Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications The Rhythm of Secrets

Kregel Publications The Rhythm of Secrets

Sheila Franklin has lived three separate lives. Now a conservative pastor's wife in Chicago, she is skilled at hiding secrets--a talent birthed during childhood romps through the music-filled streets of New Orleans. But when the son she bore at the age of eighteen comes back looking for answers and desperate for help, her greatest secret--and greatest regret--is revealed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Rhythm of Secrets
Review 1 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story filled with secrets, & a wonderful ending

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Shelia Franklin, a phone call comes that will change her life forever. She will finally get to meet him, someone from her past that she’s wanted to meet for over 20 years. Now she will have her time with him.
This book is full of secrets. Shelia has been secretly guarding her life’s long time skeleton for many years from everyone, even her husband. What would he think of her if the truth really came out? Would it destroy their marriage? Her husband’s church? As she gets ready to meet her main secret, she can’t think about anything but him. What will happen with Sheila and the secrets that she has kept so close to her heart? Will her husband understand and stand behind her, or will he let her deal with the issues herself?
This is my first book of Patti Lacy’s and I was captivated by the writer’s ability to tell a story so realistic and powerful. The way the characters are so beautifully woven together you not only see secrets and deception, heartbreaks and sadness, but you see love, forgiveness, grace and redemption through Christ in their lives throughout the story. The unique rhythm in the musical background gave the story a special smoothness, even through all of the difficulties.
Even though this book started out slow for me, it just took a while to get into it, I enjoyed reading it very much. I would recommend this wonderful story to anyone who loves Christian fiction. It will be worth the time you spend reading it.
This book was provided by Kregel Publishers for me to read and review. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful and Haunting Story

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dobson
Patti Lacy weaves together another beautifully written and haunting story in The Rhythm of Secrets. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Woman's Fiction for everyone

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Patti Lacy has a gift. She has this uncanny ability to find a story and flesh it out to a place where you feel like you are living in that story. I would not say that woman's fiction (you know the kind dealing with heavy subjects that really make you think) is one of my favorite genres, in fact I pass by on a lot of them. But a book by Patti Lacy - it is a must read as far as I am concerned. I loved her first books "An Irishwoman's Tale" and "What The Bayou Saw" but this book was even better! The whole concept behind the book was fascinating... what if a woman grew up thinking that she had to hide the shame of the past she grew up in, and then is confronted with it in the worst way. Will her decision to hide her past cause hurt to others? What can she do to fix it? Will it destroy her marriage? Sheila Franklin is a heroine that makes you cheer for her as you follow her in her choices, good and bad, and I was curious to the end about how everything would turn out. Patti keeps you intrigued until the very end. So worth the read - a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good story but with some faults

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sheila Franklin is living a secret. Now the wife of a Chicago pastor, she was talented pianist when young and had enjoyed the colorful jazz of New Orleans in the 1940s.
Her life had changed when she became pregnant at eighteen. She was sent off to a home run by nuns and when her baby boy was born she was forced to give him up for adoption.
She went to Moody Bible Institute, met the handsome Edward Franklin and married.
Edward is a successful conservative pastor when Sheila's past crashes into the present. Sheila's son has tracked her down. They meet and hesitantly get to know each other. Samuel asks for his mother's help in rescuing Mali, a woman he met while on duty in Vietnam. She is a young woman forced into prostitution and Samuel loves her.
Sheila agrees to go to Thailand and they manage to fly there on a C-130. Things do not go well for them there as Mali is owned by a very powerful underworld figure. While attempting to get Mali out of the country they are kidnapped by Mali's owner and held. They are rescued by a retired American general who throws his weight around.
Edward, initially having a great deal of difficulty with Sheila's hidden past, suddenly has a change of heart, appears in Bangkok to help her, and in the end loves her dearly.
The story took a long time to develop. Lacy uses the technique of alternating between the present situation and the past, a technique that dragged at times. I had a great deal of difficulty with the “live happily ever after” ending. I live in a military community and I am not convinced a retired general would have the power Lacy gives him to rescue Sheila, Samuel and Mali. I know how difficult it is for a civilian to get on base (without paperwork), let alone on a military transport, so I doubt getting on a C-130 to fly to Thailand was realistic. Also, the turn about by Edward seems a bit abrupt.
In the end, I would recommend the book as Lacy has done a good job bringing Sheila through the growth she needed to experience in dealing with her past and the hurts it caused. The defects in the book are outweighed by the overall story.
This book is based on a true story, prompted by a newspaper article Lacy read.
I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Deep, Compelling Read

