Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook

Lacy Gallatin, the youngest of the Gallatin sisters, is a woman with a mission: to find her father's killer. Haunted by the belief that she's failed him, Lacy is also battling a desire to have something more than just revenge, something she can't quite figure out.

Enter Dave Shepard, deputy sheriff for the area. Dave has been fervently trying to find the man who killed George Gallatin, but he always feels inadequate when it comes to the beautiful Lacy. When they are together, the tension crackles between them--both when they argue and when they kiss. Lacy finds him frustratingly irresistible but is it truly love?

Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
Review 1 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm3
Location:Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A dream to call my own was a great finish to the Brides of Gallatin county, and I was sad to finish it. It is a great story full of realistic characters, and I recommend anyone interested in a good romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific book

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Bright
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book #3 is just as amazing as the first two. These 3 sisters make for great reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love books that are in the 1800's. They had so much courage and since these are faith based, I feel that was the way it was then. Really good books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great books excelllent value

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn George
Location:melbourne australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really great reading couldn't put them down wish there were more in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Nichol
Brides of Gallatin County Series was great I finished the whole series in less than a week. keep up the great stories. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Nichol
Brides of Gallatin County Series was great I finished the whole series in less than a week. keep up the great storie. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marta Hoelscher
I hadn't read the other two books in the series before I read this one, but that really didn't matter. This book was absolutely delightful and I really enjoyed it. The characters and plot were fun and believable, which isn't always the case with Christian fiction. I think anyone could pick up this book and enjoy it. I'd heartily recommend this book and I'm planning on checking out the rest of the series as well as some other books by Tracie Peterson.While this is Christian fiction, and Christianity plays an important part in the story, I didn't feel like the author was hitting the reader over the head with it. This could make it an excellent choice for the reader who just wants a nice love story without it being x rated.Thanks to Bethany House for sending me a copy of this great book to review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
ash
These books were great. Each one had a great story to each girl and though all 3 are wonderful books, a deam to call my own is my favorite. I love lacy's passion and personality. And her relationship with dave is my favorite of them all. Great Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah
The final book of the Brides of Gallatin brings an end to the series of these three sisters. It's finally time to tell Lacy's tale and see the struggles she's felt since the day her father died. She's been handling everything alone and keeping it from her sisters. Honestly I just really could not get into this story. I enjoyed it for an easy afternoon read but I didn't really moved or inspired by it. There were times when I got frustrated with the characters and their actions. I have never been a fan of Cubby since the first book and this book only solidifies my reasons. Even though Lacy is very able to take care of herself, she's very stubborn and extremely strong willed. I'm not saying that she needed a man to look out for her, but being on her own is not the best for her as she does not make smart decisions. I really didn't feel chemistry between her and Dave. It's too much of the "oh I shouldn't have done that" after a kiss type of deal which I loathe. Also the historical aspect of the book is downplayed. The story just takes places back in the day, any historical events are not really a factor in the book.To be honest, I really did not think this was Tracie's best series. The characters didn't really stick with me and I never really felt like I could get into the story. There's a lot of stereotypes of women and the West in general that take place in this book. Also the storyline seemed very predictable and sometimes a bit too unbelievable. I felt like I knew what was going to happen as soon as I started reading. That being said though, I did enjoy this book because I always enjoy Tracie's books. Even with its faults, it still makes for comfort reading because I know I'm going to be in for a good story. The novel might have had its faults but it does make for a good read. I just hope that future books will be a bit more enlightening!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Haley
I haven't read A Dream To Call My Own yet but I've read the first two. I couldn't put them down, when I bought the first one A Promise To Believe In, I finished it that night. The next day I got the second A Love To Last Forever and finished it that night too, haha I just couldn't put them down. I love this series and many others from Tracie Peterson, I can't wait to get A Dream To Call My Own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer West
Great ending to the series. She could do more books on the sisters some years down the road, that would be nice!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
anonymous
This was an amazing, very well written book!!! It isn't like one of those boring books you wished you hadn't bought, but it keeps you interested the whole way through!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Lacy Gallatin is a lovable character that seems to symbolize the old west. She loves her independence and isn't quite sure what to do when she falls in love with the deputy sheriff. She agrees to marry him but immediately regrets saying "yes". She feels inadequate to take on the role of wife when she feels she has failed as daughter. With her father's killer still on the loose, Lacy struggles to move on with her life until justice is carried out. At a moment to crisis, Lacy's true feelings of love come clearly into the light. Lacy steps out of shadow of her past to pursue a dream to call her own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Very good. The personality of this younger sister here was humorus. I would like to read more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Tracie Peterson has done it again, showing the sisters falling in love and struggling with the challenges on the early frontier of Montana. Good christian morals overcome temptations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This book is a great ending to the trilogy of The Brides of Gallatin County. Once again the characters from the previous books are brought to a deeper level. Tracie really knows how to make you despise a bad guy, and in this book she even eloquently finds a way for a reader to find sympathy for the antagonist. I would say that this book is deeper and a little bit heavier than the other two, but it is good and could be read alone. This is one of those books that can make you look back on yourself and question if you are where you need to be in your faith. Lacy, the youngest of the Gallatin sisters has tried so long to be a strong person that she just ignores her pain and tries to go it all alone. It is once she realizes she needs another's strength that she can really prosper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
A Dream to Call My Own is the third book in the Brides of Gallatin County series by Tracie Peterson. I have not had the pleasure of reading the first two books in this series, but I wish I had because this book was absolutely delightful.In A Dream to Call My Own, Lacy Gallatin, the youngest sister is still trying to find the person responsible for her fathers death. Deputy David Shepard has been trying to help Lacy find the killer and in the process, they are falling in love. Lacy fears failing as a wife and is hesitant to marry Dave, but when danger comes to Gallatin county, her resolve and her love is put to the test.There were so many things to like about A Dream to Call My Own. I loved all the Gallatin sisters and their families. They were a close family and always there to help each other. Life in Montana in the 1880s was difficult and this family always pulled together even when their lives were in danger. This family always stayed strong in their faith and that faith was very evident in this book. This book was not only a great story with wonderful characters, it was also a strong testament to Gods love and the power of prayer. If you like historical fiction, you are sure to like this book. Even though I have not read the first two books in the Brides of Gallatin County series, I did not have any problem following along. Tracie Peterson did a superb job catching the reader up on what happened in the previous two books. A Dream to Call My Own is highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
JLS
I enjoyed this final book in the series. It is a fun read. The book also tied up unresolved questions from the first 2 selections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
An excellent ending to the Gallatin Family series. Lots of drama, humor, and romance, but most importantly the saving grace of God is woven throughout the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dream to Call My Own, A - eBook
This review is fromA Dream to Call My Own, Brides of Gallatin County Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dewitt
I found this book to be a good read overall. However, it seemed almost redundant at times. I thought the story was more drawn out than it needed to be. Really the story line could have been wrapped up with just a few more pages added to Book 2. I also found it, and the first two in the series, disturbingly violent. I liked the plot of the story and the characters and wanted to find out what would happen but I could have done without people being beat almost to death by the bad guys.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>