Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Hunter's Moon - eBook

Bethany House Hunter's Moon - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hunter's Moon - eBook
Review 1 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jona
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
“Hunter’s Moon” by Don Hoesel
This book takes place in Adelia, New York, regarding the death of C.J. Baxter’s grandfather and family secrets. I honestly cannot tell you much about this book because I couldn’t get past the first seven chapters and didn’t finish it. For this being listed as a Christian book, my feeling was, it was too edgy and worldly for my liking. This book was given to me to review from Bethany House Publishers. I cannot recommend reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Political Thriller with Skeletons in the Closet!

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thirst for political power, old secrets, and picturesque scenery is what this book is all about. CJ is a bestselling novelist whose family can trace their roots back to the American Revolution. But they have never reached high-political office. CJ's brother hopes to change all that. His campaign manager invites the family back to New York in hopes to help win the election. When CJ's Tennessee life in Tennessee becomes a shambles he decides to take them up on the offer. However CJ's knowledge of his brother's past could do more harm then good.
I give this book 4 stars! The book itself is well written and researched and was a fun read. The authenticity of location comes through load and clear. This is understandable considering the author was born in upstate new york and calls Tennessee home. I did not see the God message in it. While the truth does come out it just seemed to lack a faith-based message and for a christian published book I expect more.
*Disclaimer: I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishers. I received no other compensation. The above opinion and rating was written of my own accord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow moving, but decent

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:Linden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first began reading "Hunter's Moon", I was expecting a thrilling story, a mystery, a conspiracy - something along those lines. For this reason, the book falls below my expectations. It is a decent book, and I half-heartedly recommend it - just don't expect a nail-biter story.
My next issue was the pacing and plot development. Have you ever been with a friend at their family reunion, where everyone is telling stories and inside jokes or reminiscing about memories? You know that uncomfortable feeling you get, because you realize you are an outsider? That's the feeling I had for about half of this book. There is so much space dedicated to CJ's past and memories... Not to mention that I'm not really sure what the main plot even was. There were also many details and side issues left unresolved at the end.
Good things to say about it: Um... I laughed out loud a lot. The author has some really good humor.
In short, it's not a bad book...just not a great one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
It is hard to give a summary of this novel without giving too much away. But really the author's merit is in the writing more than the story. The prose is nearly poetic as it weaves through the history of the Baxter family and into the present, without ever feeling like it was trying leaving the reader with a feeling that the novel is art as well as a good story. In fact it almost seems to move from simply excellent writing, to reading like a movie. The Baxter family is written like a (very) dark version of the Kennedy's, though Hoesel does a brilliant job of down-playing the family's success making them seem more ridiculous. Rather than a compound in the Hamptons, they are based out of a small New York town. And though they feel as though they have all the power, the successes are really only CJ and Graham, the rest are merely bullies and crooks. The author is also unafraid of some gray area, CJ and his high school girlfriend are placed back into feelings that neither know what to do with, and cannot act on. In fact playing in the gray seems to be an overall theme for the novel, leading to more than rounded characters. I feel as though I almost can't help but talk about (or even think about) the characters as though they were real. Scenes that felt as though they would be campy in any other novel feel exciting, and nearly plausible. This novel is without a doubt worth reading over and over again. I am excited to see what Don Hoesel has in store for readers in the future. CJ routinely accused of writing autobiographically, and perhaps this was an extension of the author's own self suspicion (only without the crazy family) - leading to an enjoyable character, perfect mix of humor, excitement, suspense, and not only great story, but fantastic writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
While I was thinking about what I was going to write for my review of the book, Hunter's Moon, this one phrase kept coming to mind. I should have read it sooner! This was a book that I received awhile ago to review, along with a few others. I just kept shuffling it to the bottom of the pile. My favorite types of books are contemporary and mystery. And this is a good mystery book! I should have read it sooner!CJ Baxter left home 17 years ago, vowing never to return. With him, it took one of the families darkest secrets. When the death of his favorite uncle brings him back home, he comes face to face with the past that he had been running from. With CJ's brother Graham running for Senate, how far will the family go to keep CJ and his secret quiet?This is a good book, with twists and turns to keep you interested. A good mystery -- with a small twist that I didn't see coming until the last minute. Definitely a must read for anybody who loves a good mystery!This book was published by Bethany House. Click here to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
