Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gem Publishing KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed

Gem Publishing KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed

KJVer Version is a sensitively revised King James Version in which archaic words have been simplified to make God's Word more understandable.

Difficult Term Definitions
Archaic and difficult words are underlined and defined at the end of the verse by using the proper Hebrew text in the Old Testament and the proper Greek text in the New Testament. These words will often open up the meaning of a word or verse that often has been otherwise not understood or misunderstood.

Special Margin Study Guide
The Sword Bibles have a unique, easy–to–use margin study guide with over 90 topics from which to choose. This margin study guide allows readers to go from cover–to–cover using the pure Word of God as their study.

Study Helps
There are many other study helps including: a dictionary concordance, maps, earthquake charts, flood information, the chronology of the Bible (by Dr. Floyd Jones), Bible and Science (by Dr. Henry Morris), guide to the laws of the Bible, Jewish calendar, a survey of Daniel's 70 weeks, land and people of the Bible, the time of the patriarchs, judges and kings, and more.

Red–Letter Old and New Testament
A feature that is unique to our Bibles is a Red–Letter Old Testament as well as a Red–Letter New Testament. In the Old Testament, the red lettering indicates the direct words of God. In the New Testament, the red lettering indicates the words of Christ.

Reading Grade Level
The KJVER version was rated on the Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level Indicator test at the 4th Grade level.

The Received Text
Another primary difference between the KJV Easy Reading and other versions on the market is that it follows the Received Text. The Received Text is what the church fathers have used for nearly 400 years. The Easy Reading follows the King James text almost word for word, merely updating language. Among the many reasons for this is that it allows one who has learned English as a second language to have an understanding of the scriptures without "thees" and "thous". Please note this has all been done without changing one word of doctrine or touching deity.

Great cutting-edge study notes from:

  • Dr. Floyd Jones
  • Dr. Henry Morris, ICR
  • Dr. Carl Baugh, CEM
  • Ray Comfort, Living Waters
  • Rev. Charles Childers
  • And much, much, more...

Features

  • Red Letter Old and New Testaments
  • 1611 KJV with outdated words replaced with the modern equivalents to read as we speak today. "Thou shalt" is now "You shall"
  • Special margin study guides
  • Extensive treasury of biblical information
  • Dictionary concordance
  • Larger 11.7-point text size
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • Thumb-indexed
  • 8.75" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Review 1 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS *****

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BIBLE IS WONDERFUL, EASY TO READ, TRUE KJV DOCTRINE, BOUGHT IT FOR MY HUSBAND WILL BE BUYING ONE FOR MYSELF, AND BUYING MORE FOR OTHERS ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ! LOVE
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I am very happy with this bible

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
ltrtc
Location:Idaho, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bible for my 19 year old son. I love that the words of God in the old testament are in red. That's a feature I will be looking for in my next personal bible. This bible has wonderful study features and although it took us a little bit to understand the margin study guide it is helpful. The underlining of difficult terms is somewhat distracting and will take some getting used to, but otherwise I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great idea

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Richmond, il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
True to the KJV DOCTRINE ,modern words for an easy flow of language when reading out loud . I would not replace my KJV but this is a nice compliment to it. No missing verses or doctrine like other new versions, it stays true to the T.R. It does however have the wrong tense of a verb here and there , such as " and Jesus SAYS to them" when it should read Jesus SAID to them.
I have gotten this bible for family members also and they like it.
Hope one day the editor refines it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very nice quality

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimmythegeek
Location:louisville ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this easy read bible is very nice and perfect size to take around and easy to understand for any level of listener.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is the Best Kept Secret

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is terrific. The font size is the perfect size for large print reading without requiring the Bible to be too over sized. This is the only Bible I'm aware of that has red lettering in the Old Testament, as well. It really brings alive the Old Testament in a way I've never seen before because it brings to the forefront just how much God The Father in the Old Testament spoke to his chosen people. The construction is very good and there are many great extra articles in the back which supplement this Bible terrifically. In between the Testaments there is a section which breaks down close to 100 different topics of study, each one beginning with Genesis and carrying through to the end. King James Easy Read is the perfect version for those who struggle with the archaic words of the KJV but feel that the modern versions change too much, even the NKJV. No doctrine of the Authorized King James has been changed. There is list of all words that have been modernized.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features.

