Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bright Ideas Press The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3

Bright Ideas Press The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3

The years of the Renaissance and Reformation were years of growth and change for both the world and the church. The Mystery of History, Volume III presents the years 1461-1707 through Christ-centered lens, exploring the backdrop to and significance of major cultural and historical events, alongside events in the history of Christianity. Moving through time chronologically, achievements in art, music, literature, science and philosophy are studied using a Classical approach, with an emphasis on reading, writing, research and hands-on activities. 464 pages, full color illustrations. The Mystery of History Volume 3 Companion Guide Guide includes the activities, quizzes, tests, reproducible maps, teacher information, book lists, and everything else that is not the lesson.

Waiting for the Mystery of History Vol. III? We don't want you to have to have any delay! Download the first Four Mystery of History III chapters for free!

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Review 1 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best history book I have ever read!

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mammy Anne
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old home schooled 6th grader and I have already covered 19 lessons. Would have covered the book if we did not have 6 other subjects to cover. Linda Lacour Hobar has the best style of writing I have seen in history textbook. As a teacher of mathematics with three grown daughters who are all engineers like their father, I can tell you I NEVER cared for studying history for more than I had to in order to get out of school. When I chose this text for my granddaughter, it was because she needed to study something in Social Studies and the cover looked sharp. We started on the second day of class this year reading on page xi. We read every word through Lesson 1 and both of us wanted to keep on going. We are on page 99 having completed 19 Lessons in 3 weeks. She still wants to keep going at this pace because it is just that exciting.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good history "spine" for home school studies

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tracy Clarke
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is set out nicely with interesting stories so children get an overview of history from a Christian perspective. You can add in as many living books as suits your family with this curriculum. If you want to bolster it up you can use the accompanying quizzes and craft ideas. If you find the quizzes and crafts overwhelming you can just get your children to keep a notebook and write something on each topic. You could use it in a relaxed way for primary school with easier living books and more intensively (more detailed living books on each topic with the quizzes) in high school. We plan to use our Amy Pac Timeline figures in conjunction with note booking for primary school.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is well written to make history come alive.

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ctbeach
Location:Beaufort, South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the classical approach to learning history and learning about the historical events of Christianity. This is definitely important to a Christian family and should be brought out in all history books as well. I would highly recommend The Renaissance, Reformation, and the Growth of the Nation (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3 to families who want a Christian base education.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I would not reccomend this book.

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
I am an 8th grade home school student, and I am about fed up with this book. I wish I could give this book stars in the negative. In theory, A Christian-based history book is a great idea. There are great Christian history books. However, this is not one of them. For one, the author writes extremely biased in some chapters. I am not Catholic, but I was disturbed by how she painted the Roman Catholic Church. Yes, the Roman Catholic Church did some bad things, but it was run by humans. Humans are not perfect. Protestants also did some bad things too, though, which she doesn't seem to mention as much. I hate how judgmental she is. As Christians, we are taught not to judge, and it really has made me sad reading such a judgmental "Christian" history book. She also writes about how certain people were great Christians based on things they have said or written. From personal experience, I have learned that you cannot judge a person solely by the things they say or write. She has no idea what these people were actually like who lived hundreds of years ago. To me, it seems very insincere. Also, she writes about figures as she sees them. It appears that she researches, then decides what type of person she thinks someone is, and includes only the facts that support that belief, rather than include enough information for someone to decide for himself what he thinks of this historical person. An example of this would be Oliver Cromwell. From what she writes, he appears a very great, religious man, who might have made a few bad decisions. After reading this chapter, my history teacher told us that he was actually a very cruel person. It did not seem that way to me at all after reading the chapter. I would not recommend this book. It has been very frustrating, and I cannot wait to be done with it! Please, do not buy this book for your child. It is not beneficial in building his/her faith, and it does not teach with a Christian attitude.
God Bless! (And pick a different book ;)
0points
28of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great history book!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
DebG
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My middle school daughter loves this book! There is just enough information to pique her interest and send her searching the library for more books to add to her knowledge. The pictures are beautiful and we love the author's conversational tone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Location:Frankfort, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Didn't realize it was hard-bound- that was a nice surprise.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lea Burdette
This is our first year using the Mystery Of History series. I love it. We just finished construction of a wall time -line, I wish I'd thought of that years ago...The lessons and the ideas from the companion book are outstanding,History is a subject that is begged for ever day now!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Blackshire
Excellent narrative of this time period. Not too heavy, not too light. For those who wish for a little more depth, the author has a list of suggested readings for further study. I found the text can be easily adapted to fit high school as well as middle school ages. I recommend this text!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
This text is fantastic. My children love it and so do I. Their grandmother glanced at this book while visiting and had me order her all the volumes. She loves it as well. I gave my children the option of shopping for other History material for next school year and they said absolutely not. My oldest, aged 14, said he has been afraid there will not be enough Mystery of History Volumes to get him through high school. This text is so interesting that there are days the boys just can't put it down and they will read anywhere from 3-6 sections when they have been assigned only 1. I think this says a lot! I find it captivating. My opinion: This is the best history book on the market! I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a thorough understanding of history.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darcie Christensen
I was initially unhappy with the new reader and companion guide format. However, upon review of the reader I like the format much better and wish that the previous two volumes had been available in this format. It is much easier to tailor this to fit a more advanced elementary course than it is with the first two volumes. That said, all three are wonderful elementary history texts. They are the best out there and you can't go wrong purchasing them. Be aware that these are elementary texts, not middle school and certainly not high school level. If that's what you're looking for keep going, this does not have the depth or breadth to be truly considered for upper grades. Unfortunately, I do not forsee future orders through CBD. When the shipping information states that I will receive my package in certain time frame I expect that I will receive it in that time frame. Unfortunately, what now happens is that in that time frame FedEx deliveres to the pacage to the USPS who then delivers it to you in 1-8 plus days. While it is in their hands there is no tracking. My last order wasn't very late but still, even counting business days only it was late and not delivered in the time frame for which I paid. Since CBD isn't posting this information, as they should, with the checkout information, hopefully they will post it in the form of my review.
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Jermeay
She has written this History Book with simpliest yet great knowledge for all ages. My children enjoy reading and listening to me read with great enthusiasim. We have done all Three Volumes and have greatly enjoyed each and everyone. The book brings history to life with so much enjoyment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Taking into consideration that I have never enjoyed History, this book is fabulous. My boys and I began Mystery of History this school year, 2009-2010, and so far we rank this as the Best Ever History Book! The author writes in a way that keeps you interested and entertained. We don't want to put it down when our class is over. We also enjoy looking up the videos that are listed to get a birds-eye view of what we just read about.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Renaissance, Reformation, and Growth of Nations (1455-1707) Student Reader, Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill
This is the 3rd book in a wonderful series. This volume is not only full of wonderful info, but is beautifully illustrated as well. I like that the student reader and the activity book are separate with this volume. It's much less bulky than the previous two volumes. This series points to Christ as the Mystery that links all of history together and does a good job of reviewing previous lessons, demonstrating how one event affects another and so on...
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.