Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink

Zondervan NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink

Featuring select content from Zondervan's top Study Bibles

The NIV Lenses Bible is a multifaceted study Bible that offers the best of Zondervan's best. With a wide variety of notes, illustrations, and articles, explore the Bible from an exciting array of angles and approaches. Each "lens"—or study method—offers a different perspective on the text, and together they provide readers with a more holistic understanding.

This edition includes the entire NIV Bible text with the world's best notes for learning. It incorporates the finest content, images, and study tools from the most popular Bibles that are loved and used by Bible readers just like you. 

Lens Features:

  • Flyover Lens
    Start each book of the Bible with the right perspective from easy-to-read introductions from the popular Essential Bible Companion.
  • Unpack Lens
    Easily understand and interpret Bible passages with bottom-of-the page study notes and in-text charts from the best-in-class NIV Study Bible.
  • Dig Deep, Look Close Lens
    Understand the fascinating historical significance of the Bible with articles and photos from the bestselling NIV Archaeological Study Bible.
  • Q and A Lens
    Get concise, easy-to-grasp answers to your most perplexing questions about the Bible with questions and answers from the beloved NIV Quest Study Bible.
  • People Lens
    View Scripture from the perspective of the 100 most important people in the Bible with notes for the student of any age excerpted from the timeless NIV Student Bible.
  • Guided Tour Lens
    Get a bird's eyes view of Scripture with a Guided Tour, also excerpted from the category-leading NIV Student Bible.
  • Insight Lens
    Find meaning in the Bible by reading these magazine-style call-outs from the NIV Student Bible.
  • R and R Lens
    Reflect and Respond with this quick inspirational focus time, which unveils the sweeping narrative of the Bible as seen in the award-winning The Great Rescue, NIV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Review 1 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good introductory study Bible

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cliffymania
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love collecting Bibles. Not so they can sit on my shelf, but to have a useful tool in studying God’s Word. Study Bibles are my particular favorite.
Zondervan has released the NIV Essentials Study Bible which actually compiles bits from previous Bibles they’ve published; the NIV Study Bible, Archeological Bible, Student Bible to name a couple. In the past, I have used all three of these so I was interested to see how they would compile them into one Bible that wasn’t approximately the size of a suitcase.
Why does the book exist?
I ask the same questions of this Bible that I ask of the NIV Fast Facts Bible: Given the proliferation of Bibles available what’s the justification for printing yet another Bible, especially one that compiles previously published Bibles? Since it compiles previously published Bibles does it end up being basically the “demo” version of those Bibles?
The purpose of the Essentials Bible is to use the elements from those previous publications as “lenses” that bring you closer and closer to the text. It doesn’t have every element from every version, so in that sense it is a stripped down demo. However, there’s still a lot here and it works as an introductory study Bible that can keep you digging for quite awhile.
Translation
The Essentials Bible uses the NIV 2011 text. While I’m not qualified to speak to the accuracy of translations I can tell you that the NIV 2011 has been highly criticized. Entire denominations (Lutheran Church Missouri Synod, Southern Baptist Convention) that have used the NIV for years have turned away from the NIV 2011 in favor of the ESV 2011.
Study Aids
Book introductions / Study notes / Maps
These are the basics for a study Bible. The notes are not as exhaustive in this edition as they are in the NIV Study Bible, or the ESV Study Bible. That can be a challenge because its frustrating to look up a verse and then go to check the notes only to find there’s no note on that verse. It’ll happen more in this edition.
Character Profiles
This was my favorite part of the student Bible. Sometimes the characters of the Bible can feel two dimensional. The profiles help show that they were, in fact, real people.
Dig Deep
This is the archeology lens; pun intended I presume. These really do help even though they are sparse. Seeing the Bible tied in with the culture and history of the time really helps put it in perspective.
Q&A
There’s quite a few of these where they answer some of those common questions and even some of the not so common. Remember, these answers while based on scripture are still commentary and not scripture. They are meant to help you study, not end the study.
Insights / Guided Tour
These are short “life application” style pieces meant to illuminate the text. Each one ends with a life question.
Reflect & Respond
R&R’s are short devotionals broken into four parts; read, think, live, and next level.
Wrap Up
Overall, there’s a lot to like about the NIV Essentials Study Bible and it’s priced competitively at $50. It’s just that NIV 2011 translation that is problematic. My suggestion is, if you get this Bible, get a text only copy of the ESV, or have an ESV on your digital device and keep it handy while you study. It’s always good use multiple translations when you study anyway, no matter the translation. The added value pieces really do add value.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NIV Essentials Study Bible

Date:July 10, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The NIV Essentials Study Bible is a great resource when you are involved in Bible study.
There seems to be more emphasis in this book on the tools to help with your study than the actual scripture. The words of the Bible are there but there is also a lot of information to help with your study of the Bible.
I received this book to review in an electronic format. This is a great form when you are unable to travel with your Bible. But I prefer a hard copy for my daily study needs.
I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bible may have been good...

