Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bright Ideas Press Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series

Bright Ideas Press Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series

The Mystery of History Volume 1 is written from a Christian, young-earth, perspective, teaching children to see God's hand throughout history...and how the Gospel of Jesus is the mystery behind all of history! Written in a conversational style, many lessons are presented in the form of mini-biographies, integrating fascinating stories with the events of the time. Covering creation to the resurrection, students will learn about famous biblical characters, ancient peoples, and well-known men such as Aesop, Buddha, Pythagoras, Confucius, Emperor Asoka, Herodotus, Caesar, Hannibal, and Herod.

Arranged by quarters and weeks, each quarter begins with an "Around the World" summary of events to introduce the time period; lessons progress chronologically with each week having 3 lessons, a pretest, review, and exercise or quiz. The 108 lessons will take a year to complete if you follow a traditional 36 week school year.

Activities are broken down by age group and reinforce the material just learned through fun ideas that engage all learning styles; they're based upon the classical grammar/logic/rhetoric stages. Review exercises cover the timeline and map work exercises; quizzes are cumulative reviews that go over material from the very beginning of the course; the semester-long tests are similar (though longer), covering materials from 2 quarters (one major time period). Quarter-end worksheets help students synthesize what they've learned and keep everyone straight! Suggested Schedules for different age groups are included, as well as plenty of reproducibles. Line-listed answers included. 636 pages, activity pages reproducible, softcover, three-hole-punched and perforated pages. Grades 4-8, but adaptable for the family.

This second edition features the following updates & improvements:

  • Over 140 new pages that enrich the lessons; broaden the scholarship level of the text; develop new activities; enhance the mapping exercises; and simplify the timeline directions.

  • The Table of Contents has not changed, but has been improved with better chronological detail, based on the work of James Ussher.

  • The layout has been changed to a cleaner, more-readable style, and features upgraded artistry, photos, font, and cover; an expanded reading list; Answer Key maps for all the mapping exercises; a pronunciation guide; a Bible reading list; and more.
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.5 out of 5
    4.5
     out of 
    5
    (36 Reviews) 36
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
    5 stars
    27
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    4
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    1
    26 out of 2990%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Review 1 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Good overview, Biblical, Creation, unashamed

    Date:September 3, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Ron Smorynski
    Location:Hollywood, CA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is a good overview for kids of all ages. I think this is way better than what I have seen in public school printings. They are full of color and graphics and that liberal history that does everything it can to avoid or malign the Bible, God and Christ.
    I've just started but have looked through, it has more suggestions on projects and work than I care for! But that's a good thing. And its format is easy enough that I can even make my own tests or use hers.
    Good stuff.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great for integrating Biblical and secular history

    Date:August 24, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    RDHoffa
    Location:Hernando, MS
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is very easy to understand and is almost written in conversational style. The information is presented clearly and systematically. There seems to be some extensive prep work for the parents in the early stages. The author writes an extensive preface about how to best utilize the book and its exercises. The material isn't stiff and boring like some history books are. We are enjoying it and plan to continue with the other volumes.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great for multiple ages

    Date:June 14, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    okiemama
    Location:Oklahoma
    We will be using this curriculum next school year, but as I flipped through it, I got really excited! I love the extra activities to help make history come alive. We'll also be using a timeline and some additional material from the publisher. This looks like it will be easy to do for all three of my boys (grades 5, 3, and 1).
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This book looks amazing. Great format.

    Date:March 26, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Kate
    Location:Chicago, Il
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Heard many good things about this curriculum. Look forward to using it next school year. Great layout and walks you through how to implement it. Easy reading style.
    -2points
    0of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Did not cover what expected.

    Date:March 3, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    mayrain
    Location:Las Vegas
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    I felt like this book was much more Bible History than anything else. I knew it would have a Christian perspective, but I guess I just wasn't familiar with how the book would lay everything out. I thought the Bible characters would be woven in with the World History Lessons, but they were separate lessons. Which isn't in itself bad, but I expected it to have world History with Bible facts interjected. This would be great for a Bible class addition.
    +7points
    7of 7voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 1, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Salome
    Location:NL, Canada
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Excellent material, especially after adding more "Meat" to the 2nd edition. Very well done, easy to use. I've been homeschooling for 15 years and have used a lot of different resources, this one is definately at the top of my list. Well put together and with sufficient resource list to make it a doable course for those with high-schoolers needing credits. There are enogh exercises listed, as well as alternate resource lists in the back for further study if chosen (although not neccessary for credit)
    After reading through it I went ahead and ordered the other volumes. (Volume 4 should be ready late 2013/early 2014)
    Sound Biblical base as well as encompassing geography, and a creation science point of view. Just wish it used KJV instead (Uses NKJV)
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Love this series!

