Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook

Revell Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Review 1 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will challenge Even the Most Mature of Christians!

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Friend
Location:North San Diego County, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book so much, that as a Pastor's Wife in charge of the Women's Group, I'm taking all of our ladies through this book. Each month on the 4th Saturday, we meed @ a breakfast place, & go through another chapters notes and Bible study together. Becoming challenged on ways to simplify in this present chaotic economy, is sorely needed. It re-teaches you to "stop and smell the roses," inbetween honest encouragements to remember what things in life are the most important. It is engaging, interesting with many little known facts about the Amish, while challenging even me, who has read as many books through the years than stars in the sky. :-) It is uplifting, filled with peace, & as nourishing as chicken soup for the soul. ;-) It gets women to share, heart to heart. :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon Sanchez
Location:Midland, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a wonderful surprise! I purchased it out of curiosity, and I'm so glad I did. I have read it through four times, and have loaned it to others to read. Not only does the book give a look into the life of the Old Order Amish, but it challenges the reader to glean from them principles that can be applied and lived out regardless of one's cultural surroundings. Well written and easy to read, it is one of my favorites of all time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandy Ting
I am enjoying this book very much. It has a lot of common-sense and practical information in it besides interesting commentary about Amish people the author knows.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Harold
I loved this book. Quick read but each chapter was different so you can put it down if you have to and not miss anything, or catch up when you pick it up again. :) I passed it on to my Pastor because the examples in this book is how I would like to live my life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
N.S.
Wonderful book. The world would be so much better if we could practice the ideas in this book like simplicity and unconditional forgiveness. I recommend this book to anyone looking to bring peace to their life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Kimball
I would highly recomend this book to anyone wanting more peace in your life. It was truly inspiring. I will be reading it again soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy Stallmer
I've always been fascinated with the Amish, so when I happened upon this book when looking at the local library, I grabbed it up. I'm not typically one to read nonfiction books, but this one was interesting and kept my attention. With short, easy chapters it was a quick read. I would highly recommend this if you want to find out more about the Amish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Wendt
I really enjoyed reading Amish Peace. There are easy to read lessons in it for anyone who wants to live a simpler, more meaningful life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Le-Teisha Robinson
In a time when my life is filled with such turmoil and when I longed to have a simple life this book came along. It helped me realize that I don't need to be Amish to have a simple peaceful life I need the Lord and to take the time to enjoy what gifts He has given to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grace Winn
This book helped me at a time when my world is anything but peaceful. At first I was speed reading to finish it, then I realized I needed to take my time and soak it in. It helped me to calm my soul and spirit and just slow down and think about more spiritual things and draw closer to God and let him calm my storm I was in. I have read other books she has written and they have always been good. Take your time reading this book and share it with others as I have. It will be a blessing to you and you can bless others this way!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Amish Peace by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a fascinating look at the source of the title. Fisher, who comes from an Anabaptist tradition called Dunkards, delves deeply into the day-to-day life of the Amish. With their focus on God and family, they have a better understanding of what it means to live the way God intends and the peace that pervades every aspect of their life emphasizes this. Each short chapter gives insight into one aspect of their lives: respect for elders, working as a community, or church services. The Amish have a different way of looking at life: one woman gave up her painting for a time when she feared that it was overwhelming her love for God. Families with Alzheimer's patients or disabled children don't institutionalize their loved ones, but devote their lives to caring for them. Whether you have an slight interest in the Amish or a fascination to know more about their way of life, this book will definitely satisfy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Peace. Does anyone really have true peace? The Amish seem to have it, but is it peace or just a lack of things? I was curious to read this book and see what Suzanne found out in her research, visits and interviews with the Amish. What I didn't expect was the peace I would get just from reading the book. I'm not a huge non-fiction fan just because it usually takes me a lot longer to read non-fiction than it does to read fiction. Suzanne has such a captivating writing style, short chapters and wonderful people to write about that I just zipped right through this book. At the end of each chapter she has a little section "Reflections on..." and a "Plain Living" box that both give you things to think about and how what was discussed in that chapter may or may not relate to your life.This book would be such a blessing to any fan of Wanda Brunstetter, Beverly Lewis, Beth Wiseman or Shelley Shepherd Gray. It will give the reader a deeper insight into the culture they have loved reading about and may just give them a deeper insight into how to obtain more peace in their own life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Our culture in recent years has become increasingly fascinated by the Amish lifestyle. It is not difficult to figure why this is so. Our society is so hurried and rushed and technology seems to dictate our lives. Don't get me wrong, technology is a wonderful thing, but I think more and more Americans want to slow down and take in the simpler things in life.<br /><br />Amish Peace is just the book to help us learn from the Amish and learn to slow down and appreciate the simple things. This book is a lot more in depth than I was expecting. I am really impressed with the up close and personal look inside the world of the Amish that Suzanne Woods Fisher gives the reader. There is a lot of practical information in this book and the reflection questions at the end of each chapter help the reader apply a little Amish wisdom to their lives.<br /><br />The title of this book says it all. If you want to read a peaceful, relaxing book, and actually learn something, I recommend Amish Peace. I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I hope you read and enjoy this book and that it gives you some peace from this hectic world we live in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Virginia Dost
This book moved me deeply. It is incredible how the Amish people truly live the tenets of their faith in modern day society. The vignettes are beautifully set up. Questions at the end of each vignette are helpful in applying the topic to our lifestyle. It is broken down into five themes. The part on Community and Forgiveness moved me deeply. This is a unique book with examples of living out our faith in the world. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.