Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Amish Seamstress, The - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Amish Seamstress, The - eBook

Izzy Mueller is an exceptional listener and gifted caregiver. She's also a talented seamstress. As the young woman sits with her elderly patients, she quietly sews as they share their stories. She's content with her life until circumstances reconnect her with someone she once loved. Zed Bayer, a Mennonite, is not what her family is hoping for in a spouse, and his creative interest in filmmaking is definitely at odds with her Amish upbringing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Review 1 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bestselling authors Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould provide an unexpected surprise in The Amish Seamstress, Book 4 in the Women of Lancaster County series, which tells the stories of young Amish women as they explore their roots, connect with family, and discover true love.
Izzy Mueller is an exceptional listener and gifted caregiver. She's also a talented seamstress. As the young woman sits with her elderly patients, she quietly sews as they share their stories. She's content with her life until circumstances reconnect her with someone she once loved. Zed Bayer, a Mennonite, is not what her family is hoping for in a spouse, and his creative interest in film making is definitely at odds with her Amish upbringing.
As Izzy is swept up again in Zed and renews her friendship with his sister, Ella, she begins to ask questions about her own life--her creative longings and historical interests, her relationships and desire for romance, and most importantly, her faith. What is the path God has for her? Can she learn from the past of both her family's and Zed's--or must she forge a completely different future of her own?
My Review:
This was quite the sweet story. Izzy is the girl next door type that you can't help but fall for, and Zed is the man she can never have. Forbidden romances tend to be the stuff of Amish fiction, and I can honestly say that I actually enjoy that particular element about the genre. Something forbidden in general appeals to everyone, but it is definitely prevalent in stories about the Amish.
The authors easily bridge the distance between Zed and Izzy. Amish versus Mennonite certainly puts them in a quandary when it comes to romance, but it is always interesting to see which way the tides will turn. There was lot's of genealogical details and history that made this novel what it is, and I have to say that was my favorite part of the story. A wonderful conclusion to the series, An Amish Seamstress captures the voice of The Women of Lancaster County, brings their story to a close, and leaves you touched by all you have read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bestselling authors Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould provide an unexpected surprise in The Amish Seamstress, Book 4 in the Women of Lancaster County series, which tells the stories of young Amish women as they explore their roots, connect with family, and discover true love.
Izzy Mueller is an exceptional listener and gifted caregiver. She's also a talented seamstress. As the young woman sits with her elderly patients, she quietly sews as they share their stories. She's content with her life until circumstances reconnect her with someone she once loved. Zed Bayer, a Mennonite, is not what her family is hoping for in a spouse, and his creative interest in film making is definitely at odds with her Amish upbringing.
As Izzy is swept up again in Zed and renews her friendship with his sister, Ella, she begins to ask questions about her own life--her creative longings and historical interests, her relationships and desire for romance, and most importantly, her faith. What is the path God has for her? Can she learn from the past of both her family's and Zed's--or must she forge a completely different future of her own?
My Review:
This was quite the sweet story. Izzy is the girl next door type that you can't help but fall for, and Zed is the man she can never have. Forbidden romances tend to be the stuff of Amish fiction, and I can honestly say that I actually enjoy that particular element about the genre. Something forbidden in general appeals to everyone, but it is definitely prevalent in stories about the Amish.
The authors easily bridge the distance between Zed and Izzy. Amish versus Mennonite certainly puts them in a quandary when it comes to romance, but it is always interesting to see which way the tides will turn. There was lot's of genealogical details and history that made this novel what it is, and I have to say that was my favorite part of the story. A wonderful conclusion to the series, An Amish Seamstress captures the voice of The Women of Lancaster County, brings their story to a close, and leaves you touched by all you have read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful read

