Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Abingdon Press Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

When Laney Carrigan sets out to find her birth family, her only clue is the Hawaiian quilt-a red rose snowflake appliquid on a white background-in which she was found wrapped as an infant. Centering her search on the Big Island and battling fears of rejection, Laney begins a painstaking journey toward her true heritage. Kai Barnes, however, is determined to protect the people he's come to regard as family. He thinks Laney is nothing more than a gold digger and blocks every move she makes toward her Hawaiian family. As their conflict escalates, it puts at risk the one thing that Kai and Laney both want most-a family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 1989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Review 1 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Laney Carrigan sets out to find her birth family, her only clue is the Hawaiian quilt—a red rose snowflake appliquéd on a white background—in which she was found wrapped as an infant. Centering her search on the Big Island and battling fears of rejection, Laney begins a painstaking journey toward her true heritage. Kai Barnes, however, is determined to protect the people he’s come to regard as family. He thinks Laney is nothing more than a gold digger and blocks every move she makes toward her Hawaiian family. As their conflict escalates, it puts at risk the one thing that Kai and Laney both want most—a family.
My Review:
The best part of this novel was that how authentic it felt. The Hawaiian scenery was beautifully descriptive with Cater's amazing writing skills, and I felt like I was transported to Hawaii through words alone. The main characters, Kai and Laney, were a good couple, even though I felt their romance was not developed enough. They were attracted to each other from the moment they met, but their romance moved along so fast, I felt it was rather rushed. Their insecurities and doubts were very believable and realistic, and I found myself feeling bad for them even though they are fictional characters.
The one element I appreciated the most was the fact that this story was not just a romance. Family dynamics, personal identity, overcoming the trauma of the past; all these subjects were explored and masterfully woven throughout. I felt as if the characters were taken straight out of real life - and yes, even their whirlwind romance. The quilt from the cover is the key to everything, but I will let you discover that for yourself.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A quilt story with a twist

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laney Carrigan was adopted as a baby. Now an adult, she has decided to find her birth parents. Her dad helps her by posting on line a photo of the Lokelani quilt in which she was wrapped when left on the Carrigan front stoop.
The novel opens as Laney is flying to Hawaii – to the family who responded to the posted photo of the quilt. She receives a warm reception but Laney battles fear of being rejected again by the family who rejected her once. She is disappointed that only an aunt and grandmother remain as her birth mother reportedly died of an overdose. Adding to the stress is Kai Barnes, a troubled cowboy/helicopter pilot taken in by Laney's birth family. He thinks Laney might be a gold digger, after the valuable family farm. Despite his doubts, he has feelings for Laney. And she has feelings for him – but there are so many issues between the two of them.
This was a fun novel to read. I learned a great deal about the Hawaiian culture and PTSD. Carter did a great job giving the reader a sense of place in describing the surroundings. The romance is done well too. And there is plenty of action towards the end. It is a quick read and well worth it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the ending

Date:November 27, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have come to really look forward to reading these books in the Quilts of Love series. Each author is so unique in their storytelling and I love reading how the quilt itself tells a story. Lisa Carter is a new author to me, but I really enjoyed this book. I was immediately planted in Hawaii and of course, found myself relaxing at the mere thought of Hawaii. It provided a wonderful escape for me during the days leading up to Thanksgiving!
As the book began, I found that it was a little slower to develop. I liked it and the storyline, but there were times where it felt like it didn't completely flow. I'm not sure why it seemed that way, but I had difficulty in the first part of the book. It could have been because I didn't feel like the characters were strong enough during that part. It could have also been that some words were used that I didn't know and that were not in the back listed in the Hawai'ian dictionary.
However, about halfway through, I couldn't put it down. Laney got on my nerves a little bit because I wanted her to stop talking and yelling and listen! I loved her "ohana" and especially Kai. I was surprised by the ending because I truly had not expected the secret revealed to be what it was. It was a wonderful surprise, but it did make me understand why Laney would be so upset.
Definitely looking forward to more books in the Quilts of Love series.
______________
I received this book free from Abingdon Press and CFBA in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stilted Writing

