Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mission Books The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1

Mission Books The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1

Lady Charlisse Bristol sets off on a voyage in search of a father she never knew, only to find herself shipwrecked on a desert island. Near starvation, she is rescued by a band of pirates and their fiercely handsome leader, Edmund Merrick. Will Clarisse win her struggle against the seductive lure of this pirate captain? While battling his attraction to this winsome lady, Edmund offers to help Charlisse on her quest-until he discovers her father is none other than Edward the Terror, the cruelest pirate on the Caribbean. Can Edmund win this lady's love while shielding her from his lecherous crew and working to bring her father to justice?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Review 1 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Redemption by MaryLu Tyndall

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redemption: Legacy of the King's Pirates book #1*****by MaryLu Tyndall
After years of suffering abuse from her Uncle, Bishop Henry Hemming, Lady Charlisse Bristol bartered for passage on board a ship leaving London heading to Port Royal in the Caribbean in search of Edward T. Bristol, her father she has never seen. Now she is shipwrecked and on an uninhabited island struggling to survive. Weeks pass without a ship in sight until one evening she hears men talking—pirates! Captain Edmund Merrick and his crew are making needed repairs on his ship the Redemption on an uninhabited island—or so he thought. He is surprised to find a beautiful woman on the deserted island. Charlisse is ultimately placed on the Redemption with the leering pirates, and locked in Captain Merrick's cabin for her safety. He sets a course for Port Royal, a two days journey in calm seas but they soon encounter a storm reminding Charlisse of her last storm at sea and it's outcome.
The captain is not your typical pirate/captain, he is a new Christian and has been commissioned by King Charles as a privateer to capture enemy pirates and bring them to justice. A pirate that prays?Determined to find her father, Charlisse asks Captain Merrick if he has heard Edward Terrance Bristol; but does not believe him when he says her father is known as the pirate—Edward the Terror. No, her father is not a pirate. How can she find her father and prove Merrick wrong? But what will she do if he is right? There is much to their journey together, not all pleasant. Captain Merrick is captured and put in prison and is to be hanged. Charlisse is kidnapped and Merrick is unable to rescue her. Can she turn to Merrick's God when He left her alone all these years? Does God really love her enough to protect her from these evil pirates?
MaryLu's The Redemption has much to offer. A bit of history immersed with swashbuckling pirates, action, suspense, romance, surprising twists and turns, faith and inspiration and so much more. The story captured me from the first page to the last. There are characters to love and characters I did not like at all, all making a fantastic story.
~~I received an e-copy of this book from the author for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fabulous Christian historical romance.

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Lady Charlisse Bristol sets off on a voyage to find her father whom she never knew. Instead she finds herself shipwrecked on a deserted island in the Caribbean. After weeks, stranded by herself, she finds that her salvation comes in the form of a band of pirates. Their leader is fiercely handsome, Edmund Merrick. He is busy learning to walk a more godly path while still leading his crew. He now has added the task of shielding Charlisse from his lecherous crew to the task of trying to bring the cruelest pirates to justice. Can the supernatural power of God rescue Charlisee and Edmund from the danger and treachery that await them?
This book is filled with incredible swashbuckling adventure. The descriptions that MaryLu Tyndall includes of the pirate battles and life style were great. I loved the character development. The way she built the pasts of the characters up and revealed them slowly throughout the course of the book was great. It held my attention and drew me into the story just as much as the action packed sequences did. I also thoroughly enjoyed the strong belief in God that Edmund displayed. He was truly trying to serve Him even in the midst of wanting to be in control. It was wonderful to watch him grow in trusting God and turning control over to Him.
I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Pirating Adventure!

