Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook

Abingdon Press A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 5298%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
Review 1 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tea Room Touches Community's Lives

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charlotte Rose Hill’s friendly tea shop offers a charming backdrop for the drama occurring among Middlebury’s citizens. A widowed antique shop owner who plays matchmaker, a lonely fatherless boy who seeks refuge, a new pastor who faces challenges and romance, a homeless man who seems down and out, and Charlotte’s high-school sweetheart’s return to face his ailing father—bringing a new love along—present Charlotte with plenty of opportunities to blend tea and care.
This touching story offers a fun read, and the author’s highlights of fine word-styling provide additional enjoyment. Set in the American South, the book contains multiple story threads woven together with plenty of tension to tug the reader on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Charming Story

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pegg Thomas
Location:Ossineke, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charlotte lived a comfortable life in small town Middlebury until the day her old flame strolled back into town. With a fiancée in tow. A fiancée who asked Charlotte to cater their wedding.
A charming story involving a family mystery, a cast of unique characters, and a whole lot of people falling in love. A story about second chances and grace.
Suitable for any age, this story may appeal more to those with a few years under their belts, those who have been around long enough to appreciate a second chance.
Anita Higman does a wonderful job of creating characters who are easy to relate to and fun to get to know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished my first Anita Higman book, A Marriage in Middlebury, and I loved it! She has a charming writing style and characters that you won't forget. Although A Marriage in Middlebury deals with some deep issues like racism and grief, secrets of the heart and running from one's past, there's enough humor and busy-body match-making going on that there's not one moment of gloom and doom. Instead, you feel hope. You know there's a better day coming. For everyone! If you're looking for a change of pace, this book is for you. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Charming Read

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
This is the second story of I've read by Anita Higman and really enjoy her writing style. She creates realistic characters and settings that draw you into her stories.
Charlotte Hill spends her days serving tea and goodies to the people of Middlbury and loving every minute of it. But when Charlotte's lost love from her youth comes back to town with his new fiancé, suddenly everything in her life tips a little bit.
Sam Wilder has come home to tend to his dying father and his estate only to realize feelings for Charlotte he thought were buried may still be very much alive. This is a beautiful story of love, forgiveness and second chances. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an enjoyable read.
I was given a copy of this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
sally89
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I have read in a long time. Fun, delightful reading. A host of fun characters which add to the story. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Characters and Memorable Takeaways

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review A Marriage in Middlebury by Anita Higman
Charlotte Rose Hill is a godly admirable woman who puts others before herself. Not that it doesn’t sometimes pain her to do so, but her employees and friends know where to find her when the consequences of her giving heart almost cost too much.
Her loves – Sam Wilder, from decades ago, her tea house, a neglected neighborhood child, and other wandering souls she helps, are all at risk.
The broom closet at Charlotte’s tea house (her prayer closet) gets a lot of use with all the trial of life for those in Charlotte’s circle of influence. I’ve “met” many of the characters in real life and enjoyed watching their personalities play out in A Marriage in Middlebury.
While I hoped for the end result, it couldn’t always be seen how Higman was going to get the right couples together.
A Marriage in Middlebury was a fun read, but one with several “takeaways” for the reader. This was my first read of an Anita Higman book, but it won’t be the last!
I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story!

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Middlebury is a quaint little town with all the proverbial landmarks of small town America. The residents are as recognizable as your neighbors... friendly, welcoming, curious, quirky, gossipy and eccentric. You get the picture! Charlotte Rose Hill has converted an old house into a tearoom where she serves up her own special blends of teas personalized to fit a customer's individuality and penchants, accompanied by tasty sandwiches and decadent desserts. Her customers are devoted regulars, reliable and unpredictable, a medley of individuals making The Rose Hill Cottage Tearoom a popular and interesting meeting place. Charlotte's high school sweetheart unexpectedly arrives back in town accompanied by his fiance, who has decided that Charlotte should cater their wedding reception. The unlikeliest people are falling in love while Charlotte battles her emotions and maintains business as usual even as her heart breaks over the finality of her shattered dreams.
A Marriage in Middlebury is about as unpredictable as the cast of characters the author has embodied. Anita Higman is creative and proficient in interlacing an engaging array of personalities and events that capture the hearts of her readers. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this captivating account of relationships, heartache, questions of faith, disappointment and unexpected scenarios. Charlotte's prayer closet is as unique as the characters portrayed in this story. A compelling and delightful tale of lost love and disappointment mixed with humor, cherished friendships and a component of tragedy make this an unforgettable and entertaining tale. I highly recommend this compelling novel!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Book Fun through the For Readers Only program and Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful read!

