Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You

Multnomah Books A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You

Discover how satisfying a quiet one-on-one conversation with your heavenly Father can be! Revealing a deep understanding of God, Piper's inspiring devotional will help you constantly renew your personal relationship with your Creator. Your faith will grow as you explore everything from salvation and God's glory to the daily decisions of life. 192 pages, hardcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Review 1 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Supplement to Daily Reading

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In John Piper's "A Godward Heart" he offers up 50 short chapters on topics ranging from "What does it mean to seek the Lord?"and "Glorifying the grace of God" to "Confrontation in marriage", and "Loving your neighbor". I hesitate to call this a devotional as each chapter is more-so a short passage from Piper's teachings or even an excerpt from some of his other books that provide some great topics to meditate on throughout the day.
I must admit that I generally have a really hard time getting through Piper's books. To this day I have only completed one of them, and that after many months of stopping and starting again. As someone who generally reads pretty quickly and purely for entertainment I have a hard time with Piper's books as I can generally only read a few pages at a time before I have to stop and wrestle through what I've read before I can fully wrap my head around it. I have really enjoyed going through "A Godward Heart" as each chapter is only 3-4 pages long, and that's about all I can read at one time. I've started reading this along with my daily devotions, and often find myself thinking back over it throughout the day.
I would definitely recommend this book to someone who wants a little something extra to supplement their time in the word (not replace it!), but may have a hard time getting through some of the longer theology books out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for a devotional

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since being introduced to John Piper while attending college, I have always loved reading his books, articles, sermons and blog. Being one of the best known biblical scholars, his passion for Christ and deep theology are compelling.
This particular book is a devotional of sorts. Piper states from the beginning that this book was intended to be a collection of thoughts to grow deeper with Christ. I particularly love the wisdom in his statement, "it is often a paragraph or sentence or phrase that has made a huge difference in my life. Sometimes a single paragraph can be life changing."
Within the first few chapters, it is clear that there is no cohesiveness or common theme throughout the book. It seemed as though each new chapter was a surprise. Piper takes deep, controversial topics and breaks them down into bite sized pieces of wisdom. Many chapters address cultural issues that other scholars and churches are too hesitant to take a bold stance on. Each chapter is brief - an easy and refreshing read to plug in during a break.
One of my favorite quotes from the book: "God's love for us is not mainly his making much of us, but his giving us the ability to enjoy making much of him forever."
Since this book took on a different flow compared to his other writings, it caught me off guard. I was slightly disappointed, but that was probably a result of my expectations based on my previous experience with him. Despite that, for a devotional book, it was great.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great, Deep Devotional

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read anything by John Piper, though I have heard good things. I saw the A Godward Heart was up for review, and I decided to request it since I had been wanting to read one of Piper's books.
A Godward Heart is somewhat like a devotional book - it contains 50 chapters, and they are short enough to read in 5 minutes or less. I think some of the readings might be excerpts from some of his other books, but I don't think all of them are.
I would say that this was not like a typical light devotional! Piper discusses some deep theological topics and tough issues in light of what Scripture says. Each chapter really made me think, and it brought my focus back to God. I found myself reading several at a time, because though the subjects were not light, it wasn't the kind of book where you have to stop and think about each point before moving on to the next one. Each chapter encouraged me and made me want to read the next.
After reading a Godward Heart, I am interested in reading more by John Piper! I'd definitely recommend this for anyone who is looking for a devotional book that goes deeper than the surface and dives into biblical truths.
Note: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multonomah's Blogging For Books program in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A variety of meditations

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a collection of insights from Piper. Some insights, he notes, do not take a whole book to communicate. Sometimes a single paragraph can be life changing.
Some of the topics he covers include what it means to seek the Lord, recognizing the possibility of idolatry, voting in a world that is passing away, why Christians suffer, Chesterton's Orthodoxy, marriage, nine ways to love your Muslim neighbor, pastors and media attention, Abraham Lincoln and divine providence, and social media.
This collection is really a variety and I could detect no cohesive theme running through it. For example, one devotion is on the I-35W bridge collapse. Another contains tips on talking to depressed people. Some are insights into puzzling Scripture. Another is on women in combat. And the length of the meditations vary as well. Some are as short as two pages while others weigh in at six pages.
This is a great book for people who like Piper (as I do). Piper is a strong believer in God's sovereignty. Be prepared for that to be proclaimed in these meditations. For example, in the meditation on lying: “We mean that God governs all things in the universe, including the sins of sinful men.” (52)
It is also good for people with a short attention span or people who routinely have a few moments in which they can read a short meditation. It would be a good book to have in the car as a meditation could be read while waiting to pick up the kids from school or similar situations.
There is a kind of serendipity to the book as every meditation is a surprise.
Food for thought: “God's love for us is not mainly his making much of us, but his giving us the ability to enjoy making much of him forever.” (13)
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"A Godward Heart" by John Piper is a collection of 50 brief meditations, each designed to take the reader deeper in their relationship with God. The book is meant to be savored slowly, pondered, wrestled with. You may not agree with everything that Piper presents in this book, but allow yourself to be challenged. Think deeply about what you believe and why.
The meditations include reflections on particular Scripture passages, marriage and parenting, certain doctrinal positions, and thoughts about current culture. There isn't a particular pattern or order the meditations follow, which gives it a slight feel of disjointedness. But, taken one bite at a time, there will be plenty to mull over!
Some of my favorite meditations include "The Morning I Heard the Voice of God", "What's the Place of Confrontation in Marriage?", "What Love Does and Does Not Do", and "Why Require Unregenerate Children to Act Like They're Good?".
Piper generally puts out wonderful devotional material and this one is no exception. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who desires to think critically and be challenged in their spiritual growth as a Christian.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Waterbrook-Multnomah through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Words Making a Difference

