Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Unspoken - eBook

Bethany House Unspoken - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
1
50 out of 6281%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unspoken - eBook
Review 1 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Improving

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unspoken
Dee Henderson
Book Summary: Charlotte Graham is at the center of the most famous kidnapping in Chicago history. The task force of FBI and local cops found her two abductors, killed them, rescued her, but it took four very long years. The fact she was found less than three miles from her home, had been there the entire time, haunts them. She's changed her identity, found a profession she loves, and rebuilt her life. She's never said a word--to the cops, to her doctors, to family--about those four years. A family legacy has brought her back to Chicago where a reporter is writing a book about the kidnapping. The cops who worked the case are cooperating with him. Her options are limited: Hope the reporter doesn't find the full truth, or break her silence about what happened. And her silence is what has protected her family for years. Bryce Bishop doesn't know her past, he only knows she has coins to sell from her grandfather's estate--and that the FBI director for the Chicago office made the introduction. The more he gets to know Charlotte, the more interested he becomes, an interest encouraged by those closest to her. But nothing else is working in his favor--she's decided she is single for life, she struggles with her faith, and she's willing to forego a huge inheritance to keep her privacy. She's not giving him much of an opening to work with. Charlotte wants to trust him. She needs to tell him what happened. Because a crime cops thought was solved, has only opened another chapter...
Review: First, I must say I liked this better than Full Disclosure. I even found myself liking Ann better because of Unspoken. I liked Bishop he was the best part of the book. The talk of coins - I have enough of that after 5 pages, yet it never seemed to stop. No wonder the main character was tired with his career. Charlotte and her secrets, the mystery man who was a ‘cop’ which was alluded to for 2/3rd of the book not very exciting. I feel for me that Unspoken made up for Full Disclosure but not enough to rush out to read another book in this line. The suspense was lacking and I found the talk of wealth fanciful. Keep it, give it away whatever the decision is it can not cure what ails the human heart. I was glad to see it end, yet Dee Henderson does a fantastic job of painting a picture with words. The places were vivid. For me the talk of money and coins were not exciting. The horrible things that happened to Charlotte tragic. But as far as human spirit Charlotte was halfway there. She never healed or dealt with those events that resulted from her kidnapping. I could go on about the things I was frustrated with but the bottom line for me is that the characters from Full Disclosure were better written, Bishop and his family (what we saw of them) were realistic and the friends of Bishop & Charlotte were realistic and enjoyable. It was worth the read, but not something I need to reread.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Dee Henderson - Steady Romantic Suspense

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee Henderson books have strong characters that do not rush willy-nilly into romance. The characters are old enough to consider all the ramifications of romance, while dealing with a suspense filled problem. I really enjoy Henderson’s work, but do not expect high-tension suspense. While the suspense is there, it is more the unraveling of a thread, than a serial killer is. The characters show great depth leading to a beautiful romance built on strength, not just flash. The strong Christian theme adds greatly to the story. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy a deeper romantic story with a little suspense woven through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

couldn't put it down

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
laughingwater
Location:Wardensville, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caught my interest in very first chapter and kept it to the end.
read it in less than a week it was so interesting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not on my list of favorites

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
***CONTAINS SPOILERS***
When Unspoken came out, I hoped it was going to be suspenseful, gripping, thought provoking, emotionally charged, and keep me on the edge of my seat. Sadly, none of those were there for me. I was sorely disappointed and bored out of my gourd with the endless rare coin information. Not to mention that the heroine, Charlotte Graham, who survived being held captive by kidnappers for four years as a teenager, has been bequeathed an eight billion dollar inheritance (yes, you heard that right) by her grandfather that includes several hundred millions of dollars in rare coins (perhaps billions even), and no one knows about them. I think if there were that many rare coins in the possession of one man someone would know it. It just seemed too far-fetched for me to even believe a little bit of the story. The kicker is she has to marry in a certain amount of time to inherit the full estate. Uh, yeah right. That sounds like something that should be in historical fiction, not contemporary.
Even the hero, Bryce Bishop, was kind of unbelievable. He’s a wealthy coin dealer (of course) who is a Christian. He consistently shows kindness, patience, perseverance, gentleness, humility -- all fruits of the Spirit in his daily dealings with others, especially Charlotte. Not that we shouldn't be this way but he was just too perfect. He has all the right moves, all the right answers, all the right everything. By the end, he is in love with Charlotte and willing to marry her so she can fully inherit.
The best part of the book was seeing Ann and Paul Falcon from Full Disclosure. Honestly, the mystery they were solving in this book was much more thrilling than anything else. The scenes with them were excellently written and captivating!
I appreciate Bethany House providing a copy for review purposes. I wasn't required to write a positive review, just my opinion of the book, which I have done.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An attention grabbing Christian suspense novel.