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I appreciate the author's choice of Hawaii for the setting as it helped this reader better appreciate America's 50th state. Not only are fauna and volcanoes described, but many customs of the land are included. In addition, a liberal use of Hawaii's language allow the reader to better understand the ways of the island.
Scenes showing quilting techniques added interest to the storyline.
This Christian fiction handles adoption, cancer, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Alzheimer’s disease. One of the characters wrestles with abandonment and trust.
Sadly, stilted writing runs throughout the story. Many of the sentences are awkward. For example, on page 90, "With Daniel, for safety's sake, encased in a florescent yellow life vest, Laney and Kai kept him between them." This makes reading difficult.
This is the third novel I've read in the Quilts of Love series. I thoroughly enjoyed the other two. (Each title is written by a different author and is a stand alone novel, connected only by the quilt theme.) I would encourage readers to continue enjoying others in the series.
Discussion Questions are included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding A Birth Family and Romance

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Carter in her new book, “Aloha Rose” Book Twelve in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Laney Carrigan.
From the back cover: Will conflict with one man keep Laney from her dream of a loving family?
When Laney Carrigan sets out to find her birth family, her only clue is the Hawaiian quilt—a red rose snowflake appliquéd on a white background—in which she was found wrapped as an infant. Centering her search on the Big Island and battling fears of rejection, Laney begins a painstaking journey toward her true heritage.
Kai Barnes, however, is determined to protect the people he’s come to regard as family. He thinks Laney is nothing more than a gold digger and blocks every move she makes toward her Hawaiian family. As their conflict escalates, it puts at risk the one thing that Kai and Laney both want most—a family.
It must be difficult to know that you were abandoned as a baby, that your own family didn’t want you. It is a heartbreaking foundation for Laney’s life. Yes, she was raised in a loving family but she has always felt alone. Now her real family has sought her out and she goes to Hawaii to meet them. Of all the family she meets Kai, her foster-brother, is the one she really falls in love with and he with her. The problem is Laney’s foundation is keeping her distant from him while his background is remarkably similar and he is doing the same. If they are ever to have a real romance these two are going to have to heal from their pasts and the only way this will happen is if they allow God to do the work. Laney and Kai are really great characters that we fall in love with and feel as though they are friends that we do not want to leave when the book is finished. I would like to see another story that continues the adventures for them. It is really that good.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lokelani Rose

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photographs of a Hawaiian baby quilt posted on the Internet brought results in Laney Carrigan's search for her biological family. Laney had been left with her adoptive family on the mainland as an infant, wrapped in the traditional Hawaiian appliqued quilt. Once the connection was made with Laney's biological family she traveled to Maui to meet the family she had never known. With issues of abandonment Laney was hesitant about the meeting. Her Aunti Teah's foster son, Kai Barnes had suspicious concerns about Laney's interest in the family, and made his point clear. Kai's pernicious mindset stemmed from a tour in Afghanistan as a search and rescue specialist suffering from PTSD. Consequently Laney's introduction to her family of origin was a bumpy ride filled with stress and vexation. How would she ever fit in with this mix of family members with whom she has nothing in common aside from Hawaiian roots? Will she and Kai be able to spend time on the same property with any sense of respect or friendliness? With endless questions and concerns Laney decided to give herself a day at a time to see which direction this relationship with her "family" would go, with the return plane ticket kept close if she felt the need to retreat back to the states and her career as a free lance writer.
Aloha Rose is a multi-layered story with subplots paralleling the main plot. There is a lot of activity and a bit of chaos as the story begins, and I felt a bit like Laney, wondering if I had landed in the right place at the right time. Several characters are introduced into the story, Laney and her adoptive family, and on the island of Maui, her Hawaiian family. Descriptions of the beauty that is Hawaii were well done and educational. The diversity of the island was described in a way that I felt the atmosphere of the island without having been there. Lisa Carter's descriptive talents brought Maui to life. Numerous issues were broached through this book, such as abandonment, adoption, PTSD, Alzheimer's disease, dysfunctional family matters and issues of faith. The author imports numerous emotions throughout the book leading the reader from anguish to humor, hate to love, fear to faith. I enjoyed the story of the quilt, Hawaiian customs and terminology, the relationships that develop throughout, and surprises at the turn of a page. Not entirely believable, but who ever said that fiction has to be realistic? I found this to be an entertaining book!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

