mother's announcement that she must either marry or move from the family home upon her mother's imminent death catches Julia by surprise. How can she leave the only home she has ever known? What about her dream of opening her own Plain cafi?

When Caleb Zook offers support, comfort, and a solution, Julia is afraid to accept it. Can she marry someone she barely knows? Is it the right thing to do? Is this God's plan for her future?

Average Customer Rating:
4.974 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Review 1 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love comes late in Pebble Creek

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magister
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is so much to like about this book - "old" characters that I have already grown to love, and new ones that I have so much in common with, all set in the gentle world of Pebble Creek. Julia is a 37 year old spinster still living at home with her recently widowed mother, Ada. Like me, she loves to cook and is chronically tidy - and she worries about her shrinking mother who struggles with signs of dementia. She has a dream of opening a cafe...and her mother has a dream of seeing her married! Quiet Caleb Zook makes both of these wishes come true with about 200 pages left to go. What else does Vannetta Chapman have in store for us? The old homestead becomes more than the site of a successful cafe. The Zooks take in a struggling teen-aged relative, and Ada's gifts of prayer and compassion reach another generation. Then a hundred-year storm threatens to undo all the hard work and happiness they have achieved - or will it? With characteristic plot twists and true-to-life emotions, Chapman makes me glad once again to visit Pebble Creek.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wedding For Julia

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunnie
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
t has actually been a little while since I read A Wedding for Julia, but now I am trying to recall things and reading a bit of it again so that I hopefully remember things correctly. I do remember that I really enjoyed this book and that is why I wanted to write about it on my blog.
This book is part of a series of Amish books but was actually the first book of the series that I read. I think that I might need to take some time to read books 1 and 2 because this one was so enjoyable to read.
The main character is Julia Beechy. Her mother, Ada, tells her that she has to marry or move from the family home when she passes. Her mother Ada insists that the house be sold and that Julia moves back to Pennsylvania where relatives are still living. But Julia has lived in Pebble Creek her whole life and had hoped to realize a dream of opening a cafe. Because of her mother’s failing health, Julia is very concerned as to what direction her future will lead her. This causes lots of stress and worry for Julia. She is not sure how she will go about changing this situation that her mother unexpectedly caused.
Caleb Zook, who, like Julia, is also getting older than the expected marriage age of the Amish, suggests that they marry in order to help Julia out of this predicament. But Julia is unsure whether she could marry someone she doesn’t love even though Caleb is a helpful man, and a very hard worker. As they get to know one another, perhaps some feelings are being kindled that surprise both of them.
A horrible tornado comes to Pebble Creek like has not been seen in this area of Wisconsin in more than one hundred years. The Amish people must now do what Amish people seem to do very well and that is to help their friends and neighbors and pray that all survive the terrible destruction.
The characters, Caleb and Julia seem to mesh together well as they work together after the storm. The community comes together when the need is there, also. As I read this book, I couldn’t put it down. I am also grateful to authors such as Vannetta Chapmann who write books of a Christian nature that have good moral values, as well as guidelines for each of us on working together and building strong family relationships. An excellent book! I just loved it! It's a wonderful story and well worth reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wedding For Julia by Vannetta Chapman

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wedding for Julie: The Pebble Creek Amish Series by Vannetta Chapman*****
Julia Beechy lives at home with her mamm (mother), Ada, who suffers from arthritis and what appears to be early Alzheimer's. Julia loves to cook and bake and it has been a longtime dream of hers to open a cafe in her childhood home in Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. However, she is not sure how to approach her mamm with the idea or even if she would agree with Julia's plan. But before she can talk to her about turning their home into a cafe, Ada shocks Julia with news about what will become of their home once Ada is gone too. What will become of Julia's dream? What does God have in store for her?
As Caleb Zook drives his horse and buggy delivering groceries to his Amish community, his mind wonders as he longs for a friend and hopefully one day to find a wife. As he nears the Beechy home he prays earnestly for a friend. As he learns of Julia's shocking news, he tries to comfort her as best he can. Can they together come up with a solution that will satisfy Ada? God answers Caleb's prayer in an unexpected way. Will he recognize God's answer?
As Caleb and Julia struggle to come to some kind of decision that could very well alter their lives in ways they can not foresee, one of the worse storms in years hits Pebble Creek. Can they pick up the pieces of the destruction the storm has left behind? Is there hope for Julia, for Caleb?
I like the way Vannetta Chapman develops her characters in real-to-life struggles we each can identify with. There is much to glean from her stories, stories of hope, life-challenges we all face, friends and family as well as community that comes together when tragedy strikes and lends a helping hand. Woven through these struggles is hope, love, faith and God's love.
~~I received a copy of this book from the author for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Beechy's life is completely uprooted when she receives the news that she must either marry or move out of the family home. Not only is she about to loose her mother, she will also loose the home she's lived in all her life. Her dream of opening her own cafe is slipping away like so much sand on a beach, and she is powerless to stop the frightening changes that will be taking place in her life.
Caleb Zook thinks it is much too late in his life to marry, but he is compelled to offer his protection to Julia through a marriage proposal. The only hitch is that they barely know one another, and a marriage to Caleb simply for the sake of getting married seems more daunting that anything else Julia has ever faced. With a storm threatening Pebble Creek, Wisconsin, and so many things up in the air, will Caleb and Julia have a chance to make a go of a relationship despite everything happening in their lives?
The thing I liked the best about this story was the strong sense of community and family represented by the Pebble Creek characters. There were people from the previous two books whose stories were expounded upon and revisited, but in no way overshadowed the plot. Julia and Caleb's relationship throughout the book was very sweet and when they finally had their first spat I couldn't help but love them even more. Chapman conveys emotions well to the reader through her characters, and arrested my attention with not only her writing style, but her excellent portrayal of human relationships.
This book was provided by Harvest House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has everything in it.

