Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life

WaterBrook Press I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life

In I Like Giving, Brad Formsma will show you the passion and joy that comes from living a life marked by generosity. Living a generous life doesn't just apply to giving money, it's about being generous with our time and talents as well. Sharing practical ideas and inspiring real-life stories, I Like Giving will help you discover the freedom available to you when you create a life known by kindness and action.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1788%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Review 1 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Inspiration

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I Like Giving by Brad Formsma is a small but powerful book detailing' through ideas and inspiring stories' the transforming power of a generous life. I was attracted to this book because I have been the giver and receiver of such generosity, and know the life change that can happen as a result of this cycle. Whether you are personally seeking inspiration, ideas to change your life and world, or vignettes to inspire others to give wholly of themselves, this is the book you have been seeking.
The short stories presented in I Like Giving could be read in one sitting, but I believe you will be more inspired in reading one each day as a constant reminder of our adoption of a giving lifestyle. This book would make an excellent gift for you or a friend. If you are part of a book club, life group at church, or a social club, this book would make an excellent study to springboard ideas of new ways to reach into your community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could You Live Generously?

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
BONDing over BOOKS
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"When you open your hands to give you also open your hands to receive," or so the saying goes. I LIKE GIVING - The Transforming Power of a Generous Life, Practical Ideas, Inspiring Stories by Brad Formsma shares personal testimonies of people who have been the recipient of unexpected acts of kindness.
Some people never seriously think about giving, helping or extending a helping hand to others until they been on the receiving end of such acts of kindness. Such was the case with author, Brad Formsma. He shared his personal story about spiritually going through the motions of helping others and made the decision to change his attitude about giving. He said that he had "grown up in the church, but our faith had never really been a big part of our lives."
This exercise in futility allowed him to "feel good" because he had donated money to some cause. It was his way to check the box, as so many have done. This allowed him to felt like he had done the bare minimum and still accomplished his "Christian" obligation. He also admitted that "although he believed in doing things to help others, the reality was often motivated by selfish ambition. [He] enjoyed being successful in business and was hungry for more money, position and prestige."
What is your motivation? How many of us only give because someone asked us to or because we felt obligated? The author had an epiphany after a series of financial setbacks brought him to his knees. He finally understood the power of giving and the reciprocal positive benefits it had on his life only after he had gone through financial challenges. Sometimes "when we are in need, the hardest thing to do is to have those needs met by someone else."
On the surface it would appear that it is easier to give when you make a lot of money, all your bills are paid, and life is good. But it's your belief, your intention, your motivation and your attitude toward giving that determines the how, what , when, why and where you extend your level of generosity. Many people state that the best time to give to others is when you are in need yourself.
I LIKE GIVING follows a template similar to many other "giving or generosity based" books. There are no revolutionary ideas here, but if you haven't thought of an idea and want to make a difference the suggestions are a good place to start. Think of this book as a reminder that we live in a world where people are hurting, suffering, starving, in need of a caring touch, smile and someone to understand their struggle everyday. Remember, these stories or testimonials are from ordinary people. The same ordinary people that we drive by or walk by on the street daily. They may not say much, but their eyes speak volumes about their struggles. After all, the eyes are the windows of the soul.
THOUGHTS for your SOUL:
•"If you're not experiencing happiness and satisfaction in your life, giving to others could be the one thing that turns your life around."
•"Keep practicing generosity, even if it's not received as you had hoped."
•"You can give without loving, but you can't love without giving."
It really doesn't take much to be kind, to listen, or even give someone a monetary donation. I LIKE GIVING "is about experiencing the joy of giving. We all have something to give." All it takes is at least a minute of your time, an opportunity to address a need, and the courage to act unselfishly expecting nothing in return.
I LIKE GIVING is not just a book about giving, the author refers to it as a movement; "a campaign for a generous world because we believe a generous world is a better world for all of us." Why not start today and be the change that you would like to see in your life? How would you like to be the "I" in I LIKE GIVING?
Disclaimer: BONDing over BOOKS received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Generosity is more than giving money

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
notdenise
Location:Northern Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I Like Giving by Brad Formsma is a book of compiled stories, most of which have been published on the website ilikegiving.com. The author gives some background and context for the stories, and tells some of his own experience with giving, including selling his successful construction business to focus on expanding the ministry of I Like Giving. The book reminds us that we all have something to give. Maybe it is a smile, a listening ear, the gift of time, or giving money to a worthy cause. The stories help illustrate the many ways that people have taking this principle of giving and applied it to their own life.
The book focuses a lot on giving and how good it can make us feel. It touches briefly on receiving as well, which is almost always harder than giving. But being a good giver also requires being a good receiver as well.
A quick, light read with some good ideas for living a more generous life.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A WONDERFUL book to read as a family!!