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I won a free copy of this book through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.
Bryce Bishop owns a coin shop in Chicago. He is introduced to Charlotte Graham by the FBI director in Chicago. She has coins to sell from her grandfather’s estate. These facts are only the tip of the iceberg for this beautifully woven story.
I was drawn into the story from the very beginning. Just the mystery surrounding Bryce’s introduction to Charlotte had me captivated. I had to find out the secrets of her past.
I was absolutely fascinated by the descriptions of the coins that Charlotte had to sell. Dee Henderson is either a coin collector herself or she took the time to do extensive research to write this book. Either way all of the details she gives held my interest while waiting for the suspense caused by Charlotte’s past to build.
The plot was slow to build but very intricately woven. I enjoyed the fact that Bryce was able to talk with key people in his life and get support from them without having to tell everything that had been shared in confidence with him. His faith in God was apparent and yet he didn’t come off as being preachy or judgmental towards those that didn’t have the strong faith he did.
I loved this book and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jana
Location:Keller, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual Dee Henderson delivers a great book! I love being able to read a great murder mystery / romance without having to worry that there might be bad language or other inappropriate stuff - I can let my teenage daughter read them without worry. And as a great bonus there is a huge spiritual message in all of her books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unspoken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
StellA
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another exceptional Story! Bringing God into Romance and relationships makes the love pure, ordained and Inspirational!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointing, and not suspenseful

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Dee Henderson's books, but I am very disappointed in this one. The last one, Full Disclosure, was OK, but this one bored me. It is supposed to be suspense, but there was hardly any in it, and definitely no excitement. I got bored with all of the coins and talk of coin collecting and grading, and a lot of the book could have been cut out and to make it shorter.
I didn't get why the guy wanted to marry the woman.. he didn't love her, and she was determined to never have a normal marriage.
I had people say it got better, and it did, but not enough for me. If this had been the first book I read by her, I'd never read another, but I know she is capable of better books.
If you want suspense, pass this one up.
I'm disappointed enough that I wish I hadn't read it, but I had ordered it on my Christmas wish list, so I plowed through. I definitely don't recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent New Book by Dee Henderson

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deepender7
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee Henderson penned this new novel introducing two new characters while reuniting her readers with old chums. Storylines are clean, fun. Due the nature of this novel's mature subject matter I would recommend this novel for 13 years and older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lame, time wasted

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
heidi
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so glad I borrowed this book. It was so slow moving, not really anything going on until chapters 28-30, the characters were not developed, holes in the story about people. I wasted so much time with a book that could of been written in 15 chapters not 30+. Don't waste your time, go with another book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unspoken

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
pirategrl1014
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was the first book I read by Dee Henderson and I think I know more about coins then I ever cared to know. Parts of this book really dragged on for me,going into way to much detail for my taste.I am not even sure that there are that many rare coins around on the level that the book goes into. Another huge disappointment for me was I really hoped the book would go into more detail surrounding the kidnapping and what took place over the 4 year period that Charlotte was held captive, but it only skates around the whole topic, which was quit frustrating. I received a e-copy of this book and there were ALOT of spelling issues. Any words spelt with two "f f's" did not come across and formatting issues which made the book less enjoyable than it could have been and irritated me at times. So you have words like suffice, that come out suice and you are left pondering what the word is suppose to be till your brain catches up.
On the plus side,the book does hold true to its christian theme. It really dives into forgiveness, acceptance,and unconditional love. The need for a savior and a personal relationship with God to get you through life and to lean on and trust in Him no matter what life tosses at you,even when you do not understand His plan.
Overall I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, but i am not sure I can really recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unspoken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
nancy
Location:Kirkland Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent book. I took this ebook traveling with me. It had a hard time putting it down to go do other things.
Dee Henderson did a fantastic work with this book and I love how she included references to the O'Mally family in it. Including references to her other book characters made me feel like I already know of this group of people and just one more person in the bunch to get to meet.
Keep writing Dee!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slower-Moving Suspense

