Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1

B&H Books Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1

When Develyn's estranged husband dies before they can reconcile, her 21-year-old daughter blames her for his death. Seeking solace in memories of her Wyoming childhood and a beautiful pony, Develyn sets out on a life-changing journey. Can she accept God's forgiveness for others---and for herself? The first installment in the Horse Dreams Trilogy. 352 pages, softcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Port Saint Lucie, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love horses and cowboys and loved this book series. It was funny and had some suspense also. It will keep you entertained. You also learn some self discovery lessons along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A man who knows how women think

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda LaRock
Location:Yakima, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series was great! If you've never read any books by Stephen Bly, you will be an instant fan.
Somehow he knows how women think. I love the conversations Dev has with herself and God. You'll feel like you have a new friend. There's a little romance to make it interesting, but not the main focus of the book. Stephen Bly always comes up with the most interesting characters for the main character to interact with.
My husband loved the book, as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ava Brazeal
Outstanding for all Horse Dreams Trilogy. All 3 sequels were delighful and inspirational, and well written...I would love to read more of Stephen Bly! Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
CJ Hardin
Hey all you single sophisticated city slicker girls....after you get lost in this story you'll be lookin' to snag you a cowboy! I LOVED this book! I got lost in the adventure...wishing I was in Develyns boots....could actually taste that orange popsicle, which seemed to be her snack of choice. And which smooth talkin cowboy is she gonna fall for......I hope she picks __________! The downside is...it ended too soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Develyn is an interesting character with a boring life, a nosy best friend, and an estranged daughter. She wants adventure, but not too much. So what does she do? She impulsively decides to return to Wyoming--to a place she enjoyed as a child, hoping to recoup some of the emotion from that childhood experiece. What does she find? Tons of diversions from her goal, scary scenarios, and plenty of adventure. Her new girlfriend is a quirky character with very little tact. Three cowboys are enamored with Develyn almost immediately, and she finds herself drawn to one man in particular. However, I could see as time when on that she started seeing the good things in the other men, too. I'm thinking as the series continues that she may change her mind more than once. And poor Develyn had so many mishaps with horses taking off on her and bucking her, I'm surprised she hadn't developed a phobia. The story was enjoyable and I recommend it. I've never read a book by Stephen Bly before, but my husband loved his writing, so I gave it a try. I would have given this novel five stars, but I felt like it ended too soon, and kind of abruptly. Fortunately, I have the sequel in my hot little hands. Off to read The Mustang Breaker...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Hannah Fisher
For a long time now Stephen Bly has been my favorite author and this latest book is just another example of why. Mr. Bly's writing makes you feel as if you are apart of the story and with each book in a series you feel as if you were visiting old friends. His books are heartwarming and humorous, living and breathing the spirit of the west. I can't wait for the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cait Needham
A Fun Read! The characters are wonderful and well developed. I felt like I could be friends with all of them. Mr. Bly writes a great story and this book is a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Memories of a Dirt Road Town, Horse Dreams Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Liz Deeter
This is a great book--fun to read--hard to put down. I sure hope Bly makes this a series of 6 and not 3. I always hate to see the words "final in the series."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.