Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House It Had to Be You - eBook

Tyndale House It Had to Be You - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 4293%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Had to Be You - eBook
Review 1 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Summer Read

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reader5
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved this book and can't wait to read more in this series, since I didn't read the first book yet. I liked how I didn't have to read the books in the series in order to understand what was going on in this book I loved how the relationship between Eden and Jace developed throughout this book proving once again that opposite do attract. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good christian romance book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
georgettegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Christiansen Family series and although I hadn't read the first book, I didn't have any problems following along (but now I will have to go back and read book 1, Take a Chance on Me (Christiansen Family). I really loved the characters in this book. Eden was a character I could relate to; she felt stuck in her job as an obits writer when she really wanted to be a reporter and she felt overshadowed by all her talented siblings. The one thing she is known for, taking care of her younger brother Owen, is endangered when he suffers an off-the-ice-possibly-career-ending injury. Jace, aka J-Hammer, has a reputation in the hockey world, one that he feels he must maintain even though he doesn't want to. When Eden and Jace collide--definitely fireworks. I really enjoyed their relationship together, lots of ups and downs, but very sweet and genuine. I especially appreciate how the author weaves God throughout the book and how both Eden and Jace come to realize that God didn't just save them because He loves them, He likes them too! There was a heart-tugging subplot with Jace's best friend, Sam and his daughter who needs a heart transplant. Although the subplot was well-written I wasn't sure where the author was going with that since it took up several chapters but in the end, the plots are all tied together. The only piece still hanging is the situation with Owen but I assume that will be resolved when his own book comes out. Excellent book! I look forward to reading about all the members of the Christiansen family. Oh, and this edition included a series prequel novella (I Really Do Miss Your Smile) which was the love story of John and Ingrid, the Christiansen parents. It was very well-done and evoked a lot of emotion for a novella. Ingrid was in love with John while he only had eyes for her older sister. The novella starts when Ingrid is 15 years old. Each subsequent chapter is a year in Ingrid's life and follows her relationship (or lack of) with John. Enjoyed this novella!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Writing Style

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this author's descriptions of scenes and people. She understands the many feelings brought to the surface in a hospital; and she makes the characters come alive. I was rooting for certain characters to resolve their misunderstandings. The subplot was very touching. There were sad events, but it wasn't a sad story. It was more of a romance, with life lessons. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this contemporary romance, and I look forward to reading the others in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Western Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this second book in the Christiansen Family series. Eden made a good main character and it was easy to relate to her, while Jace Jacobsen was the ultimate good guy you could cheer for to win the girl. I might have been disappointed that they didn’t spend long in my favourite small-town setting of Deep Haven, but the entire book was great for setting, plot and characters – that made up for it. Besides, I can always go back to the original Deep Haven books for more, and that’s an advantage of having multiple series with characters from the same town. :)
I’m very glad I had the opportunity to read this book and I’ll be waiting impatiently for the next one in the series. Warren’s writing makes for great pleasure reading, and I love how she includes issues of faith in her stories as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed book #2 in the Christiansen family series. Eden has always been her brother Owen's cheerleader/protector/caregiver following him up through the ranks in hockey. He reaches the top but Eden feels stuck writing obits instead of leading her dream job as a reporter. Owen keeps landing himself in trouble and Eden expects team veteran Jase to look out for Owen. When a horrific accident lands Owen in the hospital Eden needs a few moments to herself and stumbles down the hall into a coma patients room. Jase follows her and the end result is the two work together to locate the patient's family. Eden learns that she shouldn't judge a person before she gets to know the real person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Feel Good Book

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
PMayes
Location:Raton, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the main storyline was somewhat predictable (girl meets boy, they don’t like each other at first, then they fall for each other), It Had to Be You had enough twists and turns in the side stories to keep it interesting.
Eden, the nurturing, protective older sister works hard to keep hockey playing younger brother, Owen, in line as he tries to make a place for himself on the hockey team. She is so wrapped up in Owen’s life, that she sees her own life and work as boring and meaningless.
When Owen sustains an injury that threatens his hockey career, Eden develops a relationship with the hockey team captain, Jace Jacobsen, and discovers value in her life as well as in the lives of others.
All in all, I would describe this as a “feel good” story with an interesting ending. I look forward to reading other books by this author, Susan May Warren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Christian Romance