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Indianapolis
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by Patti and wow, what a storyteller! The Rhythm of Secrets follows the journey of a woman with multiple identities who ultimately comes full circle in discovering her purpose as a child of God. I was swept away to the settings in the book, feeling everything the characters felt and hearing the beautiful music Patti so skillfully incorporated throughout.
It delves into some tough issues including prostitution, so I would exercise caution in passing it along to a young reader. But for those who enjoy reading about the sometimes-ugly side of life and seeing the characters experience God's grace in the midst of it, this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Emotionally-Charged Novel!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cecelia Dowdy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a powerful, enjoyable book that I highly recommend. Sheila has secrets - secrets that she's never exposed to her husband, a big-time pastor. He doesn't know about her mixed parentage, or parents' background, or about the fact that she has an illegitimate son with dark skin.
This book shows how one simple, single mistake can haunt you for years and years. I know we're supposed to accept God's grace for our sins, but, even when/if we do this, our sins and our bad choices can still affect our lives for a long time.
This novel also shows that it's best to tell the truth, especially to those that you love. Don't hide secrets, what if they come out to bite you later, causing turmoil in your current relationships?
This book also has a pretty deep inspirational message - showing that no matter how tough things get, even if it appears that we may lose our lives, it's best to call upon the Lord, our creator, during times of trouble.
I loved the way the author truthfully showed how judgmental we can be as Christians. You know, this book had me thinking about how some Christians are quick to punish, judge, make others feel unworthy, not following the example that Christ set forth for us in the Gospels. When Sheila, the main character in Rhythm of Secrets, loses her parents and goes to live with her grandmother Mimi, she's forced to suffer from Mimi's judgmental attitude towards her. This attitude partially stems from Sheila's parentage. Yet, Mimi is a Christian? Sadly, the church is filled with Mimis and it'd be great if, the next time we find ourselves judging others for their mistakes, then we should stop, and take a hard look at ourselves. What sins have we committed in our own lives?
I guarantee that this book will get a strong emotional response out of you. For me, the most emotional part happens when Sheila is forced to give up her baby, a baby that she loves fully and unconditionally. Her son's dark skin doesn't bother her, as her baby's complexion is a result of her mixed parentage.
Give this book a try. If you've read it, let me know what you thought about the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Riveting Read

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read of Patti Lacy's, though I have seen her books before...I've just never been one to read much contempory fiction. I was hooked from the first chapter and honestly could hardly put it down! Patti is one of the most talented, smart, and prolific authors I've ever "met", and I've read hundreds of books.
Patti's books are stark reality. I for one, would rather ignore and not think about the prostitute on the street corner, the homeless man sitting downtown with his wine bottle, and all the unwed mothers out there. I would rather sweep these things under the rug and pretend they don't exist. But unfortunately, life isn't just about picket fences, roses, and lollipops for alot of people. For that reason, I can't recommend this book to everyone, because it is very intense, and Patti takes us places we don't like to think about.
Sheila Franklin has kept secrets from everyone including her minister husband, but when the the beautiful son she had given up for adoption years before, finds her, she comes to realize her secrets have kept her bound and the truth sets her free.
I love the way Patti goes back to another time and place, and lets us in on the life and upbringing of this lovely woman, why she made the foolish choices she did, and shows the faithfulness of God...in spite of herself. It broke my heart to read most of it, but it gave me a better understanding of what makes people do the things they do, even in their adult life. Sheila uses her experiences in life as a means of making her a better person, not a bitter person. One thing she has to do to get there, though, is to forgive herself, and realize she was a victim and not the cause of her shame. And that's what we all need to do if we had less than a "perfect" life growing up, and have made foolish mistakes because of it. Forgive others, forgive ourselves, and let God fix the broken places in our lives.
What a powerful book, Patti! I could not give it 5 stars, because of a few things that were a little sexually explicit for Christian fiction (in my opinion) and might be found offensive to some readers. Other than that...PERFECT, and what a fabulous ending!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Flows with rhythm ...

