Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell In Harm's Way - eBook

Revell In Harm's Way - eBook

FBI special agent Nick Bradley has seen his share of kooks during his fifteen years with the Bureau. But Rachel Sutton is an enigma. She seems normal when she shows up at the FBI office in St. Louis--until she produces a tattered Raggedy Ann doll she found and tells him she thinks something is wrong because of a strange feeling of terror it gives her when she touches it. Nick dismisses her, only to stumble across a link between the doll and an abducted child, setting in motion a chain of events that uncovers startling connections--and puts Rachel's life on the line.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Harm's Way - eBook
Review 1 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
s20er
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't wait for the next book from Irene. My favorite authors cannot write as fast as I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting plot ...almost believable!

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Vancouver, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed all three books in this series. I also learned more about the incredible commitment these men on the force must make to protect and keep us safe. Their families also make huge sacrifices so their husbands/fathers/sons can do this job for us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly enjoyable

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bluebelle
Location:Brampton, ON
When the story delved into the "doll vibes" I almost dropped it. I stopped reading Christian fiction a few years ago because far too many authors and publishers were incorporating secular plots and dialogue (profanity, paranormal, sexuality) that the genre became passe to me, nothing more than an offshoot of secular fiction. I was immensely relieved when this author offered a psychological and empirical explanation for the "vibes." I was able to sit back in my airplane seat and enjoy the rest of the book on my way back home from Christmas holidays. My kind of suspense, action, a touch of sweet romance that I like. I can now buy the other 2 in the series. This reader has found a new favourite author!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

mislabeled

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Response
Location:Chicago, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read a number of your 'suspense and intrigue' books so I had an expectation for that label. This book was really only a romance so I was very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Suspense!

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tia Marie
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third installment of the Heroes of Quantico series was everything I came to expect from the first two books and more! The plot began a little strangely but Hannon expertly wove the story together through twists, turns, and unexpected developments. A true suspense with just a touch of romance. The only problems I had with the book is that I had trouble putting it down and I got to the end way to quickly!! A great read!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gave me shivers.

