Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Visible Threat - eBook

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Visible Threat - eBook

Officer Brinna Caruso wants perfection; exacting justice. She wants to save and protect the innocent in the world, no matter the cost. After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O'Reilly asks for Brinna's help. Unaware of the depths of evil that will be uncovered, Brinna finds herself flung into a dangerous frontier-an organized human trafficking ring.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Visible Threat - eBook
Review 1 for Visible Threat - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense and Well Written

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was hard to put down. The plot kept me fascinated, and the characters were likeable and sympathetic. The dangers were reflected with realism, and the police action was convincing. Janice Cantore does a great job with the camaraderie among officers and the ways they deal with stress. Brinna's soul-searching pervades the story, but it brings a continuity to it, while giving insight into this main character. I enjoyed this very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting read

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Visible Threat is a mind-captivating read about Officer Brinna Caruso who holds a dark secret from childhood. She is idealistic to the point where she wants the world to be perfect and justice to always prevail. As an officer, her main mission is to protect those she deems innocent and she is willing to do just about anything to do so. When a dead girl with a tattoo is found in a river, Brinna is on the case when Detective Jack O’Reilly asks for her assistance. During their investigation, they meet two orphans who came to America from Bulgaria to find a brighter future. Ivana loves her sister and struggles to take care of her, but at what cost? As the case gets deeper, Brinna discovers a darker secret that lurks in her area: a human trafficking ring. What does this case have to do with Ivana and her sister? Will Brinna and Jack solve the case before it is too late? I found this book to be just as good as the first book I read by this author. I really enjoy the characters because they are so realistic and their plights get to your heart. I look forward to reading other books by this author in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Visible Threat - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

action packed police drama

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Office Brinna Caruso is a tough as nails cop with a heart of gold. She is a survivor that has experienced abuse and kidnapping first hand. She understands what it is like and doesn't want any other girl to go through what she went through. In Visible Threat you will follow Officer Caruso on a mission to take down a human trafficking ring. Visible Threat is book 2 in the Officer Brinna Caruso series, however you can read them out of order. They are stand alone books as well as part of a series. I hope that makes sense. I've read the first Critical Pursuit and it was a great crime drama book however the topic of Visible Threat was handled so well I really love this one the best.
Janice Cantore writes great christian police suspense drama books and you will not be disappointed with any of her books. She handles a tough, heartbreaking topic in this book and brings to light that human trafficking is happening all over right now as I type this. If you are looking for a great read then grab this book, put it on hold at your local library, or pre order it. I know you will love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Page Turner

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reader5
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved this book from the first page it has fast paced action plus a little romance. It was a hard book to put down. The overall theme is about human trafficking, which is a major problem even here in the US. I am thankful for Janice Cantore for writing this book and shedding light on this issue. I enjoyed Brianna as a strong character who has doubts about God but has wonderful Christian friends in her life that help her understand more about her faith. I can't wait to read other books written by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was another great book by Janice Cantore. She continues the story of Brinna, adding in a touch of romance along with Brinna's continual search for God. Brinna continues to wrestle with the question of how God can allow evil to happen in the world, but does have to realize that her abduction at the age of 6 made her into a much stronger, more compassionate police officer. In this book, she has to deal with her mother's abduction and starts to do a bit of praying on her own. I just really think Janice has an excellent style of writing and addresses issues that are prevalent today. It's scary to realize how much human trafficking is really going on even today. I will definitely pay more attention to this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, well written book

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exciting and well written book deals with the horrors of evil people tricking foreign women to accept their help to enter the United States and get a job only to find out they are slaves, forced into prostitution without any money coming to them and kept locked up. When one young girl dies trying to escape, the strange tattoo on her hip causes one police officer to investigate. The closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous it becomes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Human Trafficking, Action Adventure Mystery Thrill

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore in her new book, “Visible Threat” Book Two in the Brinna Caruso series published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us another adventure with Officer Brinna Caruso.
From the Back Cover: Officer Brinna Caruso wants perfection—perfect justice and a perfect world. She wants to save and protect all the innocents in the world, no matter the cost.
Orphaned and struggling to get by, Ivana and her sister left Bulgaria for America with dreams of a better life. But since they arrived in Long Beach, everything they were promised has turned out to be a lie.
After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help. Unaware of the depths of evil that will be uncovered, Brinna finds herself flung into a dangerous frontier—an organized human trafficking ring.
I think the worst thing in the world that you can do to someone is to take away their freedom completely and buy and sell them on the underground market. These people have been stripped of their identities and they have no hope. It is into this world that Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help. Now Jack, Brinna and her K-9 search and rescue dog, Hero are involved in an investigation that will test the limits of how far they can go to rescue these people. “Visible Threat” is how you define exciting! Ms. Cantore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years. If anyone can write these kind of stories with authenticity and sheer excitement she most certainly can. “Visible Threat” is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book in this exciting series from Ms. Cantore.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced, intruiging story!