Date:July 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
CGirl87
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After enjoying the first book in this series, I was looking forward to reading It Had to Be You. I was not disappointed. In fact, I liked it even better than the first one in the series! Eden feels stuck in her job writing obituaries and longs to be a “real” reporter. And then there’s her other full-time job – keeping her hockey star brother Owen cared for and out of trouble. She is worried that he will follow the same path she has seen some of his teammates take, so of course she would have no interest in the man she blames for not keeping him in line, bad-boy hockey enforcer Jace. Right?
I have absolutely no interest in hockey, but I enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed, and the relationship between them did not feel forced or abrupt. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes clean Christian romance, even if they aren’t hockey fans. Definitely a book that I will read again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book. It was about learning to let go and trust God, and also not to judge people before you get to know them. I also enjoyed the short story about Ingrid and John.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
McGuiremama
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Susan May Warren's novels. She always manages to suck me into her characters and make me laugh and cry in one novel. This is no exception. The vulnerability of the main character, Eden, is refreshing and honest. Sitting on the sidelines, observing life, is something many of us have been caught up in ourselves. This story makes you want to cheer her on and also helps you feel the victory when boy goes after the girl. I highly recommend this for an fun, light read that will make you smile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the publisher's website: "Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen’s cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits—and starting to fear she doesn’t have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.
Jace has built his career on the infamous reputation of his aggressive behavior—on and off the ice. Now at a crossroads about his future in hockey, that reputation has him trapped. And the guilt-trip he’s getting from Eden Christiansen isn’t making things any easier. But when Owen’s carelessness leads to a career-threatening injury and Eden stumbles upon a story that could be her big break, she and Jace are thrown together . . . and begin to wonder if they belong on the same team after all."
This is a large book. I enjoyed reading it. There were a lot of wonderful, inspirational scripture references and situations with the characters. The characters were very real and complicated. I'm not a huge fan of "romance" novels, Christian or otherwise, but this book had a nice story and added elements of a mystery to solve too. I recommend reading it. It was nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was great

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Location:MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful story about Eden Christiansen, obituary writer who really wants to be a reporter and sister to up-and-coming hockey player, Owen. She tries to take care of him, yet worries that she'll fail. She also feels like life is passing her by. She clashes with Jace Jacobsen, the team captain who she worries her brother is trying to emulate, on and off the rink. Not only does he get into fights on the court, but has a reputation with the ladies. As she gets to know him, however, she realizes she may have judged him too quickly. Jace feels like the only thing going for him is hockey. After too many concussions, he faces serious repercussions if he gets hurt again, but he doesn't know what else he could do. When Owen is hurt, will they work together to help him? Will Eden open his eyes to new possibilities?
I absolutely love this book! It's well-written and I did not want to put it down! I love the Christiansen family and that we get to know each of the siblings in this series. Each book works as a stand-alone, but you won't want to miss either of them. I really like the sub-plot about Jace's friend, Sam and his daughter, Maddy, as she has serious health problems and he struggles to understand how God can allow her suffering. There's also a great bonus of a novella included in the back that tells the story of the Christiansen parents! The characters are wonderful and they just leap off the page. I like that they're not perfect; they struggle with their faith and figuring out what they want out of life. I love the romance! Can he really trust a "reporter" and can she trust a famous hockey player known for his way with the ladies? You'll have to read this to find out and I highly recommend you do!
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
It Had to Be You by Susan May Warren is a Christiansen Family novel. This one follows Eden, a simple obits writer who is waiting for her time to do something great. She has little faith in herself and feels like everyone else in the family has really made it but she hasn't. But what will happen when she starts to become friends with Jace, the star of her brother's professional hockey team. Is he really a bad boy as she initially assumed? Can they both get past their insecurities and allow God to heal them so they can love again? And what about this mysterious John Doe they find in the hospital? Will they figure that mystery out?
This is another great story just as you would expect from Susan May Warren. Yes it is a love story, and as such many parts are predictable. It is, however, still very enjoyable and there is a bit of a mystery and other elements involved. This would make a fabulous beach read this summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Had To Be You

