Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black

Zondervan NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black

Bring God's Word into Focus! The NIV Large Print Reference Bible offers the perfect combination of easy-to-read text and carry-along convenience. Great for people on the go, this handy-sized reference Bible with 12-point font gives you the study help you want in the large print you prefer.

Features
  • Readable 12-point type
  • Extensive end-of-paragraph reference system
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • NIV 2011 Update text
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Review 1 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
candy
Location:Honolulu, HI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this smaller sized Bible to fit my Puppy Bible Cover. Its large print makes reading it in the dimmer light of the sanctuary a breeze and the thumb index helps me find the passage before the Pastor has moved on. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

font size is perfect

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
howl
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to CBD font chart where you can verify the size before you buy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible!

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethAnn
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for a friend that is learning about the Bible, and she just loves it. In Bible Study, she can now find the place in the Bible where we are studying and read the print perfectly. I then purchased another Bible for myself because it is just wonderful. It is a great gift for someone or just yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice size, easily readable, thumb index helpful

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Castleman
Location:Florence, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an okay bible in a convenient size for carrying/ travel. Print size is excellent. Thumb indexing is helpful. The cover is okay but thin. Hopefully it is durable. The one thing I wish it wasn't- it is printed in China - a country that restricts bible printing for its own people, and persecutes Christians.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
gnix
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my 13 year old daughter. She picked it out. I checked it out. No interpretation. Just the Word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
natslew
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible in no way was what a thought it would be. Hardly any margins. I have already given it away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done translation!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Portagee
Location:Bakersfield
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this edition of the 2011 NIV for several months as my teaching bible in my Bible class. After repeatedly checking the translation against the original languages I have been impressed by the 2011 revision. That is not to say I agree with every choice of the translators. However, the 2011 NIV does a good job of communicating both content and thoughts of the scriptures into contemporary language. It shows restraint on the issue of gender language (more so than, I believe, the NRSV), it also avoids potential misunderstanding by wooden, word-for-word translation (a issue at times for the NASB and the ESV), and has a sounder textual base than the KJV and NKJV. Especially if used in conjunction with a good formal equivalent translation (NRSV, ESV, or NASB) the 2011 NIV will help Christians get a deeper understanding of God's word. I am looking forward to it soon becoming available in the NIV study bible edition!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Alexandria, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to read and I love the highligted areas in the bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the thumb index.

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
carol
Location:Boonville, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Besides the thumb index, I love the color and the small size, makes it easy to handle...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Largeprint, Reference Bible, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Scott Snyder
Location:Va
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible. The verse references are more extensive than my previous bible. The bible is very well made and both the printing and cover are very high quality. It should last a long time. Words of Christ are in red although the description doesn't say so.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.