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous book! The writing and attention grabbing of this was outstanding – as well as the way a sensitive topic was broached without being graphic. Unfortunately it does deal with a subject, human trafficking which needs to have light brought on it but is not for the faint of heart – I wish it did not even exist.
Officer Brina Caruso was kidnapped as a child. As an adult she wants nothing more than to save innocents. She unwittingly finds herself involved in a human trafficking case, which then becomes personal.
Brina is also seeking God – desiring to know where He is in situations like this and why is there evil anyway. I love how her mother Rose continues to have peace and even says, “All any of us can control is how we respond when tough times come. This does not diminish God or his Sovereignty in my mind.” There were lots of really good conversations about God in this book – like, “If he is a good God, why would he stop something in your life that will make you stronger, make you a better person?”
Great book! I highly recommend it for its fast paced, intriguing story with real questions being responded to by the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Janice Cantore has done it again! I am never disappointed with her books. This is Book #2 in the series of Brinna Caruso. In this book, Brinna gets tangled in the web of organized human trafficking ring. This book did not fail to disappoint in keeping my attention. It had suspense and a little romance. I highly recommend this book and any other book by Janice Cantore!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic mystery!

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exciting and well written book deals with the horrors of evil people tricking foreign women to accept their help to enter the United States and get a job only to find out they are slaves, forced into prostitution without any money coming to them and kept locked up. When one young girl dies trying to escape, the strange tattoo on her hip causes one police officer to investigate. The closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous it becomes. Although fiction, this problem does actually exist according to our local police.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

would make a great movie!

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brinna Caruso is an amazing cop with a hunger to catch the criminals, especially those who target children. She has an aggressive attitude and is a very good cop. Even though sometimes her ways go against her superior. She struggles with how can a God who loves us allow bad things to happen to good people. Will she ever be able to understand what God is showing her? Once the case she is working on turns personal can she find a way to save those she loves the most? And will her co-worker be able to get over the loss of his wife and find a relationship with her?
This book is action packed with twist and turns in all the right places. It has just enough romance and some hard to deal with issues. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading contemporary, fiction (which could be no-fiction), police type books. I won this book in a contest on the authors blog. I was not asked to write a review but count it a privilege and look forward to reading more by Janice cantor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visible Threat by Janice Cantore was AMAZING!! If you've read any of my other reviews on her books then you'll already know how much I love her writing. All of her books are on my favorite shelf right next to my other favorite Christian Crime fiction authors like Dee Henderson. If you love Dee's books your sure to love Janice's books. They're wonderful!
I really love the characters that Janice brings to life in her books and the very real problems those characters face. I also love the fact that while there is some romance in her books it doesn't overwhelm the story like it sometimes does in other books. All in all I LOVED Visible Threat so it'll be no surprise when I say I give it 5 stars :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Higgins
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QUICK HIT – Visible Threat is a high-speed chase thriller that doesn’t forget to have a good story with great characters. This was my introduction to Janice Cantore, but it will for certain not be our only meeting.
Officer Brinna Caruso is on a mission. She is set on trying to save and protect all the innocents in the world, no matter what it cost. She and her partner, Hero, a K-9 police dog, track down offenders and help bring them to justice.
Ivana and her sister, Villie, have come to America from Bulgaria with the promise that they will work for a rich family and have more than they could have ever dreamed of. Before they reach the shores of America they have their passports taken away and are beaten by the man who has promised them so many lies.
After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help. She—of course—accepts and finds herself flung into the middle of the most awful kind of evil: a human trafficking ring. Together they all have to work together to save more lives and innocents.
Janice Cantore’s experience as a police officer definitely helped shape the writing of this novel to make the characters and the experiences they go through believable. The writing was quick and easy, making the story flow smoothly. The interwoven stories of Ivana and Brinna were easy to follow. The relationship between Brinna and Hero really drew me into the story. The love she had for Hero brought her closer to others around her and made her a better officer and a better person.
It wasn’t until the final few pages of Visible Threat that I finally figured out where the story was going. Cantore kept me guessing right up to the very end, keeping her surprise twists a surprise rather than being obvious about the story’s direction. That made it a lot different than a lot of police procedurals out there and brought a fresh look and feel to the genre. Visible Threat is just simply one of those books you don’t want to put down and have to feel a little sad about when the story’s over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visible Threat