romantic tension swirls in the salty Hawaiian air

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
Location:Cary, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment Lacey met Kai at the airport, to the end of the novel, romantic tension swirls in the air. Though I loved the romance storyline, I most loved how broken Lacey was at the beginning of the novel, and the journey she endured through the course of the story. Lacey learns and fights and grows, very admirable traits. I also loved the setting: the constant sun, sudden storms, ocean waves, and salty air all made the read, during our chilly fall, more enjoyable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Discover the meaning of Ohana!

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I couldn't imagine not knowing anything at all about my family. That is just what Laney Carrigan is dealing with after learning that her entire family roots are tied quite literally up in a quilt she was wrapped up in the day she was given to her birth mother. That is the only clue linking her to knowing more about who she is and where she comes from. The beautiful pink and white red rose snowflake appliqued on the quilt will point her to a family that has been waiting for decades to know more about her. This search takes her to the Big Island of Hawaii after discovering a response to a picture she posted on the internet searching for answers. But all isn't quite as welcoming on the island as Laney had hoped.
Upon arriving at the airport she is immediately met with apprehension by Kai Barnes, a man who has been trying to figure out just who Laney Carrigan really is. Seems like all the usual ways of discovering some clues about who someone is are coming up with a solid brick wall. Kai truly believes that Laney is just someone who is looking for money by coming to Hawaii. He doesn't believe that she has any place within his Ohana and will set out to prove to his family just what she is really hiding, if he can only find it.
Lisa Carter is the latest author to take her turn at the Quilts of Love Series, with her novel Aloha Rose. Perfect warm tropical waters and the smell of plumeria fill the readers senses as you begin this mystery into who Laney Carrigan really is and what her link is to family she finds on Hawaii. This is simply perfect to immerse yourself in right in the middle of winter to give yourself a bit of a virtual tropical vacation. My only downside to this novel was the difficulty at the beginning where I felt the author tried to introduce too many characters for the reader to take in. I would have liked to have seen a slower progression to allow the reader to understand where Laney was coming from as well as all the family she is introduced right off the bat upon arriving on the Big Island. With that being said, I give this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is a discussion guide included that makes this a great novel to introduce to book clubs and a sneak peek into the upcoming addition to the Quilts of Love Series, Tempest's Course by Lynette Sowell.
I received Aloha Rose by Lisa Carter compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This is the 12th book in the Quilts of Love Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Winner in this series.