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
pammyjo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I purchased the ebook version and I was very disappointed. The ereader is very hard to navigate and not user friendly. I purchased the paper version of this bible for a friend and was impressed with all the notes and details. I will be trying to return this item and see about going back to using paper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
yvenieves
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is beautiful and well put together. The page introductions, highlights and in focus pages are exceptional! I purchased the Bible for myself and love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NIV Essentials Study Bible: Easily Grasp The Essentials of God's Word, published by Zondervan, is another spectacular Bible that is designed to enhance your study of God's Word, thus enhancing your Christian witness.
As the name implies, the NIV Essentials Study Bible contains the essentials, the highlights, the best of the sidebars, footnotes, and study aids from six of the best selling NIV resources: NIV Study Bible, NIV Quest Study Bible, NIV Archaeological Study Bible, NIV Student Bible, the Great Rescue Bible and The Essential Bible Companion.
These six resources are utilized to bring together nine powerful study aid lenses. Flyover Lens: The Essential Bible Companion, the Unpack lens: NIV Study Bible, the Dig Deep, Look Close Lens: NIV Archaeological Study Bible, the Question & Answer Lens: NIV Quest Study Bible, the Important People In Focus Lens: NIV Student Bible, the Guided Tour lens: NIV Student Bible, the Insight Lens: NIV Student Bible, and the Reflect & Respond Lens: The Great Rescue Bible.
These six resources, brought along the side of the popular NIV translation, offers what can only be termed as an unprecedented resource for the student of God, thus this is a recommended purchase by those who are serious about their study of God's Word.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIV Essentials Study Bible, published by Zondervan, is an incredible resource for any Bible student. It combines resources from six other NIV resources or Bibles: the NIV Study Bible, the NIV Quest Study Bible, the NIV Archaeological Study Bible, the NIV Student Bible, the Great Rescue Bible, and the Essential Bible Companion.
Each book of the Bible begins with several study aids, such as key concepts, a summary of the book, key verses, key teachings, key terms, important people in the book and pages number to locate them, timelines, and maps. Within each book, the reader will find question-and-answer studies, detailed study notes, charts, pictures, character profiles, and devotional insights. Life questions are provided to help apply the lessons of the Bible to our lives today. In the back of this Bible, study helps such as table of weights and measures, reading plans, subject index, color maps, and concordance, provide assistance necessary to gain even greater understanding of Bible concepts.
I was impressed with this Bible. I would recommend it to anyone attempting to delve deeper into Bible lessons for his life today.
Kara
I received this Bible free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Nice Study Bible

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dgreegor
Location:MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIV Essentials Study Bible is a well laid-out Bible that draws from six different resources. Having used both the NIV Quest Study Bible and the NIV Archaeological Study Bible I was curious to see how this study Bible would look.
The first thing is that I found the Bible to really good placement of notes, facts, study helps, and archaeological information. I never felt that the notes distracted me from reading the Biblical text and found the helps to be at good places to reflect on what I read. I also like how relevant each study help was to the passages I was reading. For example, some background on what was happening in the world when Paul wrote Romans shed light on some of the phrases and statements Paul makes. This allowed for better comprehension and understanding of the points Paul was trying to make.
I also found that the Bible was decent size. I must admit that it is slightly on the heavy side and would probably not be a good Bible for personal devotions where one just wants to read. However, the typeface is an ideal size and didn't cause me to squint or bring the Bible closer so that I could read it.
I would recommend this Bible for someone wanting to do deeper studying and for those who want a historical context as they read. I would suggest those looking for study/devotional probably try a lighter Bible with fewer helps.
*I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NIV Essentials Study Bible

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
hpz62
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not know where to start to express my opinion about the NIV Essentials Study Bible. And I am saying this, because this Study Bible has many good aspects to talk about:
Let me start saying that New International Version is by itself a reliable source of clarity to understand in a better way the Scriptures.
The variety and simplicity of the inserts, whether chronological, historical and cultural, become a real guide and help, when reading the Bible.
To have the Essential Study Bible and use it as your regular source of devotional readings, is like being in a seminary, but without the hardship of grabbing other books, do researching work and attend to class.
I am sure you, like me, will love not only to have this Bible, but also you will feel compelled to share with others what you are learning.
I love the maps, the insights notes, the design, almost everything is good.
It is a work of Zondervan.
There is one thing that you might want to look up, before acquiring this Bible, since I received the hard cover edition, I can tell that the font size they use is rather small. I will feel more comfortable with a larger font, and if you are in the lookout of large printed editions, you better verify if they have this one in variety of font’s sizes.
I do recommend this version of the Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great all-in-one Bible

