Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Expectations Co Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man

Great Expectations Co Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man

Sow wise seeds of counsel in the still-soft soil of young hearts! Drawing from biblical insight and personal experience, Schultz offers your preteen boys reliable guidance on matters of authority, temptation, education, industry vs. sloth, leadership, overcoming fear, and more. Help future men make the most of boyhood---and begin training them for life. 219 pages, softcover from Great Expectations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.926 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Review 1 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Words

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ambrossia
Location:Lubbock, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought this book for my son, whom I will start home schooling next semester. He's been out of my home for 10 years and I fear he hasn't had the "male" bonding time that he should have gotten with his father. He's 15 now.
He's very intelligent but is still like any boy of today's world. Into games and technology. He loves to read though and loves to learn.
I thought that maybe a good read of "old fashioned" ideas would help him better understand that he can still be a gentleman in today's age, but still be "hip" or "cool"
This book broke all expectations. I read it first, to ensure that it had the values and morals that I tend to cling onto. One of the things that worries my son is that he's of a science mind and that religion and science doesn't mix. The very first chapter actually provides a different aspect on this view, where God actually encourages science.
The author was very clever and witty in putting some of the childhood experiences in with concept. A very intelligent book.
Thank You!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
moblouk1
Location:Temple, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Love Love this book! My husband reads it to the kids every night and we are all learning from it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent for discipling both boys and girls. Most of the book is really about becoming a godly person of either gender.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

•°o•:*¨¨*:•. E X C E L L E N T .•:*¨¨*:•. o°•

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HOMESCHOOL our son who has just finished 6th grade. We read “CREATED FOR WORK” once a week as part of our Personal Growth area. There are 34 chapters in this book. Last year (5th grade) we started with Bob Shultz’ 1st book: “BOYHOOD AND BEYOND” (31 chapters). Because my son spends most of his day home with me, I wanted to make sure he was getting plenty of influence from a Godly man. These books hit the target! Each chapter is about 3 or 4 pages, followed by a set of stimulating questions. I read the chapters aloud to my son (and I always get something from each story as well). As I think of things in our life or my son’s possible future, I pause and discuss them. Scripture is woven throughout each chapter in the KJV (I keep my bible handy with the NKJV whenever we need an easier translation). These books have been a wonderful part of school for us! For 7th grade we will start “PRACTICAL HAPPINESS” (36 chapters). I would recommend them for ALL parents of boys; from the single mom, to the dad wanting to help mold his child into a young man after God’s own heart, to those parents working in partnership and wanting to do a family devotional with their boys, or other homeschool teachers like me! Ps: If you have daughters, it would not hurt for them to listen in and begin to understand what Godly character to look for in their future husbands, plus many of the character ideas apply to all of us, not just boys. I just found out there is a new book published this year (2011) titled “EVERYDAY BATTLES”. I will order it very soon to make sure I have it ready for 8th grade. However, in checking the CBD website, I learned of Mr. Shultz passing away in 2008 (thanks to another reviewer kind enough to share it). I am so sad and deeply moved. Mr. Shultz leaves an amazing legacy behind, both in these books and in the many lives he touched personally, (as you will come to understand through the little stories he shared). I pray that his family is continually blessed and comforted.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for passing on character/values.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
DCReader
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended! A great resource for our family time - we used it to connect in this busy season. We have 3 sons, 1 daughter, and the values taught, while geared toward raising Godly men, were beneficial for all of us. This should be required reading for every young man - and it wouldn't hurt the girls, either. Short, quick read chapters with thought-provoking questions to open discussion. Especially beneficial for young men being raised by single moms.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Willy Dyck
Boyhood and beyond. is great, it has very inspiring storys to help not just the young but adults as well, its very well worth the perches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angelia Pickett
Our son is 14. My husband is also reading this book and said he wished we had this book 5 yrs. ago. We feel it helped us understand our son. Our son also has commented that "it's a pretty good book" Which says a lot about a boy who doesn't read a lot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Momto4LittleLambs
Wonderful book. One might view this as a "mentor" in book form. I have my son read chapters from time to time in this, hopefully planing some good seeds along the way. Schultz has two other books for boys also and we have them all.. I believe strongly on this type content for boys/young men to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lois Bahhur
My fourteen year old son has really enjoyed this book. He wasn't real thrilled about reading this book, but when he got started he couldn't put it down. He said it had great stories in it. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy Clarke
My son and I have been reading a chapter together each night. The principles taught are easy to apply. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee
This book holds many lessons that I want my boys to take hold to. This book as well as Created for Work are definitely great finds for training up boys to be men. My 9yo son said after reading only a couple of chapters that now work seems a lot different to him...actually something not as boring as he once thought. These books changed his perspective on chores and things that need to get done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
My Husband and 12-year-old son are reading this as part of their "shop class" twice a week. What a wonderful blessing! The things dads want to tell their sons, all organized and clear yet not overwhelming. Things like making the choice to use your power/authority wisely (over pets etc). Great stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katherine Nop
Excellent advice given in a very readable manner. Although Reformed Christians may have some issues here and there, it is overall an excellent resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Thrasher
This book explains so much to young men that we might forget. Also, my grandson enjoyed it because he read about some things that he didn't want to acknowledge out loud to us. You won't regret buying this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melanie Mckinney
I bought this book for my son (10) to begin going through slowly. It's emphasis is on developing into a godly young man. I like the way it is written to the boy in short, easily understoon segments, but it is definitely not little boyish. Each segment relates to something "real-life," so it speaks to my son right away. It gives him something to think about that will help him as he grows and faces various situations in life. We like it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy Flett
This book has served as a great 'devo'. I read it to my sons (ages 11 and 14) over breakfast before they head off to school. What an awesome way to start the day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Jacobs
As the mother of 4 boys I strongly recommend this informative and interesting book for boys.The real life stories and illustrations keep even younger boys interested and engaged. My 8 year old enjoyed answering the thought provoking questions at the end of each chapter.While my 13 and 11 year old could relate to the stories about being a leader in the home and an example for their younger siblings. I believe this is a must read for all boys between 8-13.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Cole
I bought this book to help teach lessons to young junior high boys. While this book is not oriented to use as a teaching outline, the book is a great resource for young men to read by themselves. It gives practical illustrations, lessons, and scripture to support the lessons. I also look forward to the day when I can give the book to my own son(s) to read and help him grow.Jon Cole, Youth Pastor in Florida
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Scott
This is an excellent book! We are reading as a family--5 children, ages 10-19, including a girl. The children stayed engaged because of the stories included in each chapter as object lessons, and were able to answer the questions at chapter end. Maybe we won't include our daughter in all chapters, but all are relevant to Christian maturity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boyhood and Beyond: Practical Steps to Becoming a Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
I cannot say enough good things about this book... We are home schooling our 8th grade son this year. I began with "textbook" style Bible Class and it was hard to keep a 14 year old boy interested. I bought Boyhood and Beyond and he loves reading the short stories. The chapters are just a few pages (good for my son - LOL) and always have a clear message. Buy it, you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>