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was certainly a winner , in my eyes!! The topic of adoption is near and dear to my heart, since I am an adoptive parent. AND quilting is my favorite thing to do- well..... other than reading!! This book captured my attention within the first few pages with its unique setting and topics. It is one of the best in this series, in my opinion.
Lisa Carter was a new author to me, however, is one who I will be watching for , in the future. Her talent in drawing me into the story was outstanding. I felt that I was living within Laney, as she encountered her trials, worries and challenges. I felt her fears and disappointments deeply. The complications that Laney encounters is so true of any adoptive child attempting to fit in with a birth family. Do they want her there?? Should she stay and try to become part of a second family??
The setting of the story was unique and very different from what you would expect. Hawaii is certainly not a place where I would think a "Quilt story" would take place. Lisa does a fantastic job of describing the scenery and making you SEE the island, as well as the differences in the culture and lifestyle.
The plot is intriguing from start to finish. Together , with the totally different setting, it captures your attention and doesn't let go until you finish the book. There are twists and turns in it which are very unexpected! You just think you may know where the story is heading , when another event changes the direction of the plot.
This book is definitely a five star!! I would highly recommend it to any fiction fan!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Laney Carrigan sets out to find her birth family, her only clue is the Hawaiian quilt—a red rose snowflake appliquéd on a white background—in which she was found wrapped as an infant. Centering her search on the Big Island and battling fears of rejection, Laney begins a painstaking journey toward her true heritage. Kai Barnes, however, is determined to protect the people he’s come to regard as family. He thinks Laney is nothing more than a gold digger and blocks every move she makes toward her Hawaiian family. As their conflict escalates, it puts at risk the one thing that Kai and Laney both want most—a family.
My Review:
The best part of this novel was that how authentic it felt. The Hawaiian scenery was beautifully descriptive with Cater's amazing writing skills, and I felt like I was transported to Hawaii through words alone. The main characters, Kai and Laney, were a good couple, even though I felt their romance was not developed enough. They were attracted to each other from the moment they met, but their romance moved along so fast, I felt it was rather rushed. Their insecurities and doubts were very believable and realistic, and I found myself feeling bad for them even though they are fictional characters.
The one element I appreciated the most was the fact that this story was not just a romance. Family dynamics, personal identity, overcoming the trauma of the past; all these subjects were explored and masterfully woven throughout. I felt as if the characters were taken straight out of real life - and yes, even their whirlwind romance. The quilt from the cover is the key to everything, but I will let you discover that for yourself.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding A Family

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'll admit I had a hard time getting into this book. It took me awhile to get interested. I stuck it out, and was not disappointed.
Lanny Carrigan, feels completely abandoned when she arrives in Hawaii to maybe meet her birth mother's family. Her adopted mother has died and her dad has remarried and now has a new wife and step-son.
She is greeted...or met at the airport by a rather cute, but not very nice Kai Barnes. He is worried she is a gold digger. You begin to wonder if she has made a big mistake coming here.
There are many twists and turns in this story, and the final chapters will really have you on the edge of your seat. We also deal with Alzheimers, which her Grandmother is suffering from. Now having dealt with dementia of a loved one, I know how she ended up in tears, when she was ordered out of the house. What a horrible disease.
We also experience the beauty of this lava built Island, and it made me want to get out of the cold of the North and go there. Guess the best I can recommend is cozy up with a blanket and grab this book...hang on you won't be dissatisfied.
I received this book through the Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Quilts of Love story set in Hawaii

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
A strength of the Quilts of Love series is the uniqueness of each quilt, the meaning behind it, and the love of family it symbolizes. In Aloha Rose, Lisa Carter uses the beautiful Lokelani quilt to guide Laney to her birth family in Hawaii, and blends exotic setting with appealing storyline to create an interesting read overall.
Lisa very effectively conveyed the setting and flavor of Hawaii through such images as erupting volcano, rain forest, rainbow, waterfalls, dancing the hula. I was also drawn to the secondary characters of Laney's family and they way they supported each other - welcoming Laney unreservedly, making a memory book of major events and people for Laney's grandmother who had Alzheimers, Teah passing on a family tradition by teaching Laney to quilt.
Several characters are introduced at the beginning, which was a little confusing, but they quickly become familiar and the narrative really picks up about halfway through, along with a couple of surprise twists that readers will love.
Kai suffers from PTSD, and both he and Laney have emotional issues that they have worked to hide. Teah points out to Laney: "You and Kai are a lot alike. High walls. Self-protective barriers between you and the rest of the world."
The main negative for me was that, while Laney and Kai have great chemistry from the very beginning, their romance was my least favorite part, as I missed seeing their relationship move beyond surface attraction to a deeper level. And I'd like to see less character monologues where they keep mulling over their thoughts. Still, Aloha Rose is a good story overall and I'm glad I had the opportunity to read it. I loved the heartwarming ending and think this is a novel many inspirational romance fans will enjoy.
This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity and Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic and Believable Characters