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Rhythm of Secrets revolves around the story of Sheila Franklin, wife of the prominent and conservative pastor, Edward Franklin. Unbeknownst to everyone around her, Shelia has secrets; secrets that she has kept even from her husband for many years. However, it takes only one little phone call for the carefully woven fabric of her past life to begin to unravel. At the risk of losing all she has attained and becoming an outcast and a pariah, Sheila makes the decision to reveal her secret past to her husband and, at the same time, embrace a family member from her past. Not only is Sheila's status in the life she has created at risk, the life of a young girl in the country of Thailand is also at stake.
Sheila hasn't always been the refined, well-dressed, dignified, lady-of-the-manor that we meet in the early pages of this book. In fact, the truth is that she hasn't always been "Sheila." At different stages of her life, Sheila's name changes several times throughout the book. While her life has been one of turmoil and upheaval, the constant throughout is her love of music. It is her music and love of it that sustains her in times of hardship.
When we first meet Sheila, the year is 1969. The place is Chicago, Illinois. From there, we take a leap back in time to the year 1942 and find ourselves in New Orleans, Louisiana. At this time, Sheila, who is actually named Sheba, is thirteen years old, already skilled at the piano and has a burning desire to learn to play the clarinet. Horrible and tragic events jerk Sheba from the comfort of her happy home and force her to live with a grandmother who neither loves nor understands her. Thus the stage is set for the events that mold Sheba into the woman that we met in the opening pages.
The book jumps back and forth in time, each time revealing a little bit more of Sheila's past. The more we learn, the more we are able to understand the decisions that Sheila makes and the reasons for her willingness to sacrifice the safety and security of her life as the minister's wife.
Along with the music which is always the center of Sheila's life, another constant throughout is God's grace, His love and mercy, His forgiveness and His compassionate intercession.
As a rule, I generally don't care for books that jump back and forth from present to past. However, in The Rhythm of Secrets, this is a very effective means of telling the story and I immensely enjoyed the way that the back and forth helped the reader to slowly come to understand Sheila's choices and how she has evolved into the person who is willing to risk all in order to save a young girl that she has never met.
When I first heard of this book I knew that I had to read it. I am a musician and can appreciate how Sheila's love of music became the one constant in her life when she was surrounded on all sides by turmoil, heartache, and confusion.
In the book of Psalms, chapter 150, verses 3 and 4, we are told to "praise Him with the sound of the trumpet...praise Him with the psaltery and harp...praise Him with stringed instruments and organs..." Indeed, it is through playing music that I worship God and commune with Him on a spiritual plane. So too, does Sheila use her musical talents to commune with God, relieve her anger or loneliness, and express her emotions.
In the pages of the Bible, we read much about King Saul. When an evil spirit was upon him, he called for David to play upon the harp and Saul was refreshed. There is much truth in the statement that music has the power to soothe the savage beast. The power of music cannot be denied and Patti Lacy skillfully demonstrates this truth in her book.
Is it a prerequisite that you must be a musician to enjoy The Rhythm of Secrets? Not at all! This is a strong story of faith, hope, and trust. All who read it will be captivated by the story and eagerly continue to turn the pages until they reach the satisfying conclusion. As I read this book, I was reminded on several occasions of the scripture in Romans 8:28 which says, "And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Writing, Great Themes, Stunning Ending

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
danzingfool
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhythm of Secrets by Patti Lacy is an incredible book that will touch your heart. I confess that I struggled with the dense language and shadowy secrets in the beginning. However, due to the lovely musical language and important themes of racism and legalism, I pressed on. I’m so glad I did. This book gets better and better with each turn of the page. The ending is one of the best I’ve ever had the pleasure of readng. It weaves an incredible portrait of grace with unexpected twists and turns. Beautifully paced, insightful, deep, and spiritual. You don’t want to miss this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exceptional historical plus contemporary novel!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you looking for an exceptionally meaningful read that's part historical and part inspirational contemporary fiction? OR a novel that deals with real-life issues like unwed teenage mothers and prostitution slavery? Here it is -- Patti Lacy's newest novel, Rhythm of Secrets. And of course, with that title and this author, you'll also get some intriguing mysteries, along with musical themes. I just finished the book several days ago, and I'll be recommending it to my book clubs (it includes a discussion guide). Just so you know -- I'm a Patti Lacy fan because she's a gifted writer and a wonderful woman! So take a look at this novel, and her others while you're at it. . . :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Patti Lacy is a master storyteller

