Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home

Kregel Publications Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home

Twelve-year-old Andrea "Andi" Carter attracts trouble the way her palomino horse, Taffy, draws flies on a hot summer day. Andi's entire family and the ranch hands at the Circle C treat her like a pesky kid, and Andi sometimes wonders if her family would be better off without her. So after one really frightening event where she gets into major trouble, she saddles up Taffy and runs way from home.

But her escape doesn't earn her the freedom she expected. In fact, encounters with a horse thief and a vicious girl convince Andi that life on her own can be down right terrifying. Recommended for ages 8 to 12.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Review 1 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-Written Adventure Series

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
here4areason
Location:WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 1 of this series is a good read. I've always hated how most stories when kids run away from home portray it as the answer to the problem; like it was the right thing to do. The parents welcome them home with open arms and that's the end of it. Not in this series. It portrays the consequences in a way that does not leave the reader wishing they could run away from home, yet is an adventure that is a hard-to-put-down read.
My siblings (ages 10 & 13) love these books. I'm their book previewer, and these books are great. I'm a harsh critic when it comes to books - especially adventure books. But these are awesome in every aspect. From the story line, to the characters, to the morals, these books are extremely well written. Many authors try to "tell" you about the character; Susan Marlow "shows" you their character. In fact, you feel like you know them.
This series is not just for girls. My 13 year old brother thoroughly enjoyed them. Thought the main character is a girl, there is a strong male presence from her 3 brothers and her friend, Cory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
HomeschoolinMamaof3
After my daughter read the first book in this series (The Long Ride Home), she BEGGED me to order the set. Merry Christmas, honey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Our family began reading the Circle C Adventures series (or the Andi books as we soon began to call them) aloud at bedtime when my oldest daughter was five. Though intended for the 9 12 year-old age range as an independent reading chapter book, we found Susan K. Marlows prose a wonderful choice for our family. Featuring excellent, high-quality prose, and an invigorating storyline, Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home quickly became a story we couldnt get enough of.Filled with suspense, and truly dangerous situations, there were moments when I was uncertain if my little girl could weather the exciting and intense situations Andi found herself in. She sailed through, though clearly concerned for our heroine, and Andi became a new favorite character in our home.Written from a Christian worldview, Andis troubles are underscored by her growing reliance on the Lord to see her through the difficulties that are a result of her poor choices. Andis decisions have clear negative repercussions that she learns to be responsible for, despite her initial tendency to shirk disciplinary consequences. Clean language, a romance-free storyline, a likeable character who learns and grows, and truly wonderful writing set The Long Ride Home heads and shoulders above typical chapter book series aimed at this age range.As a homeschooling mother herself, Marlow has found that the Andi books have proven popular with homeschoolers. Her rich use of language adds depth and intelligence to her work while gently expanding vocabulary skills. A downloadable 22-page study guide written by he author further explores the historical setting of the book, geography, cowboy life, and more. Lapbooks have also been developed to correspond with the series for added educational benefit.With the timeless combination of a girl and her horse, and the exciting adventure elements, this title and the series in general are an excellent choice for families with both boys and girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny
I was impressed! It is a great adventure story that teaches a moral, without being overbearing. It was exciting and I didn't want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ginger Bailes
I ordered this for my 10yo daughter who loves horses but not reading. She absolutely loved it! She finished the book without me having to tell her to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie ELler
Andrea Carter is a precocious young girl who often fails to "look before she leaps", and ends up having to dig herself out of the hole she's found herself in. A dyed-in-the-wool tomboy, Andi finds little benefit in the day-to-day trappings of a "proper" young lady's life in the year 1880, has no problem storing a smelly horse blanket in her bedroom, and no use for nor interest in the dresses that hang in her closet. Andi's impetuous behavior has consequences, though, whether having to clean the entire barn for failing to complete her chores, or more serious consequences when she attempts to run away from home when her pride is injured. "The Long Ride Home" is a great read, for 'tweens and adults alike; we can all use a reminder that our choices have far-reaching consequences and effects on the lives of others. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marilou Flinkman
This is a must read for all ages. There's action on every page. Readers will cheer Andi through one adventure after another. Will Andi decide to walk into a life-threatening situation to save a mean-spirited schoolmate? Find out how Andi makes the hardest decision in her twelve years of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Sharon Joy Westra
The Long Ride Home is one of those enjoyable adventure stories that both boys and girls will want to read. Within the pages of this delightful book, they will meet spirited Andrea Carter, a horse-loving tomboy living in the Old West. Andi's craving for adventurewhich usually leads to trouble!will appeal to the tween reader and keep them turning the pages from beginning to end. Susan Marlow has done a fine job on her historical research, and the reader will get a genuine feel for what life was like in the Old West, without getting bogged down in tedious detail. This book would be a worthwhile addition to any school library or family book shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Colleen L. Reece
ANDREA CARTER AND THE LONG RIDE HOME, first in Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Adventure series, may well become a classic. It deserves it. The heroine, twelve-year-old Andi, is believable and unforgettable. She touches the hearts of young and old alike. Never preachy, she is still a great role model. She faces up to and accepts responsibility for the choices and decisions that get her into more trouble than Taffy, her palomino mare, has horse flies on a summer day. I heartily recommend this title to anyone who wants an exciting, fun-and-suspense-filled read, filled with the true flavor of the Old West more than a century ago.Good news: Book Two, ANDREA CARTER'S DANGEROUS DECISION, has recently been accepted. I can hardly wait for Kregel (Susan's publisher) to bring it out! Colleen L. Reece, Author of 140 "Books You Can Trust"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Circle C Adventures: Andrea Carter and the Long Ride Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gail Welborn
Nothing will be the same for twelve-year old Andi Carter after her older brother Chad saves her life by pulling her from the top rail of the corral seconds before the wild, rearing, black stallion split the rail in two. Dazed, but unhurt, Andi pleaded with her brother to let her explain why she was on the fence. He wouldnt listen, but threatened to tan her backside if she went near his horse again. Embarrassed in front of the ranch hands, and angry at her brotherbut displeased with her own behaviorAndi turns to her best friend, a golden hued, high-spirited Palomino named Taffy. Intense and vivacious, Andi cant seem to do anything right. She attracts trouble like metal to a magnet. She leaves her chores undone because shes either lost in daydreams, or scheming for time with Taffy. And shes intensely curious about the wild, black stallion Chad warned her about, the one that almost killed her that morning. When Andi overhears her family discussing what a problem she has become, she determines they are better off without her. The next day she gets up before dawn, saddles Taffy, and begins a dangerous journey into trouble; a costly journey that will jeopardize her life, and undermine her sense of security. Taken in by a Mexican family, she also learns about discrimination and how difficult it is to provide for a family. And like the prodigal son, Andi finds out that home and family are precious. Pre-teens will identify with this delightful story and clamor for sequels. Debut author, Susan Marlow, from Washington created a memorable character and dynamic story line. Andi is real and memorable because girls will see themselves in her. Adults will love remembering their tomboy days through Audis eyes. Although intended for youth, I couldnt put this book down until the end; definitely one to add to your shopping list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.