    Date:October 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    EnduringWone
    Location:South Carolina
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughter and I are really enjoying this series. The stories are well told and we like the project ideas too.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great biblical worldview curriculum

    Date:September 25, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Godisgood
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    If you are looking for a history curriculum that is centered on a biblical worldview, then Mystery of History is the one for you. Excellently put together in a sequential, chronological order. We are a new homeschool family this year, and I have no doubt from checking out many other history programs that I have chosen the absolutely best one!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Christian History

    Date:September 11, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Christian Review mom
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series is filled with great activities for all ages. It mixes the Christian history with the regular history timeline so you can get a better idea of what was going on through out different time periods. It provides you with enough information with out over loading the kids and sweet pictures to go along with the information. It is great for the money.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:September 2, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Disappointed
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    We purchased this resource to supplement our family’s Christian homeschooling materials. Given the product's marketing description, we expected to receive an entirely Biblical and traditional presentation of World History, free of the anti-Christian themes and secular propaganda that have become so emblematic of mainstream academic textbooks.
    Like so many "Christian" products of our day, however, this text claims to maintain some fidelity to Biblical accounts, and yet, repeatedly tips its hat to modern secular conventions, with all of the predictable (and troubling) results necessarily flowing therefrom.
    Thus, for example, this "conservative Christian" text devotes entire lessons to the Ice Age, and to declaring how God purportedly made Dinosaurs on the 5th and 6th days of Creation. While the author may find merit in “filling-in” these perceived gaps within God’s Holy Word, such additions certainly were neither welcomed, nor expected, in our home.
    This "Christian" text also suffers from the leaven of ecumenicalism, feminism, and globalism (contrary to the expectations held by an unwary purchaser). Indeed, within her introduction, the author apologizes for not having taken greater strides in these areas, assuring the reader that no offense to these sacrosanct conventions of the modern era was ever intended on her part.
    While claiming unapologetically to hold a Christian perspective, the author also assures everyone that her materials simultaneously treat pagan gods and their worship with the utmost of "dignity and respect." How one can elevate a pagan god to a position of “dignity and respect,” and not blaspheme the One True God, however, is certainly difficult to comprehend. Cf. Exodus 23:13; Galatians 1:8-9.
    Substantively, the material is very light, and lacks the level of detail that would be reasonably required for any serious homeschool program. Perhaps the author could have eschewed the Dinosaurs, the Ice Age, and her appeasement of pagan gods and modern conventions, focusing instead upon sheer, undefiled substance.
    +11points
    30of 49voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    not too much, not too little

    Date:August 27, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Anonymous
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    I have home schooled for 8 years and this is my favorite so far. Even for older students that still need a "hands on" approach...this gives you a great outline to teach at a High School level. At the same time, we are using for a 3rd grader and it works well at that level also. Great for teaching multiple grades. It covers History, Bible, Literature, spelling, you could make an entire curriculum out of this one book, minus the math. We plan on using all three books and can't wait to do so. Your kids will enjoy this as you can swing to either side, whether they like to do a lot or a little.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Curriculum!

    Date:August 20, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Lisa Rup
    Location:NJ
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I love how user friendly this book is. My kids are enjoying the projects and not being bogged down with a heavy work load.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Cant say enough good things about this curriculum

    Date:May 25, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Sflash
    Location:Champaign, IL
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I had the privileged of meeting Linda at a conference this year and was sold on her curriculum. She has put her heart into this series. It is quality, accurate, and above all, FUN. You can see the investment of time and energy and the Lords hand in this book and the others that she has written.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Informative & FUN! You get out what you put in.

    Date:May 21, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Mary Bear
    Location:Kentucky
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    User submitted photo
    I used this program for a 4th and 6th grader.
    PROS: Overall, we enjoyed the history and interweaving of Bible in it. There are three lessons a week. We loved the science that was involved in the creation and flood. Who knew we were CURRENTLY in an ICE AGE?! We also enjoyed learning about Homer and the Trojan War and we read the Iliad and Odyssey for Children. My children loved watching the History Channel and recognizing the names and knowing the history of the Egyptians that were being discussed!!! It was interesting to know who was probably ruling Egypt while the Children of Israel were enslaved. Personally, I believe that when using MOH there is no reason for a separate Bible course.
    How we did it was lessons Monday-Wednesday, Thursday was our review day when we discussed that week's lessons, did our own version of a time line, and did any map work, and Friday was test day.
    I did a few things different than the book had set up. Instead of a time line, each child had their own three-ring binder. I printed out pages for each week front and back on card stock. Most lessons took half a page, a few took a full page. The people were all printed out for them to color or glue things onto. Sometimes I found images on the net to print out for them as well, ex: a color picture of a bust of Nefertiti. I left space for their own Stonehenge (made by gluing pebbles on the page) and for them to draw their own mythical creature. They LOVED it and it's something they'll keep.
    Personally, I'm not big on pretests. I made one large weekly test with the pretest on the front and the quiz on the back. Now the book only has a quiz every other week, so I used the end of the week work as a quiz for non-quiz weeks.
    CONS: As much as we enjoyed the history and Bible in it, at some points there was so much focus on Bible. Now part of the reason we chose this WAS for the Biblical aspect, but when we got towards the end of the 2nd quarter there was so much on the O.T. prophets and Kings and knowing to whom the prophets spoke (Israel, Judah, or another country) that it really dragged it down. My children went from finding this to be their favorite topic to being a drudgery. I ended up telling them they didn't have to memorize ALL the info on the prophets and gave them HUGE hints at test time. I mean, it was a lot for me and I'm an adult who did a study on I & II Kings. I'm not sure how to handle this with my younger son when he gets older, but I do have a few years to work it out.
    SUGGESTIONS: BEFORE you start using this curriculum, print out the index cards on the computer. This saved a lot of time! Plus I have them for future use as well. We used those silver rings on the corner (use a hole reinforcer on each one) instead of the index holder that was recommended. They are less expensive PLUS you can cover heavy cardboard and let your children make their own front and back covers for each semester.
    I would also print out everything you need for your timeline/notebook. We REALLY like the notebooks over the timeline!!! They each have their own and MAN are they easier to store! I'd happily share the pages for the notebooks and the file for the index cards if my email wouldn't be made available to the world. LOL! Honestly though, I had a big time making the pages!! Just work on them over the summer so you don't fall behind like I did on an occasion or two.
    I strongly recommend this program, just be sure to prepare yourself ahead of time. I gave it four stars instead of five only due to the times when the Bible part became tedious and an issue for my children. For others though, this could be a plus.
    +26points
    26of 26voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Looks great!