Date:May 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Lee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Like Giving by Mr. Brad Formsma is a MUST read! What a joy this book was not only to me but my family as well. We used the book as a springboard for many wonderful dinner conversations. The stories are so powerful and encouraging . I also enjoyed how Mr. Formsma walked the reader through the giving process. I will be giving this book to many friends. It has changed how my family and I view giving and receiving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I like giving, but I don't care for the book ...

Date:April 19, 2014
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you enjoy stories about giving that pluck at your heart strings, you might like the book "I Like Giving" by Brad Formsma (published by WaterBrook Press). But if you want a book about giving that has more breadth and depth to it than just that, this is not the book for you.
"I Like Giving" is full of short stories about people giving to others in various ways ... and that's about it. Although published by a Christian publisher, you won't find any biblical teaching or direction about giving in this book. No theology of giving, not even a coherent philosophy about giving. The closest thing to that would be the idea that "giving makes you feel great, so make it a lifestyle!" There is one sentence that hints at scripture, "I heard it said that a person with a good heart cares for windows and orphans," but that's about as "Christian" as this book gets.
I suspect the purpose of printing this book was to build broader awareness of the ilikegiving.com website created by the author. In a 200-page book, it wasn't until I was 152-pages into reading this paperback before I discovered something that might be a stated motivation for writing this book ...
"A simple story can be refreshing and empowering. Stories connect people, and they give people permission to try new things. I call it the power of story. Telling giving stories can center people on what matters most and bring them back to a healthy balance in life. The cultural current often pulls us in the direction of self-focused living and empty materialism. If we do nothing, we just drift along with it. Giving stories can help us avoid that drift and move us toward doing things for others instead," Formsma writes.
So "I Like Giving" is more like the "rah-rah" of a cheerleader for giving, somewhat fun with some warm-hearted motivation, but little else. That's a shame, when the concept of giving has far more significance to it than something it encourages without providing any real understanding of the purpose and value of generosity. Instead, we get a one sentence paragraph by the author that simply states, "Remember, giving is for you --- it gives you life."
There is almost a subtle selfish tone running through the book, as the writer routinely points out to his readers how good giving makes you feel. Additionally, the author encourages his readers to share their stories about giving, something the Bible discourages (Mt. 6:1-4).
One of the best books I've read in the last year was a book on the topic of giving; "I Like Giving" is on the opposite end of value for books of that subject nature. I really do like giving, I just don't find much to recommend about "I Like Giving."
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good subject, but could use more depth

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Like Giving is easy to read. It is not overly hard or complex, and it is pretty forward in that the title will either draw people in or push them away (if they have an aversion to giving or reading stories about others who give).
Unlike many books about giving that focus in great detail (and in some cases in an overbearing and sanctimonious manner) about stewardship, generosity and Biblical principles, the author of this book takes a different approach - he focuses on stories. The stories remind the readers that we can give more things than money, and that when you give any aspect of your life in pure motives to help another, you will likely enjoy the experience.
While some of the stories are very motivating, others just seem to be there to fill the space or to make sure there is more than one story per topic. There were a few stories that did not seem to be the best match for the point that was being made, but overall they were on point.
Unfortunately, while some authors go too far to make their point without practical application, the author of I Like Giving does not go into enough depth on his points and instead relies mostly on examples which may or may not resonate with the reader.
It is a good book, but it is not a great book.
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah as part of the Blogging for Books Program in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Like this book