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Heim
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book, especially Kai and Laney. Despite their attraction to each other, they both find it difficult to commit due to abandonments in their past. Laney had been given up for adoption by her birth mother, which left her feeling unloved and unwanted despite having wonderful adoptive parents. And Kai, as a child, had witnessed the murder of his mother by his father, and ended up in the foster care system before being taken in by his permanent family. Their insecurities were very realistic and believable, and I was rooting for them to find peace with their pasts and learn to accept love. The depth of these characters takes this book beyond a simple romance to an exploration of personal identity, family dynamics, and overcoming trauma.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As threads come together to complete the masterpiece the seamstress envisioned, so to the various threads of this novel come together to form a perfect story. I sat down to read a novel that I knew involved a quilt, but that isn’t all there is to the story at all. In fact, there was no way I could see before the plethora of each character’s story becoming one in the end. What an amazing novel!
One thread has a young woman named Rose who was adopted as a baby now crossing the ocean to meet her biological family. Another colored thread was an elderly matriarch struggling with Alzheimer’s who remembers more about her family’s past than some realized, especially Rose. There is a young man who picks Rose up at the airport though none too happy about it because he fears she comes with ulterior motives.
There is so much to relish from the pages of this book. Being reminded about some of God’s characteristics and truths about Him we so often forget. How God can bring together various broken pieces of the past in order to restore hope for the present and future of those He loves is amazing. In one of the characters, I could see how quick tempered and tongued at times may aid her as a journalist who traveled into combat areas, but with these different new people this may or may not have aided her in finding the home she so longed for.
There is much to touch the heart, mind and soul of those who sit down to read Aloha Rose. If I were to share all that I gleaned out of it, it might taint your own journey of discovery in the pages and I want you to find your own treasures. At the time when I started reading the story and it contained an elderly person with Alzheimer’s, I wanted to stop reading it because in some ways it mirrored what I am really going through now. Yet, I am glad I continued to the end. There was so much more to the story than this one aspect of Alzheimer’s. The reminders of the God who loves me and will see me through all my tomorrows is a theme. I sure hope you make time to curl up and read a tale with adventure, romance, faith and surprises! You’ll love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing something

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Laney Carrigan is visiting the Big Island of Hawaii to meet her birth family for the first time. She has come into contact with her Hawaiian family when they recognised a photograph of the quilt she was left wrapped in when she was abandoned as a baby. Her adoptive father was in the military and her adoptive mother is now dead, so she’s never felt at home anywhere, and her career as a travel journalist hasn’t given her the opportunity to set down roots.
Kai Barnes was raised by Laney’s birth family as a foster child, after his mother was murdered. He forms an instant dislike of Laney—he’s convinced she’s simply out to get what she can, and is determined to protect his foster family from this interloper.
Aloha Rose didn’t meet expectations for me. I’m not sure why. It’s the second book I’ve read by Lisa Carter, and all I can say is that something doesn’t gel between the way she writes and the way I read. The beginning was very fast, too many characters were introduced too quickly, and although I got the instant attraction between Laney and Kai, I didn’t see their relationship progress beyond that attraction. I suspect there was too much focus on showing us the interaction between the couple, and too little on showing us their deeper feelings. Good characters and an interesting concept, but something about the writing just didn’t work.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aloha Rose