    Date:May 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    JennyOK
    Location:Oklahoma
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I'm excited to start using this material soon. The writing is kid-friendly, the activities seem relatively simple, and I love the chronological approach to teaching history. My favorite thing is that I can teach all 3 of my kids at once... ages 5, 8, and 10... and there are difference activities for each age group.
    The only thing I wasn't expecting was that the material is written from a strong Young Earth Creationism standpoint. (I believe in Creationism, but believe it could have happened in a number of ways.) I will read the material as is, and then supplement with other viewpoints on Creationism to try to achieve a balance. That's the only issue I have with it. Still very happy to have chosen this material!
    +1point
    3of 5voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Love Mystery of History

    Date:April 20, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    WheeMomma
    Location:Surprise, AZ
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is our first year homeschooling our 7th and 1st grader...we have spent the last seven months trying to find a history curriculum that we all enjoyed and was easy to follow. Mystery of History is it!! We all love it, we look forward to doing history now, every day!! Thank you for such a fabulous curriculum!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great!

    Date:April 18, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    do it all mama
    Location:northwest
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I really like this book and my kids adore it! It is very laid back and very informative at the same time. My kids are 5 and 7 and they really look forward to it each day. The activities are what they really like and what really makes the info sink in for them. My kids are very artistic and this really suits them. I do supplement a bit more for bible history as I want them to know that in more detail and this really just touches on the basics. I thought this would be great for their younger years and then they can decide what areas they want to learn in more detail when we are done with the series.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    What a Wonderful Teaching Tool

    Date:March 2, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    beardfamily5
    Location:Nashville
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The layout is easy to use and the text is informative yet put into a fun way to learn. There are several resources that are listed that really add alot of dept to the curriculum given. I would recommend this book to anyone wishing to make learning history more fun and interesting for all ages, including the teacher.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Would rather it came without the hole puches

    Date:February 24, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    seekingHim
    Location:Lincoln, Il
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    User submitted photo
    Ok. First of all I love this curriculum. I had previously checked out the first edition and fell in love with it. Therefor, I purchased the 2nd Edition and received it in the mail yesterday.
    My only upset with this product is that it automatically comes with the three hole punched side. It also has perforated edges that are suppose to make it easier to put in a binder.
    My problem with this is the perforated edges are NOT the greatest. I WISH they would give you the option of the three hole punches. I would have rather just put a spiral binding on it myself. In my opinion the book should be sold with a regular binding and then left to the buyer do with it what they wish.
    After I got the book placed in our binder you could actually see how rigid the spine of the book was. Some pages ripped and are only holding on by one or two holes. I understand this is not a huge deal. However, at the same time I wanted to warn potential buyers that you may need to go ahead and get it unbound even though it has the perforations on it. Even if the perforation was better, I am still a fan of the spiral binding instead of binders so I still would have preferred the three holes not being there. The picture below is even after I had to tear off the extra pieces while I was detaching the pages.
    Again, I love this curriculum! Just would rather it NOT BE HOLE PUNCHED.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Creation to the Resurrection, Volume 1, Second Editon: The Mystery of History Series
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Disappointed

    Date:November 14, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    akfreels
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Although the concept of Mystery of History looked easy to follow, my 4th grader is struggling. We have used Bob Jones Heritage studies for the past two years. The use of a student textbook, a student workbook, and various projects worked well for him. He told me MOH does not have enough pictures for him to imagine the past, so we have had to supplement with library books. I love the library, but they don't always have the recommended books in the MOH appendix for supplemental readings.
    He said I should not have switched our history program.
    Changing curriculum, in the middle of our school year, is not an option, so I will have to adjust and create the lessons towards his learning style.
    I agree with other reviewers who said this curriculum is better for older students.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    12Next >>>