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
HannonFan
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It has enough twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat and wondering what is going on. Nick Bradley is a great FBI agent who is conflicted about Rachel's role in this case and his feelings for her. Nice amount of tension and creepiness from the bad guy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in Irene Hannons Heroes of Quantico Series. I was hooked almost immediately. Rachel picks up a dirty Raggedy Ann doll out of the snow and gets a feeling of terror. Everytime she touches it she gets the same feeling. With a lot of trepidation she goes to the FBI. She assumes they will think she is a kook. In comes Nick, the FBI agent we met in the last two Heroes of Quanitco books. He immediately dismisses Rachel and the doll until he stumbles across its possible connection to a baby that was kidnapped. Ms Hannon weaves suspense, love, and reconcilitation to God throughout the entire book. She is right up there with Dee Henderson and Teri Blackstock.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kittie
Mercy!! I was hooked from the first word in this great series. Hated to see it come to an end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Widner
Could not put it down! Best book of the series. Read all three and enjoyed each one! Irene Hannon is a wonderful author and looking forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
After reading the first two books, I was very eager to read the final book in this series. Again, the character development and plot twists were superb. Having met Nick in the first two books, I was happy to see the character fleshed out and fully developed. Shocking experiences from his childhood were heart-rending and define his reasons for entering law enforcement and his enjoyment of remodeling houses. Rachel, a usually upbeat music teacher, has been experiencing an unexplained bout of anxiety. Her discovery of a Raggedy Ann doll in a parking lot exacerbates her feelings and she decides to take the doll to the FBI. This leads to her meeting Nick and, as I suspected, their are valid reasons for Rachel's bizarre reaction to touching the doll. Like Monica and Emily in the first two books, Rachel is abducted by the villain and is placed in a situation where she will definitely lose her life unless Nick and his partner Mark can find her in time.I like Ms. Hannon's style of using the characters from her other novels throughout the book. It can be read as a stand-alone, but it will cause readers to want to read the other two titles in the series.Another excellent suspense novel by Irene Hannon. She has edged out Terri Blackstock and Dee Henderson as my favorite suspense author. I look forward to beginning her new series in January 2011!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Thelen
Of the three books, this was the best. I couldn't put it down until I finished it to the end. Excellent story, with all the details well researched. I can'twait for the next series
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
A Raggedy Ann doll leads to a suspenseful story. Rachel finds a Raggedy Ann doll and feels a connection to it. But she is the only one who feels it. An FBI Agent who is drawn to Rachel even though he cannot understand Rachel's sense of fear when she picks up the doll.I'm being very careful to keep you in suspense. You have to read the book to find the connection.How two peoples lives cross and it changes their lives is amazing. Suspense that keeps you on your seat. You cannot lay the book down when Rachel is kidnapped. Kidnapping of both Rachel and a baby and events woven together is such a great story.Romance, intrigue, suspense and a wonderful ending. I have a Raggedy Ann collection so this book will become part of it. I read Raggedy Ann stories to my oldest and still have all her books.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
I really enjoy Romantic Suspense Fiction Novels. Irene Hannon's recent "In Harm's Way," the third and final book in her Heroes of Quantico series, was full of twists and turns and is sure not to disappoint. I have not had the opportunity to read the first two books in this series, I felt the character development was sufficient to read this book as a stand-alone novel. I am planning on locating the previous two books in the series to read for my next vacation.I found the story surrounding the poor Raggedy Ann doll draws you in more. Personally it brought up many childhood memories which made me question if Rachel was simply re-living her childhood memories when touching the doll. To find out what happens, you'll have to visit your favourite bookseller and pick up a copy of In Harm's Way for yourself.Available from your favorite bookseller of Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
In Harm's Way is the third in the series, and I enjoyed it just as much as the first two. The connection between the heroine and her twin sister was very interesting. Memorable characters, page-turing suspense, well-researched plot and meaningful spiritual insight. Great job! I'll be looking for the next book written by Irene Hannon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Spurgeon
This book is the last of the series and just as great as the first two. You gotta get this series. Irene Hannon knows how to write.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Book Three of the Heroes of Quantico series finds us with Special Agent Nick Bradley, friend of Coop and Mark from the first two books. Nick is a good looking agent who is really ready to follow in the footsteps of his buddies Coop and Mark and settle down into a desk job, or at least a job where he isn't alway having to transfer. He is rehabbing an old house and spends lots of time on projects in the house, but he is ready for romance and love.Rachel Sutton, a music teacher finds a Raggedy Ann doll trapped in a snow bank from the snow plows of winter, and is distressed, dismayed and plain scared of the reactions she has when she touches this doll. Convinced she is loosing her mind, she is persuaded by the extreme reaction to take the doll to the FBI. Agent Bradley was assigned to her case, and the attraction is instant and mutual, it would seem. An exciting story, with more twists and turns than a drunk man's path, this book will have you hooked from the first page to the last. I am sad to see this last book of the series, I have loved this series, but look forward to new projects from Irene. She has given us another 5 star Quantico story. 326 pages US $14.99 5 starsThis book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
This is a wonderfully suspenseful story. I'm a bit like the FBI and even Rachel herself as I wasn't sure what to think about the validity of Rachel's terror when she discovers and touches the doll. The unknown reason for her discomfort adds to the mystery of the abducted baby. I liked how Nick was portrayed, including his faith and his integrity when he realizes the conflict of interest presented his involvement with Rachel. There are a couple of mild frustrations I have with the book; attention to details is the difference between good and great. For one, the age of the abducted child is inconsistently portrayed. Sometimes she's referred to as a toddler, and the description of pictures fits this age range. Other instances indicate a baby who is 9 months old and who is still carried in a baby car seat. I don't know if the age was changed and not all of the corrections made it into the book, or if this was inconsistent from the beginning. I'm surprised an editor didn't pick up on that. The other issue, which occurs just once but is totally unnecessary, is one of the characters taking God's name in vain. While I have defended some books with questionable language when it fits the non-believing character, in this instance it seemed completely superfluous to the story. The author does follow the exclamation with the statement that "Mark's soft, shocked comment was half exclamation, half prayer." (p. 139) But while I certainly hear worse in the grocery store, I felt the language was unnecessary for this Christian novel and that another exclamation would have been just as effective.In spite of these issues, however, I did enjoy the book and recommend it for those who enjoy a suspenseful mystery infused with romance, hope, and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Ever have a funny feeling that something's not quite right? The protagonist, Rachel does not believe in psychics, but she just KNOWS that the doll she finds is connected to wrongdoing. I made a quick connection to the protagonist, Rachel; she thinks the same way I do. As her life is revealed, I found other similarities to her, but I cannot reveal those as I'd give away your opportunity to be surprised.I loved this book! It's one of those suspense novels that twists and turns such that the reader cannot guess what will happen next.Thank you to Donna Hausler of Baker Publishing Group for my copy. This is one Christian fiction that I think most readers will enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Rachel Sutton is impatiently waiting for her take-out lunch before going back to her music classroom. On her way to her car, she sees a bright orange clump frozen in the icy snow. When her foot dislodges a chunk of ice, she finds a button eye staring up at her. Digging it out, she finds a Raggedy Ann doll.Problem is, when she held the doll, she got the shakes, a racing pulse and had difficulty breathing, much like a panic attack. The doll fell from her arms, and the episode ceased. Surely a doll couldnt cause all this. To prove it wasnt so, she picked it up again, and terror hit the pit of her stomach. Jarring, crashing sounds and a babys cry hit her. She opened her car door and slung the doll across the seat. The symptoms stopped, leaving her with a sense of anxiety.Rachel told her friend Marta, who thought she was crazy and told her to dump the doll. But she had to get it to the right person, so Marta talked to her policeman husband about it. He recommended the FBI, though he thought theyd think her crazy.Meanwhile, Claudia Burnes, a St. Louis tabloid writer, was listening in on Martas conversation with her husband at a restaurant and took notes. Rachel brings the doll in a bag to FBI Special Agent Nick Bradley, who seemingly listens to her, after seeing her reaction to the doll. He stumbles onto a link between a doll and an abducted child. His world and Rachels takes on a whole new realm when Claudias article reaches the papers. Someone wants her silenced. Why? She only found a doll. Is there a connection to the doll and the person(s) trying to silence her? This haunting suspense and light romance keeps you turning pages late into the night. A definite nail-biter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In Harm's Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
I forgot to mention that I am glad this book had only three mix-ups of lie vs. lay!Wow! That is improvementPg. 110's Everyplace (Every place) is the only other goofie! Congrats to the editors, I think? (: )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>