If you are looking for a novel full of suspense, then Don Hoesel's "Hunter's Moon" is a must read for you. The main character, CJ Baxter, returns to his family home in Adelia, NY after being away for seventeen years. He returns only because his grandfather, his favorite family member, has passed away. When CJ left Adelia, he vowed to never return and he carried with him a deep family secret. Since leaving, he has become a successful novelist with all his stories coming from his own life. As he returns to Adelia, CJ not only has to deal with his grandfather's funeral, he has to decide what he is going to do with this secret he has been carrying. He knows that if the secret is revealed, it could potentially bring down his entire family and ruin his brother's chance at winning a US Senate seat. What happens next will keep you on the edge of your seat.Hunter's Moon was an excellent read. This was my first book to read by Don Hoesel and it will not be my last. The author spends a lot of time on character development in those first few chapters which makes the book a little hard to get into and keep up with all the different people. But once you make it through those chapters, the book will pull you into the story and you will be anxiously reading to find out what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
I have been receiving books from Bethany House Publishing to read and review. The latest was Hunter's Moon by Don Hoesel. Its Christian Contemporary Mystery Fiction. Although the Christian parts are sparse and they seem to just be thrown in to make the book sell in Christian circles, the book itself was quite enjoyable. I am a mystery fan and this had a good amount of mystery and intrigue in it. It deals with the Baxter family in Upstate New York and the "Royalty" they represent. Hidden underneath though are secrets that end up ripping the family apart and creating the main themes of lies and betrayal, ending in forgiveness that is the crux of this book. Hunter's Moon was a good read and I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley McClay
This book received a lot of great reviews at CBD and Amazon. However, I was really bored. I didn't even read half of it. I ended up flipping to the end to see what happens and then put it back on my shelf. I love suspense but this just didn't interest me. But... it was enjoyable to many others so be sure to read what others who DID enjoy had to say about it. Thank you to Bethany House for sending me a free copy of Hunter's Moon to review! Sorry it couldn't be more positive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
I was pretty disappointed in this book. I was really expecting a good intrigue with lots of suspense and maybe some action. What I got was a lot of the main characters deepest thoughts about everything! I liked the main idea for the book, but felt it too slow moving. There really wasn't any climax until the very end of the book - too little, too late for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
Hunter's Moon by Don Hoesel is the story of best-selling author C.J. Baxter. With his personal life falling apart, C.J. returns to his hometown in Upstate NY for the first time in 17 years to attend his grandfather's funeral. His return is met with mixed reactions from his family and old friends. He soon realizes that the old wounds that kept him away for so many years have never healed. He discovers the family secrets are still buried and that his brother and father will stop at nothing to keep them buried.I enjoyed reading this book and found it both entertaining and suspenseful. I didn't find it to be particularly Christian however. Apparently C.J. was saved about a month before the beginning of the book. That is not mentioned until well into the plot, and then quite vaguely. In addition, there is a renewed love interest in his former girlfriend who is now married to his cousin. There were things that occurred between the two of them that were definitely inappropriate since they were married to other people. It's not really the behavior that I found as disturbing as much as the lack of repentance or conviction of sin that was expressed by either C.J. or Julie. I do recognize that many believers do struggle with inappropriate feelings towards members of the opposite sex, and I think the author missed an excellent opportunity to demonstrate how a Christian should respond to those feelings.If you're looking for a suspenseful book without bad language and graphic descriptions of violence, then I would recommend this book. If you're looking for a book that is inspiring and causes you to think about your Christian faith, this is not it.I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I was not compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
I was disappointed in this book because it is published as a Christian book but the main character showed no signs of being a Christian even though he was suppsed to be a new Christian, his thoughts, actions, everything showed just the opposite. He drank, sought revenge on people, showed spite instead of forgiveness. It may have been a good plot if the character of CJ had shown any Christian character at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Secrets, secrets. Some secrets should never be kept and Hunter's Moon reveals why. Very interesting reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