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
GINNNNIE
Location:Cambridge,MN.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wedding For Julia is a great reading novel with suspense,caring,and faith. I recommend it very highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Amish Novel

Date:November 24, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman writes excellent Amish novels. Julia Beechy, approaching the age of forty, lives with her mother in the house Julia has lived all her life. After her mother’s death Julia will not be allowed to stay in the home alone, dashing her hope of having a café in the house. Though a quiet man, Caleb Zook asks Lydia why she is sad. Lydia pours out her heart about the café to Caleb although she does not know him well. Caleb is forty years old and never married. Their friendship grows and Caleb wants to do something so Julia won't have to move. Vannetta Chapman gives the reader real characters and situations that challenge their strength.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 3 In This Series

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book three in this series called Pebble Creek Amish. The other two books are A Promise for Miriam and A Home for Lydia. You do not have to read the other books in the series to enjoy this one but I would recommend doing so. This book follows Julia and Caleb as they come together during a difficult time. Will she accept his help and will he be glad he offered? The town and its people play an important part in this book and help make the story more enjoyable. I liked the characters and thought the writer did very well at making them interesting people. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Christian Amish Fiction.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Beechy's life is completely uprooted when she receives the news that she must either marry or move out of the family home. Not only is she about to loose her mother, she will also loose the home she's lived in all her life. Her dream of opening her own cafe is slipping away like so much sand on a beach, and she is powerless to stop the frightening changes that will be taking place in her life.
Caleb Zook thinks it is much too late in his life to marry, but he is compelled to offer his protection to Julia through a marriage proposal. The only hitch is that they barely know one another, and a marriage to Caleb simply for the sake of getting married seems more daunting that anything else Julia has ever faced. With a storm threatening Pebble Creek, Wisconsin, and so many things up in the air, will Caleb and Julia have a chance to make a go of a relationship despite everything happening in their lives?
The thing I liked the best about this story was the strong sense of community and family represented by the Pebble Creek characters. There were people from the previous two books whose stories were expounded upon and revisited, but in no way overshadowed the plot. Julia and Caleb's relationship throughout the book was very sweet and when they finally had their first spat I couldn't help but love them even more. Chapman conveys emotions well to the reader through her characters, and arrested my attention with not only her writing style, but her excellent portrayal of human relationships.
This book was provided by Harvest House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4.5 Stars
Julia has been taking care of her parents for years and dreams of someday opening her own café as she loves to cook. Her father has passed away and her mother is not doing so well. Just when she thinks about telling her mom about her idea she is blindsided with news that if she is not married by the time her mother dies she will have to move out of her family home and move in with family she does not even know. As she struggles to accept what God and her parents have planned for her she better gets to know Caleb who is a single Amish man who has no plans to marry.
As Caleb gets to know Julia he finds himself drawn to her and the idea of marriage does not seem like such a bad idea. With Julia's dreams of opening a café once again possible will a storm so bad it's labeled the 100 year storm ruin everything including the chance that both Caleb and Julia can find love?
This is book three in the Pebble Creek series and I enjoyed it alot.
What I liked: This book keeps your attention from the first page and keeps you hooked until the end. I really liked Julia and Caleb. Both felt they were alone and figured marriage was never going to happen but they find that love is not bound by age. I also liked how the characters from book one and two are in this book enough that I felt I got a update on them without it overshadowing the story. I also enjoyed that fact that there was two climaxes. One was between Julia and Caleb and the other had to do with the storm. Made the book hard to put down and interesting until the end.
What I did not like: The only thing that kind of bothered me with this book was the relationship between Julia and Caleb. It was a quick wedding and I just did not feel the relationship got to develop before we switched to worrying about the storm. I also felt there was some unanswered questions at the end that made it not feel as complete as I expected.
Over all I really liked this book. It was well written and had a strong plot. It can be read as a stand alone but I suggest going back and reading the first two books. It will help you have a better understanding. A must read in the Amish fiction genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thought-provoking

