Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook

Baker Books unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook

In his Epistle, the Apostle Peter instructed us to give others good reason for the hope we have in Christ, but to do so with "gentleness and respect." Unfortunately, in the eyes of many non-Christians today, the church has done just the opposite. In Unchristian, David Kinnaman, president of the Barna Group, has complied startling research among the unchurched and learned that Christians are too often known for the issues they stand against, rather than the hope which they stand for. According to the research, believers are seen as too judgmental, too political, and often hypocritical. If you are a Pastor, lay person or youth leader you will not want to go without the details of this critical study. Uncover for yourself the latest research on the unchurched in Kinnaman's must-read book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Review 1 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for Everyone!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael
Location:Rochelle, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a tremendous work for anyone who wants to know what "outsiders" think. It caused me to look much closer at my life and how my faith is lived out publicly; how I can more distinctly reflect Christ to the unchurched and best represent the essence of the Gospel message. I used 'UnChristian" in small group discussion and we have had several engaging, thought-provoking conversations around the themes in this book. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Church Has Problems - This Book Can Help!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
oldmanchubb
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The “unChristian” book was published after three years of research by the Barna group on non-Christian (and Christian) perspectives on modern day American Christianity. Barna is a pretty unique group, in that they do market research on all things related to Christianity, so that the American Church can better function.
Far too many Christians are playing the martyr card and highlighting examples of what happens in a world of extreme tolerance and pluralism. Many Christians are fearful of their rights being taken away or their voice no longer being heard. While I understand those concerns, Barna’s research should help open up the eyes of the average believe – that more and more young people are genuinely disillusioned by all things related to Christianity. The six main perceptions about Christians uncovered in their research – Christianity is hypocritical, judgmental, too political, isn’t genuine, anti-homosexual and sheltered. They explain their research methodology, break down each of these negative perceptions and also include some other closing thoughts. Each chapter has feedback from well-known pastors/theologians with their own insights into each of these perceptions.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was fairly convicted throughout. The point of the text is not that Christians should be popular, but that when non-believers look in at us, they increasingly see nothing that looks like Jesus. This desperately needs to change and being aware of these perceptions is certainly a good starting place. Rather than take a “Well I believe in the Bible, therefore I am always right” approach, it’s good to be aware of flaws and good to be aware of what simply does not work. Grace and humility are traits that many churches need to reclaim.
I used this book in a recent sermon series, dedicating six weeks to the six negative perceptions. It was challenging to talk about some of these ideas and it certainly was challenging to own up to our faults, but I think it was worth it in the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, timely book!!! A must read!!!!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:Burien, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was part of 4 books recommended by our pastor ,at Burien Free Methodist Church, in Burein, Washington , for summer reading. Outstanding book, gave me lots to think about!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
seebs
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Excellent book for understanding how our younger generation perceives Faith based people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful book but a few concerns

