Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Silent Gift, The - eBook

Bethany House Silent Gift, The - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Gift, The - eBook
Review 1 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good read

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandypath
Location:U.S.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Silent Gift by Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley
This book had me from the first page! I started it not sure what to expect but was interested from chapter to chapter. I found myself caught up in the journey of an abused wife fleeing to safety... all the while not knowing what it would look like until she found it.
Mary and Jack, her son, travel from place to place during the 1930's and must find a way to survive with few resources. One thing discovered along the way is that even though Jack doesn't hear or speak, he does see beyond what is in front of him and others. Jack sees what is happening beforehand - he can see the future.
This gift proves to be a blessing in some ways and a threat in others and it puts me in mind of the television show, "Touch". In that, a father (Keifer Sutherland) and his son work together to figure out clues as to what the boy is seeing ... things others don't see... and work to communicate what is discovered.
This book is a very good read and I was very touched by the end of it.
Bethany House publishers sent me this book at no charge to share my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gut wrenching

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ivie
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well written, but very emotional tale! Don't read this without a box of tissues nearby!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Immediately captures your attention.

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gwen
Location:Cocoa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only read several excerpts from Google, however, I was so captured that I want to read the entire book! It shows how good God is and that nothing happens by chance. It also shows that children are indeed a gift from our Heavenly Father, especially those who are considered handicapped. Our Lord makes no mistakes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Lykins
Location:Green Valley, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. It kept me interested throughout the entire novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put book down

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jenleew
Location:Port Orchard WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed the book, Couldn't not stop reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this book as part of a book club, and I guess I assumed being Michael Landon's son, it would be a sweet, gentle story. That was far from the truth! Not one person in our book club enjoyed this book...very strange story line, odd characters, I wouldn't recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a book that you just can't put down