Date:August 6, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another sweet Amish romance by Vannetta Chapman. A Wedding for Julia is not only heart-warming, but thought-provoking.
Thankfully, I don't always get a revelation from reading a book, but I did with this one.
We all make choices. Sometimes they don't turn out quite like we'd hoped, and at other times it turns out better than we could ever have imagined. Such is life. What we do about the results of our decisions defines us and makes us who we are. You choose to be better or bitter.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of a review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book makes one feel you are actually there

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gloria Schilling
Location:Wadsworth, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the beginning of the book, I really felt sorry for Julia. I felt her parents decision for her life was cruel. Then, Caleb Zook became part of her life and Julia's dream became a reality. Reading of the tornado was so real and I felt I was actually there. It seems there HAS to be a book 4!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Marriage Of Convenience and Romance

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman in her new book, "A Wedding For Julia" Book Three in The Pebble Creek Amish series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the lives of Julia Beechy and Caleb Zook.
From the Back Cover: Just as hope runs out the door, Love softly peeks in.
Julia Beechy is so stunned, she can hardly breathe. Her mother's announcement that she must either marry or move from the family home upon her mother's imminent death catches Julia completely by surprise. How can she leave the only home she has ever known? What about her dream of opening her own Plain cafe?
Quiet Caleb Zook thought his time for marrying was long past, but he feels a stirring in his heart he cannot shake for this beautiful, forlorn woman. When he offers support, comfort, and a solution, Julia is afraid to accept it. Can she marry someone she barely knows? Is it the right thing to do? Is this God's plan for her future? For his?
As Julia and Caleb work through the consequences of their life-altering decision, the people of Pebble Creek weather the worst storm to hit Wisconsin in the last hundred years. Where will Julia and Caleb be on the other side of it?
This is the third and last book in this series, which I am sorry to see come to an end, and this time the focus is Julia Beechy. You can read this volume as a stand alone with no problem but it is a lot more fun when you know the character's growth from the first two books. If Julia wants to keep the family home and open her cafe then she will need to be married before her mother dies or she loses everything. Marriage to Caleb would be a marriage of convenience. At least it starts out that way. Over the course of the story they warm up to each other and begin to fall in love. However there are some speed bumps in their way that just might stop this relationship. "A Wedding For Julia" is an inspiring romance. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next series from this talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Harvest House Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Amish story with real-life struggles

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wedding for Julia completes the Pebble Creek Amish trilogy by Vannetta Chapman, but I wish it weren’t ending. The story line could definitely continue. This novel picks up the story of the Wisconsin Amish community following A Home for Lydia (book two) and A Promise for Miriam (book one). They are best read in order since past protagonists’ stories are intertwined, but if you haven’t read the others you will still enjoy this touching tale. And you’ll find yummy recipes in the back.
Julia Beechy, age 37, has lost her father and her elderly mother’s health is failing, along with her mind, it seems. Julia has devoted her life to caring for her parents, but dreams of opening her own restaurant in their spacious home. When she learns of her parents’ decision regarding her future, her dream appears crushed and her life uncertain.
Forty-year-old Caleb Zook has followed his cousin from Indiana and works among the Plain folk. He longs for a friend and believes God has answered his prayer in Julia, but could the Lord have even more in mind? Something that would meet both their needs? This sweet story tugs at the heart strings.
A second plot line involves Caleb’s teen cousin, Sharon, who finds herself in trouble at home. Her parents decide a change would be in her best interest and send her to Pebble Creek to help and be helped there. Who would have thought the ailing Ada Beechy could minister to this hurting girl?
Relationships are the focus of this book, but extreme weather also complicates their lives. I love a story that makes me ponder life and how to grow as a person. Thanks, Vannetta, for another fine novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully sweet love story.

