Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook

Revell Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook

For FBI Hostage Rescue Team member Evan Cooper and his partner, dignitary protection duty should have been a piece of cake. Unfortunately, Monica Callahan isn't making it easy. Estranged from her diplomat father--who is involved in a sensitive hostage situation in the Middle East--she refuses to be intimidated by a related terrorist threat back in the States. That is, until a chilling warning convinces her that the danger is very real--and escalating.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
s20er
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three new friends and introductions to others. What could be better?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Suspense!

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
debraje1
Location:Cumming, Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's great to read a great suspense with a Christian slant. I am now on the third in a series. I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy this series of books.

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading this series of books and have now gone on to other series of this type. I really enjoy them as I have a relative in the secret service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good book

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book. But, the statement in the epilogue the author made bothers me: ...he hadn't pushed her beyond her comfort level with intimacy, respecting the old-fashioned values her faith espoused...I didn't know the values in the Bible we are supposed to live by are "old-fashioned". I thought we are to live by God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Story

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this book because I had seen many people mention that if you like Dee Henderson you will like Irene Hannon. While this book was good, the writing styles are not at all similar. In "Against All Odds" the story didn't get intense until chapter 14, whereas Henderson has the ability to get your heart racing on page one. Henderson keeps the focus on the suspense, whereas Hannon focuses more on the romance. Henderson has a clear presentation of salvation, whereas Hannon occasionally mentions the characters' faith. Henderson keeps her books clean, whereas Hannon draws attention to the lady's calves or other body curves. The story line was good, but I disagree with Dee Henderson's endorsement that Hannon writes better romantic suspense than she does.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling Suspense with Romance and Action!

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tia Marie
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first installment of Hannon's Heroes of Quantico series was fabulous! She took imperfect characters and showed them the way to God and love. The novel was intense and moving. The action kept coming with twists and turns on every page. The plot was unexpected and the storyline was both believable and thrilling. Looking forward to the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great hero.

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
HannonFan
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evan Cooper was compelling. He was a take charge, get the job done hero. I really enjoyed this story with the pathos, action and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Ellinger-dixon
Nice, entertaining, light fiction. A great read at the beach. Well written but it was a little too much of a love story for my tastes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Patterson
High intensity drama!!! Kept me on the edge of my seat! Couldn't wait to see the end!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Thelen
Good story. Although Terrorism is not my thing, the book was well written, kept my interest to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I discovered this author after reading all of Dee Henderson and Terri Blackstock...I enjoy romances but since I am also interested in law enforcement I like that element in my reading as well. When I read on its cover that this book was highly recommended by Dee Henderson, I had to try it.This series is fantastic! The amount of research Irene Hannon has done to make her books as realistic as possible is incredible. She has used former FBI agents and other experts as reviewers to make certain her books are following protocols. I had never heard of the hostage rescue team before reading this book and came to respect, through Ms. Hannon's description, the commitment (and danger!) of being a member of this elite group.Like Dee Henderson's O'Malleys, these characters are highly believable and worth caring about. Both Monica and Evan have dealt with uncaring fathers; but each have reacted to the rejection in different ways. I ended up feeling real compassion for both of these characters - I ended up chewing my nails off the whole time Monica was held hostage! Even though I suspected how the story would end, I was truly drawn into the developing relationship between Evan and Monica.I understand this book is the beginning of a series...I definitely plan to read the second two books (and am suspecting who the lead character will be in each as well!)A very well done romantic suspense novel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keith A Davis
I have read books #1 and #2 of the Quantico series. Both were five star to me and I look forward to reading the entire series. She has done great background work on the technical aspects of her stories!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
***NO SPOILERS!*** Ladies the Quantico Series is a "Must-Read" For those who enjoy Suspense mixed with their Romance! I normally purchase books for both my Husband & Myself to enjoy together~"The Quantico Series (now waiting for book 3) has a bit more Romance than most" Although this & book 2 are gender friendly...Highly Recommended! Excellent book of Faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Griffis
This was a book I could hardly lay down. I've had to order the entire set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Wonderful book, full of action & attraction! This is a book about trust & forgiveness. Monica knows she needs to forgive her absentee father, but her kidnapping delays it for a while. Her father also realizes what he's missed in Monica's life. Coop experiences that "once in a lifetime" chance with Monica, but also knows he needs to share her Christian beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
masherri8
Both of the books of the Heroes of Quantico series were wonderful. Just the right mix of intrigue, FBI, and romance. It was worth reading, and I cannot wait for #3 when it comes out. Ms. Hannons writing is much like Dee Hendersons - and that is a compliment for anyone. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Lovitt
It's been awhile since a book has held my attention as this one has. I ended up reading the first two books of the Hereos of Quantico in two days and now am eagerly awaiting book three. Well-written, captivating and a quick read. I delighted in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
FANTASTIC BOOK!!!! I read it in 2 days - couldn't put it down! Hannon writes a very believable storyline. Great characther development and interaction of characters. Intense moments and believable romance makes for a great Christian fiction suspense/romance read! Can't wait to read the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
MerryMary
I really liked this book! The story grabbed me from the first page and just kept going. I remeber thinking, "This would make a great movie!" It read like an episode of "NCIS" or "24". Put this on your reading list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Against All Odds, Heroes of Quantico Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. For some reason, I feel that romantic suspense in Christian fiction, while enjoyable, is usually pretty weak compared with general fiction. I think the reason lies with the stories tending to focus more on the relationship and then throw in a kidnapping or two. Also the romance part is usually very rushed and not really convincing. This book however went off in a totally different direction.This story was jam packed with suspense. In fact, I felt that this was a big highlight of the book, the fact that it focused more on the suspense than the romance. There were some really tense situations throughout the book and times where I wanted to flip to the end to find out if these people made it out alive. This book however expertly blends the two together but gives an added kick to the suspense level which is greatly appreciated. The romance bit though is done very well and was realistic. I thought the chemistry between Coop and Monica was great and it made their relationship seem genuine. While the book focuses on Middle Eastern terrorists, there is nothing here that could be considered prejudiced or stereotyping. I really felt that I was reading something straight out of the news. The details were very realistic and the story dares to show the fear and terror that comes from being held as a hostage. There's a endorsement on the cover from Dee Henderson, who is the all time leader in Christian romantic suspense, that says this book is better than hers. I totally agree with her. I really think this is probably THE best Christian romantic suspense book I have ever read and I am going to be looking forward to reading more books from this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>