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
ADMeyer
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anita’s style is delightful. From the first sentence I knew I would enjoy reading her book. I was not disappointed. Reading A Marrriage in Middlebury was like hanging out with a town full of friends.
In real life you have flawed people that you want to root for and strangle at the same time. Guess what. Those folks live in Middlebury, too. But through their growing and learning and relying on God, they reminded me to do the same.
Charlotte is a strong woman, but totally relatable. My favorite quote about her is “she was a much finer Christian woman when she wasn’t being emotionally ravaged.” A woman I can understand! But even though her life contains disappointments she is determined to live life fully.
When Sam walks back into her life along comes drama and revelations, pain and hope. And of course, a heaping dose of love. What more could a story ask for?
I highly recommend adding this book to your reading list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book to make you smile

Date:February 18, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Marriage in Middlebury by Anita Higman was an interesting novel. I enjoyed the story and the writing was excellent and easy to follow. The characters came to life on the page. I wanted to know how Charlotte got her happily-ever-after, since she'd had a hand at providing it for several others. I loved Meredith's quirkiness. It made me smile.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WILL REAL LOVE PREVAIL?

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REVIEW OF A MARRIAGE IN MIDDLEBURY BY ANITA HIGMAN
As I begin my review of A Marriage in Middlebury, I hesitate, wondering what I can tell that hasn’t already been beautifully and thoroughly narrated in previously published reviews. When I accepted this book to review, I didn’t allow for the real life trauma that ungraciously interrupted my own life. Anita Higman graciously accepted my apology and understood my reasons for not being able to write the review when it was due. Thank you, Ms. Higman.
Anita Higman wrote realistically about choices – the kind that change the outcome of a situation or turn lives around forever. The story immediately appealed to my passion for tea while I read with great interest of Charlotte Rose Hill who owned and ran the quaint Rose Cottage Tearoom in the small village of Middlebury. Unrequited love hung as a cloud over Charlottes being, even though she was a dynamo of cheerful and concerned listening and offering help to others that entered her tearoom. Charlotte was a woman of deep faith in the Lord which sustained her through many disappointments and grief during her life.
Charlotte was suddenly thrown against great odds in the shocking return to Middlebury of her first and only love Sam; introducing his fiancé, Audrey. To add insult to injury, Sam and Audrey request Charlotte to cater their wedding. This isn’t the only romance in town - others will warm your heart and remove the chill of Sam and Audrey’s news. There is much more in Anita’s story to muse happily even though it had a melancholic beginning. Charlotte rises above it all when she considers all is hopeless where romance is concerned, and is a genuine Christian lady in response.
All the characters were well developed with personalities that were easy to love – and easy to dislike. Anita is definitely well gifted with word creating abilities. Her stories exhibit great imagination and she nobly applies the storyteller’s trump card to stimulate her reader’s interest into wanting more when the book is ended. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and could relate to the sundry of emotional situations. Might I add that I enjoyed winter in Full Bloom a bit more, however Marriage in Middlebury is an individual novel with its own merit. There was a bit more predictability in this story as it is more romantic – but my recommendation is to read and find out for yourself how the ending will surprise you. There is some mystery surrounding prior and current events that will rouse your curiosity, making it a satisfying read.
My admiration and respect for exalting her faith and trust in God through her pen is boundless. Ms. Higman builds such elegance in her stories that far outshines her distinguished contemporaries. She comes well recommended – and I will verify those recommendations with my own as prevailing. Thank you, Ms. Higman for writing from your heart.
I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review – the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
AuthorCynthiaHickey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, what tangled webs are created by deceit and lies. When the love her life walks through the door of her teashop, Charlotte Hill must squelch her feelings and desires and be happy for Sam and his fiancé. After all, they had their chance years ago and Charlotte had made her decision. What neither Sam or Charlotte knew was the lies and deceit that led to Charlotte's decision. With several romance threads, reconciliation, and the truth coming to light, Anita Higman draws the reader into small town life and the lives of those who live in Middlebury. Come visit. You'll never want to leave. Beautifully written.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlotte Rose Hill has been serving up country delicacies, uniquely blended teas, and matchmaking advice for her quirky but beloved customers for more than 10 years. But for her, marriage seems like an elusive butterfly, always out of reach. At 18, Charlotte fell in love with a young man, Sam Wilder, but his family convinced her to walk away from their relationship. She did, and then became engaged to another man, who later died before they were married. Now, more than a decade later, Charlotte finds that she still has feelings for her first love. Initially thrilled to learn that Sam has come home to Middlebury, Texas, Charlotte is devastated to learn that he’s brought someone with him: his fiancée. But all is not lost when the townsfolk decide to get involved. Will Charlotte and Sam find their way back to each other?
My Review:
My absolute favorite part of this book was when Audrey somehow convinces Charlotte to cater the wedding. Charlotte is really too nice for her own good, and Audrey is too needy to ever gain my sympathy. But aside from the two rivals for Sam's heart, I found all the characters warm, pleasant and homey. Middlebury is the kind of place that makes you regret having to leave (or rather, finishing the book!)
Reading this fine piece of fiction makes me wish with all my heart that Higman is planning to continue writing and making this a series - I mean how hard could it be? This is the perfect book to read on a lazy weekend afternoon with your favorite cup of tea, a fuzzy blanket and plenty of time. You won't want to put it down.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Welcome to Small town America