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Beechy has given up on the idea of love and marriage, but she hasn’t given up on her plan to open a café in the home she has grown up in. She soon learns that her plans are in vain when her mother informs her that she will not be inheriting the family’s home upon her mother’s passing, and will instead be sent away to family in a different state since she is a single woman. Caleb Zook is new to the area and recently turned forty. He is realizing that he is lonely. When he learns of Julia’s predicament, an idea begins to form. Could their friendship be a good foundation for marriage?
I have enjoyed all three of Vannetta Chapman’s books in the Pebble Creek Series. I have to say that I absolutely fell in love with the characters of Julia and Caleb in A Wedding for Julia. They are two truly nice people who are willing to give their all in this new marriage. I really enjoyed reading about their developing relationship and how they became a family, along with Ada, who is Julia’s mother and Sharon, who is Caleb’s niece.
This is a wonderfully romantic story of how true love does not always begin the way we expect it to and how amazingly good things can come to those who wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courage is fear that has said it's prayers....

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previously in books one and two, Vannetta Chapman inserted us into the lives of Pebble Creek residents and newcomers. We met Lydia and Miriam and now the community story is rounded out with the story of Julia. Each of these ladies has obstacles to overcome in their daily life. We know that life in the Amish community is plain, not easy, not luxurious, not complete with conveniences we deem necessary to life. But these three ladies each has unique lives and must meet their struggles square on.
Julia is the daughter of Ada and they have just lost the father and husband. Now Ada has informed Julia that Julia's dream of opening a restaurant or cafe in their family home is not to be because Ada and Julia's father have determined that since Julia is unmarried she can not live alone so the house must be sold and she must move to another Amish community - unless she marries.
Julia's story rapidly progresses through the phases of unbelief, horror, inspiration, solution, and marriage. Through all of this, sweet Ada's failing mental capacities are worrisome but her ability to quote the Psalms and inspire those around her with these and other wise sayings is phenomenal.
"Courage is fear that has said it's prayers." page 129
When Sharon, a troubled teen from another Amish community, comes to live with them, her troubled spirit is comforted by Ada's quoting Psalms and stroking her head as she brings relief from fear. (page 158)
I found encouragement in things to ponder (page 257)...... perhaps you will, too. Put a name in the blank/s and apply to yourself.
______ and _____ love me.
_____ is a gift from God.
_____ and _____ are a joy.
_____ makes me smile.
_____ is special.
and then affirm..... God has taken care of me.
The Pebble Creek Series is worth reading. For your pleasure and for your encouragement. True it is a work of fiction. But sometimes fiction can bring forth truths that make real life more liveable.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of A Wedding for Julia in exchange for my honest review. No compensation was received for writing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wishing It Wouldn't End

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those book that you wish would go on forever. It is the third one in the series, and yes it can stand alone, but don't deprive yourself.
Trying to put myself in Julia's place. How would I feel soon after my Dad dies, my Mom is ill, and I learn that the home I have always lived in will be sold. Yes, when her Mom passes, she will be homeless. Not really, provisions have been made for her to move elsewhere. All because she is unmarried at 38. Huh??
What a start of a sweet, almost like a mail order bride, when word gets out, but not quite. This is Amish style. This story becomes a sweet love story, also a home for a wayward teen, and a warm heart feelings for an older woman, Ada.
You are going to journey through some great Amish cooking, helping ones neighbors, and surviving life storms, literally! Don't miss this great read that will leave you wanting more!!
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Series Conclusion

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The good news -- A Wedding for Julia is an awesome conclusion to Vannetta Chapman's Pebble Creek Amish Series. The bad news -- A Wedding for Julia concludes the series.
As in the other Pebble Creek Amish books, Vannetta's characters make the story come to life. Julia and Caleb each have their own problems and questions about their future but come together in such a special way. Sharon is a young lady with a tough exterior that covers a deep need for understanding and love. And how could you not love Ada with her keen insights and a Psalm ready for every occasion. It was fun to have visits from Miriam, Lydia, and other "old friends" from the first two books in the series.
One of my favorite lines in the book was in the letter Julia received from her new mother-in-law: "Remember, Julia, courage is fear that has said its prayers." That statement seems to sum up so much of what Julia and her family and friends learned as they worked through their fears, hopes, and dreams -- and it also serves as a challenge to anyone reading the story.
I highly recommend A Wedding for Julia to all fans of great Amish fiction. It is a great story on its own, but it is even better as a follow-up to A Promise for Miriam and A Home for Lydia. I am anxious to see what Vannetta has to share next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adversity, Hope, and Humor, LOVED it!!