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christianity in secular culture is often portrayed in a very negative even hostile way on television or movies. Christians are called to represent Christ to the world. In UnChristian David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons, two men who love the Gospel and the Church investigate how Christians are perceived as hypocritical, too focused on getting converts, antihomosexual, sheltered, too political, and judgmental.
The author’s purpose in this book “is to open the hearts and minds of Christians, to prepare us to deal with a future where people will be increasingly hostile and skeptical toward us. A new generation is waiting for us to respond” (Kinnaman, Lyons, 14). The term Unchristian reflects “outsiders’ most common reaction to the Christian faith. The author on this point comment that outsiders “they think Christians no longer represent what Jesus had in mind, that Christianity in our society is not what it was meant to be. For many people the Christian faith looks weary and threadbare. They admit they have a hard time actually seeing Jesus because of all the negative baggage that now surrounds them” (Kinnaman, Lyons, 15).
Being that I grew up in Seattle Washington an area of the United States that is known for being liberal and very secular, I can attest that much of the concerns expressed in this book are the view of the world. The purpose of this book is to help Christians to gain an understanding of the perception problem that the world has with Christianity today.
The main problem with this book is I don’t see its approach taken in the New Testament. The Bible is clear that Christians should not put a stumbling block before other Christians (Romans 14-15) it is also teaches that the Cross is a stumbling block to the world (1 Corinthians 1). The problem with the approach the authors take in this book in my opinion is it leads to a fear of man rather than a fear of God. The Apostles for example before the Sanhedrin weren’t concerned with what the Jewish leaders thought of them. Instead of thinking about what the Jewish leaders thought of them the Apostles told the Jewish leaders in Acts 4:19-20, “But Peter and John answered them, “Whether it is right in the sight of God to listen to you rather than to God, you must judge, 20 for we cannot but speak of what we have seen and heard.”
The Apostles weren’t concerned about how the Jewish leaders perceived them, but only with being faithful to what they had been taught in the life and ministry of Jesus. This is not to say that the approach of the authors isn’t helpful as it is important for Christians to understand how the world perceives them as they live as sojourners in the world. Rather than helping “open the hearts and minds of Christians” the authors instead point Christians to how the world thinks of them, which doesn’t help Christians to fear God but rather encourages them to have a fear of man.
Fear of man is unhealthy and unbiblical. By focusing on the concerns of the world Christians can easily begin to care more about what the world has to say than what God has to said in the Word of God. While the intent of the authors in this book is good, I have a further concern on who the authors choose to contribute their ideas to this book. Some of the contributors that the authors choose to contribute do not have a good reputation as solid Christian theologians in most parts of evangelicalism, which in my opinion diminishes the contribution of this book significantly.
Even with these concerns there is still much that the Church needs to consider from this book. The authors are right that “the church needs more people who facilitate a deeper, more authentic vision of the Christian faith in our pluralistic, sophisticated culture” (Kinnaman, Lyons, 17). I appreciate how the authors state, “Many modern-day Christians have lost touch with the all-encompassing gospel that goes beyond personal salvation and reaches every corner of society. When conversion growth is the single measure of success the hard work of discipleship gets ignored.” This gets to the heart of why Christianity has an image problem as Christians have forgotten who they are in Christ. In every letter Paul wrote he reminded Christians that they were sons and daughters of God. The authors are right that many Christians do not understand that the Gospel is for all of life.
At the heart of the book is the idea that “to shift our reputation, Christ followers must learn to respond to people in the way Jesus did. In other words, to reverse the problem of unchristian faith, we have to see people, addressing their needs and their criticism, just as Jesus did. We have to be defined by our service and sacrifice, by lives that exude humility and grace. If young outsiders say they can’t see Jesus in our lives, we have to solve our “hidden Jesus” problem” (Kinnaman, Lyons, 206).
The part I appreciate about this book is rather than bashing on the bride of Christ the authors genuinely want to help and strengthen the Church with the Gospel. The authors spend the last chapter discussing various ways to strengthen the church. In that chapter, I especially appreciated this comment by Dr. Rick Warren, “My dream is that thirty years from now, the church will be known more by what it is for than what it is against.”
UnChristian is a very challenging book that will challenge Christians to act consistently Christian. Christians are often known as the authors state for focusing too much on a political agenda or some other issue than the Gospel. Thankfully this is changing as many Christians are refocusing their attention on what the Gospel is and what the Gospel demands.
Even with the concerns I’ve noted about this book, I am still recommending this book, because I believe the goal of the authors to helpfully point people to the Gospel and to understand the issues the world has with Christianity today is important for Christians to consider. Read this book carefully but with an open Bible.
Title: UnChristian: What A New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity And Why It Matters
Authors: David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons
Publisher: Baker Books (2007)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Books as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

for all adults

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Henry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All kidding aside. If you really know the world around you and you happen to already know all the facts collected in this three-year study of the current culture of the western world, you do not need this book. For the rest of the adult Christians, Get this book and get your eyes opened.
This book is value beyond value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very informative. With the goal of reaching out to this generation with the Gospel message of Jesus Christ this book lets the reader know where others are at in their theology and how important a relationship with Jesus is as well as a thorough understanding of the Scriptures in reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eye opening