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Laney Carrigan sets out to find her birth family, her only clue is the Hawaiian quilt—a red rose snowflake appliquéd on a white background—in which she was found wrapped as an infant. Centering her search on the Big Island and battling fears of rejection, Laney begins a painstaking journey toward her true heritage.
Kai Barnes, however, is determined to protect the people he’s come to regard as family. He thinks Laney is nothing more than a gold digger and blocks every move she makes toward her Hawaiian family. As their conflict escalates, it puts at risk the one thing that Kai and Laney both want most—a family.
ALOHA ROSE exceeded my expectations. As book twelve in the Quilts of Love series, a collection of stories written by different authors about quilts and how they are the threads that hold a family together, this book was just head and shoulders above most of the others I’ve read so far in this series.
Both Kai and Laney are survivors. Both abandoned as children, Laney’s mother leaving her on a doorstep, and Kai’s mother murdered in his presence. Plus, Kai is suffering for PTSD, a result of Afghanistan. But while Kai knows his history, Laney has no memory of it. Only what she has been told or “knows in her heart.” And some of what she “knows” is lies.
There was a twist in this story—but I saw it coming way before it happened, so it wasn’t a big surprise.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great tension between Laney, Kai, and her family. I wanted the sexual tension to be a notch or two higher, but it was there as well. If you enjoy contemporary romances then ALOHA ROSE is a book you’ll want to read. It will warm your heart in more ways than the Hawaiian sunshine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this wonderful story about finding where you belong. I loved plucky Laney and her search for her roots and cowboy Kai, both afraid to trust and be vulnerable. The romance was great and I loved the immersion in Hawaiian culture. I so want to visit there even more now! The sense of humor was wonderful and so was the twist at the end of the story. This is part of the Quilts of Love series, but each is a stand alone. There wasn't anything I didn't like about this story! Check it out if you like romance!
I received a copy of this book free from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
WOW! Yes I know I use that word a lot, but it is a good word to describe how you feel about a book! I have never read this author before and this book just was a great story. I cried, I laughed, I got mad, just like the characters did. I felt like I was part of the story, it drew me in so deep. I wanted to knock some sense into the leading man. But the author straightened him out for me. LOL I did love this book, a great read. I also loved the quilt story. And I had figured out something (no spoilers) that was very important to the story, way before it was revealed. Yes there is a bit of unknown through the story, things that make you wonder. Great read, do not miss this book!! 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aloha Rose: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance Hawaiian Style!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her lovely descriptive prose, Lisa Carter awakens our senses to a wonderful Hawaiian adventure…laden with the fragrant aroma of exotic jasmine, ginger, and birds-of-paradise, cascading waterfalls, colorful rainbows, and emerald green valleys. However, amidst the alluring beauty of Hawaii lie long buried secrets, deep seated emotional pain…and hearts that need healing.
Laney Carrigan reluctantly arrives in Hawaii to reunite with her biological family at the dying request of her adoptive mother. Left on a doorstep many years ago wrapped in a lovely Hawaiian quilt, Laney becomes acquainted with her new family and learns the significance of the quilt and the heartbreaking demise of her birth mother. Living in the old plantation manager's ranch house close by is the handsome Kai Barnes, a cowboy and former Army pilot who flew SAR medevacs.
Amidst the mysterious beauty of this exotic island, Kai and Laney's attraction begins to grow stronger, although it seems as if every negative force comes against them to sabotage their newfound romance. Laney learns of a web of deceit surrounding her that only seeks to add to her feelings of rejection, and Kai withdraws from her because of long buried secrets and major issues with PTSD. Will both accept God's healing for their broken lives?…and will Laney find the love of family she so desperately craves? Does she finally learn the true meaning of the word "Aloha?"
This is the first book I have read by this author, but I can assure you it won't be my last. Lisa Carter is an expert at descriptive imagery and I felt like I was actually seeing the magnificent isle of Hawaii for the first time right alongside Laney! The characters were very realistic and fleshed out, with serious problems such as Alzheimers and PTSD that were not sugar-coated, but portrayed with beauty, compassion, and dignity to the sufferers. With a lot of twists and turns, a strong spiritual thread throughout, and a very climactic conclusion make sure to put "Aloha Rose" at the top of your wishlist! ALOHA!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.