The Baxters are a family of power and tradition who settled in Adelia. At present, the older brother, Graham, is running for the Senate, position for which he will fight at all costs, despite who gets in the way. CJ Baxter, the youngest brother, is a writer who left his hometown for college, never come back, and has used his books as a refuge from his past; the secret he's carried for years has crippled him to enjoy his present and has permeated in his writing, to the outmost displeasure of his relatives. He goes back to Adelia when his grandfather passes away; little did he know that his life would change drastically in about a month by going back. CJ was expected at the funeral, but to everyone's surprise, he stays in Adelia without an apparent purpose; however, CJ is fleeing a nasty divorce and his uncertainty of himself as a writer, making him unwilling to leave.Facing truths and confronting himself, CJ learns that he has fed his anger and that he must decide to let it go. In the process, he finds out that his brother's campaign is tainted with personal interests and support from whom CJ least expects; if this information goes public, Graham will never make it to Senator and might face prision, along with the others involved. Before arriving to Adelia, CJ had been asked to write an article about his brother; with everything he's found out, his life is now imperiled.The beginning of the book is a little slow. The author describes family members thoroughly; even the homestate, a loyal portrait of the Baxter character, gets a fine picture done throughout the pages. But this proves its importance as the plot develops. All those aspects help to shape the main characters, and make the ending more thrilling, making the reader no longer able to put the book down!!I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review, but this does not bias my opinion on the book nor the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
j.kramasz
The book begins with CJ Baxter, a novelist, returning today Adelia as his grandfather is dying. His life is in shambles; he is getting divorced, has a lawsuit pending, his wife has frozen his assets and there is a warrant for his arrest. His family has long been the family with power and influence in Adelia and with that came dark family secrets. With his brother now running for senate, CJ becomes a liability as he digs into his families past.The book begins very slowly, but as it unfolds it proves to be a very interesting and suspenseful story. A great amount of detail is put into developing the characters and the small town of Adelia comes alive to the reader.While I overall enjoyed the book, I do have a few complaints. While it is meant to be a Christian book, there is very little content that deals with faith. There is a reference to CJs recent conversion, yet we arent told anything about it. It seems that the author wants the reader to see CJ growing in faith, yet there is little Scripture or prayer involved. There are many difficult issues brought up; adultery, domestic violence, and bitterness to name a few. Most of these issues are left unresolved and there is little about forgiveness or repentance. It seems that there could have been many opportunities to share the gospel of grace with these situations, but it never happens.I must mention that I did receive a complimentary review copy of this book, however that in no way influenced my opinion of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Sorensen
I enjoyed this novel. I think you will enjoy it also. I recommend betting ahold of it.The Baxter family roots go back a long way into American history. So do their secrets. When CJ, one of the sons, threatens to write an expos on his family, more pointedly his senate-aspiring brother, the power-hungry of the clan decide it's time to take action. When the family also begins to see itself in CJ's books, they wonder if he'll bring the whole house down through the revelation of a dark secret from the past.Filled with complexities of familial relationships, delightful depictions of small town life in Upstate New York, and many twist, turns and startling revelations, Hunter's Moon will catch you by the hand, running with you page by page until you reach the dramatic conclusion. If I were to offer one minor critique of this novel, borrowing from one literary journal's review, it would be this: The Library Journal writes "Hoesel [writes about] ...the faith that guides one through life." I would have liked to have seen more of that faith, or rather, the God of our faith, guiding CJ and a few other believers in the story, through these complex twists and turns in life. While looking to God is mentioned a few times, I didn't really see their faith as all that vital to the plot, its resolution and outcome as it could have been. I think the author could have incorporated this more without making the novel a "cheesy," false representation of Christianity. Otherwise, this was a very enjoyable book.Hoesel is a new author to me (I've not read Elisha's Bones, but may have to having read Hunter's Moon). Initially (about the first three to four chapters), I thought he was a bit wordy in all the fine details he was describing. However, once you get into the plot of the story, all those details help paint a wonderful picture on a canvas filled with family relationships (some strained to the breaking point and others that hold the family together), intrigue and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