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have read all of Janice Cantore's books up to now, I was excited to review her newest book-Visible Threat. This is the second book in her latest series There are authors that you just know their books will be good and she fits into that category for me. Being a retired Long Beach police officer adds so much credit to her writing. As I read her books I am thinking this was a case she may have investigated which makes reading more interesting for me.
As with the first book we are following Brinna Caruso as she wants justice and to save the innocent from the evil predators that inflict pain on their victims. The storyline follows two sisters arriving from Bulgaria being promised a better life in America. Unfortunately that was a lie and they were not the only ones being coerced by the evil of human trafficking. A body is found in the river and Jack O'Reilly needs help from Brinna. As they uncover the identity of the victim, they hunt for the sister and the story explodes from there. A lot of times Brinna does not go by the book and does things her way which lead to another storyline in the book. Brinna was kidnapped at age 6 and was rescued two days later, which is why she has such an interest and such an emotional attachment to this case. There is also Brinna and Jack as they find the traffickers but also as Brinna learns from Jack. "If he is a good God, why would he stop something in your life that will make you stronger, make you a better person?" "Just because bad things happen doesn't mean that God isn't good"
The story is at times hard to read, forgetting that this in happening now all over the world. It is not just a growing problem worldwide but in our own backyard. The author did a great job of making it real but not
being too graphic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A disappointing read

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Officer Brinna may want perfection, but this book sadly falls short. The wordy, disjointed writing detracts greatly from the plot. As an example, someone says to Brinna after she saved her friend who was kidnapped "Thank you that you took Gracie seriously and that you saved Nikki." The characters fell flat, and in addition the self talk about searching for the peace that Brinna's mom and Jack had seemed redundant after a while.
The author is also overly descriptive about things which I felt slowed the story down. On the other hand, I don't believe she ever really gave a description of Brinna or Jack. Perhaps she assumed the reader would have read the first book and remembered. The ending was also somewhat odd and anti-climactic. Sort of tacked on after I thought the book would have ended more naturally.
There is nothing objectionable content-wise and the storyline had a lot of promise, but I found it very difficult to get through and I won't read the next book in the series, if there is one.
I received this book from Tyndale House for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Visible Threat

