Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook

Revell Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook

Daisy Crispin has 242 days to find the right date for the prom. There's only one problem--her parents won't let her date or even talk to a guy on the phone. Oh, and she's totally invisible at school, has to wear lame homemade clothes, and has no social skills. Okay, so maybe there's more than one problem. Can she talk her parents into letting her go to the prom? Or will they succeed at their obvious attempt to completely ruin her life?
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Simple, but touching!

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cuarchi
Location:Guatemala
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a book that is able to make you thankful for how your life is, this is it! I identified so well with the character, and earned a new perspective for my own life. Anyway,if you are for a literature masterpiece, this is not your book. It is simple, with a predictable plot... And a somehow confusing narrative! It is the typical story with the happy ending and the "now finally everything works" theme...
But I loved the story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book surprised me.

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael Kenney
Location:Lachute,QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book surprised me. Written in seventeen year old girl first-person, it was hard to follow at first, but as the story unfolded I was drawn in. Every aspect of the heroine’s life and character are brought into focus, and zoomed in on, until the reader truly knows Daisy and “gets her”. The very real and frequent dilemma of growing up, making your own choices, and living with the consequences reminds readers (teen or adult) that no one is perfect, but that God can take difficult circumstances and turn them for good. Daisy learns that there is more to her parents than she knows, and they come to realize that what they have planned for her may not be what God has planned…but He always has a few ironies tucked up his Almighty sleeves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfectly Honest

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miss Billerbeck captured the life of me and others with her novel that told everything like it is. The relationship with her parents was real-though weird and utterly embarrassing. I can relate to her struggles and her feelings. This book shows you that your not alone and it shows you how it's wise to listen to God. You're friends don't know everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read for teen girls.

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
Daisy Crispin is not allowed to date until she’s eighteen and had moved far away from her parents watchful eyes. Still, she has one dream for her senior year: attend prom with a date. T minus 196 days and counting. Daisy has a list of five possible candidates. But there is one other small problem. She is invisible, wears sad homemade clothing, and her only social skill is to spout random statistics. Not cool. Still she is determined and sets off to win the prize of having a date to senior prom.
This was a fun read. Daisy is a quirky character who tries really hard to do the right thing. And when she fails, she fails big time. I read this in one sitting because it was too much fun to watch Daisy bounce between boys, fashion, friends, parental stress, and her job. A fun read for teen girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Perfectly Dateless by Kristin Billerbeck is the first in the Universally Misunderstood series. Daisy Crispin wants her senior year to be different. Her parents are over-the-top about being stingy with money as well as way over-protective of their only child. She attends a Christian high school, but wears homemade clothing more appropriate for a Denny's waitress, and she's not allowed to date..ever. But Daisy wants a date for prom to show that her time in high school wasn't a complete waste, and she's sick of being perfect. Perfect grades, perfect daughter, hard working, etc. But there are cliques in her high school, just like any other, and despite attending school there for three years, she's virtually invisible to anyone with popularity, except for life-long crush Chase, who would be her ideal date. I had a hard time liking Claire, Daisy's best friend. Claire can't seem to ever say anything even remotely nice, and she refused to listen to anything Daisy had to say, regularly disregarding her feelings. But Daisy is a stand-out heroine. She is occasionally misled, but her intentions are so good and her thirst for life so strong, it's impossible not to love her. At first her parents seem like any other set in YA Christian fiction, well-intentioned but misunderstood by their children, but as the book progresses, the reader discovers that Daisy's parents are truly every teen's worst nightmare. They refuse to listen to anything she has to say or consider her point of view because they are so completely obsessed with her not repeating their mistakes. Their character growth as well as Daisy's makes the book a terrific read for teens as they realize that parents can make mistakes too, and are works in progress, just like they are. I do hope that Billerbeck writes more books using these characters, especially Claire who is in desperate need of best-friend rehab.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
I may have left high school behind long ago (well, not that long ago), but I still love a good teen novel. I remember oh so well the fragile balance that exists for teenagers and how hard it can be to fit in. Poor Daisy Crispin, she doesnt stand a chance of fitting in if her parents have anything to say about it. When I first started this book, I was so frustrated for Daisy. Her parents constant struggle to keep her godly and not of the world were torture for this high school misfit. I instantly felt for Daisy and I liked her humorous outlook on an existence that would drive other teenagers to major rebellion. Perfectly Dateless is a fun read for adults like me, but I think it is a valuable read for teenage girls. Daisy is a very real girl and reader will have no trouble relating to her in one way or another. Her story also provides very valuable lessons for Christian teenage girls who have a desire to fit in and still be godly young women. I really enjoyed this story right from the start. I enjoyed Daisys take on life and her sense of humor. I also liked her love and loyalty to her parents despite their odd ways. Parents can feel very comfortable having their daughters read Perfectly Dateless. It is a positive, upbeat story with a relevant Christian message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Hunter
I've waited a long time for Kristin's next novel and the fact that it's a young adult novel didn't deter me one bit. I expected the Billerbeck wit and sass and she didn't disappoint. This author has a voice all her own, and I love it. The protagonist, Daisy Crispin, is unflinchingly real and comes at Christianity in a natural way as she navigates the insecurity and drama of teen life. I highly recommend this book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
There were some things I enjoyed about this book and some...not so much. I loved how weird Daisy was, but not how she talked to her mother and father. On the other hand, the whole thing with her life being a wreck was pretty fun to read, and her desire to be noticed as she experienced typical teen issues closely resembled my recollection of high school. The Christian humor was classic and will definitely be universally misunderstood if read my non-Christian teens. But that was part of what made it funny. Loved the journal rants and the author's "voice," too. This author has a quit wit with her dialog and snappy comebacks. Perfectly Dateless was a quick read and had some great insight, which I've come to expect from Kristin's novels. I loved the mini-sleuthing that was part of the plot, and the whole deception with the boy that she had her eyes on. Would loved to have seen a continuing storyline with her boss, Gil. The reaction from her peers to her makeover at the salon was completely skimmed over, too. Sigh. Regardless, I loved how things worked out in the end and how Daisy learned some important things in the process. Daisy had a pretty good moral compass despite her tendency toward rudeness. So here I was smiling and feeling all happy inside, then the book was finished right when something really cool just happened. I looked inside the novel and saw no mention of a sequel. Ack! It felt so NOT over, but yet it was. Even a few more chapters would've tickled me as pink as the gorgeous cover. I would really love to see more of this story, but fear that this will be a one book wonder. Wah! I'm thinking overall I like Kristin's style better as a straight chick lit author, rather than YA. You can be as snarky as you want with your adult friends and somehow that just comes off in a better light. That said, I'll be looking for more books from this author.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.