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One writing lesson is to ask the question. "What is your characters secret?" And I consider muy current character and think "SECRET?" I'm learning how to coax them to reveal their secrets.
Patti has an uncanny knack to unlock the secrets that lie deep within her characters.
The child abandoned at birth. Will Samuel seek revenge?
Can Sheila revel in the reunion with her son and keep him safe from prying eyes?
The pastor husband, moving up in the world. Can he let his plans be crushed if his wife acknowledges her son? The son he knew nothing about until now.
Under Patti's skillful storytelling, the characters and setting come alive as you read. You can almost hear the music that Sheila needs to stay sane and healthy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Unforgettable Story!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
niki716
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was privileged to read an advance copy of this manuscript. It has been a year since that first reading, and I can still recall scenes and characters with absolute clarity. That's the strength of writing in Patti Lacy's work.
Like the mist that winds through the Mississippi Bayou, revealing a piece here and a piece there, Rhythm of Secrets carries the reader through the life of Sheila Franklin, the secrets she keeps, and what happens when the truth finally comes to light.
What secrets have you kept from friends, from family, even from yourself? What would happen if those secrets were exposed? Would you be strong enough to bear up under the consequences? Strong enough to choose what's right no matter the cost? It's a question we have to ask ourselves, because one day, those secrets will be revealed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An astounding amount of research went into this.

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Rhythm of Secrets" was a challenging book for me. I can’t say that I enjoyed the experience, yet I did admire the writer’s skill and found the overall story interesting. The novel covers two time periods—the end of World War II and the midst of Vietnam—and moves through four locations: New Orleans, Chicago, Hawaii, and Thailand. Patti Lacy has done an astounding amount of research to bring this based-on-a-true story to life as an historical novel.
The 1940’s part of the story is told through flashbacks as a mother introduces herself to the son she gave up for adoption at that time. This part of the story takes about two-thirds of the book, then Sheila, once known as Sheba and then Sylvia, must decide whether to help her new-found son rescue his fiancé or leave him alone to preserve her marriage, lifestyle, and happily-ever-after façade.
The theme of the book is grace and the ending is perfect, though difficult to get to. The “music literature” theme woven throughout the book adds interest, and Lacy directs readers to enjoy listening to some of the music themselves at her website. The book ends with two pages of discussion questions for reading groups.
Thank you LitFuse Publicity Group for sending this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book hooked me from the first chapter. What an amazing good book! I could hardly stop reading. I had to know how it would end.
This is my first Patti Lacy book, but sure not the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully, Tenderly Written

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cathy Gohlke
Location:Elkton, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila Franklin is a woman with a past, and a string of identities to prove it. When at last Sheila encounters the One who died to forgive sin and Who loves her unconditionally, she steps into a new life, but hides the shame of her past. But keeping those secrets secret in order to maintain her “respectable life” requires more energy than she’d imagined. When a phone call collides her past with her present, that life screeches to a halt. Determined to at last live transparently—no matter the cost—and prove her love for the son she was forced to give up, Sheila “comes clean.” In the truth telling—which alternates between past and present—she finds freedom, and the opportunity to offer the unconditional love and support she’d always craved to her son and the woman he loves—a woman whose past Sheila understands very well.
This is a tender, tragic, lovely story—the kind of story that shows that God wastes nothing—that He saves all our tears in a bottle and uses the experiences of our lives to bring us into full relationship with Him, and to encourage others with the encouragement He’s given us.
I’m eager for Patti Lacy’s next book—Christian fiction that moves my heart and makes me look deep within that I might walk with greater conviction, more love, less judgment, greater purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Powerful historical novel about prejudice

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Rhythm of Secrets of Patti Lacy is a poignant look at how racism and prejudice can affect a life. Sheila Franklin’s life is shattered when she receives a phone call from the son, Samuel, she gave up as an infant twenty –two years ago. Now the wife of a prominent pastor, she has much to lose from the secrets Samuel’s appearance will bring to light. But her son has an reason for approaching Sheila now, one that could destroy them both, and who they love, forever. Lacy has earned a reputation as a powerful historical novelist unafraid to deal with the brutality of racism with her novel, What the Bayou Saw. In Rhythm, she tells the tragic story of a woman held down by prejudice. From her life as Sheba in New Orleans, to Sheila Alexander as a teenager attending a private school, to Sylvia who faces the worst humanity has to offer because of a single mistake, to Sheila Franklin, the composed and perfect wife of Edward, Lacy portrays her as sympathetic, yet haunted by her misunderstanding of the nature of God. The story is compelling, yet difficult to read, because Lacy forces readers to see the real face of prejudice. Whenever it appears, she writes it without whitewash, even when it is incredibly ugly. Lacy creates an ongoing theme of music throughout the story that carries Sheila through even the worst of times and ultimately helps her to find the God she so desperately needs. The ending is almost too pat, but the last fifty pages are incredibly tense and action packed. Lacy will deservedly expand her audience with this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unwed Mom

