Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Silent Governess, The - eBook

Bethany House Silent Governess, The - eBook

Believing herself guilty of a crime, Olivia Keene flees her home, eventually stumbling upon a grand estate where an elaborate celebration is in progress. But all is not as joyous as it seems.

Lord Bradley has just learned a terrible secret, which, if exposed, will change his life forever. When he glimpses a figure on the grounds, he fears a spy or thief has overheard his devastating news. He is stunned to discover the intruder is a scrap of a woman with her throat badly injured. Fearing she will spread his secret, he gives the girl a post and confines her to his estate. As Olivia and Lord Bradley's secrets catch up with them, will their hidden pasts ruin their hope of finding love?

Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Governess, The - eBook
Review 1 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book that I have read by Julie Klassen and she is easily becoming a favorite author of mine. I enjoy all of her books and I think this one might be my favorite so far. I loved the story and the characters. I loved the fact that they couldn't be together because they were in different social classes, but there was still an attraction between them. The story also had a bit of mystery that made me want to keep on reading to find out what would happen. The story was well written and it was a unique storyline, which was refreshing to read. As the mystery began to unfold, I would be surprised by some of the revelations. This was a book that I couldn't put down and I would definitely recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
cindy
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book. Julie Klassen is one of my favourite authors, once I start reading I can't seem to put the book down because I'm enthralled with the characters and what's going to happen next. Big fan of the Jane Austen style of stories and Julie Klassen does it best!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love, love, love Miss Klassen's writing!

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With each novel I read from Miss Julie Klassen I become more and more in love with her stories and her writing!
The Silent Governess is the third book I have read from Miss Klassen, and within its pages we journey with Olivia Keene. From the first few pages we learn that Olivia was trained by her father at a young age to be good with numbers. This knowledge as well as her schooling at Miss Cresswell's proves to be quite beneficial in her future. Especially when she flees everything she's known.
Lord Bradley is a fine character. Though at times he seems a little rough around the edges, he has a profound love for his young cousins. Watching he and Olivia grow in their faith and fall in love was so enjoyable. I spent most of the afternoon reading!
Once again Miss Klassen has provided a well thought out plot, characters, and a realistic setting that has me pining to go back. :-)
I checked this book out at the library. No review required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow Start, but Masterful Ending!

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the first 1/3 of this book is a bit tedious, the latter 2/3 certainly makes up for it! As such, I still definitely recommend the book.
I think the reasons why I found the first 1/3 slow are: (1) the main character's inability to speak (a major part of the story) prevented me from forming a connection with her, and (2) I am used to more romantically-intense historical romances, with lots of tension between the hero and heroine from the get-go, but in this book, their romance develops gradually (which, admitedly, is more realistic).
But after that 2/3 barrier, the story really takes off, as we get to know the characters on a deeper level, the stakes keep getting higher and higher, and conspiracies start to pile up. Honestly, by the end, I was shocked that the author was able to tie so many loose ends together perfectly - many mysteries and thrillers I've read didn't even have that many threads! I also must commend the author for her creativity - absolutely nothing in this book seemed cliche, and many events occurred that were entirely unexpected.
All in all, it is well worth your time investment to get through the first 1/3. I will definitely be reading more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed it.

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really held my interest from the beginning to the end. I have not read any of her books before. I like the mystery in it also. I was unable to lay it down and read until 2 in the morning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hmm... Naught Bad... Really!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My First Read from Mrs Klassen! And to tell the truth, I am NOT the type that reads Regency Novels.
I always thought this kind of books to be um, boring (quite frankly), not easy to understand ( the writing style is very different -- sometimes it's useful to grab a dictionary while reading.)
But, you know what?... This was quite an interesting story -- truly. I thought about giving it 4-4.5 stars, but hey, why not?
5 stars, Mrs Klassen!
Everything is just blended nicely: mystey, romance (although do not hope for the passionate, fall-off-your-chair kind in this one)
This is just a nice, sweet story you might want to grab to end your day, and those who love happy endings, will indeed be satisfied.
And did I mention THE most important thing of all?
The Word plays a beautiful role in this one, including life lessons such as : forgiveness and the importance of family.
I would recommend this book... I liked the story.
In case you don't know, It won a Christy and was nominated for other awards including a RITA -- quite impressive eh?
Nice Job on the Book AND the research Mrs Klassen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Total Winner!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book literally locked me inside my bedroom for a full day and took me away to a new world. I was absolutely captivated by the story and I loved how God was weaved throughout the book! It is a winner, a must have, a keeper, a borrower, and a giver of a book! And I am practicing what I preach just so you know!
This book is a new favorite and I absolutely love it! It was just so thrilling and the plot was amazing. Get it...you won't regret it in the least!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book!