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On the back cover: Just As Hope Runs out the Door, Love Softly Peeks In
My Comments
What a precious book! A Wedding for Julia is the third book in this series, which is proof that the number 3 is a great number and that Chapman saved the very best for last (can’t you tell already that I loved this read). Its been 6 months since Julia’s father passed away when her mom, Ada, reveals the news that she must marry or move away to live with distant relatives. Julia is horrified and devastated at this news, she has been devoted to her parents for most of her life and has no desire to move away but she has no idea what choice she has.
Enter Caleb…..he has lived in the area for one year, is a hard worker, and has been praying for a companion because he has too much freedom and it has become lonesome for him. Then he has a simple encounter with Julia where he learns of her dilemma and everything seems to fall in place after that.
There is nothing rushed, unrealistic or shocking about this story. Caleb has his flaws, but he doesn’t treat Julia with sympathy or criticism regarding her situation. In fact, he immediately grows attached to Ada and fits right into the harmonious picture they have as a family. I was also deeply touched to see the characters from the previous two books jump right in to help Julia plan her wedding like it’s the most natural thing to do without overstepping their limits or pressuring the bride to be.
Julia has no misunderstanding about the commitment she’s entering into and she doesn’t do so lightly. She seeks God with her whole heart as does Caleb. They communicate every concern to one another with respect and Caleb proves himself even before the vows have been taken. I admired his patience and his heart regarding Julia’s doubts and wants her to be comfortable with him in every area. He is a true leader, gentleman, and God fearing man that comes through for Julia, understands her, and supports her. I understood so much of what Julia experiences, although I didn’t relate to the cooking part of her character, and I was pleased with her maturity and faith throughout the book.
My two favorite parts of the book are Ada and the Elliott family neighbors. Ada is aging quickly in the story, but has rock solid faith and understanding at all times. She brings more peace, safety, and support than I ever thought possible. The Elliott family are Englischers who have moved from Chicago to find a simpler lifestyle and they end up being Julia and Caleb’s neighbors. Their two daughters, elder son, and adorable dog enhance the story perfectly. They also bring healing and restoration effortlessly to Sharon, Caleb’s cousin who comes to stay with them. Between Ada’s scripture comments and the joy of the Elliott family: Caleb and Julia find a wonderful haven and family environment with Ada and Sharon that proves how blessed they are throughout the story.
When the storm hits at the end, I felt every bit of it! Any adversity Chapman writes about in this book only enhances the story as the characters overcome it. There is so much love, community support, tenderness, friendship, miracles, humor and healing in the plot but everything was balanced perfectly! This book really is hard to put down and the reader experiences every bit of Julia’s journey as if you were there with her. This book illustrates in such depth that learning to trust someone happens as you love them and God carefully guides that love when the time is right. You do not have to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy this book or relate to its characters. And even though this book is the third in the Pebble Creek Amish Series, it’s definitely a stand alone. It took me longer to read than usual but I was grateful not to rush through it so I could enjoy this wonderful community of Pebble Creek at its finest moment. I highly recommend this book to new and regular readers of Vannetta Chapman, it will give you hope and be an enhancement for all booklovers. The book also includes discussion questions, glossary, and recipes (the cinnamon flop cake sounds wonderful).
I want to thank the author and publisher for the free review copy I received, I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful new Amish story

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Chaptico, MD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman has done it again. She has written another truly wonderful Amish novel. In A Wedding for Julia, the story and characters grasp readers on the first page and don't release them until the final page is turned. Actually, the bond between reader and characters is so strong that Julia, Caleb, Sharon and the other charaters tend to live on in the reader's mind even after the story concludes.
Julia Beechy learns that, upon her mother's death, she must marry or leave the only home she has known. Her dream of opening a cafe seems lost forever. When Caleb Zook, a relatively new resident of Pebble Creek offers a solution, Julia must decide what to do. What is the right thing?
Sharon Zook, Caleb's willful seventeen-year-old cousin from Indiana, is sent by her parents to live in Pebble Creek. What has happened to force Sharon's parents to send her away? Will living in Pebble Creek help Sharon or alienate her further from her parents?
Julia, Caleb, Sharon and the other residents of Pebble Creek must weather their internal storms as well as the violent forces of nature to learn about trust, love, and God's goodness and grace. I highly recommend A Wedding for Julia. I promise you will become attached to the characters and will laugh and cry with them as you would with members of your own family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wedding for Julia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wedding for Julie

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Moshell
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good clean reading and written in a Christian format. I love all the books regarding the Amish way of life and this is another well written book regarding the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>