Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Westfield Studios Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs

Westfield Studios Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs

Follow the creation story as you delve into the world of biology. Visually rich and designed for students 15 and up and their families, this biblically oriented overview presents biology following the actual creation days. Nine segments are covered on 4 DVDs; a 114 page guidebook on CD-ROM/DVD includes quizzes for the material in each segment. 4 DVDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Review 1 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for supplement or stand alone

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrsdelaughter
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use with our Apologia Biology and was not disappointed. The videos were very well done and the kids seemed to get a lot from them. If you have a visual learner, this is for you! I ordered Chemistry 101 and can't wait until it arrives!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is not a high school level course

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The information from the publisher says this is for students 15 and up. I can't use it with my 12 year old for freshman biology. Even the supplemental exercises point to juvenile books. This would work fine as a 5th or 6th grade introduction to biology, but stretching it to a one year high school biology class is unrealistic...especially if you want your child to succeed in college. This course will require much supplementation to get it to that level.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loving Bio 101!

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far my 13 and 14 year old students are really liking this. I love being able to pull relevant Bible passages and issues into science and they are loving the extended activities. This makes homeschooling fun.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
peppermint
Location:San Juan, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with this program. It was entertaining to watch and even kept the attention of my younger ones. Thank you for making a program that can teach Godly principles in such a fun way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biology 101: Biology According to the Seven Days

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie Dickens
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this curriculum. I bought this for my 9th grade daughter whom is homeschooled. It is brillant. For someone to come up with studying Biology according to the seven Days that God created all things, is impressive. My daughter was getting bored with our other study. This one she enjoys. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jes in Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My highschool daughter needed a biology program that was not inimidating yet gave a thourough understanding of biology from a Biblical perspective. Biology 101 fit our needs perfectly and all of my children from 9-15 have enjoyed the videos - my nine yr old even wanted to take the chapter test like the older kids!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a good overview for biology

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
cari
Location:Hinton, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not quite in depth enough for High School level, though.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for students that don't excel in reading

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommy9
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This curriculum is great for kids who can't keep up with all of the reading in other science curriculum. Great for the auditory or visual learners. The videos can be viewed as often as necessary for the individual student, without assistance from the parent which is helpful if you have several students to school. Also, the younger students in the home get the an introduction to the topic before they are responsible for the information.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mandy Farmer
Our homeschool family loves this dvd set. It is wonderful and interesting just to watch. My 10 year old loved it as a supplement to her regular science course however, the accreditation supplement and quizzes made it a wonderful basic Biology course for my high schooler who is not planning to go into a science field.We loved it!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Kihlstadius
I absolutely love this DVD set. It was deep enough to use as a BASIC biology course for my high schoolers to get a bare minimum of science credits done but simple and engaging enough that even my 5 and 7-year-old watched it over and over. I loved the creation-based content and the subtle fun humor. Very well done and organized. I HIGHLY recommend this for any homeschool or Christian family!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kysha
I echo Cindy's review. I have a special needs high school student and this course works well for him. I also have Christian Liberty Press' colorful Biology text as a reference which I purchased for only $20 from Christian Book and we are using Castle Height Press' lab and dissection lab kit along with a student microscope from a science supply co. I love the fact that this course is literature based with the included Course Accreditation Program. If you would like a literature based high school science course, this course should work well.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail
The DVD content of Biology 101 is excellent! However, it moves quickly and is only a basic introduction of the many facets of biology. The presentation is biblical (according to the days of Creation)and visually appealing - even humorous at times, and definitely holds your attention. The guidebook is simply reinforcement of the DVD content but does contain a quiz for each section. I would not rate this eligible for a high school level biology course credit, even with the recommended study for such credit. But as a supplement to an accredited course, or simply for family viewing (we found nothing inappropriate in content) it is well worth the purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Downes
Your visual and auditory learners are going to LOVE this.The topics covered in this 4 disc set include Defining Life and Life Classification, Plants, Aquatic Creatures, Avian Creatures, Land Animals, Mankind and Genetics. It also includes a printable 114-page guidebook and a 12-page "Course Accreditation Program." First, what I liked: I loved the beautiful videos; the animated graphs, charts and illustrations; the background music was pleasant and added to the learning experience. The host (also Wes Olson) was an excellent speaker and keeps your attention with clearly defined definitions, anecdotes, and interesting facts. During the plant segment, he takes us to a variety of places to study plants: the bakery to learn about grains, a restaurant to learn how algae is used to make ice cream and salad dressing, and the forest to watch a forester drill a tree ring sample to find out the age of a tree. He also offers memory tips like learning that stamen ends with "men" so it's the male part of the plant, and he shows how plants are used in scripture to illustrate spiritual truths. The animations are excellent and easy to learn from so everyone in the family will benefit from watching the videos.What I didn't like: There is no real lab work included to speak of, only a few simple projects. The "accreditation program" for students interested science or going to college is not adequate. I would recommend supplementing the curriculum with additional research, composition, and lab work. The guidebook did not include much more than what is included on the videos so I'm not sure how helpful it is to most of us. However, I liked the videos so much, I would recommend them as the foundation for a biology course or a unit study for all ages. You could teach it topic by topic as a unit study or use if as a full year course. Simple add additional reading, research, composition, and lab to suit.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Biology 101: Biology According to the Days of Creation--DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Zabor
This is an excellent presentation for remedial jr. high and high school students, however, it is limited. We developed a workbook, and used additional resources and completed a biology lab kit to extend the lessons.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.