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindee
Location:Mt. Sterling, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent read. I would put Michael Landon Jr. on my top author list. He can really weave a story with fascinating characters. It is a hard book to put down. A page turner. I just couldn't wait to see what happened next. He is an excellent author and I would definitely read more of his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Babe
Location:Sykeville, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent. So many parents don't want to be bothered with their children who have disabilities and this book showed what a loving mother she was to her son. I enjoyed every page of this book. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Carter
Imagine your life lived in a cocoon not penetrable by sound, or for that matter, much of anything. Now, imagine your life as the mother of a little boy, whose less-than-ideal entrance into the world, left you with a love so strong that you would do absolutely anything to protect that little boy, but not strong enough to break through his silent cocoon. In this book, Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley bring you immediately into a time of desperation and confusion in the height of the Great Depression as the mother of a little boy who is deaf and mute, but endowed with a gift far greater than either one of them can comprehend. You will go through the ups and the downs of their lives; from the palace to the prison and back up again. You will be brought to the brink of desperation and cheer with them as their lives begin to make sense. You will be brought to tears at the hard and lonely times of this little family as time and time and time again they have to fight for everything they have only to end up exactly where God wanted them with the maximum amount of lives being touched.This book was provided to me free of charge as part of Bethany House Book Reviewers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
This is beautiful story of the love of a mother for her son. Marys son, Jack, is born deaf and mute. Mary never gives up trying to communicate with her son, cherishing the moments of recognition in his eyes. Mary narrowly escapes her abusive husband and lands a job as maid for a well to do family. Its there she discovers Jacks gift of prophecy. It becomes unsafe for her and Jack to stay with the family. She is taken in by a new friend who promised to helps her secure a future for Jack by collecting donations for a prophecy. Unfortunately the gift causes more some unwanted publicity and she is discovered by her husband. Mary and Jack become separated, Mary spends months trying to find him. Its a unique book that really makes you think. I received a copy of this book free from Bethany House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Mary loves her son Jack even though he can't hear or speak to her, which perhaps the reason why she put up with Jack's father for so long. But when Mary found their life savings and a note from a woman in Jerry's coat pocket she takes matters into her own hands. Thus beginning a whirlwind adventure taking Mary and Jack from their frightening home into an even harsher reality. Chicago in the depression era is not a pretty place and while Mary struggles to find a job and more importantly a roof over her and her young son's head, she stumbles on an unusual gift. Jack can see the future. Communicating only through relevant Bible verses Jack warns of disaster and brings good news to those he touches. Mary realizes Jack's holy gift could be the answer to their financial woes and secure his future. But she quickly finds that you always let the bad in with the good, and finds that Jack may suffer the same fate she did as a child, or worse.This is an intriguing and utterly engaging novel that starts fast, hooks the reader and barrels on ahead until the end. There were times while reading that the anxiety rose so high I had to put it down. The first three quarters of the novel are perfectly constructed, completely engaging, and white knuckle addicting. Unfortunately, the last quarter of the book seemed to fall apart plot wise. The plot thickens for Mary and Jack in terms of his unique gift, just in time to completely disappear. The story takes a new turn and seems to never again address the gift that the novel is named for. It does try to come full circle with a new definition, but not to a satisfying enough conclusion. It seemed as though one author wrote the first of the book and the other came in to finish. The plot split isn't enough to cancel the novel as a whole as the story is great and exciting, even after the plot took a brand new turn, it just feels a bit bi-polar. *Book provided by Bethany House Publishing at no cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This story, set in the 1930s, is truly amazing. It centers around a young boy named Jack. Jack is not like normal children as he has never uttered a word and spends most of his time in his own world in his mind. His mother, Mary, is an extraordinary woman whose intense love for her son will not allow him to go to an institution and be taken care of by the system. His father, Jerry, once a loving man, comes to resent his son. Through the story we see how far Mary will go to protect herself and Jack, and how far Jerry will go to make this difficult. Mary struggles in the book with the appearance of a special gift of Jacks, which appears to be a gift from God. Should she use it to help others? Should she and Jack profit from it for their own needs? You, dear reader, will have to read this book to find out!Over all I thought the book was well written. The characters are so real that I was moved to tears in several places in this book. This was my first experience with these authors, and I was very pleased. I look forward to reading other works by them. I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy that I received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Bishop
The Silent Gift is certainly a gripping story. It draws you in and keeps your attention. And maybe, I'm a wimp, but the tragedy Mary and Jack face was more than I, personally, wanted to live through--even vicariously--within its pages.The circumstances were so unbelievably harsh. And just when it seemed things couldn't get worse, they did! This book was truly too haunting and too painful for me to enjoy.It's not hopeless, I know, because God does prevail. And maybe it was my own stressful life at the time. But it's a hard, emotionally-wracked story, so be prepared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
