Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography

B&H Books Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography

Rich Mullins rose to fame and fortune in the music industry and then gave it all away to live in obscurity among Native Americans on a reservation in New Mexico, teaching children the joy of music and the hope of the gospel. Then his life, so full of promise, came toa tragic end in an auto accident. During his life, Mullins challenged the sensibilities of what it means to follow Jesus in today's world, and now in his death, he challenges all to build upon his legacy of joy, compassion, brokenness, unblinking honesty, and wonder in an Awesome God.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Review 1 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristina
Wow! As someone who needed to feel the deep raging fury called the love of God, this book has made me love God even more, realizing it is nothing I can do but what Christ has done for me. Rich's unashamed love for God has helped me through tough times in my faith, times when I need to trust the love of God to get me through. An Amazing story, an amazing life. Rich will forever be remembered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark Hessinger
James Bryan Smith's well-researched and thoughtfully-written biography of his late friend Rich Mullins is "a must read" for anyone interested in Mullins, or Jesus, or Christianity, or life in general. The book is best appreciated if one has a familiarity with Mullins' great contemporary Christian music. Ever since his seemingly-untimely death in an auto accident ten years ago, I've occasionally wondered to myself, "Why did God kill Rich Mullins?" Listening to the intense longing in Mullins' lyrics, especially on the posthumously-released Jesus Record, I came to realize that God didn't "kill" Rich Mullins. Rather, He gave him his heart's desire. Smith's book beautifully describes this simple saint's journey of faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barry Vaughn
For anyone who enjoys Rich Mullins' music and wants to learn more about the spiritual person and journey that could produce such beautiful work, this book is excellent. The "star" of the book is Jesus-- based on this intimate portrait of Rich taken from people who knew him best, I'm sure he would have it no other way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amanda
This book will blow you away, and after you complete it, you'll want to read it again. I was so touched by the life (and death) of Rich Mullins, and this book has really made me reevaluate some of the things I hold on to a little too tightly in this world. Rich knew what mattered.You'll love this book, if you can get through the tears!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Scott Pairan
Next to The Testament, this is the best book I have ever read. Rich Mullins' life was amazing, and reading Smith's bio will be a blessing to everyone who discovers this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jim J.
This is an amazing book. If I could recommend one book to read to renew and strengthen your faith (other than The Bible)it would be this one. I gave my life to the Lord a year ago, and this book gave me a deeper insight and a stronger conviction of my faith. I consider myself a Ragamuffin, broken on the wheels of life and lifted up by the grace of God. I have underlined my favorite passages and often draw inspiration from them. Please understand, you don't have to be a Rich Mullins fan to love this book, but I think if you are, it will bring you even more richness and comfort. I have bought many copies and given them away. I would also recommend "The Ragamuffin Gospel" by Brennan Manning. It to is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Christina D.
After having been a Rich Mullins fan for years, about a year ago I felt a definite call to take a closer look at his life. I ordered everything of his that I didn't yet have, including this book. In May and June, while reading this book, I wrote over a hundred pages in my journal (about triple the norm), mostly about clearer insight into false values--looking at his life as described in An Arrow, then looking back through my own life, seeing clearly where I had either held strong or caved in...seeing how I wanted to go on from here. And his name has been in every month's journal since, with new insights regarding him, his life, music, God, and the Bible, all inspired by pondering him and all that surrounded him.I thank God for him, and for this book, that helped me see much more clearly what he was about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, A Devotional Biography
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jeff Cramer
Being somewhat of a ragamuffin myself (and aren't we all?) I knew this book would touch me. I didn't make it through the first few chapters before I found myself in tears as I related to the experiences I was reading about. In Rich's life I found a familiarity of my own, a constant struggle to be good enough for God. This book has helped me realize I never can be good enough on my own and accept the wreckless, raging fury of God's love. It's a book you'll read more than once!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.