Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Fiction The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook

Lion Fiction The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
Review 1 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murder.
Though busy with preparations for Christmas, Faith is called on to investigate when it’s found out that the victim is also a member of her congregation—Lucas Kemp, a member of the choir.
Faith’s informal inquiries lead her to uncover a hotbed of tensions and romantic rivalries in the choir, questions about drugs, and a run-in with an unsavory uncle—which leads to a dramatic rescue by Ben, Faith’s former detective partner and ex-boyfriend.
In the tradition of Father Brown and Miss Marple, The Advent of Murder brings readers an authentic picture of English rural and church life combined with a satisfying mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end.
My Review:
While I am not a bog fan of rural life in England, the setting of this novel really set the stage for the story. I appreciated the author's style of relating her story, and I was struck by how simple everything was. The characters and the setting were just so simple to get into, with no long explanations or tedious descriptions. The book was an effortless read because of Ockley's smooth writing, and I've got to say it was a mystery I didn't want to end. (Well, sort of.)
The hardest part for me was trying to figure out who was the killer. I usually have a good guess as to who it is, but this time I just drew a blank. I thought I had the culprit pinned at one point, but I was wrong. I would recommend this book to anyone who like cozy mysteries, and this is a very refreshing British version that just keeps you turning pages.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Story

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Advent of Murder by Martha Ockley did not grab my interest at the beginning but the more I read the more interesting the story became. Faith Morgan is the new Vicar of Little Worthy and she is very involved in getting everything ready for the Advent season. It seems that she has so many things to do that she seldom gets enough sleep. When Faith goes to visit one of her parishioners, she learns that a young man from the choir has been murdered. Faith was a policewoman before she became the Vicar, and she cannot help getting involved in the murder investigation in spite of all the other things that she must do before Christmas. Detective Inspector Ben Shorter is Faith’s ex-boyfriend and he resents her involvement in the investigation but once in a while he accepts her ideas.
Characters and their dialogue were very well developed and the characters seemed to come to life on the pages of the book. The plot had many twists and turns and I was kept guessing until almost the end of the book as to the identify of the murderer. There were also several mysteries in the story which added greatly to my enjoyment. The story had quite a few rather unusual characters but they added interest to the story. After finishing the book I had the feeling that maybe Faith had been a better policewoman than she was a Vicar. I was a little surprised at the ending but it was a satisfactory ending.
I would recommend this book if you like mysteries set in England and written by British authors.
Kregel Publications provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful English Mystery Murder Investigation

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martha Ockley in her new book, “The Advent Of Murder” Book Two in the Faith Morgan Mystery series published by Kregel Publications gives us another mystery with Faith Morgan.
From the back cover: “We’ve found a boy’s body by the river. Want to come take a peek?” Faith struggled with her demon curiousity a moment. Ben watched her lose the fight, “Of course I do.”
Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murder.
Though busy with preparations for Christmas, Faith is called on to investigate when it’s found out that the victim is also a member of her congregation–Lucas Kemp, a member of the choir.
Faith’s informal inquiries lead her to uncover a hotbed of tensions and romantic rivalries in the choir, questions about drugs, and a run-in with an unsavory uncle–which leads to a dramatic rescue by Ben, Faith’s former detective partner and ex-boyfriend.
In the tradition of Father Brown and Miss Marple, The Advent of Murder brings readers an authentic picture of English rural and church life combined with a satisfying mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end.
I like the English countryside. There is something about it, one moment it is bright and open the next moment it is dark and mysterious. Faith visits the farm of the man who will play “Joseph” and not only finds him charged with murder but the victim is a member of her church choir. This is not light “Murder, She Wrote” fluff this is hard-boiled investigation and in the course of untangling the twists and turns of this case both Faith and her ex-partner Ben, uncover all kinds of unsavory goings on. Faith Morgan has a keen observant eye that catches all the little things that even I missed, and I was watching for them. Martha Ockley is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you reach the end. “The Advent Of Murder” is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed in the characters as Ms. Ockley puts them through their paces. I am so looking forward to the next book from this very talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun, easy read

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second of the Faith Morgan Mystery books. I didn’t realize that at first, but as I read there were several times incidents briefly mentioned that I realized must be from the previous novel, The Reluctant Detective. However, it was not a big deal (even though I would prefer to read a series in order), and I was able to follow the story with no problem.
In The Advent of Murder by Martha Ockley, Faith, who was formerly in law enforcement, is the vicar at a small church and is very busy during this Christmas season. It is her first Christmas at this church and she wants to do it right (or at least please some of her picky parishioners). However, murder is not is anyone’s plans!
The story was a fun, easy read. I figured out the connections and solved the murder too soon for me! However, I still looked forward to picking up the book as I grabbed small moments here and there to finish!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get her first book & buckle in for good reading

