Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bright Ideas Press Christian Kids Explore Biology

Bright Ideas Press Christian Kids Explore Biology

Give your students a thoroughly Christian introduction to the study of living things with Christian Kids Explore Biology. Conversational, accessible lessons will have kids eagerly waiting to hear more about the wondrous world that surrounds them. Lessons focus on biological classification, plant life, bird structure, types of mammals in the wild, the human body, five senses, human reproduction, and more.

Units and lessons follow a consistent format. Units begin with a short introduction that provides vocabulary, and materials needed; a coloring page and a unit "wrap-up" assessment are also included.

Individual lessons include a "Teaching Time" section and a "Hands-On Time" section. The "teaching time" section includes a conversational lesson to read, after which students complete a "daily reading sheet." Students will also review lessons, make flashcards, list vocabulary words in their science notebook, and read any supplemental reading chosen. The "hands-on" time features fun learning opportunities and a "Checking It Out" science experiments form to complete.

Students will maintain a science notebook where they can keep track of daily reading sheets, "Checking it Out" lab forms, and other work.

Units include:

  • "Biology Basics"
  • Plants in God's World
  • Birds of the Earth
  • Mammals in the Wild
  • The Human Factor
  • Reptiles All Around
  • Insects High and Low
  • Water Creatures

    This book features 35 lessons, each designed to take approximately one week. If taught twice per week (reading during one science period, activities during the other) lessons will take approximately 60-90 minutes each day. One-year curriculum. Grades 3-6, though content may be scaled for younger students and for those looking for more work. Answer key provided; line-listed. Extensive book and resource list with appropriate grade levels also included.

    291 indexed pages, softcover. Reproducible consumable workbook (reproduction allowed for families, co-ops, and classrooms). Scripture from the NKJV.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 967%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Review 1 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not all that I'd hoped for...

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This year we switched to this curriculum, Christian Kids Explore Biology, and I tried again to find a Christian science curriculum that we would like and that would be easy to use.
I liked the philosophy of this author and many of the points she draws out in the lessons. But, unfortunately, after two lessons, I quickly realized that there were lots of holes in the curriculum and it was difficult for my kids to follow auditorily. There is no student book and the text would be way above their reading level if I were to copy it for them (which isn't legal since the text portion of the book isn't reproducible). I worked through several lessons and assembled additional materials and supplements so that the curriculum would be what I thought it should be.
Here's a quick example. Instead of clearly saying, "There are two types of cells: Eukaryotic and Prokaryotic. Animal and Plant cells are both eukaryotic, but they have some differences." The book says on page 8, "Eukaryotic cells have a particular organelle inside called the nucleus... and on pg. 9, "Some cells do not have a nucleus. They are called prokaryotic." No examples are given of what a prokaryotic cell would be. Then the assignment asks kids to label an animal cell and a plant cell, before first saying that both of these cells are eukaryotic because they have a nucleus. That was Lesson 2 in Unit 1. Honestly, I love the stuffing of this curriculum, but there just isn't enough of it and there are statements that are missing so that me (a non-science lover) can teach it easily. I was constantly running to the internet so that I could thoroughly explain the lessons to my kids. I had to clarify that there weren't more than two types of cells. I also wanted my kids to know the word "mitosis" which wasn't mentioned in the lesson at all.
So, where does that leave me? The reason I had switched because of my concerns about evolution and natural selection and how that teaching permeates secular science curriculum. I've looked for a curriculum that I like as well as Harcourt Science. Now I've tried two and have looked at many others. But Harcourt Science works for my kids and it works for me. As my oldest daughter said to me today. Mommy, "I know creation is the truth, but I like this book and how it teaches." So, I'm switching back through 6th grade and will find another curriculum to use for 7th grade and beyond...
As a side note, make sure you either get a copy of this book with a cd of the reproducible pages or you purchase a download of the reproducibles from the publisher's webpage if you're going to use this curriculum. This is a horrible book to try and copy from. The binding is very tight and it's not possible on my inkjet printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very basic information

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
WestchesterHS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The material covered in this book is very basic information. I purchased these to use for all of my children at multiple grade levels, as it is described as such. However, I found that the material was too basic for older grades. I would recommend this book if you just wanted to give your children an overview of biology topics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Program

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyssaMM
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this program. We used it for 2 years, 2nd and 3rd grade. It's excellent and can be easily adapted to all ages. We benefited from the use of our public library to add a additional resources. I especially loved how hands-on and in depth this book is. Combined with the additional library resources it gave my kids a much better grasp of the topics covered then a traditional textbook ever would have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
BB25
Location:MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is an awesome science program. I am using it for my daughter in 2nd grade. Even though it is based on 3rd to 6th grade it is easily adptable for younger children and the hands on parts are very fun! With the program having as much hands on time as reading I dont have any complaints from my daughter. She is a visual learner so this is a great product for her. And the projects so far are quite simple and can be done using typical household items wich i love! Another thing I am enjoying about the program so far is that it teaches creaction based but also the evolution view point in a very special way. It shows the child the different view points and offers scripture and creation science to show the children how to defend their beliefs later in life even though the child may not realize this at the time. I as a parent realized it though and appreciated it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great addition to christian home schooling