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sonora Mama
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life by Brad Formsma is all about the joy experienced by those who give freely. When I agreed to review this book I was a little skeptical that I might be "guilt-tripped" into giving. Quite the opposite, the book is all about the personal satisfaction, even bliss, that can come from giving without expecting to receive in return. Giving in secret, giving to friends, giving to an ex-spouse (really!), giving to strangers, giving money, giving time, giving smiles - there are so many ways to give. Giving is good for the soul, which we all know in theory, but the book contains story after story of personal testimonials from people whose lives were transformed by giving to someone else, in big or small ways.
This book just might change the way you think about giving.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like Giving

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brad Formsma is the creator of ilikegiving.com, a website viewed in more than 165 countries, which inspires people to live generously through its short films as well as a platform for all to share their experiences in giving. Brad and his wife, Laura, have three children and live in Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Of course we all know that “it’s better to give than to receive” and perhaps if you just knew that simple saying and lived by it – you would have no need for a book like this. And yet it possible that the reason why people don’t know how wonderful “giving” can be is that they’ve just never truly done it. Sure, we all give birthday presents and gifts from time to time – but often times we do it with the unwritten understanding that those same people will one day remember our birthday as well.
But if we were truly people who “liked” giving… then wouldn’t we live as givers and never expect anything in return? Of course this also means that we don’t get upset or hurt when we don’t get anything in return either.
In other words, we become people who give…. purely for the joy of giving. There seems to be this notion that you have to be rich to be generous. We say things like, “If I made a little more money, I would love to help other people.”
But if we truly felt that way… wouldn’t we help people now? The bottom line is we either love our money and ourselves… or we love others and we want to help them.
Formsma’s book is a wonderful collection of inspiring stories that is sure to give practical advice about being a generous and helpful person. It’s not a long book either, the chapters are smoothly broken down and easily digestible.
While the book is sold as a Christian based, book and several times Brad alludes to his faith and the teachings of Christ, it never hits you over the head with an over extended use of Bible verses.
Thank you to Waterbook Multnomah for this preview copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book, but not all that's expected

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hannah J
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Are you a giver?
Jesus said, "...It is more blessed to give than to receive." (Acts 20:35)
I recently read I Like Giving by Brad Formsma. It really made me think about giving, and ways that I can. In the book, there are so many heartfelt stories about simple ways that people gave to others, and how it impacted not only the other person's life but also their own.
I think my favorite story was about a woman who paid for another woman's nursing fees. It's about a girl who was just going to Walgreens for a quick trip to grab a prescription and some school supplies before going off to a coffee shop to study for her upcoming test. This test is the final test before you can be a registered nurse, and it costs $200 to take.
While at Walgreens, she found out that another girl didn't have the money for the test... "Without $200 to register for the NCLEX[the test], she'd be stuck working at Walgreens, paying off student loans, and struggling to make her rent. Without that test she'd never have a chance to do what she'd work so hard to do: care for other people in need. (page 110)" It touched me so much that she'd take time out of her day to withdraw $200 to pay for this other girl's test. That just doesn't happen every day.
There are so many good stories in this book. It was a fast read. I just couldn't put it down. It got to the point where my husband got jealous! What can I say? It's a great book.
It is Christian in essence, but they don't mention much about the Bible. They more allude to it than anything. That bothers me, as a Christian, but it wasn't a deal-breaker for me to make it a good book. Not every book has to be constantly quoting scripture for me to like it. I guess, I was really expecting some more scripture, but it didn't bother me too much after reading all the stories. Something for a Christian to remember about this book, is that you don't have to be saved to be giving. That's sometimes hard to swallow, but it's true. Do I want everyone to be saved? Of course. I don't want anyone to perish(John 3:16-18), but that didn't negate the good that the book. So, as a wrap-up of this thought, if you are expecting a devotional on giving... this isn't the book, but if you are expecting some practical ways to give with some really heartwarming stories, than this is the book for you. I hope that made sense!
All in all, I'd give this book a score of 4 out of 5. The 1 less point is due to the lack of scripture, but it's still a great read, and I'm happy to have it in my library.
FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational and Challenging