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading a book which is second in a series, and not having read the first, makes the task of reviewing just that much more difficult. Plot twists can catch the reader unaware. Character traits & development may seem just a tad more shallow because the author may have forgotten that the reader hasn’t read volume one and therefore, not quite as familiar with each continuing character. Some series, if not written intentionally to appear as ‘stand alone’ novels, come across this way in spades.
Fortunately, I did not find ‘The Advent of Murder’ to be quite in this category. However, even though author Martha Ockley did quite a good job of seeking to have book #2 stand alone, I did find the characters and a few of the relationships from book #1 carrying over and therefore not fully explained. I don’t think this took away from the plot, but it kept me on my toes a bit more than usual when reading a fictional novel.
I think this is also why I found the opening chapters of ‘The Advent of Murder’ to move a bit slowly, even though the reader is thrown into the ‘case’ within the first few pages. I didn’t give up on it (and not simply because I had to write a review; trust me, there are books I’ve given up on and still written the review). And I’m glad I didn’t. There was plot twist gold to be found well into this work and the wealth mined from that perseverance paid off.
All in all, an enjoyable read; good for a cold, winter’s night (it’s early December here in southern Minnesota and the temps this late fall are dipping below zero on a regular basis) along with a hot cup of tea or chocolate. Sit back, watch Faith Morgan (the key character) struggle to ‘fit’ into her new role as a vicar (having served as a police officer) and with a variety of relationships, both parishioners and men who come across her path, all the while trying to ‘pull off’ all the traditional matters for Christmas in a local parish AND seeing what she can do to help the local police solve a murder mystery. Hang on to your hat and enjoy!
If you'd like to start at the beginning, then get a hold of Ockley's first introduction to Faith Moragn in The Reluctant Detective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GOOD IN EVERYTHING

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bemiown
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
REVIEW
"We've found a boy's body by the river.
Want to come take a peek?
Faith struggled with her demon curiosity a moment.
Ben watched her lose the fight,"Of course you do."
THE ADVENT OF MURDER starts with the cold, tingling days before Christmas. It is also following Faith, a perceptive police woman who is now vicar and her odd parishioners. I would suggest that you read Book One first. I was a little lost to begin with with the English terms and the ways of the church. That has no bearing on the author or the book. I just think it would make Book Two easier to read. Faith's personal life loved and lost the man she was in a relationship with. He was a tough cop just like Faith. Their conflict arose when he didn't want to accept Faith's new life as vicar to souls. When Ben saw something bad, there was no changing his mind. It was bad and he had no intention on looking for anything else. It was just bad. When a young boy's body was found in the River Ichen, Faith was still a copy in her heart and soul. The boy was a member of the choir, he took care of his Uncle who was nothing but a drunk. His mother had died. She finds herself investigating the murder. People got the idea she was still a cop and were quite surprised when they found out she was a member of the clergy. Faith and Ben still compare notes on the murder case. There were some things that didn't look good, as the murder wasn't called in.
The author wrote a book that had Faith digging into spirituality in it and she gets into some big topics.
Faith has a combination of street smarts from being a cop and her belief in God. She has seen some of the worst in human behavior and yet she has fallen at times and she believes that redemption is for all who ask for it and are truly sincere. There are two sides to her; one is the sad and dark world and the other is God and his pure love . Faith doesn't see the perpetrator as just a bad person but a person who needs God's love and help to get back on the right track. Each character had their own personality, very well described. Some had evil in them and didn't want help while others were crying out for redemption. Of course the parishioners of Little Worthy had a lot of opinions. Guess what, most were wrong. This author, Martha Ockley wrote a wonderful murder mystery with the addition of people who need love and spirituality back in their lives. Can Faith do this? Will Faith and Ben get back together again? Will Ben realize there are two sides to everything?. All isn't bad. This was a good murder mystery, not too heavy and not too light. It didn't bog you down with too much detail and yet there was just enough to keep the plot alive. I would say, grab a copy and help Faith unravel the murder.
I would give this book 4 Candles.
I was given a complimentary copy of THE ADVENT OF MURDER by Martha Ockley from Kregel Publications for my uncompensated opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fine British Christmas mystery

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you like British mysteries, you'll like this one.
Faith Morgan is a former policewoman, now the vicar at Little Worthy. It's the Advent season and Faith is busy managing the last details for the church's many activities. When she goes out to Oliver's farm to make final arrangements for “Joseph” in the church play, she is confronted with police cars. The body of a teen has been found. He's been murdered.
Despite Faith's duties during this busy time of the church year, she can't help but covertly investigate the case.
This is a fine British mystery. It was fun to follow Faith around as she makes inquiries while she sees to the church's activities. I loved the quirky characters. Faith is not the strongest British heroine I've seen. She is a little weak in the relationship area – to quick to latch on to a potential boyfriend, I felt. But she makes a good vicar. She is supportive and comforting, showing God's love to her parishioners.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great winter reading escape