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unspoken, Dee Henderson's latest novel, is an enjoyable read, although lacking the high level of romance and suspense which drive her O'Malley Series and other earlier books. The romance and suspense are both present, but they move at a much slower, more relaxed pace than might be expected from Dee.
A big part of the mystery in this story comes in “unwrapping” Charlotte, one of the main characters. Details about her life – past and present – come out in small pieces, keeping a level of suspense throughout the story. The book is a bit long and has places where the details about coin collecting and dealing with tremendous wealth do tend to slow down the pace a bit too much.
Although this book is not part of a series, anyone who has read Full Disclosure will find familiar characters as Ann and Paul Falcon show up in major roles in this story.
All in all, I would recommend Unspoken as a good read for Dee Henderson fans.
Thanks to Bethany House for providing me this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Boring. Not suspensful.

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
delole
Not sure why it got so many good reviews. This book was Boring. Tons of stuff about buying and selling coins. No real interesting stuff till the last third. Back of book describes a reporter coming into her life, which doesn't even happen til half way thru the book and doesn't really play that big of a role. I had to struggle to get to the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
rosk
Location:Jamestown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee Henderson does a wonderful job of weaving God into her stories. The characters intertwine with her other books. It is like reading a family history. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book.

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unspoken was a decent book. It was not one of the most exciting books I have ever read, but it was still interesting. They talked a lot about collectible coins in this book, but that was part of the plot. There was not much suspense in this book except for a little at the end, but it still held my attention pretty well. Overall, it was a pretty good book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a wonderful suspense/ romance read!!

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
mary
Location:nc
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are the kind of reader who enjoys a bit of romance with your suspense, this is the author for you. I am not a big fan of fiction but her writing is full and she ties off her loose ends and leaves no dangling bits to take away from the story line.
The main character suffers from PTSD due to having been kidnapped almost 20 years ago but the focus of the story is the development of romance in the hear and now time line.
A bit too much detail was spent on old coins and the details of the coins, but as I like old money I thought that was an exceptable tarry of time. It is a long book and took me 3 days to read. It is hard to review it without giving away the plot or outcome of the story.
It is well written and a good story line that is strong in details with well rounded solid characters.
Of course, the main character does fall in love with a tall handsome man who wisps in and saves the day as the main character forages bravely ahead. I did receive my copy free from the publisher in exchange for writing a review but that did not give it a GOOD review, the book earned a good review. it is the kind of book that makes you feel like you are experiencing the journey yourself because it is tight and well written with a sound story arc for the characters to move through. This would be a good writer to keep an eye on as she is an excellent story teller. I enjoyed the feel of the book and the twists and turns along the way that I DO NOT FEEL I SHOULD REVEAL. It is a very interesting story and would make a killer Christmas present for any one who enjoys reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced, suspenseful, romantic, and the gospel.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
UncommonStudent
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee Henderson has done it again. Delivered a fast paced, heart pounding, suspenseful book – full of intrigue and a little romance, wrapped around the Gospel message. What a book.
Bryce Bishop walks out of work one night and meets a woman, who tells him he needs answer the call. Just as his phone rings. Reassured by a friend that this stranger has a story to tell and is backed by the FBI, Bishop walks into the storefront and enters a story with no return.
Charlotte Graham is hiding from her identity. People recognize her as the victim of the most famous Chicago kidnapping. She was gone for four years, and she’s never talked about them. The ghosts of those years still surround her – haunting her days and nights. She is struggling with her faith and wants to tell someone. And she has the strangest business proposal ever.
Charlotte and Bishop are first just business partners, and then friends. As Bishop comforts Charlotte and begins to offer her the prayer and faith she longs for, the story only gets harder. There was a baby that died… four years ago. And Charlotte might know the kidnappers.
This book kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn’t stop reading it. I would put it down and go do something else, but then I would be back in my room reading. I loved every minute of it. Ms. Henderson is such a great author. Her plot twists and turns, but you never get lost. Suspenseful and deep, Unspoken will hold you spellbound.
5 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unspoken holds the reader's attention till the end

