Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook

Revell The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook

With a vibrant, fresh style Suzanne Woods Fisher brings readers into the world of a young Amish woman torn between following the man she loves--or joining the community of faith that sustains her, even as she questions some of the decisions of her elders. Her choice begins a torrent of change for her and her family, including a marriage of convenience to silent Daniel Miller. Both bring broken hearts into their arrangement--and secrets that have been held too long. Filled with gentle romance, The Choice opens the world of the Amish--their strong communities, their simple life, and their willingness to put each other first. Combined with Fisher's exceptional gift for character development, this novel, the first in a series, is a welcome reminder that it is never too late to find your way back to God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Review 1 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Suzanne Fisher’s book, The Choice, is appropriately named. The entire book is about making choices, whether they are good choices or bad choices. The author has woven together a wonderful story that reminds us, while we may make our own plans and choices, God is working and will have his will for our lives regardless.
I really liked the character of Carrie Weaver. She was able to step up and make the right choice even though it was a hard thing to do. And because of that God honored her decision He eventually brought a godly man into her life that truly loved her.
Both Sol Reihl and Abel Miller also had choices. One was selfish, the other made out of love. To me these to represented humanity. There are times we make choices and tell ourselves that we are making them in everyone’s best interest, but in truth, sometimes it is only in our best interest. Other times, we will make choices in which we must make great sacrifices and we do so out of love.
While the overall story lacked a smooth flow and some continuity the analogies that we brought up, were outstanding.
The biggest problem I had with this book was the amount of death within the span of a year. I understand that death is part of life and we all have to cope with it, but it seemed that every time I turned a page someone else died. It darkened the book considerably. Because of this aspect I can only give this book 3 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a well written story - a little different than most of the Amish books I've read. Lots of surprises throughout and quite a variety of characters. I would certainly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Unexpected Delight

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best Amish Fiction books I have read. Most of them are sweet stories, but pretty predictable. Not so this book! It keeps you wondering and never offers the "expected" outcome. I have Old Order Amish friends, and most of the Amish books I have read are rather far fetched and unbelievable, and so many aspects of true Amish life are misrepresented. However, Suzanne seems to have a true grasp of Amish life - as much as they allow us to have anyway, as they are a very private people.
The choice that the main character, Carrie, makes at the beginning of the story bring unexpected consequences not only for herself, but others in her life. There will be many surprises in store for you when you read this book. There is a wonderful romantic flow throughout, and the characters become very real as you read about them.
I really enjoyed this book very much. I am very pleased with how things ended except as pertain to the character named Emma. I do not want to spoil the story for you, so I will not tell you what she did, but I will say this. Learning the character and mind set of this woman, I doubt she would have made the choice she made. But it did serve as one more unexpected turn this book made. I am looking forward to the next two volumes.
I recommend this for adult or young adult readers. I was smiling as I closed the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good reading.

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katrina
Location:Delaware
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoy reading books about Amish way of life. Suzanne Fisher 's writing is right up there with Beverly Lewis & Wanda Brunstetter. Can't put her books down until finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty Monda
Location:Sullivan, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are three books in this series and they are well written and heartwarming to read. The writer does an excellent job of getting to the point of the story and how she weaves people in and out of the book. I would recommend this series to anyone to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Characters are believable and story is exceptional