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This had become one of my favorite books! I love everything about the story and thought it was fantastic! I look forward to reading more books by this author! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
lalawils
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by Julie Klassen, and I was so pleased that I am now reading my second, "The Girl at the Gatehouse". The story is so well and intelligently written with characters one can route for and a story line that keeps you reading. For Jane Austen fans like me, Ms. Klassen is a wonderful find! "The Silent Governess" will not disappoint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olivia Keene and Lord Bradley have nothing in common, save one thing: they both hold a secret that could change everything as they know it, if this secret is revealed. In fear of losing all he has ever known, Lord Bradley kept Olivia close at hand at Brightwell Court, where she served his young niece and nephew as governess, and a recent injury rendering her temporarily mute served useful to his purpose. It would seem though that theirs is not the only knowledge of the secret, and as deception, lies, and life-threatening events unfold, Olivia and Lord Bradley find themselves in a world much smaller than they imagined, and the danger closer to home than they feared.
In the midst of the drama, Lord Bradley finds himself taken with the charming Olivia Keene, and his emotions conflict greatly between affection and suspicion. Will Lord Bradley believe his heart, or will he let suspicion dominate and risk breaking hearts and losing love? Will the truth be revealed before it is too late?
Trying to predict the ending of this book is futile, as there are many surprises at every turn from beginning to end. A story well written, The Silent Governess took me into the world of Lords and Ladies, with characters that came to life from the pages. I can’t wait to read the next one!
This book was sent to me by Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Midnight Emissary
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the unexpectedness of the plot, and the aspect of mystery involved. The characters were very human which is a must for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written!

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book that Jane Austen fans will love. It is written in the same time period with a similar style, but in more contemporary language that will be easier to follow. There are multiple characters, each having their own secrets that tie into the whole of the story. Olivia Keene must flee her home, and finds herself in the position of governess in the employ of Lord Bradley, who has secrets of his own that he must keep from being discovered. The beauty of this book is the lovely language that leads us through the lives and loves of it's characters. There are clever twists and surprises, witty dialogue, sweet romance and beautiful prose throughout. If you enjoy romance and beautiful writing, this is a book you won't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great historical story for any Austen fan!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I learned a lot about governesses from this book. This was my first time reading a novel by Julie Klassen and I was drawn in quickly to the story, setting, etc. I am, admittedly, a huge Jane Austen fan so that may have something to do with my quick interest in this particular book. Ms. Klassen tells the story of Olivia Keene - a young woman who goes through several trials of sorts throughout the tale. She is thrust into a situation beyond her control and finds herself in unexpected circumstances in the home of an earl. During her time in that place she befriends many individuals and eventually becomes the governess. Olivia's story is full of hurts, heartaches, assumptions, and so much more. In the end, everything is as it should be. God's plan is worked out. The true heart of each of the characters comes to light by the end of the book, but I felt that this story was somewhat lacking in sharing faith openly. There were not many obviously Christian characters. There were many moral issues throughout the book, but then I suppose those even (if we were honest) occur in the life of a Christian on occasion. Overall, I found this story of Olivia, Lord Bradley, Lord Brightwell, Mr. Croome, Andrew, Audrey, and so many others to be a delightful tale with some twists and turns. I certainly, after reading this novel, want to find and read more of Ms. Klassen's books. She seems to have a real taste for the era of Jane Austen and her contemporaries. If you enjoy a good historical read, check out The Silent Governess. It's a real delight and hopefully a quick read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Many surprises in this book.

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual with Julie's books, I could not put it down. There
were many surprises in this one. I was surprised to learn
that Alice was Lord Bradley's mother but yet he was a
Bradley as well. I loved the ending results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Natalie
I have been on a Julie Klassen kick lately. I love all of her books but this is my favorite. Very well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love romance fiction and there was not much of it in this book untill the last part. I just wanted the romance to get happening and because of that I couldn't wait to get through the book to the romance part.
I would classify this book as historical fiction and not historical romance fiction.
Somehow I found it hard to like Lord Bradley. He wasn't someone I would fall in love with. But it was to be expected that Olivia would fall for him, but I couldn't cheer for her in that part.
Overall it was a very good read. Time setting is very interesting and the tale develops well.
I would recommend this book to all historical fiction lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best I've Ever Read!

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila of PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of Julie Klassen's books, and while all were an enjoyable read, this is by far her best work yet (keep going, Julie!!). The author has captured the time period and the local customs perfectly it seems. The characters are very believable, and the way she pieces the story together so that no question was left unanswered is truly amazing. If you like a good romance, mystery and intrigue, this is a fantastic book for you! I thoroughly enjoyed it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beatrice Rice
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reading, many twist and turns. Would definitely recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Silent Governess

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book was set in the 19th century in an English manor. Actually, this isn't my favorite genre of Christian fiction. But Julie Klassen held me captive from the beginning of this book.
Olivia Keene escapes her turbulent home and narrowly escapes assault by men in the forest as she runs. She's focused on getting to a girls' school to apply for a position as teacher. Instead, she ends up at a beautiful English manor where she overhears a secret. The lord of the manor then attempts to control Olivia so that his secret isn't revealed.
There are so many layers to this book. I was delighted (yes, delighted!) when Julie Klassen wove the beginning of the story into the end of the story. I might have considered it a couple of times throughout the book, but it actually brought a smile to my face when it was unveiled.
I wholeheartedly endorse this book! I give it 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Silent Governess, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Silent Governess.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan
This book was absolutely AMAZING!! I have read all of Julie Klassen's books so far and this is her best yet. Not only do I love this time era, but this was beautifully written. I say, "Keep up the great work, Julie, and keep the novels coming!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.