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story full of life and all its bumps and bruises. The setting could be any small town in America, with residents that catch your heart and make you laugh and cry while you get caught up in their daily lives. The basic story of a love lost long ago and life’s second chances is rich with many smaller characters that win your heart and keep you reading. The descriptions and details paint a picture that makes you feel you know the town and all its residents. The residents teach us lessons along the way and aren’t afraid to work through some difficult topics. This is definitely a town I want to revisit with more stories to see how everyone is doing as the years go by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book by Anita Higman

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Charlotte Rose Hill always said that a good tearoom should be a gathering place where customers were like family, troubles melted like butter on hot scones, and homemade was a given.” (page 11) Rose Cottage Tearoom was the perfect place for a perfectly blended cup of tea, a special friendship, and delicious country delicacy. But what Charlotte was lacking was romance. She thought she had gotten over her broken engagement, but what would happen when Sam Wilder shows up at the tearoom with his new finance?
Charlotte finds solace for life’s troubles in her secret prayer closet, but now she finds herself seeking God’s direction for these renewed feelings that stir within. She thought she had moved on with her life, but now finds her heart fluttering in Sam’s presence. “She reached into her apron pocket to feel the river stone, something she’d kept from her past. It was a reminder of the smooth things in life that brought delight and in the hard things—those potentially sanctifying moments that tumbled off the rough edges and turned humans into real people.” (page 13) Charlotte wondered, was this one of those times that God was using the stone to tumble off some rough edges in her life?
I found this to be a delightful story and I loved the small town charm it portrayed. I felt like I wanted to walk the town’s streets and have a cup of freshly brewed tea at the Rose Cottage Tearoom to experience the charm first-hand. The depth of the story far surpassed my expectations. I am reminded that when God uses those stones to tumble off our rough edges, He has a plan—and it will be more beautiful than anything we could have done alone.
A copy of this book was provided to me by bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. All opinions within this review are strictly my own and no other compensation has been given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With me, Christian contemporary romances are often hit and miss, and this is definitely a miss for me. I realize that some will really enjoy this book. The characters were fine, and life in a small town is always a plus. And the romances in the book take so many turns, that it will probably keep the reader guessing as to what might happen next. The writing of the book is fine. I have read other books by Anita Higman, and this is the first one I didn't really like. I appreciated the prejudice issue, but I wish it had been developed just a little more. Maybe with flashback or the like.
I felt that the Christian message of the book got a bit lost for me. I knew it was there, and I was glad to see the characters praying and going to church. God was the center of the lives of the majority of the characters, and it was a child that ministered to an atheist in the book--that was genius! For me, the book followed too much of a formula, but perhaps for contemporary romance lovers, this would fit the bill. I would have liked to have seen more risks taken with the story line.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss Anita Higman's great story!