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me say right off that I really liked this book. Such a refreshing change of pace in the Christian fiction area.
Cantore's police drama blends the tough topic of human trafficking with what truly feels like real life police officers. Brinna, Jack, Maggie, Ivana, and Mrs. Caruso are so well developed and compliment each other very well. It is always good to see relationships grow and develop during a story.
Even though this is the second book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series it can work as a stand alone. There was enough information given about the first book that didn't seem repetitive but filled the gaps nicely if you haven't read the first one. If you love a good action book read this. This book is good for a man or women. Just an overall good read.
I received this book from this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visible Threat, by Janice Cantore, is a thrilling suspense novel. The sequel to Critical Pursuit, it tells of another chapter in the life of Brinna Caruso, a K-9 police officer. Having been abducted herself at age six, Brinna has a special drive to protect children from predators and will do anything necessary to do so.
Brinna and Hero, her dog, are asked to assist in the investigation of a young girl with a strange tattoo found dead in the San Gabriel River. As homicide detective Jack O’Reilly and Brinna, as well as others on the police force, uncover more and more evidence, it becomes clear that they are dealing with a human trafficking ring. When another girl is pulled from the river days later with the same tattoo, the sister of the first one, Brinna’s mother steps up to house the girl and minister to her. Brinna faces her greatest challenge when she receives the call that the two have disappeared from her mother’s house.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense novels. Written by a former police officer, I found the details very believable and precise. I had not read the first book in the series, but found this one stood very well on its own. The characters are well-developed and easy to relate to. You will not be able to put it down!
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brinna, Hero, Maggie and Jack... they're back!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My whole family gets excited about a new Janice Cantore release. We we so happy to open the package from Tyndale and find Visible Threat inside!
Chapter one, all nine pages of it, drop us right into Brinna's life. This savvy cop who never gives up on an abducted child and who never gives in when pursuing a perpetrator is in the middle of one of those pursuits. A previous offender on parole has lured away a fourteen year old girl over the internet, then kidnapped her at their meeting place in the park.
If you've never met Officer Brinna Caruso before, you'll know exactly what drives her by the end of these first pages. Saving kids, at any cost to herself, and even if it means disregarding and out-of-touch Lieutenant Harvey. That is her mission. When a child's future is on the line, nothing else matters.
If you met Brinna already in Critical Pursuit, you probably have a few pressing questions. Where is she at with God? How is her relationship with family? And what about her and Jack O'Reilly?
Well, no spoilers here, let me just assure you that it's all good.
Brinna's awareness of God is helping her see new dimensions in her world, and it's challenging her to spread her wings of faith.
You will be delighted to see her and her mom growing closer (her mom plays a critical part in this story!) Mother and daughter are finding ways to merge their lives and depend on each other.
And for her and Jack, they were on their way to a lasting friendship at the end of book one, and I'm really happy for the two of them at the end of book two!
Plus, you'll be glad to have Brinna's spunky friend Maggie back. This girl is a hoot. Constantly sizing up every single man she meets, usually trying to fix up her friends, Maggie has a heart of gold and is as loyal as can be.Maggie's character is developed more in this book, which was great. Brinna needs a friend like her.
Janice Cantore has hit it out of the park with this book. This can be a stand-alone, but it's even better when paired with Critical Pursuit, the first book about Brinna. It's a sure bet for mystery and police-procedural with strong human stories woven in.
The cops she writes about are not "Robocops." They do their best and they make mistakes and they struggle with their families and their work. They worry that they haven't done enough, they blame themselves when they shouldn't, and they support each other as partners and fellow officers.
The victims in the crime, in this case human trafficking, are also presented as people.
Thank you Tyndale for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing says “Woo-Hoo! I’m going out of town and will have time on my hands!” then to pick up a copy of the newest book in the “Heart of Justice” series by Janice Cantore.
After leaving Brinna with her K9 dog, Hero in “Critical Pursuit”, she is back and still working to save lost children. After a floater is found down by the river, Brinna is called in with Hero to see if they can track down where she came from. With no new leads, Brinna goes back to the daily routines of police work and being notified that her days with Hero may be numbered due to a cut in the Federal Grant that was paying for the program. As the weather turns violent with torrential rains, a call comes in of another body in the same river, but this time she’s still alive. Putting her life and another officer’s on the line, they go in the water to get the young girl before she’s swept away. But their heroics come at a price as both Brinna and the other officer are pulled under themselves. Are they able to snag the girl? Will they survive the attempt? Who is she and what is her connection to the other body they found? Hang onto the edge of your seat and GO BUY THE BOOK!
In reality, I don’t have many close friends. In my head, though, I get to have dozens of friends as I read some great books all of the time. A sign of a great writer, to me, is one that creates characters that you enjoy reading about and miss them when you close the book. Brinna and her friend Jack are two such characters that have been created by Janice Cantore. Brinna has such a drive and determination to be the best at her job and to make sure that no other children are abducted like she was as a child. Jack has lost his wife and still struggles with the day-to-day living of going on without her, but is finally on the road to allowing others to get close to him again. Both of these characters are ones that I will miss when this series comes to an end. This book did not disappoint as it continues with the smooth plotlines and character developments that I have seen in all of her earlier books.
Is this a "guy's book"? This book has chase scenes, daring rescues and complete police procedures. I can’t imagine any guy not looking forward to picking up this book and the first book in the series as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Visible Threat - eBook
This review is fromVisible Threat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent police thriller

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visible Threat is the latest police thriller written by Janice Cantore, a veteran Long Beach police officer herself. This is book two in her latest series, which follows police officer Brinna Caruso. Brinna is a kidnap/abuse survivor herself, so she wants to make sure no other girl is kidnapped and abused like she was as a child. Along with her police dog Hero, she works to eliminate crime. In this book, she's caught up with former partner Jack O'Reilly into a dangerous mystery involving a murdered girl which leads to them uncovering a human trafficking ring. There is a bit of a romantic storyline between Brinna and Jack as well, which rounds out the suspense.
I absolutely loved this second book about Brinna. The first one, Critical Pursuit, was excellent; but this one managed to top even that. There is the perfect blend of suspense, drama, police work, and a bit of romance. This one will grab you from the first page and you'll have trouble putting it down! I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves good Christian suspense and/or romance. Janice Cantore's experience as a police officer uniquely qualifies her to write very realistic police procedurals.
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.