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Former policewoman turned vicar? Might explain her morbid curiosity for murder cases. Faith happens upon a crime scene while on her way to visit a parishioner--who turns out to be the primary suspect in the death involving a teenage boy.
As Faith is frantically trying to get all her church duties carried out during her first Christmas at St. James, she is drawn into the circumstances of the tragedy. Faith's sleuthing abilities uncover leads and clues that keep her in close (and awkward) proximity to a former colleague on the police force.
I really enjoyed the character Faith Morgan. I appreciated getting a glimpse at the inner workings of her thoughts as she interacted with other characters in the book. Having witnessed the seedier side of life as a policewoman, she was well equipped to handle the weaknesses of people who crossed her path: a former drug addict trying to make a new start, a lonely teen struggling with a family secret, an alcoholic grieving the loss of a sister and nephew.
And Faith has some struggles of her own. Her sister wants her to host this year's Christmas gathering (evidently the Aga stove at the vicarage is part of the draw). Plus Faith's sister is worried about their mother--wondering whether her forgetfulness might be something serious.
On top of that, add in the usual measure of church politics, bossy parishioners and trying to meet the expectations of how the former vicar did things and you have one stressful Advent! Certainly makes for a challenging job, but Faith seems to take things in stride and not get too ruffled.
The book is a not too serious look at crime and the culprit is safely discovered by the end of the book. And Faith even learns to appreciate the uniqueness of some cantankerous congregants. All in all, a great book to pull out for a snowbound (or any other) weekend. This would make a great gift for anyone who enjoys a bit of British mystery and detection.
[I received a free copy of the book for the purpose of review.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good, Clean, Fun Mystery for Christmas!

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
True North
Location:http://69.89.31.135/~truenou1/
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a good, clean, fun mystery, this book is a delightful read! It is just the right mystery to read right now, because it is set in a quaint and charming town in the English countryside during the Advent Christmas season.
This book is a sequel, the second in a series of Faith Morgan Mysteries. But fear not, this book stands on its own. There were no gaps in the story-line from the first book in the series, “The Reluctant Detective,” to this book. Martha Ockley bridged the information from the first book so smoothly that I didn’t feel I was missing anything.
Here’s the gist of the story: Faith Morgan is a former detective-turned-newly appointed vicar of St. James’ Little Worthy parish. While Faith is busy preparing her parish for its Christmas programs and services, a troubled, young choir member is found dead on the Markham family property. The Markham’s are newcomers to St. James’ and Mr. Markham was committed to play the part of Joseph in the Christmas pageant. So, it’s only natural that Faith becomes involved in solving the mystery, right? Faith has difficulty detaching from her former career, and Little Worthy is all the better for it. But some folks around Little Worthy don’t think so.
The investigation begins with an agreeable tension between Faith and her former partner, Detective Ben Shorter. Ben has always been attracted to Faith, but her position as a Christian vicar has cooled his jets. Honestly, there are so many interesting and quirky characters in this story, it isn’t obvious who the culprit is. I like that about a mystery. Usually, I can spot the bad-guy by chapter two, even in the most famous mystery writer’s work. No so here.
If my review has sparked your interest, I encourage you to read this book for yourself, because I will not give the ending away here. I will tell you, though, that this was very refreshing mystery reading. I like the way British writers string their words together to tell a story. I liked the writing and the story so much, that I will go back and read the first book in the series, “The Reluctant Detective.”
I hope there’s a third “Faith Morgan” book in the offing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery - eBook
This review is fromThe Advent of Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story finds Vicar Faith Morgan readying herself and her parish for Christmas during the Advent season. She barely has time to sleep she is so busy arranging carol services, the annual Christmas pageant, and a toy collection drive to mention only a few of the myriad of things on her “to do” list. She sets out one day to visit her choice to play Joseph for the Christmas pageant. Upon arrival, she finds the police and the forensics team in the midst of recovering a body found on “Joseph’s” property. He is then taken in for questioning. Of course, the inspector in charge is her ex-boyfriend, Ben Shorter.
As in the first book of the series, The Reluctant Detective, Faith is in almost constant contact with Ben and forced to deal with her remaining feelings for him. Ben, however, is not a Christian and spears Faith occasionally with well-placed barbs about her faith, making things more difficult for them both as they try to solve the case. The victim is a teenage boy who was found after being washed downstream. He has only two close friends, one male and one female. Could he have been murdered in a fit of jealousy? There have also been a few robberies in the area over the last few months, and Faith wonders if there is a connection between them and the murder. On top of all this, she must deal with her mother’s new signs of failing mental health.
After reading the first book in the series, there were a few things I didn’t think needed to be portrayed by a vicar. Now, after reading this second book, I’m happy to report those dark marks did not make an appearance in this book. There was one questionable view of the meaning of Advent on page 81 that readers should notice, but other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed this second mystery. The character interactions were more in depth to help develop more of their personalities. I really enjoyed getting to know the parish family better. Faith’s incurable curiosity serves her well to help the investigation, but sometimes causes others pain. That is a part of how we live life this side of heaven though isn’t it? We sometimes think we’re helping and we have the best of intentions, but we forget to talk to God about what we’re doing first and make a mess of things. That is one thing I would like to see more of…Faith reading Scripture and believing that only God is worthy of our faith, not God and love as is uttered by Faith at one point in the story. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series. I hope the next book will be even better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.