Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Anxiety Cure

Thomas Nelson The Anxiety Cure

We're designed for life at camel speed, but we're racing like cheetahs! No wonder anxiety attacks have become so prevalent. If you suffer from insomnia, panic attacks, worry, or stress, here's drug-free help! Hart's proven method reveals how to keep adrenaline arousal within bounds, use the brain's production of natural tranquilizers, and more. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Anxiety Cure
Review 1 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but not what I expected

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol Whitfield
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good read if you're wanting to understand anxiety, and how to control it with medication, or understand the medical aspects of anxiety/depression. This would be a great book for a college class. I was hoping for something with more of a Biblical base.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great insight into panic disorder

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shenaj97
Location:Niles, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has so far opened my eyes to the causes of panic and why people suffer from them, and as Christians that it is ok to seek help outside of the church to help ease the symptoms of this debilitating disorder. This book is a must read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
I am almost finished reading Dr. Hart's book and was so relieved to find a Christian's take on anxiety. I have begun putting his methods into action and believe that this book will help me beyond medication.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Nichols
This book is the most comprehensive book on anxiety written from a Christian perspective. Dr. Hart's style is easy to read and understand. If you are looking for a book that completely covers the topic of anxiety and panic disorder, this is the book you need.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
The Author helps the reader to understand the connection between our bodies, our minds, and our feelings. He clarifies what true rest is and what true relaxation is. He teaches the reader techniques for stress and anxiety management. He stresses the body and minds need for rest and relaxation as he defines them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Travis
This book taught me so much about my anxiety! I started to read this book before I sought out counseling. My Therapist was so impressed with how much I already knew about my anxiety before she started to teach me and its all because of this amazing book. I can't speaking highly enough of how well Dr. Hart explains this problem and how to rise above your anxiety. I especially found helpful the chapter on medications. When I went in to see my Doctor I knew exactly what she was talking about with all the different anxiety medications. If you struggle with anxiety (or even think you do) read this book... it will open your eyes! God Bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Graham
It was a good book but he really shows his bias towards professional counseling. This book helped me understand what stress can do. It helped me with Christian application on how to conquour Anxiety.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jay B
I strongly recommend this book to any person that suffers from stress disorders. Some critics have suggested that any form of psychology is not founded in God. I would say that the emphasis of this book is very much in line with God's word. Each chapter has a particular emphasis in helping any Christian that has troubles with maintaining joy. We are to cast our anxiety to Christ! So much of this information is so important to understand. We are under attack by the enemy at many times. You will be able to understand how to have biblical control over your emotions. Adrenaline burnout is a large killer that many Doctors are very aware of. You will be able to have a grasp of your life, and this is so important when we give a testimony of our Christian living. If you view the recent almanacs, you will see that antidepressants are the #1 prescribed meds. They are necessary in many cases, but not to the level that they are dispensed. Archibald has a way of illuminating biblical truths that can assist us in having a sound mind. This is one of the best books that I would recommend for an anxiety sufferer. You may even find that it helps a person that is not an absolute believer yet. God has delivered me from these terrible issues. Prayer and Biblical study has been paramount, but this book provides a bridge to the often difficult discussions involving psychology. Secular books of this nature may confuse many Christians. We are to be balanced in our beliefs and words. God can still move you through these difficult times. This book is so helpful for the overachiever, athlete, perfectionist, and the like. You may be a living example that God desires with the help of this book. Use your Bible to cross reference any solutions. Jesus still uses others to heal us of our infirmities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Anxiety Cure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Robin Franklin
I suffer from depression and anxiety. Like most Christians, I kept this problem to myself and acted as if everything was OK. That was until I crashed and became so full of anxiety and fear that I could no longer function in normal daily life. I could not sleep, could barely eat and could no longer take care of my kids or go to work. Thank God that my pastor counselled me and told me that it was OK to take medication. We went through some intense counseling to get at the root of my fear. It turns out that I have a lot of abandonment issues from childhood that I had never dealt with. However, I could not have gone through that painful self-analysis and healing of past hurts if I had not been on medication. Plus, I needed to get back to work and get my kids back. Even on medication, I am still dealing with daily anxiety. When I picked up Dr. Hart's book, I could hardly put it down. He is right when he says that Christians suffer needlessly from anxiety disorders because "worry" is viewed as a sin. However, he goes through scripture and shows how the bible is talking about normal worry and "what if's". When the bible was written, people didn't suffer from anxiety disorders. Life was about the pace of a camel and today people are living at the speed of a jet plane. Anxiety disorders are a recent phenomenom that has resulted from the great stress that has been placed on our lives. We need to get rid of a lot of this stress and this book tells you how. Dr. Hart believes that counseling and medication work together. A person can't make difficult life changes if they're always on the verge of a panic attack and can barely function. Medication is a temporary solution to get your "happy hormones" back in balance while you make changes in your life. I no longer feel guilty for taking Xanax. He even has a whole chapter on how to get off Xanax without going through major anxiety. God Bless Dr. Hart! I finally have hope that I can be healed of this anxiety.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.