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renny
Location:Easton, PA.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Old Testament words of God are in red, just as the New Testament words of Christ are.
Old language is replaced with modern 20th Century words. This is an excellent Bible for saints of all ages.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best bible personal bible

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
anthony john
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is my personal bible its very much more then what I expected it has whatever you need to know about anything I highly recommend this bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Somewhat disappointed

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Richmond, il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great idea, only thing that is annoying is they did not use the proper tense of words. Example, they always use the word says, when it should read said. That makes for awkward reading out loud. Don't ditch your KJV, read them together.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible has so many many wonderful features

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dexter Girl
Location:Mammoth Cave, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I bought one each for my four children of various ages, and they all can read and enjoy them. We use them as we homeschool and on the Sabbath as we read and worship. The best part is they get a better understanding of what they are reading. My husband and I both have the KJ version of the sword bible,(not the easy reader) and when we read the kids can still follow right along in their easy reader bibles without any problems at all. They are learning what all the old english words mean from our reading and their following along in their easy reader. These bibles have so many wonderful features it would be impossible to list, but my favorite is being able to see what God spoke in the old testament highlighted in read. God's word stands out just as Jesus' word in the new testament.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Bible At A Good Price

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
BibleFan1
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start off by saying that I absolutely LOVE Study Bibles. I have close to 40 Bibles and I read them consistently. I like to read from different translations and compare various features provided from each of my Study Bibles. I have two copies of this particular Bible because I wore out my first copy so I placed an order for a second one and received it two days ago. The first thing I noticed was the new design. The sword on the cover has a sharper appearance (no pun intended) and the Bible is larger now. Once I opened it up, I noticed a lot of extra articles have been added in the back of the Bible, as well as some other features. The best features are still the original ones. This Bible features red lettering in the Old and New Testament, the names of God revealed in each verse that they appear and they are also explained in the front of the Bible. The KJV archaic words are replaced with their modern equivalents or underlined and explained at the end of each verse. Those are the old and best features. The new features vary in usefulness, but they do add some flavor to an otherwise straightforward KJV Bible. The articles are written from a KJV only perspective, which I don't particularly agree with, but I did find interesting. The viewpoints are well presented, and it did make me want to research the topic again even though I have done so many times. The other articles are written on topics such as the rapture, evolution vs. creation, biblical timelines and many other topics. They do add that extra value to push this Bible over the top. There are some maps in the back, but they are not as in depth as others that I have seen, but they do serve their purpose. The bottom line is, this is a very good option for KJV only Christians that would like another option for their kids. The changes are very conservative (perhaps too conservative at some points) so you won't be offended by the changes. I bought one because I like the sentence structure of the King James, but the archaic language can be a bit hard for me to understand at times. That being said, the KJV is still my favorite translation and I would highly recommend this Bible to any KJV fan.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the lay out

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alfie
Location:N.C
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful bible enjoy it very much.
I like the red letter were God is speaking in the old and new testament.
Some people would love this in large print that have vision problems.
It has a lot of imformation also
Like alot would recommend highly
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EVERY CHRISTIAN/BIBLE STUDENT NEED'S A SWORD BIBLE

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
36x48photo
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sword Bible KJV is a MUST have in your Library!!! It's a great study tool, very helpful when studying the Old Testament, with the Words of God in Red Print.
Be Sure To Get Your Copy!!!
God Bless!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob 1
Location:Redding, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandmother in WA and I in CA are big fans of these. She has bought many for her family and church family. I bought this one for my niece. I'm praying and hoping that she'll read it. These make great gifts when you add their name in gold stylized lettering to the cover. May God bless you.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great King James Bible

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
upray2
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This King James Bible is unique in that the red letter trait is used in both the OT and the NT. The direct words of God are in red in the OT. There is also a complete explanatory section of the names of God and the significance of each. This Bible is a convenient size even though it offers large print. There are minor word changes in the case of clearly archaic or obsolete words. This is my Bible of choice when preparing and teaching my Sunday School class.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Easy Reader Sword Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Walnut, Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finally a KJV with fewer archaic words

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
cor74
Location:Sw Ok
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is for the Sword Bible KJVer in black bonded leather.
Construction is very good, especially for the price.
Print Is Excellent. Large Print is nice. If you are looking for a lay flat, or floppy bible this is not going to fit the bill. I was very blessed to find this...for lack of a better word "translation". No doctrinal, or meaning changes, just archaic words replaced with more modern equivalents, unlike modern translations, which remove blocks of scripture, and change meanings completely. If you are looking for a KJV thats easier to read..you need to check this out. I do however think a lot more words could have been updated.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.