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Sheba becomes Sheila becomes Sylvia. So many changes! Furthermore, written using a frame device, settings move between today and yesterday as Sheila/Sheba/Sylvia relates her story. This could be a bit confusing for some, but I liked the technique. The reader must focus; this is not a book to read through quickly.
When the unwed protagonist finds herself pregnant, her thoughts and actions are accurately painted by the author. What choices were there in the 60s? Has society really changed? Position in society as well as racism play a part in this story, adding to the complexity of the plot.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Kregel Publications for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Novel from Patti Lacy

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patti Lacy is one of those rare writers who puts everything out for examination. She doesn't just look at the pretty pieces of life, she looks at the bleak side, too. She knows that without experiencing the bitter, life wouldn't be half as sweet.
In The Rhythm of Secrets, we meet Sheila Franklin, a woman who has lived more lives than most of us could imagine. Tragic circumstances have taken away just about everyone she ever loved. Finally, in her role as wife to Edward, a conservative pastor, Sheila has found a sliver of peace. That is, until an unexpected phone call threatens to tear down her carefully constructed facade.
From the streets of 1940's New Orleans to the jungles of Vietnam, Lacy delivers a story of God's undeniable grace, love and mercy. And she shows that sometimes, the only way to be delivered from your past is to embrace it. I highly recommend this moving novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am FOREVER hooked on Lacy's work.....

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. This book really hits home with me. Not that I live my life as three different woman. Not that I am full of secrets, either. It's just that Patti Lacy took an amazing plot line and turned it in to a real-to-life historical novel that immediately captured me. From the characters, to the secrecy to the tender, inspirational story line, Patti Lacy is a woman who knows what her readers want.
This is a book that you need to have a LOT of uninterrupted reading time with, because as the jazz music flows, the history comes to life and Sheila Franklin guards her secrets so carefully, that when her son, the baby she gave up for adoption long ago , comes to her in desperate need, she risks those moments of jazz, those moments of living her life as a pastor's wife, to do what ever she can to win back her son. Reading Shelia's story, I felt every emotional struggle that she dealt with, I could sit there and hear all the music and the thoughts that she thought....they were mine. I felt so much for Shelia's character. I wanted to wrap my arms around her and hug many times over, and to pray with her.
There were other issues woven into this beautiful story,like having a son that is bi-racial, prejudice, trust, God's amazing grace, yet Patti Lacy captures them all in a way that they flow beautifully together and really hit home with the reader. Secrets are brought to life, issues are dealt with and readers become the characters. The pages of this book will be turning long in to the night as, with each page turn, the reader is wanting more and more of this amazing writing from Patti Lacy.
So, please. If you are like me and have NEVER read a Patti Lacy novel, grab a copy of The Rhythm of Secrets now. It's beyond a 5 star rating, and you will never be the same. The grace and love and spiritual messages in this story are like none other. Patti Lacy is an author whose books should be on everyone's book shelves to be read again and again. Her work is filled with passion, grace and forgiveness and every reader will see the depth of the story immediately. I am ready for more Patti Lacy work and will start with An Irish Woman's Tale, which is here on my book shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Rhythm of Secrets
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique story

Date:January 24, 2011
The Rhythm of Secrets by Patti Lacy was unique in both style and story. Sylvia is a pastor's wife living a lie and hiding from her past. When her son Samuel appears on her doorstep, she must choose whether she will accept him into her life and relive the past or continue on has she has for the past 20 years. Sylvia then tells her son the story of her life, his birth, and what happened after she gave him up for adoption. Alternating between the past and present (but mainly focusing on the past), we hear an incredibly moving story of a teenager forced to grow up too fast. About two-thirds of the way through the book, Samuel reveals the reason he came to find his mother ... in hopes that she can help him free his fiance from a terrible life in Thailand. Sylvia must choose between her husband and her son, the past and the present, and ultimate trust in God for direction.
To be perfectly honest, the book started out pretty slow for me. It was intriguing but I had a hard time determining the actual plot, and therefore deciding if I was going to like it or not. However, once I got into it, it moved along really well. I actually found myself feeling sorry for Sylvia as a teenager (instead of annoyed as I started out feeling). Samuel was an interesting addition to the plot. It was nice to see the past and present come together. However, the reason for him seeking out his mother seemed a little ... strange. Almost too far-fetched. Both were good stories (Sylvia's story and the reconnection of Samuel and Sylvia/trek to Thailand to save his fiance), but they could have almost been two separate books. I loved the way that biblical truth and Scripture was woven in throughout the book and in the life of Sylvia.
Overall, I would say this is about 3.5 stars.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>