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unspoken
By Dee Henderson
Charlotte Graham's never spoken about the kidnapping.
Sixteen years later, she's the only one who knows the truth.
But, even now, can she risk sharing it?
Ann and Paul Falcon are working on a cold case - a kidnapping gone bad, a child dead and buried and few clues. But Ann and Paul are determined to close this case.
Meanwhile Bryce Bishop is about to get the offer of a lifetime. A strange meeting with a mysterious woman leaves him in a possession with a fortune in collectible coins - some of which are very rare. By saying yes Bryce has gotten his wish - life is not quite so boring and it is about to get even more intriguing as agrees to a longer term business proportion with the mysterious and guarded Charlotte Graham.
Who is Charlotte Graham and why is Bryce so drawn to this woman who has been guarding a secret for more than fifteen years? But Bryce may be just what Charlotte needs to help her deal with the secrets she's been keeping and to finally heal from what she experienced when she was kidnapped as a sixteen year old girl and held for four years.
When a threat from the past returns, the stakes are higher than ever and Charlotte may be the only hope of stopping it - if she can remember...
If you liked Full Disclosure you have to read Unspoken. The connections between Ann and Paul and Bryce and Charlotte just add another layer of complexity to the story that just adds to its draw. If you have read Dee Henderson in the past you won't be disappointed with Unspoken! Unspoken is on my to purchase list as it is one book I know that I'll want to read again - yes, it is that good!
I was provided a digital ARC loan of this title by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unspoken - eBook
This review is fromUnspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unspoken! by, Dee Henderson!!

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lotsofblessings
Location:Blackduck,MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the Back Cover
Charlotte Graham is at the center of the most famous kidnapping in Chicago history.
The task force of FBI and local cops found her two abductors, killed them, rescued her, but it took four very long years. The fact she was found less than three miles from her home, had been there the entire time, haunts them. She's changed her identity, found a profession she loves, and rebuilt her life.
She's never said a word--to the cops, to her doctors, to family--about those four years.
A family legacy has brought her back to Chicago where a reporter is writing a book about the kidnapping. The cops who worked the case are cooperating with him. Her options are limited: Hope the reporter doesn't find the full truth, or break her silence about what happened. And her silence is what has protected her family for years.
Bryce Bishop doesn't know her past, he only knows she has coins to sell from her grandfather's estate--and that the FBI director for the Chicago office made the introduction. The more he gets to know Charlotte, the more interested he becomes, an interest encouraged by those closest to her. But nothing else is working in his favor--she's decided she is single for life, she struggles with her faith, and she's willing to forego a huge inheritance to keep her privacy. She's not giving him much of an opening to work with.
Charlotte wants to trust him. She needs to tell him what happened. Because a crime cops thought was solved, has only opened another chapter...
My Review!
The book starts out with alot of information on coin collecting and the selling of them.
I don't know that much about the subject myself but it was interesting anyways!
The story is about a young woman named Charlotte, who had been kidnapped years earlier, who now is selling all the coins from her grandfathers collection! She has changed her identity so as not to be detected, she also blames God for not protecting her or the little boy who was also kidnapped!
Bryce is a bored coin collector. He and Charlotte meet when she sells him coins she's inherited from her Grandfather's estate. These are the two main characters, you should read the book and experience all the twists and turns found in this story!
It seemed a little hard to get into at the beginning but ended up being a pretty good book!!
I was given this book free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.