Hunter's Moon by Don Hoesel is about well known writer, CJ Baxter. After being gone for seventeen years, CJ comes back home to Adelia, NY after the death of his grandfather. The Baxters have always wanted to build a political dynasty and those dreams are finally coming true through CJ's brother, Graham. But there is a secret that the brothers share and it could ruin Grahams plans. CJ is a new Christian, and has trouble dealing with his family, his soon to be ex-wife and knowing that its time people really knew what happened. CJ soon finds himself in grave danger and finds out a secret his mother and father have kept from him all his life. This book is a good illustration between good and evil, and right and wrong. I received a free copy of this book to review from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Chamberlain
Hunters Moon is an excellent book. I really like the picture on the cover of the smoking gun and the title of the book. I always look in the book to find out what both of these mean. I thought this book was clear on what they meant. CJ is an author and his grandfather passed away, CJ decided to return to his hometown to attend the funeral. That is when all of the past comes at him. All of the things he has tried to cover up or forget his whole life. Hunters Moon has many things, secrets, domestic violence, anger, bitterness and you can see how all of this affects the family. One holds a secret about the other that has shaped the entire families lives and could destroy their future. CJ Baxter has only recently become a Christian, and he is still struggling but makes the right life choices in the end. CJ has been away from his hometown for many years, but finds in the end that it is a special place. This book is full of action, adventure, happiness, sadness, betrayal, and life. Like I said Hunters Moon is an excellent book, but it started out slow and I would have loved the ending to have been more to it. I would have liked having the ending wrapped up more and find out what is going on with each character. This would be a great book to have a sequel to. Overall I really love this book. It held my interest very easily and I would recommend it to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Hunter's Moon by Don Hoesol is about a man who go backs to his childhood home when his grandfather dies. A lot has happened in his recently so he decided to stay there for a little while. But nothing but trouble and unanswered questions surrounded him. This was not a good book. The only semi-good thing about this book was the plot. There were so many things I didn't like. One is that it is published as a Christian book, but there is nothing in that book that really screams out Christianity. There are only 4 pages out of the book where they even mention God. Before that, I think God was only mentioned a couple times. I think their excuse was that he had only been a Christian for a month. I'm sorry, but that is no excuse. I would have never guessed he was a Christian! He drank, went to the bar, cursed even though they didn't have the words in the book. That's pretty sad. I was disappointed in Bethany House for even publishing this book or at the very least not even trying to make this a Christian book! What is wrong with authors and publishers today?! This book was given to me free from Bethany House as long as I review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
This is the first book of Don Hoesels that Ive read and while Im not personally a huge fan of the suspense genre, I think that those who enjoy suspense and crime stories will not be disappointed. This story centers around CJ Baxter, a writer who is estranged from his wife, losing his marriage and facing a lawsuit. When CJs grandfather dies, he is summoned to New York for the funeral, after being away seventeen years. Things get complicated when CJs brother, Graham, who is running for Senate, has to deal with secrets that could sabotage his campaign. As the plot thickens and brother turns against brother political power takes precedence over family ties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hunter's Moon - eBook
This review is fromHunter's Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
This is a well-written novel, that definitely strikes off the beaten path when it comes to Christian fiction. My guess is that Don is trying to appeal to both a Christian and non-Christian readership. His main character, CJ Baxter, has only recently become a Christian, and it's made abundantly clear that he is still struggling to remember that this should be affecting his life choices. His conscience does eventually begin to prick at him, but the overall tone of the book is similar to main-stream political/crime novels for over 90% of the book.Without giving too much away, the premise of the story is about a well-connected family that has been driven by aspirations for political power for generations. Driven to the point of murder. There is more than one family secret that comes to light in this novel, and the main character struggles with his anger over having to shoulder some of these secrets so that others would avoid the consequences. Learning to forgive, or at least to choose not to want to be angry, is a large theme in this story that features back-stabbing, domestic violence and the bitter war that can be waged using personal property in separation or divorce.A good story, but leaves you feeling winded and more like you've finally reached the beginning of his spiritual journey - at the very end of the novel. I would like to have seen more spiritual growth in the character by the novel's end. (Perhaps this character will be seen again in another book that will cover that? Time will tell.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>