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Like Giving by Brad Formsma is a book that focuses simply on the joy of giving. There is a lot on financial giving, but also plenty of stories about other forms of giving as well. He admits that his family do have the financial resources available to meet the needs of others, and I love how they look for opportunities. His family does have rules on how much to give without having a family discussion. Generosity is wonderful, but boundaries do need to be set. The stories of financial giving in the book vary from one person giving, a few friends giving, on up to someone creating a Facebook Event to help a fellow student who was struggling. Sometimes the act of allowing others to be a part of the giving effort is its own act of giving.
The stories are not strictly about money, but suggest other ways to make a difference. Through a series of small anecdotes entitled "I Like.......", we learn of opportunities people shared of giving time, a smile, a second chance, etc. Some required more sacrifice than others, but all agreed that it was worth any sacrifice made to make a difference in the life of someone else.
One of the ones that made me smile, and enforced the idea of training our children in the way they should live involved potty training. Not only was this 3 year old little boy in the habit of wasting food, but he was also in no hurry to be potty trained. When his mom explained to him about other people going hungry due to lack of food, he asked how they could help. His mom got creative and resourceful by suggesting that the money they spent on Pull-Ups could be used to help people who are hungry. He went on to have the pride of knowing he was in "big boy underwear", but that he was also helping others. A very large lesson for a small boy, but one that needs to be learned early.
Some of the stories may seem redundant, but I can't name one I would omit. Not only is this a book that makes you feel good as you rejoice with both the recipient and with the giver, but it is one that make spark ideas on ways you can make a difference. A quote by Henry Nouwen on the 'I Like Giving' website is, "Every time I take a step in the direction of generosity, I know I am moving from fear to love". I love the encouragement to give whatever it is you have to offer, and that this is not just about giving to the poor. People from all walks of life can use encouragement and your gift, no matter how great or small, can make a powerful impact on both the recipient's life and your own.
Thanks to Shelton Interactive for giving me the book at no cost for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Done

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paul K
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible encourages giving. Luke 6 and other stories like the widow's mite confirms that concept and it also implies that you can't take it with you.
I started taking this approach about 10 years ago and, I can verify, giving can give you an emotional high. The book confirms this and gives some good examples which might lead some people who are not generous to start taking this approach.
I liked it so much that I donated it to the local library so that others can read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JazzyPea
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initially, I wasn't excited about reading this book. Easily a book you can read and digest on a slow weekend afternoon, my indifference quickly turned around. Complete with short stories and practical ideas for ways to increase the joy in your own giving, the author challenges readers to step outside of themselves and truly embrace a lifestyle of no-strings-attached giving. Though rooted in Christian principles, this book is not a theology lesson or doctrinal dissertation on biblical giving, which gives it universal application that can open the eyes and hearts of many.
Initially I was concerned that this book would wow readers with the great rewards that come from giving, and somehow provide a view of Spirit-led giving that was not holistic. I was encouraged and relieved to see the author address giving situations that don’t turn out the way we hope. Culture and life experiences give us filters and sometimes those filters can interrupt joyful giving and graceful receiving. However, the author encourages readers to move beyond their own bias and filters to truly experience the joy that is inherent when we give of ourselves to others in need.
If you have the desire to give in unique ways, but can’t seem to figure out the best way to go about it, this book is an excellent catalyst to a shift in thinking. The anecdotes, practical tips, and tactical strategies can give even the most shy giver a way to truly break boundaries and express love to another person.
Become a part of the I Like Giving community by visiting www.ilikegiving.com and pick up a copy of I Like Giving today.
I received this book free of charge from Waterbook Multnomah in exchange for this review. I was not required to post a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received I Like Giving from Blogging for Books in ebook form.
This book is filled with lots of stories about people who went above and beyond in their giving and really made me think about ways I could give more. It's more than just giving financially and the stories share how the giver was blessed as much, if not more, than the one who received.
I really enjoyed reading this book.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has changed my family

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary1013
Location:Holland, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book is a breath of fresh air in today's society. I love how the author uses so many different stories to convey the message of generosity for people of all ages. I also appreciate that some of the stories don't require spending a single dollar; they just encourage you to pay attention and to act. I have started to use many of the ideas in my own family, and I am already seeing the hearts of my children change to being more generous and thinking of others before themselves. Our dinner conversations have changed dramatically with the use of the "high/low" game (also mentioned in the book) and often revolve around the opportunities we have had to be generous or even recognize generosity in our own lives. This book is a quick and easy read and will change your attitude towards living a generous life. We have all found new joy in our lives. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