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Traveller
Location:Fort Polk, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using the book with my fifth grader. It is very well written. We are getting a lot of information out if it. The lessons are shorter than expected, but they are very valuable. I select our weekly spelling words from the vocabulary words in the book. Every Thursday my son has to use these spelling words to write an essay about the topic. I do supplement this particular book in order to give my child a deeper understanding. However, it is a wonderful tool for the christian home school teacher.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for grade school levels. It is wonderful for homeschooling because it has all the information, answer keys and other items contained all in one text. Where more information might be wanted or needed, web addresses are included right on the lesson pages! I am so thankful to have found this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bright Ideas in Science Curriculum

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While searching for a science curriculum to continue to build upon the scientific knowledge base our child has already acquired I discovered "Christian Kids Explore Biology" by Bright Ideas Press.
"Christian Kids Explore Biology" is a science curriculum which follows the teachings of "intelligent design" with the influence of the educational philosophies of Charlotte Mason and Classical Education.
The curriculum is divided into 35 lessons covering the topics of Biology Basics, Plants in God's World, Birds of the Earth, Mammals in the Wild, The Human Factor, Reptiles All Around, Insects High and Low, and Water Creatures. The lessons are divided into teaching time, checking it out, hands on time, quick quiz, memory work, vocabulary, coloring pages and "living books" to read. The curriculum contains notes for the teacher on "how to use this book" along with appendices including reproducible forms/maps, memorization lists, Scripture memory,ABC Animal Book, coloring pages, recipes/supplemental activities, answer key and book/resource list.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Realistic, Core Science Program

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christian Kids Explore Biology by Stephanie Redmond is designed to provide a year of science teaching in the life sciences from a creation-based perspective for grades 3-6. Though it is written with families in mind and can be geared up or down, I found that it is a bit much for younger students, and you should definitely wait until your oldest is in 3rd and up to dive in as a family.
The 35 lessons are designed to be completed at a rate of around 1/week and the book includes coloring pages, printables, hands-on activity ideas, memory verses, supplemental reading lists, recipes, and a lot more. Each unit includes a test as well and the coloring pages for each unit are really spectacular. The main topics covered include: Biology Basics, Plants in God’s World, Birds of the Earth, Mammals in the Wild, The Human Factor, Reptiles All Around, Insects High and Low, and Water Creatures.
Bright Ideas Press has also put together a downloadable bundle of all the printable sheets (a separate purchase) which is awesome! That is such a boon to me – much simpler than scanning each page I need in order to get a copy out of the book.
Like other titles published by Bright Ideas Press, Christian Kids Explore Biology is written by a real homeschooling mom, and as a result – it’s realistic! I hope I don’t come across as slacker-mom here, but this curriculum is pretty balanced – it has straight forward teaching sessions twice a week leaving room for additional readings, delight-driven studies, and hands-on activities. It doesn’t micro-manage your entire science schedule for you (though it is slightly scripted and you can just open it and read the main content to your children.
If you want everything and the kitchen sink in a science program, this one isn’t for you – it covers the basics succinctly, in a timely fashion without bogging down or drowning you in detail – that leaves room for flexibility and your own expansions if you want to add them. Otherwise, it’s a good core program that gets the job done from a creation-based perspective.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very dissapointing...

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
mandms mom
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vocab lists are huge. The book only gives you a page or 2 to work on the rest is supplemental that you must purchase from another website. Everthing is apendexed at the back of the book. Color pages are of poor quality and not very pleasing to the eye. Not a great purchase for us.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janey Goude
Love this book! The lessons are a good mix of detail and overview. The activities reinforce the lesson. Kids are enjoying it! Easy to do multi-age!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
These "Christian Kids Explore..." books are excellent. I took one star away from this one because it can get a little dry at times but it's still great. The best advice I can give you is to buy all of the books in this series (there are 4: this one, Chemistry, Physics, and Earth & Space) at once, and alternate them (do 1 unit in one book, then a unit in another, etc.) This will prevent you from getting burned out on studying the same subject for the whole year. I love these books because they present a formal study of science, with the vocabulary words and quizzes and all that, but it also has fun experiments the kids enjoy, and it's all from a Christian perspective. Highly recommended!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laurie Filipiak
I have the Christian Kids Explore Chemistry book and loved it, so I thought I'd try the Biology book, and I'm glad I did! These are excellent books and I highly recommend them, especially for parents who are teaching more than one grade level.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christian Kids Explore Biology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melody Firestone
This is an excellent book! We are using for our 5th grader. I plan to buy more books from this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.