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not very often that I pick up a contemporary romance but this one sounded good and I took chance on requesting it for review. I'm glad I did. Not only is A Marriage In Middlebury an entertaining read but it is also thought provoking and leaves the reader pondering what they might do in similar situations.
Anita Higman is a master at fun and quirky characters, each one is as individual as people truly are. It is easy to immerse yourself into the lives of each character and their surroundings. The main hero and heroine are likable and interesting. Each character makes mistakes and has their own hurts but they also try to reach beyond that and do what is right for the other person.
Middlebury and its people remind you of Mayberry and Mitford and, like those towns, leaves you wishing that you lived there yourself. I don't know if there is somehow a special magic inherent to fictional towns that start with the letter 'M' but Middlebury certainly has it in spades.
If you are looking for an absolutely enjoyable read that weaves valuable truths into a story populated with memorable characters than A Marriage In Middlebury would be a perfect choice for your next book. Don't miss Anita Higman's great story!
(I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great romance

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Marriage in Middlebury
By: Anita Higman
I really enjoyed this book. I couldn’t put it down. What a wonderful love story. I know there was time I just smiled. Love story of Charlotte and Sam. They was so in love in high school. Sam proposes to her and she says no. What a heart breaker for both of them. Charlotte didn’t want to say no but was pressured into it by someone. Then after all these years Sam comes back to town. Charlotte has moved on with her life. Her dream of having a Tea room came true. She has the best specialty Teas in town. Sam’s return opens up memories. The feelings she has for him are still their, but now there is someone he wants her to meet….a fiancée! Wow you must get this book to find out what is going to happen. This book is more then a 5star.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enjoyable Read

Date:January 4, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book I have read by Anita Higman (Love Finds You in Humble, Texas and Winter in Full Bloom) and I am very much enjoying her storytelling. In this story we step into the small town of Middlebury, specifically the Rose Cottage Tea Room that is owned and run by Charlotte Hill. Charlotte is living her life and trying her best to make the best out of life's circumstances. She has a quant tea shop and knows how to brew just the right cup of tea for all of her customers. This book made me thirsty for a taste of her tea and I am not even a tea drinker (yet). While she is living her life, she receives some devastating medical news and not only that but the man she loves and said no to marrying some years ago has stepped back into her life. He and his new fiancé. With a whole host of quirky characters, young and old, romances popping up like dandelions, the little town of Middlebury is about to become an interesting place to visit. I enjoyed my visit and I looked forward to more stories from the talented Anita. I received my book to review from The Book Club Network, Inc. (TCBN) and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a warm cup of tea

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Marriage in Middlebury was such a warm, feel good book. It was like a snuggly blanket and hot cup of tea on a snowy, winter day. I loved the characters as well as the budding romances that developed throughout the story. Charlotte Hill Rose is a godly woman who truly places others before herself. Many years ago she walked away from true love in order to prevent a scandalous secret from being exposed. Since then, she has moved forward in life and is successful but when true love walks through her door again, she is faced with the painful choices of her past. In this fun and charming tale, Anita Higman delivers a beautiful example of Philippians 2:3 “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves.”
I was impressed that Ms. Higman used realistic characteristics for all of the people in the story. Audrey and Sam are pledged to be married but they must reconcile with whether their commitment is for love or for other reasons. And when a mysterious homeless man, Justin, comes into the picture, Audrey uncovers secrets of her own.
A Marriage in Middlebury is definitely on my recommendations of must reads! Anita Higman is a fantastic author and I would recommend all of her books. I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Marriage in Middlebury - eBook
This review is fromA Marriage in Middlebury.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cozy and enjoyable read

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like a book that just makes you feel downright cozy then this is it. The main gathering place in this book is a tearoom in a town called Middlebury. Charlotte Rose Hill is the owner of this tearoom, and I could "taste" and "smell" the personalized teas that she made for the townspeople. The book is full of characters, presented in a way that make you feel like they really must exist. The characters in this book grow, change and all find some sort of purpose and love in their lives. Charlotte faces an old love, some ghosts from her past, and tragic news - but her faith doesn't waiver. There are serious things going on in this tearoom and book, but the author is great at adding in personality and humor. I loved it!
Blessed with this book by TBCN and author in exchange for a review. Not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.