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Had To Be You is a great read. Susan May Warren is the best when it comes to a good, tear jerking, and romance. I can't wait to read book 3 of the series when it releases.
Great addition to the Christiansen Family series.
Highly recommended.
5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:June 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eden works for the newspaper while watching out for her younger brother, a hockey player. When she meets Jace, hockey team captain, she hopes he will mentor her brother, but Jace has other ideas and the two clash over various issues.
I thought this was a very good book even though I am not a fan of hockey. The characters are interesting and the overall story was well written as was the previous book in the series. There is a novella in the back of the book about Eden's parents. I liked the novella, but preferred the main story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only give 5 stars to books that I think I will come back and re-read. This is definitely one of those books! I loved it from the get go. I enjoy reading books about strong female characters that are attracted to a strong dominate male. I think it is the interplay between the characters, the funny strong interactions, and ultimately the choice to trust/love/put the other person first that I enjoy. I enjoy reading fiction and I enjoy reading clean romances. This book definitely fit the bill. I enjoyed this book so much that despite having two young kids, once I started the book I didn't go to bed until I had finished it. Made for a rough next day but well worth it! Strongly recommend picking it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Predictable, cliche, but not nauseating

Date:June 12, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a general rule I don't read books categorized as "romance" - they're so sickly sweet I gag if I try to read them.
Good news. This book isn't like that. It has some good messages in it, and the characters are real enough.
Bad news. There's still way too much kissing for my taste. I know that may sound prudish, but kissing before they're a couple, kissing when they aren't sure about their coupleness. It takes about halfway through the book to start, but once it does it's implied that it's pretty serious kissing. I find that very disappointing since this work is labeled as a Christian work. I get that the characters aren't perfect. Neither am I. But as writer you also influence people's ideas, perceptions. Maybe even help them form some ideas for their own life. I know, there aren't sex scenes or things like that which (I hear) are common in non-Christian romance novels. But what about fleeing from temptation? What about setting a higher standard?
The story would be quite compelling without the unnecessary kissing ... or at least some of the descriptions accompanying those scenes.
I give the book 2.5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CathyRN
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not know this was the 2nd in a series but it is fine as a stand alone book. Eden has been there for hockey star brother Owen, cheering him on always. She wants to become more than that, to have a life of her own doing what she wants. She feels attracted to Jace but fears he is going to use her to get to her brother. The story also includes a friend of Jace's who is dealing with the rapidly deterioration of his daughter's health. How each of the characters deals with their life and learn to lean on God and trust him is captivating and it is hard to put this book down until you are finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for It Had to Be You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much for sleep...

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some things in life I don't recommend.
Starting a book at ten o'clock and then not being able to put it down... not one of my best ideas. And yet, I can't think of a better way to spend my night.
It all comes down to a battle between, "I really should get some sleep. I have a lot of stuff I need to do tomorrow" and "Oh my gosh this is amazing! There's no way I'll survive if I leave this till tomorrow!"
Every once in awhile we come across one of those books that does this to us, and for me, this was one of them. Now, maybe I was just desperate for a late night read. Maybe I was in the mood for a good romance. Maybe I just have a thing for good looking hockey players.... but whatever it was, Susan May Warren gave it to me. Her characters became my family and I loved how manly the hero was. I can't stand weak male protagonists. He was willing to go after the girl and he knew what he had to do to get her. I think men could learn a thing or two from Mr. Jace Jacobsen.
I would read this again and I highly recommend it to all lovers of Christian romance. It's a book I'd be proud to add to my collection. I look forward to reading more in this series.
P.S. And just a side note, as a Canadian girl, I really appreciate the hockey. I'm sick of reading about football players :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.