Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Moody Publishers 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income

Ellie Kay, "America's Family Financial Expert ®" and mom of many, has written 1/2 Price Living in response to the working mom's desire to stay at home with her children. Combining her financial background and real-world mom experience, she uses both professional and personal insights to show you how to live on less. She also gives a step-by-step plan to downsize from two incomes to one with practical instruction, true life stories, comprehensive charts, worksheets, and a plan to make it work. This is not a book about deprivation; it's filled with painless tips to make living on one income a pleasure. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 out of 1979%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Review 1 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marigold82
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book with some great tips. She's been there and done it. She walks you through how to switch to one income step by step. Thanks Ellie Kay!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
jewels
Location:Burlington Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
more from a military point of view--- I need from the point of view of 2 parent family non military
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Workbook style of text was disappointing

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neenah
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm sure that my daughter can get some good information out of this book. It seems to be well-written with a well-developed outline. However, the workbook format of the book itself was disappointing. I should have examined it more closely instead of buying it because the subject and the price were right. Oops!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jules
Location:Denver, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my married kids, but had to read it before I gave it out. Some of the stuff I knew, and had used while we lived on a single income years ago.....but some new, challenging info, too. VERY worthwhile reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book wasn't as good as I was expecting!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne
Location:Oconomowoc. WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this book would offer insights that my husband and I don't currently know, but it was pretty much info I have heard before. A couple of pages offered some interesting insights to family meetings, but I mostly skimmed the rest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has interesting stories

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hahnstermeister
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife read this book. She really liked the stories. Some of the suggestions we were already doing, but she has some good ideas to save money. If you are already a frugal person some ideas may not be new to you. We got this book at a value price, so it seems hard to go wrong in purchasing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shortcuts to saving money.

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this book because even though I am not married, I have already learned the EASY way to save money. It all starts with a plan. I really love the coupon idea where you save coupons and then use them for the things that you buy and instead of paying $70 dollars you pay $25 and then you have $20 worth savings for the next time you shop... therefore, you really only spent $5. That is excellent way to save!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I am single and this is not what I was expecting

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Watkins
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
But I would reccomend it to mothers who want to stay home with their children, but I do not recommend it for single mothers, fathers, or no children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon Sanchez
Location:Midland, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently left my job and returned to full time homemaking. I was looking for some new ideas on how to save money and generate some income. I am an empty-nester, and a lot of the information in the book is geared toward younger families. There were suggestions on home based businesses that I found helpful.
I purchased the book on clearance, therefore, it was well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I read this in a weekend.

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Madison WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book in a weekend. We picked up some good ideas and valuable websites that will help us curb expenses in the future. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Information

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Palatka, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a stay at home mom and in our home we only have one income. I bought this book to supplement the information that I already have in place. It is more geared towards those considering going from two incomes to one, although it did have some points that were useful to me it is certainly more geared towards those who are preparing for downsizing incomes not people who are already on a one income, none the less the price and information is of great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tips

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanna
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am excited to read this book! I am in the process of finishing it right now and have found that the tips are easy to follow. Nothing in here is extreme. I am learning how to live off one income, although we are a two income family right now. We are planning a family and want to have me a SAHM so learning how do cut back now is going to pay off. There are exercises, examples, life stories on every topic. Grocery shopping, buying better clothing at cheaper prices, home business, and much more! Great material to read for anyone who is already on one income and even better for those who are going to be one income soon enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jen9803
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an avid couponer, but this book is much more than that! A great guide to learning to live on one income.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vallie
Location:Hastings, Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good reference for women who need a place to start to become a SAHM. It is also has solid ideas for SAHM's who want ideas to help contribute by providing additional income. It is easy reading with some humor and true stories. I liked it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely humorous, but right on about finances!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
maestra
Location:Gooding, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this book intriguing because of the writing style and humor of everyday situations to which all of us can relate. Although not dealing with the one income situation and retired, I did implement many of the premises of this book to economize and get my family to more solid financial ground. It has excellent suggestions and gives detailed step by step ideas for being frugal and a wise steward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for downsizing

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie Giese
Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was reading this book hoping to find tips that would help us live better on one income, but there wasn't much new information that I'm not already doing. It would be a great tool, however, if you are still living on two incomes and wanting to see how it would look without one. There were great planning tools, worksheets, and comparison charts. If I was still working, it would make me look closer at how much I was actually bringing, and if it was worth the price the famly pays as a whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of practical advice

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
INJules
Location:IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book with lots of practical advice on how to make it on one income. Our family has been on one income since our first child was born 7 years ago and this book offers some helpful advice on how to stretch our dollars even farther.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
lowerypam
Location:Albemarle, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not worth the money. Not at all what I wanted. Would not buy another one of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Found this product to be worth the purchase.

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Decatur, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With the economy at a standstill, I wanted to know my options as a married mother of two. Did not know if or when we may be reduced to one income and what to do if it were to happen. This book helped me tremendously with my worries, fears, and preventative actions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 Price Living: Secrets to Living Well on One Income
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Dupree
We love this book and have been giving them to our clients by the hundreds. Everyone finds lots of very useful information in these inexpensive books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>