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Location:United States
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I would like to say that while I received a review copy of this book courtesy of the Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I am THOROUGHLY satisfied with it and all thoughts are my own.
Piper does his best to point people to God because He knows that only He can satisfy every longing present in their souls.
Pick up this book and pray that God would use it to help you see the glories waiting for you in its pages!
I discovered Piper when I was 14 or 15 years old. God used his words to change my life. Ever since those early days, I have pointed people to any number of his works. I will gladly add this book to the list of the ones that I recommend.
You won't be disappointed. This collection of short meditations will be the perfect companion for you in those moments where you feel a tug for something more!
Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

50 devotional readings

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John Piper is the founder and teacher of desiringGod.org and chancellor of Bethlehem College & Seminary. For over 30 years, he has been the Senior Pastor of Bethlehem Baptist Church, in Minnesota. He is the author of more than 50 books including his latest “A Godward Heart.”
AGH is the continuation of many of his earlier devotionals including; A Godward Life, Life as a Vapor and Taste and see. There is some speculation, at least on my part that maybe this isn’t new material. Piper admits in the prologue…
“(my editor) helped me assemble (these writings) from all of the different places and times where I had written them… I reworked them for this book.”
So it’s possible that if you are a Piper fan and have many of his books (or have read a lot of his blog posts) – there is the chance that you have read this material before.
The book itself is also the size of Life as A Vapor, it feels like one of those hard back “gift books.” The book is 50 chapters with each chapter being a different and unconnected devotion. You can read the devos pretty quick as they’re only a few pages, and it’s a nice read with certainly a lot of things to think about. But don’t let size fool you., these are meaty chapters and you will definitely have something to chew on for the next few hours.
Piper’s books are all good. And this one is no disappointment. Like A Godward Heart, this book is full of reflections on Scripture, lessons from history, and insight into modern culture. If you’ve never read Piper before, this would certainly a be a good starter, or perhaps if you’re a fan of Piper and you’d like to give a gift to someone that would help introduce them to his writings, this would be good for that also.
Thank you to Multnomah publishers for this preview copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: A Godward Heart

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jon Kenney
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About the Book
If you are at all familiar with Pastor John Piper or any of the books he has written, the subtitle of this devotional is something you’d come to expect from him. Always pointing his readers, church family and thousands across the nation to the glory of God, Piper continues the challenge in these pages of asking the reader to treasure God supremely. This devotional is pulled from different sources of sermons, articles, books and more that Piper has written. It was then collected into these 50 short chapters on many different topics. You might remember reading some of Piper’s previous devotional works like A Godward Life (books 1 & 2), or Life Is A Vapor among others.
I’m not a huge fan of devotional books, but I have to admit that I found myself deeply moved by the truths found in scripture and then communicated within many of these devotional chapters. Piper makes no apology for writing a devotion book as he states upfront, “One of the reasons I put together collections of short meditations is that my life has been changed as much by paragraphs as by books.” He also goes on to note clearly that just because he wrote these words, they are fallible and only scripture can be found perfect.
My words are not Scripture. They are not infallible like God’s words. But my earnest aim in all I write is to be faithful to God’s written Word in the Bible.”
One of the gifts Piper has is to be able to encourage and teach his reader how to take the truths of Scripture and then apply and implement them into their own life and circumstances. Through out this book you can see this in every devotion. Because each chapter is completely different from the next, it makes those implications and insights from Piper that much more appreciated.
Some of the many topics included in this book are: God’s Word getting personal, glorifying the grace of God, discerning idolatry, reflections on God’s truth and sovereignty, you can be godly and wrong, spiritual depression and much more.
My Thoughts
I really enjoyed this short book and found a lot of value in these devotions each day. This would be a great book as a gift for a friend or family member who is looking for a different type of devotional that is not thematic but still foundational for every day living. The importance of being in God’s Word on a daily basis cannot be valued enough. If you are struggling with being in the Word every day, use this book as a tool to encourage you and to help form the habit.
I highly recommend this great devotional book and hope you enjoy it as much as I have!
“I received this book for free fromBlogging for Books for this review.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some Powerful Meditations To Reflect Upon