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
rosey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters in this story are developed in such a way that you feel they are your personal friends and are very easy to get to know. With all of the Amish stories today, this one is different and has a believable plot. I couldn't stop reading!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Expect the Unexpected!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both Amish, Carrie Weaver and Daniel Miller are much in love. A baseball player, Daniel, is about to go pro. When Carrie's life changes, so does her choice of future husband. And with a younger brother to care for who suffers from hemophilia, Carrie must choose for more than herself alone.
I would describe this as an almost “literary” Amish book with romantic elements. It was most unusual. If you are anticipating a formulaic Amish story – forget it! Suzanne Woods Fisher had more twists and turns in her story than in Amish country near the Ohio River!
SPOILER ALERT: I will warn the reader that there is an important death that almost stopped me from finishing listening to the rest of the book. I was angry with Suzanne – yup, she had violated my expectations for a romance. Guess what?! This is not a romance. It is an Amish fiction with romantic elements, some women’s fiction to it, suspense, and a literary twist. So I had to get over my irritation as I do not like big surprises in my reading. Suzanne needed the plot element for her heroine’s emotional and spiritual arc. There is an arsonist amongst the characters and she does a great job of obscuring just who that might be.
Forgiveness is a huge theme in this book and in many Amish books. Carrie has made choices that she has to address. Some of her decisions require forgiveness of herself. One of the male protagonists makes a sacrificial choice that has ramifications that ripples throughout the family. I found that fascinating how Suzanne spun that storyline across so many characters’ story arcs.
I really loved two secondary characters’s romance. They were a really fun couple and I was glad the author put them together. And the inclusion of a subplot about Carrie’s younger brother who has hemophilia was very gripping and just another example of the many layers of this story.
Second spoiler alert: I was rewarded for my continued reading with a happy ending! Gotta love a happy ending.
Bibliotherapy: Hemophilia, bereavement, forgiveness, and life’s transitions.
Disability Friendliness: Available in hardcover, paperback, Kindle or ebook, and audio versions as well as large print.
An ECPA, CBA and CBD Bestseller, Crossings' Main Selection, Doubleday, Literary Guild and BookSpan selection! (This information copied from Suzanne's website.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
THEriksen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. I will read the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually stay away from Amish stories, as I find many of them tend to have similar storylines. However I took a chance on this one and found it to have a refreshing twist to it. It was well written, and I can honestly say I couldn’t seem to put it down. I would recommend this to others, even if they are not usually into Amish books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is Awesome!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
carall25
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome and is definitely one that I will refer to my friends to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book.

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
barbie
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives cultural and spiritual emphasis. I learned a lot from the Amish culture that I did not know before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unpredictable, and that's good.

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon M
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User submitted photo
So many bad things happen to this poor girl within the first 80 pages that you wonder how she can possibly cope. More bad things continue to happen throughout the book, but not at such an astonishing rate. Of course, everything turns out fine in the end. I mentioned "unpredictable" in my summary, and most of it was just that. But there are one or two pretty predictable parts. Still, it was a pretty good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! One of those books you don't want to put down :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy and interesting read

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
gbull
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. My favorite writer of Amish novels has always been Beverly Lewis, but I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very real, and the mix of Amish/English made the book seem true to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not all that impressed

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
AmyM
Location:USAF Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Honestly I'm surprised this book got so many high reviews. I personally found it a 2 star read at best. The story was choppy lacking a nice flow that other books, like Beverly Lewis or Tricia Goyer, have. The author did a poor job on the characters. You never feel like you got to know them. I found myself constantly flipping back wondering who a person was and I never have that problem. The fact that the author killed off so many people in the book was a bit over the top. Three people alone die in the first five chapters, which was quite ridiculous. What frustrated me the most was Daniel's character using "The Message" Bible instead of a real translation. Sorry, but "the message" does not count as a Bible translation in my opinion. Overall the book was hardly memorable and took some effort to get through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great store

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
janet
Location:pointblank tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great humor and truth. an emotional store.was good reading from front to back.very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
amosjackman
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great story for those that enjoy Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Belle
I have just started this book and I love it. I don't want to put it down... I can't wait to get #2. I have 2 people that i have told them about it and now they want to read it! if you haven't read it you really need to! its a great book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roberta Shaw
Very good story, It kept me wanting to see what would happen nextl. A little mystery and a love story all in one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Choice, Lancaster County Secrets Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Vawter
Many times, when we make decisions, we don't always consider the consequences of our choicesnot only for ourselves but for many others as well. The Choice considers these consequences in a wonderful story of God's leading and provision when all seemed lost. Carrie has to make difficult decisions at the spur of the moment. And it seems that her own wishes and dreams will not be made real. Yet she begins to see how God's plans are always best, even when we don't understand what He's doing to accomplish those plans. An excellent story that brings to life a people and a way of life that is foreign to most of us. I loved the characters and the simple way of life portrayed while being challenged to consider my choices in life in light of God's plans for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.