Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution The Last Sin Eater, DVD

Provident Music Distribution The Last Sin Eater, DVD

Based on the bestseller by Francine Rivers! An Appalachian burial tradition in the 1850s fascinates 10-year-old Cadi, who is consumed with guilt over her little sister's death. Can a mysterious man really "absolve" her sins by eating bread and drinking wine---especially when her family's dark secret is exposed and threatens to split the community? (PG-13.) 117 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Review 1 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

no foul language

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shamoo
Location:Woodstock ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie was indeed exciting. I could not figure out the plot. The gospel was mentioned but briefly. However great acting and suspenseful. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We need the WHOLE word of God

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patsy Yoder
Location:Port Angeles, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only through a personal relationship with Jesus Christ can we be saved and our sins remitted. Communion alone without repentence brings damnation as it showed in this movie, and that 1 Corinthians 11:29&30 states.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much better than I thought it would be

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
adrianmathewsDOTcom
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a great message in this movie for all ages. I highly recommend for the whole family. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
VickiG
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit. I bought this movie because of the actor who plays the sin eater, Peter Wingfield, but I did not have high expectations for film.
I was VERY pleasantly surprised. It was a lot more enjoyable than expected. Enjoyable and thought provoking, so good in fact I bought the ebook and a paperback copy for one of the other youth group leaders. I'm thinking about bringing it to he next Youth Group movie night. It is good story or redemption - Cady's, the community's, and the Sin Eater's.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good film dealing with guilt

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
ShepherdJ
Location:Sedro Woolley, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has a number of twists and turns that demonstrated how one deals with guilt. The story is good and it provides the answer how to rid one of guilt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Damaris
This movie is awesome!!! It shows how much God moves with just one little seed that you plant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marty Stancill
I read the book & then saw the movie. I liked them both. However, both had a little different ending. I recommend either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liana
WOW! WHAT AN AMAZING MOVIE! at first i thought it was really dark and crummy in parts, and i didn't want to watch the whole thing .the more the movie went on and seemed to put a burden on my shoulders, sorta relating so what we all feel at dark times in my life.. then bam the ending! what an amazing ending! I actually felt this heaviness drop from my shoulders and i felt like jumping up and down for Jesus! amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Michael
Wow! What a great movie! Yes, it's a little dark in places but it's about sin. Great acting too! I'm going to buy more to give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Wymore
This is an absolutely amazing movie! I never read the book and was able to follow along. The movie helps to show how we can be forgiven and set free here on earth. It is also beautiful to see a young girl preach the gospel to her people. I definitely recommend this movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
anne
I really loved this movie!! It had such a good message and it kept moving and was not boring. It really shows what one little , a messenger from God, God at work, and His word can really do for a whole community!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harriet Thornton
I Watched the Last SinEater movie twice, it is so good. All the other items that I received were for Christmas, they came on time for the occasion and the recipient loves all of them. You have great products and great, dependable service, plus you have great prices. Harriet THornton
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen N Craig
We watched this movie for our Women's Group. (Dinner & a Movie) It starts out a little slow, but overall very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Gray
This is an amazing movie, one my whole family loves and has watched many, many times!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aimee French
I was very disappointed in the movie. My daughter and I loved the book and were very excited to watch it on film. I understand you have to alter the story line a little when making a book into a movie, but this went too far. Where was God in the story? I think He was mentioned twice. I highly recommend the book not the movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
A very good movie. Now I want to read the book. I love historical fiction. I can't imagine the comment about it being filled with Satanism. Someone obviously missed the whole point. It is based on an ancient Welsh cult but the movie is not filled with "Satanism". Some people are not interested in the past I guess. A beautiful story of Christ's redemption.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Curtis
This was a very well done DVD with a great message. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
crb50
Excellent movie! A little dark but shows how we as humans can with time change the word of God to suit our selves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Riemer
an exciting look into the times in the hills long ago but and equally exciting gospel message spelled out clearly in the drama and suspense. it effects everything including the personal relationships that need healing to bring peace. i have given many books and dvd's away as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Last Sin Eater, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Vick
I felt this movie was very good. My wife and I were very moved by the overall story. The saying of "Your sin will find you out" is loud and clear. However the much stronger message is the forgiveness of Jesus Christ will free you from sin's chains to live powerfully for GOD!!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.