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well-written tale of adventure on the high seas. Edmund Merrick is a reformed man. He's become a Christian and a privateer. He still struggles with his old fleshly desires, but truly wants to be the man that God created him to be. Will he succeed as a Christian and be able to keep his career as a pirate captain? Charlisse Bristol has escaped her tyrannical uncle's clutches, and is off in search of the father she has never known. She is rescued by Captain Merrick after being stranded on an island. He agrees to take her to Port Royal in search of her father. But when he learns that the man she seeks is none other than Edward the Terror, a ferocious pirate and Merrick's former captain, how will Edmund protect the lady he has grown to love from the pirate he has vowed to bring to justice?
M.L. Tyndall has crafted a very difficult to put down book. The chapters are short and easy to read. The chapter titles offer teases as to the contents. The characters and settings are so real they almost pop off the page! The Christian theme is woven creatively throughout the story. I can't wait to read book 2 in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Redemption is MaryLu Tyndall's first book. It is the first book in the series Legacy of the King's Pirates series.
The Redemption is a romance between the charming hero, Captain Merrick, and the strong-willed Charlisse, who is escaping her brutal uncle and searching for her father. As the story progresses, both Charlisse and Merrick evolve into very likable characters who anyone can relate to. Their relationship is sweet and realistic.
This book combines many favorable elements: mystery, romance, danger, sea voyages, evil characters, godly characters, and also faith that is tried but overcomes.
This is a book that can't be put down, a page-turner. I loved it! I've read it five times, that is how good this book is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wholly Captivating

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set during the 1660's, Ms. Tyndall's fast paced, high sea adventure had me captured from the opening scene.
At twenty, Lady Charlisse Bristol, leaves behind her cruel uncle in London in order to find her unknown father. After a shipwreck, she is found in a deserted island by some pirates and Captain Edmund Merrick. He offers to take Lady Charlisse on his ship and later he finds out about the identity of her father.
Very well developed main characters as well as some interesting secondary characters. I enjoyed as the christian hero helps turn Lady Charlisse to God.
This engaging Christian pirate book is packed with action and twists. This is a pirate series I would read over and over again.
Be aware that there is some adult conversation and scenes that it may or may not be suitable for younger readers or even conserative readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK!

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hanabana
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a complete delight. It definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat! I seriously couldn't put it down! I would recommend this book to everyone that liked the Pirate of the Caribbean movies, but wants a christian viewpoint and background. I loved this book! READ IT! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
miranda
AWESOME BOOK! I absolutely loved this series! I've even bought it for friends and family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deliverance From Evil (Sin)

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very first book written by MaryLu Tyndall, "The Redemption", has truly been an on edge must know what is going to happen next in this novel. Just when I think in a few areas that things are about settled, some other suspense action comes up, and has me eagerly reading to see how the events will turn out. Read about how Lady Charlisse Bristol runs away from where she was brought up, by going on a voyage in search of her father whom she never knew, but heard so many wonderful stories from her mother. Though through the process she becomes shipwrecked on a desert island. To make things more interesting find out how a band of pirates and their fiercely handsome leader, Edmund Merrick, rescues Charlisse from near death.
Charlisse being terrified of Captain Merrick, she is now baffled to discover this man has a faith in God. Captain Merrick is determined to become a better man or more of a godly man, but he is battling his old weaknesses of women and drink, which are testing him while he helps Charlisse in her journey to search for her father. A neat twist with this novel, "The Redemption" you'll read throughout seeing the title used in different ways. See if Charlisse will come to understand about the deliverance from sin and come to know what is salvation, and how Edmund learns more about giving his life to the One and only Creator. This swashbuckling romance novel will show ye how Charlisse 'nd Captian Merrick go through their journey, something ye don't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An AMAZING beinning to a great series!!!!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book! It was a swashbuckling tale filled with history, intrigue, and romance! All the characters were realistic and strongly built with human-like faults and quirks. Charlisse, a young lady venturing to find her father all on her own, is an admirable heroine and I admired Merrick, a Christian pirate, very much! I definitely stayed up late into the night reading as quickly as I possibly could and wondering what would happen to Charlisse and Merrick. All in all, this was a great read and I definitely would recommend it to my friends!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very highly recommended

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMAZING!! I loved it. Very captivating! This was the first book by MaryLu that I read, and it definitely wasn't the last. She has a way of wording it that just makes you want to keep reading. It showed clearly that Christians aren't perfect, and neither is their life. Bad things happen, and you just ogt to trust in God to make it through. Very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.