The Silent Gift is a great story of a mother's love and dedication to her son. A story of hope and commitment. Mary and Jack endure hardship after hardship and have a mother/son relationship that is truly tested. Jack's handicap gave me a new perspective on living life with a disability or having a child with a disability. I don't know that the story was quite believable at times but I enjoyed reading this novel. I received a review copy of this book through Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Dalke
The Silent Gift is a story of a mother's love for God and her deaf mute son. The heroine is believeable and real. The troubles she and her son encounter and are overcome by God's hand in their lives is inspirtrational.A good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
This has my vote for most original story of the year. Mary had a really tough life until Jack was born. Her husband Jerry had no patience for Jack's disability so he was taking their life savings to leave them for another woman. Fortunately, Mary discovered this just in time and fled. On their own, scared and homeless, she strives to find a job that would allow her to bring Jack along. She finds employment as a maid where Jack was welcome also. Then they discover that Jack has an unusual gift. Unfortunately, the gift brought too much publicity and Jerry discovered their whereabouts. Mary and Jack were subsuquently seperated and heartbroken. Believing Jack was deceased, Mary struggles with depression. This is a beautiful story. The characters are so real you will want to talk to them. Definitely a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michele
An absolutely amazing and intriguing account... SO REAL... I would recommend this book to people who are hungry for the truth and want to do something about it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laury Hubrich
The Silent Gift is the second book I have now reviewed for Bethany House. This story is phenomenal. It captured my attention from the first few pages to the end. The only flaw with it is that once you start reading, it's very hard to put down.This book is written by Michael Landon, Jr. and Che Ahn and takes places during the Great Depression. It centers around a deaf/mute boy, Jack, and his mother, Mary. Mary is a tenacious young woman who fights for his son in any way she can. Along her and Jack's life-journey, they encounter good, scary, and unjust times but they continue on. Even though Mary feels God has abandoned them, we, as readers, see God's hand on everything that happens. This book deals with some hard topics such as prophecy vs. fortune telling. It will get your mind thinking, for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
If you're in the mood for a book that has a moving story and will touch your heart while you read, this is the book for you. The book takes place in the 1930s and shows how difficult life was back then if you were poor and had a handicap that made you different from everyone. The relationship between Mary and Jack is very deep and the love that Mary has for her son is very strong. Jack's gift for a time brings them hope and financial security but at the same time it questions Mary's faith and makes her become wary of everyone she meets.What I really liked best about this book was that this wasn't a happy go lucky, everything ends up alright story. From the beginning, you can tell that Mary and Jack have things rough. With every turn of the story things get even worse for them. Even at the end of the story, even though they do eventually get help, there is no making up for the past. I think the biggest evidence of this is the actions of Mary's husband and Jack's father, Jerry. He's just the bad guy from the start and treats his family with disdain and disgust. Throughout the story, his character shows no signs of repentance. I was so glad at the end of the story that he ends up divorcing Mary instead of having a conversion scene where she's forced to forgive and forget everything he's done to make their lives miserable. Now divorce is something that can be a taboo topic in Christian fiction, but I believe in this scenario it can be justified.Overall I really enjoyed reading this book. The story is written in a easy to read manner that will keep you turning the pages. Even with the Gift aspect, it's a very realistic story and I believe the historical details to be accurate and not misleading. The scenes in the asylum are heartbreaking as to how the patients at the time were treated and viewed. It makes one grateful to be able to appreciate how well off people of today are who have the same kind of problems.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Silent Gift, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Gift.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catrina Bradley
The Silent Gift is the remarkable story of a mother's unconditional love for her son, and the lengths to which she goes to protect him from a world, and a father, who doesn't understand him. Her own past haunts her, and she vows that her son will never know the same the heartbreak and betrayal she suffered as a child.The book opens with the harrowing account of Jack's birth. Flash forward: 1930's America is reeling from the Great Depression, and Jack's mother, Mary, struggles to put food on the table and clothes on her son's back. She has always known that Jack is special, but when their circumstances lead to the revelation of her son powerful gift, their lives are changed forever. Jack's mother is a character I can relate to. At times she is plagued by doubt, and at other times she is all but certain she is doing the right thing. Who can she trust? And whose motivations are less than charitable? Mary isn't always right: she misjudges many of the people she encounters, and she makes mistakes along the way. But even when she makes the wrong choice, even when things go wrong, she never gives up her mission to protect, at all costs, the son she loves. She desperately wants Jack to be accepted, and for others to realize how special he is (even without his "gift"). Like our Heavenly Father, Mary is willing to sacrifice everything, including her freedom and her life, for the child she loves.After reading the publisher's blurb for The Silent Gift, I expected a sappy-happy story dripping with sugar. I was partly wrong. The authors succeed in showing us a snapshot of life in this decade and bringing history to life. I couldn't help but notice the similarities of Depression-era America to our current economic situation. This heartwarming historical novel is filled with emotional tension, suspense, and true-to-life characters, faults and all. Mr. Landon and Ms. Kelley have penned a novel that is worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>