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've all stood in the Bible section for hours on end with the sales clerk hovering over us
trying to decide on the "Best" Bible for reading and study. We all want some devotional aspect, some Bible study aids, great notes an exhaustive index, good book and character headings, color maps - plus bells - and whistles and extras.
But is it possible to cram all of that into a single Bible? YES!
Zondervan has taken 6 of their best selling Study Bibles and weaved them all together into one "Essential" Bible so that now you don't have to choose! You can have it all.
The NIV Essential Study Bible is a cross from:
The NIV Study Bible
The Quest Study Bible
The Archeological Study Bible
The Great Rescue Bible
and the NIV Student Bible
Now you can explore the scriptures through multiple lenses! This Bible would be a perfect "First Study Bible" or a gift for a Student who is ready to go deeper. The Essentials has such a wide variety of routes and notes that it really presents a HUGE canvas to pull from.
Plus you are getting the new 2011 NIV translation which is slightly different in language and presentation than the NIVs released prior. Zondervan continues to work with pastors and Bible scholars, and include the latest discoveries about biblical languages and the biblical world to ensure that the latest NIV translation of the Bible remains faithful to God’s test.
Yes, it feels a little like a rebrand and a re-launch of some of Zondervan's older material - but that shouldn't turn you off, especially if you've never owned these Bibles before. Plus -since this is a mash-up of other publications, be ready for a BIG Bible to show up at your door (almost 1,800 pages)
Thank you to Zondervan for this advanced copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A combination of Study Bibles

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has the combined features from the NIV Study Bible, NIV Archaeological Study Bible, NIV Quest Study Bible, NIV Student Bible, The Great Rescue, NIV, and the Essential Bible Companion. I have the hardback which I love because I hate when book covers get bent. I also like the devotions found in it and the Q & A sections. I think this book would be awesome for a seminary student....really anyone who wants to study the bible and get the features of 5 different bibles & a companion to the bible but in 1 bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Study Bible published so far!

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIV Essentials Study Bible is the best Study Bible to be added to my library. Pulling resources from six classic study and devotional Bibles, this volume contains a vast amount of resources in one book.
The six resources are well documented:
NIV Study Bible
NIV Quest Study Bible
NIV Archaeological Study Bible
NIV Student Bible
The Great Rescue Bible (a devotional Bible from Walk Thru the Bible)
The Essential Bible Companion (a short Bible handbook)
Unexpectedly and occasionally entries are taken from other resources which are individually cited in the text. An example is given below.
Though the editors responsible for choosing each entry are not given, the chosen topics are interesting and helpful - with a mix of study and devotional materials. The source of each entry is clearly identified, with the exception of those from the Essential Bible Companion. The assumption is the the book descriptions for each book of the Bible are pulled from this source, but it is not clearly stated that this is so. Almost every verse has at least one note associated with it - some have two or more from different sources. For example, Psalm 23 has footnotes from the NIV Study Bible and a devotional from the Quest Study Bible. Finally, a good ⅓ page is devoted to a selection taken from The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Commentary.
The one issue I had with the book was its font size - fitting this much content within the 1700+ pages of this book requires a small font. The font is clear and readable, but I suspect that at some point a magnifying glass might help in reading some of the notes. Of course, this has been true of other Study Bibles and this not an unexpected problem for a good study Bible. Much of the content might better be read with the help of a good electronic Bible (e.g. Word Search). The catch is that not all of the resources used to build the NIV Essential Study Bible is available in compatible electronic formats.
As hinted at earlier, this is one of the most complete study Bibles to cross my path. It is a pleasure to add it to my library - both for review and for daily use.
______________
This review is based on a free copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Essentials Study Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Honeysuckle Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An awesome resource!

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevin
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just start off by saying that this is an excellent resource. The NIV (at least the latest edition of it) is not my favorite translation (NASB!!!!), but they do seem to put out some excellent supplemental material for this version. In this great printing of the Word, Zondervan has really put out a good set of tools from 6 different resources into one Bible for study. I found that as I turned every page within this Bible, another great learning point would jump out at me! Now I probably would not suggest this Bible for general reading, as all of the extra resources would serve as a distraction from the main course of God's Word, but to have this on the shelf would be an excellent thing. There is so much here to help enhance detailed study, it should be required to own. I would have liked to see this with a more literal translation, but I will take it as it is still God's Word. Pick one of these up if you can! This would also be a great gift for someone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.