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though this is the last in The Women of Lancaster County series the authors have done a wonderful job of making The Amish Seamstress read well as a standalone. However, readers familiar with any of the other books (The Amish Midwife, The Amish Nanny or The Amish Bride) will be thrilled at the grand reunion of characters that takes place in this one.
Writing from a first person point of view is perfect for Izzy's story. I loved being inside her mind as she puzzled out runaway emotions and analyzed herself to death. So very 'young woman entering adulthood'! But her growth is phenomenal and well worth the read.
I was also totally captivated by the genealogical aspects in this story. It's a unique way to add mystery to a plot and it kept me on my toes until the very last family history piece fell into place.
A stellar conclusion to the Women of Lancaster County series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fourth book in The Women of Lancaster County series unites the women we’ve come to know and love in the first three books, although The Amish Seamstress could stand alone. Izzy Mueller, a quiet, introverted crafter, often feels out of place in her lively Amish family and retreats to her little workroom to sew. Her best friend, Mennonite Zed Bayer, is into film making but rather than driving them apart his work draws them together. Izzy creates authentic historical costumes for his documentaries.
Zed’s movies explore their entwined family history, going back to Switzerland and immigration to America. Izzy assists with background research, which leads her to the discovery of a hidden struggle and heartache among her ancestors. She pursues further details, but they seem elusive. In the meantime, her caregiving skills are put to use serving others.
Her search for the truth helps Izzy grow and come to know and understand herself better and to gain a clearer picture of what her future may hold. She knows she and Zed will always have a relationship, but will it be more than just good friends? He desires for her “life to be as rich and full—of experiences, of learning, of pushing (her)self—as his.” As they seek God’s will, they will find fulfillment.
Like the other books in the series, this novel contains discussion questions, which thoughtfully add depth to the reading experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
leanie
Location:Dover, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best of this series; I enjoyed the tie in with the previous books. The characters were so heart warming and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Series

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pauly
Location:MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this book as well as the other in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has wonderful characters.

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
pianolady
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, the plots and characters depicted by these two authors is nothing but a great pleasure. I am sorry to know this is the last of the series. Am looking forward to many more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great story in the series

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anita Batey
Location:Scottsboro, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I enjoyed this story, as I have the others in the Women of Lancaster series. I like that Clark & Gould have made the Plain characters more like the rest of us with hurts, fears, & misgivings, even some anger. It also shows that the Amish can have friendships with Mennonite and English people. I hope there will be more in the series or a new series that follows some of the characters we have met.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good features

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maggie
Location:Salisbury, NB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So interesting . Things like recipes and the helpful things that the Amish do to help each other
Good example why we should not jump to conclusions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Favorite!

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Love to Read
Location:New Market, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each time I read a new offering from the talented storytellers, Leslie Gould and Mindy Starns Clark, I say to myself, “This is my favorite!” The Amish Seamstress is no exception. From the first page, I was drawn into the story of Izzy Mueller, her search for her career, relationship with Zed, faith journey, and a place that she didn’t feel like an outsider. I loved the masterful way Leslie and Mindy weaved the history of the Indians and Amish together with Izzy’s own ancestry. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good story! This book will not disappoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Seamstress, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabric & Thread can change a life

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Women of Lancaster County series has been one of my favorite Amish reads of late! I love following the lives of these Amish and Mennonite young women and their families as they discover secrets about their families and along the way, their own selves! It is very intriguing to me that Izzy does not feel that she "fits" with her family. She feels as though she doesn't belong and yet, she feels completely connected and comfortable with Zed and his family. But Zed is a Mennonite and she is Amish. How will they work out the complex relational differences among their faiths and will they desire to bother?
This series has been particularly meaningful to me as it traces the Amish and Mennonite roots back to Switzerland. This book also deals with the Native Americans among the Amish in the very early days of our nation. My own daughters have Cherokee among their heritage on their maternal father's side so I read this part with delight and great curiosity. Come along and read Izzy's story and feel the stitches and fabric of her life as she sews and designs fashions for Zed and her family and friends. I love to sew and craft so I also enjoyed this portion of Izzy's story and I think readers will as well.
I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.