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Woofiejo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
John Piper is an amazingly talented preacher, teacher and author. He has written many books to bring people to a deeper knowledge and relationship with God. His latest book is titled: A Godward Heart: Treasuring The God Who Loves You. This book contains “50 Meditations For Your Journey”. Some meditations in this book were very thought-provoking and insightful. Others seemed to be a random collection of thoughts that cover a variety of topics including such issues as suffering, voting, slavery, tweeting, nudity, Abraham Lincoln, etc.
Each chapter is very short (approximately 3-4 pages) and many of the chapters would be a great devotional. Some of the exceptional sections in this book included:
Chapter 4 – Although many might claim that it was cruel of Jesus to let Lazarus die and put Mary and Martha through grief, Jesus’ goal was much bigger. It was to magnify the glory of God through that experience. Most people think that love is whatever puts human value and human well-being at the center. "Love is doing whatever you need to do, even to the point of dying on the cross, to help people see and savor the glory of God forever and ever." Regarding Paul's thorn, God told him that it was more loving for Paul to value the glory of His power than it was for Him to take away his thorn. God's love is not defined by what brings them relief or what they want but what brings out the glory of God in your life. That’s a powerful thought!
Chapter 5 asked some very harsh questions. Is the deepest basis of my joy God's greatness or my greatness? And, I more satisfied praising him or being praised?
Chapter 7 highlights the fact that Jesus knew exactly how He would suffer (being spit on, beaten, treated unjustly, etc.) but He chose to intentionally walk into that suffering knowing exactly what He would face in order to fulfill the scriptures. What incredible grace in the way that He walked through His suffering.
Chapter 14 provides a great reflection on why Christians suffer losses. There is a very sweet discussion of how John explained this whole passage to his daughter, Talitha, so that she will understand that when hard things come her way that it is just a test.
Some of the other chapters didn’t resonate as strongly with me. Chapter 16 is about CS Lewis’ and Robert Louis Stevenson’s relationship with their fathers. They were both atheists growing up and had strained relationships with their fathers. There is no specific scripture mentioned in this chapter but it shows how their fathers continued to support them financially, even when they were quite rebellious. Another chapter discusses the importance of voting….even when the outcome doesn’t go our way. I was completely baffled by the chapter on “The Rebellion of Nudity and the Meaning of Clothing”. And, I disagreed with some of the points in a chapter about the ways that enjoyment can become idolatrous. While I think there are good cautions to the words that he writes, Piper doesn’t really leave space for anything to be enjoyed that doesn’t specifically magnify God. Although I think we should be grateful for the blessings that God has given to us, sometimes I think it is ok to just enjoy a hot fudge sundae. I am not sure that my enjoyment of a hot fudge sundae becomes “idolatrous when it does not desire that Christ be magnified as supremely desirable through the enjoyment”. And I don’t believe that this “runs the risk of magnifying the gift over the giver”. Another principle Piper states is that “enjoyment is becoming idolatrous when it is not working a deeper capacity for holy delight”. Again, I think it's okay to enjoy a hot fudge sundae even if it is not doing anything to make me more holy.
Overall, this book had some fabulous meditations that were very thought-provoking. I think each reader will find some true gems to appreciate. In the very beginning of the book, Piper states that he put together collections of short mediations in this book since “his life has been changed as much by paragraphs as by books”. I appreciated the short chapter format and many of the mediations were powerful reflections for me.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the Blogging For Books program from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for this fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Godward Heart: Treasuring the God Who Loves You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
John Piper has to be one of my all time favorite authors and pastors. He can put things so profoundly and yet still keep it simple for those of us who don't have theology degrees.
When I saw A Godward Heart up for review I knew I had to get it. When I realized it was a devotional, I thought, "Even better." As soon as it came I started it that night. I have not been a bit disappointed with it.
John Piper has chosen several different things he's talked about before and put it into short and concise devotional form. The point? To treasure God more and more each day. For us who live in the world but fight not to be like it, this proves to be quite the task that we cannot do apart from Him (Jesus). I've found this devotional to be a great tool to help with that.
If you're looking for a new devotional (we're still at the beginning of the year, so I'm sure there's a few out there still looking) or you have a friend looking for one, pick this up (and maybe pick up a copy for yourself?). Definitely won't be disappointed.
*Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book for the purposes of a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.