learn to love giving

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brad Formsma has hit a home run with his delightful book “I Like Giving: the Transforming Power of a Generous Life. Practical Ideas, Inspiring Stories” (WaterBrook Press, 2014.) And by the way, you may want to have some tissues ready as you settle down with this book. Some of the ‘inspiring stories’ just may inspire you to cry.
If you've spent much time in church, you've probably heard that God loves a cheerful giver. Of course that was usually said right before the ushers passed through with the collection plate. And there’s no doubt that He does. Formsma takes that a bit further, and tells what cheerful giving might look like outside of the Sunday morning worship service.
The reader is reminded that Jesus once said that it is more blessed to give than to receive, and goes on to tell any number of ways that people demonstrate that principle of being blessed through their generosity. (Counter-intuitive, yes, but it works.) In this book are lessons on the joy of giving, the joy of generosity, and demonstration after demonstration of what happens when we turn “I have to give” into “I get to give.” It might be a big gift, but it doesn't have to be: simple gifts bring blessings too, to the giver and the person to whom it is given.
This is not another spin on prosperity gospel, there are no promises or implications that if you send a check today, that you’ll be rich by this time next week. Unless of course you count happiness and joy as riches and wealth.
The stories have funny titles like “I like Bike” or “I like “Pay Phones” and the title clues the reader in on what is involved in this giving experience. IT’s amazing how people from around the country have chimed in with their stories to make this book possible.
But it’s not just warm fuzzies, Formsma gives tips on how to give, how to live a life a generosity, why we give, and why we enjoy (for those who do) giving. There are clues about why giving is difficult at times, and along the way I was reminded that sometimes it’s hard for me to be on the receiving end, which in turn reminds me that sometimes giving needs to be done in a way that doesn't embarrass the recipient, and that even though the end result might be that I feel the joy that God wants all of us to experience, the giving experience is not always supposed to be about making me feel good.
I read a lot for work, for school and for pleasure. This is one of the most enjoyable books I've read in a long time. I’m sure I’ll go back to it again and again. I’ll buy a couple of extra copies to give to friends. And my giving story - whatever it’s called - will start with “I Like Books…”
I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. There is no requirement to write a positive review.
The only reason for giving this book 5 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 is that there is no 6.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Being a cheerful giver

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jane
Location:Elmhurst, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book on giving which encourages Christians to give generously and in very practical ways. The author shares a number of personal stories which illustrates this generosity movement. I found the book both challenging and encouraging. The author points to Scripture as well as research which indicates that those who give are happier than others. Other principles are outlined in the book such as lowering your expectations when you may not get the response to your giving that you anticipated. I think this is an important book to read as well as live out. I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Like Giving: The Transforming Power of a Generous Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved This Book!

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
plaidx2
Location:Canandaigua NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book I Like Giving (releasing on Feb. 18/14) is written by Brad Formsma, the creator of ilikegiving.com.
I Like Giving is a very personal and human look at generosity. The book is made up of numerous stories from people who stepped out to participate in various compassionate and creative acts of generosity. What I appreciate about this look at generosity is that it isn’t solely focused on financial generosity. The sky is the limit on how we can be generous and give in powerful ways to those around us.
Although the book talks at length about the beauty of giving, it doesn’t romanticize it, and instead honestly addresses the challenges that can accompany giving. Sometimes being generous is awkward and sometimes people will reject our generosity, but that shouldn’t stop us from being generous people. Another aspect of giving that the book does a great job at unpacking is being good at receiving. Often times we are great at giving but we are poor at being the recipient of someone else’s generosity. This was a great reminder about allowing others to receive the blessing of giving by being good at receiving.
On top of the great content in the book, it is also a very attractive book and is laid out in a really interesting way.
Here are a few of my favorite quotes:
“When we choose to give, we change, and the people around us change. When we move from awareness to action, miracles happen” (p. 6).
“Sometimes we need to give more than other people need to receive” (p. 50).
“…my compassion can’t be directed by other people’s decisions” (p. 88).
“…the lines between giving and receiving disappear. You might see yourself as a giver in one situation but realize that the blessing you receive from giving is so great that you are really the receiver” (p. 172-173).
I would definitely recommend this book as a practical and inspirational look at generosity.
Check out ilikegiving.com for more information, short films, stories and more. You can also follow this movement on Facebook and on Twitter (@ilikegiving).
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.