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
MeMa
Location:Salina, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very eye opening.
It is my hope that as we read it we will be able to change how we respond to people, if need be, and change the way they perceive Christians. May we always respond in Love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book satisfied my expectaions

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Harris
Location:milan Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is good. it reveals some veryshocking conclusions to non Christians opinion of Christians
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a 'Must Read'!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jesus freak
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a "must read" for every Christian who is serious about reaching this, and the next, generation for Jesus Christ. A real eye opener!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book really challenged me.

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book really challenged me and saddened me a bit to realize how as followers of Christ we have really messed up the image of Jesus.
The Barna Group has many stats throughout this book to help support what 'outsiders' or 'non-christians' really believe about us who call ourselves 'Christians'. It also covers some of the negative perceptions that your friends, neighbours and colleagues have of Christianity. Yes, some of these are misconceptions of what Christianity is all about, but they are that because of the way Christians have been living their lives. We've become bad examples of Christ instead of more 'Christ like'.
I took my time reading this because it took time for me to process what was being said. I highly recommend this book, but know it won't be easy to read but I know it will open your eyes. You may not like what it has to say in parts but I challenge you to push through and evaluate your own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very convicting

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Williams
Location:Phoenix,AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gives good examples of what young people, Christian and pre-Christian are thinking in terms of faith and of Christians in general. It gives good examples and survey results; is convicting to me but in no way damning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Schultze
no Christian shoud be without this book I have read it for years, over and over again, and buy a copy for each new Christian Borother or Sister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Olson
Startling facts to support suspicions about the 21st century church goer. Especially enlightening about the view non-Christians have of Christians. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Bengtson
This book has influenced how I interact with unbelievers. By understanding their view of Christians, I am better able to portray who Jesus really is to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kent
If you think you are a good Christian to outsiders (non-Christians), read this book first!Even though the research is based in America but it the research result apply to all over the world. According to the research, todays world Chrisitans are hypocritical, antihomosexual, sheltered, too political and judgemental. These are the few reason why Christians are getting harder to spread gospel. This book tells you what outsiders think about Christians. By understanding and build relationship with them, we only can bring them to Jesus Christ.For example, Bible tells us that Jesus Christ love sinners but not sins. Jesus Christ loves homosexual but not homosexuality. Some homosexuals are actually struggling, but we reject them (judgemental) without listening to them. Is there any diference between homosexual and a married man having affair with another woman? Both are sinners but why we judge homosexual without listening to them first?Get the book, listen to outsiders, build relationship with them and bring them to Jesus Christ so that everyone can be saved.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pershing Lum
This is an excellent work of research and presents insights that should be obvious, but have been lost to many who serve in leadership in our churches today. It is a must-read for those who are concerned about reaching those who don't know Christ in a way that communicates the message of God's love, justice, salvation through faith in Christ alone, and the message of His transforming power in a way that the current and next generation understands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Regina Saucier
Every Christian should read this book and re-evaluate their walk. A painful look at how we are viewed in regards to our every day behaviors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yep
This book should be required study material for any church suffering from the same problems I've seen. Lots of oldies and very few people under 50. Like the book says, these are the facts, you don't have to like them, or agree with the opinions of "outsiders", but they are what they are and we have to meet people where they're at, not make them come to us first.<br /><br /> Paul, the guy who gave this book 2 stars, couldn't have read the book, because he's complaining about the same things the book does. His complaints have been heard...by this author. Read the book. It's one of the best ones out right now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity ...and Why It Matters - eBook
This review is fromunChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul
Perhaps part of the problem that we're facing in attracting people to church is in the negative labels we give to those we are looking to bring into our churches: unchurched, non-believer, unsaved. Are these words really going to make people desire to come to discover their Creator? There is still a pig-headed quality to much of Christianity that is keeping people away in droves.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>