Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mission Books The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1

Mission Books The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1

Lady Charlisse Bristol sets off on a voyage in search of a father she never knew, only to find herself shipwrecked on a desert island. Near starvation, she is rescued by a band of pirates and their fiercely handsome leader, Edmund Merrick. Will Clarisse win her struggle against the seductive lure of this pirate captain? While battling his attraction to this winsome lady, Edmund offers to help Charlisse on her quest-until he discovers her father is none other than Edward the Terror, the cruelest pirate on the Caribbean. Can Edmund win this lady's love while shielding her from his lecherous crew and working to bring her father to justice?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Review 1 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fabulous Christian historical romance.

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Lady Charlisse Bristol sets off on a voyage to find her father whom she never knew. Instead she finds herself shipwrecked on a deserted island in the Caribbean. After weeks, stranded by herself, she finds that her salvation comes in the form of a band of pirates. Their leader is fiercely handsome, Edmund Merrick. He is busy learning to walk a more godly path while still leading his crew. He now has added the task of shielding Charlisse from his lecherous crew to the task of trying to bring the cruelest pirates to justice. Can the supernatural power of God rescue Charlisee and Edmund from the danger and treachery that await them?
This book is filled with incredible swashbuckling adventure. The descriptions that MaryLu Tyndall includes of the pirate battles and life style were great. I loved the character development. The way she built the pasts of the characters up and revealed them slowly throughout the course of the book was great. It held my attention and drew me into the story just as much as the action packed sequences did. I also thoroughly enjoyed the strong belief in God that Edmund displayed. He was truly trying to serve Him even in the midst of wanting to be in control. It was wonderful to watch him grow in trusting God and turning control over to Him.
I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Pirating Adventure!

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well-written tale of adventure on the high seas. Edmund Merrick is a reformed man. He's become a Christian and a privateer. He still struggles with his old fleshly desires, but truly wants to be the man that God created him to be. Will he succeed as a Christian and be able to keep his career as a pirate captain? Charlisse Bristol has escaped her tyrannical uncle's clutches, and is off in search of the father she has never known. She is rescued by Captain Merrick after being stranded on an island. He agrees to take her to Port Royal in search of her father. But when he learns that the man she seeks is none other than Edward the Terror, a ferocious pirate and Merrick's former captain, how will Edmund protect the lady he has grown to love from the pirate he has vowed to bring to justice?
M.L. Tyndall has crafted a very difficult to put down book. The chapters are short and easy to read. The chapter titles offer teases as to the contents. The characters and settings are so real they almost pop off the page! The Christian theme is woven creatively throughout the story. I can't wait to read book 2 in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Redemption is MaryLu Tyndall's first book. It is the first book in the series Legacy of the King's Pirates series.
The Redemption is a romance between the charming hero, Captain Merrick, and the strong-willed Charlisse, who is escaping her brutal uncle and searching for her father. As the story progresses, both Charlisse and Merrick evolve into very likable characters who anyone can relate to. Their relationship is sweet and realistic.
This book combines many favorable elements: mystery, romance, danger, sea voyages, evil characters, godly characters, and also faith that is tried but overcomes.
This is a book that can't be put down, a page-turner. I loved it! I've read it five times, that is how good this book is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wholly Captivating

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set during the 1660's, Ms. Tyndall's fast paced, high sea adventure had me captured from the opening scene.
At twenty, Lady Charlisse Bristol, leaves behind her cruel uncle in London in order to find her unknown father. After a shipwreck, she is found in a deserted island by some pirates and Captain Edmund Merrick. He offers to take Lady Charlisse on his ship and later he finds out about the identity of her father.
Very well developed main characters as well as some interesting secondary characters. I enjoyed as the christian hero helps turn Lady Charlisse to God.
This engaging Christian pirate book is packed with action and twists. This is a pirate series I would read over and over again.
Be aware that there is some adult conversation and scenes that it may or may not be suitable for younger readers or even conserative readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK!

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hanabana
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a complete delight. It definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat! I seriously couldn't put it down! I would recommend this book to everyone that liked the Pirate of the Caribbean movies, but wants a christian viewpoint and background. I loved this book! READ IT! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
miranda
AWESOME BOOK! I absolutely loved this series! I've even bought it for friends and family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deliverance From Evil (Sin)

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very first book written by MaryLu Tyndall, "The Redemption", has truly been an on edge must know what is going to happen next in this novel. Just when I think in a few areas that things are about settled, some other suspense action comes up, and has me eagerly reading to see how the events will turn out. Read about how Lady Charlisse Bristol runs away from where she was brought up, by going on a voyage in search of her father whom she never knew, but heard so many wonderful stories from her mother. Though through the process she becomes shipwrecked on a desert island. To make things more interesting find out how a band of pirates and their fiercely handsome leader, Edmund Merrick, rescues Charlisse from near death.
Charlisse being terrified of Captain Merrick, she is now baffled to discover this man has a faith in God. Captain Merrick is determined to become a better man or more of a godly man, but he is battling his old weaknesses of women and drink, which are testing him while he helps Charlisse in her journey to search for her father. A neat twist with this novel, "The Redemption" you'll read throughout seeing the title used in different ways. See if Charlisse will come to understand about the deliverance from sin and come to know what is salvation, and how Edmund learns more about giving his life to the One and only Creator. This swashbuckling romance novel will show ye how Charlisse 'nd Captian Merrick go through their journey, something ye don't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An AMAZING beinning to a great series!!!!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book! It was a swashbuckling tale filled with history, intrigue, and romance! All the characters were realistic and strongly built with human-like faults and quirks. Charlisse, a young lady venturing to find her father all on her own, is an admirable heroine and I admired Merrick, a Christian pirate, very much! I definitely stayed up late into the night reading as quickly as I possibly could and wondering what would happen to Charlisse and Merrick. All in all, this was a great read and I definitely would recommend it to my friends!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Redemption, Legacy of the Kings' Pirates Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very highly recommended

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMAZING!! I loved it. Very captivating! This was the first book by MaryLu that I read, and it definitely wasn't the last. She has a way of wording it that just makes you want to keep reading. It showed clearly that Christians aren't perfect, and neither is their life. Bad things happen, and you just ogt to trust in God to make it through. Very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.