Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook

Bethany House What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook

What Your Son Isn't Telling You provides parents with a rare look into the secret lives of their teenage sons. Your son's world is full of peer pressure, the need to be a tough guy and a fear of expressing his true feelings. Each chapter of this must-read book is packed with real-life stories and emails from teen boys that will give you a new understanding of what your sons aren't telling you. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Review 1 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great intro book into the world of teen boys

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom2jc
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though my son has not yet entered the teenage years, I found What Your Son Isn't Telling You, by Michael Ross and Susie Shellenberger, great preparation in “unlocking the secret world of teen boys". Having been a teen girl at one time, I felt a bit more equipped when my daughter entered the teen years. However, I recognize that teen boys are entirely different creatures and the turbulent teenage years of boys were not going to look the same as girls.
Through discussion of topics such as the needs of teen boys, risk taking, anger and depression, potential battlegrounds, rejection of Christianity, and sexuality, the authors help parents reach and assist their teen sons though greater understanding. I found the numerous quotes of teen boys throughout the book to be especially helpful.
Ross and Shellenberger give parents a glimpse into issues that concern a teen boy the most, where the greatest challenges lie, strategies to walk along side your teen son, and how to keep the communication lines open. This is an excellent read for both moms and dads, even if your son has not hit the teen years yet. After reading What Your Son Isn't Telling You, I certainly feel better equipped for when I'll be mom to a teenage boy in a couple of years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is a look inside the mind of a typical Christian teenage boy. The authors cover all of the teenage issues and offer sound, biblical advice on how to guide your teenage son through the difficult years of adolescence. The book includes many true stories and questions/comments that teenage boys have sent them.
If you have a son entering the teenage years this is a book I would recommend. However, if you have read other books on this topic, you may not find anything new here.
I have a teenage son who is really struggling and I was hoping to find help here. While there is some valuable advice here, most of it seems to be geared towards boys who have true saving faith. Just being raised in a Christian home does not mean that our sons have been converted and by the time they are teens they may have completely rejected our faith. If that is the case for your son, as it is with mine, there really isn’t much help to be found in this book. Having read several other similar books, I didn’t really find anything new in this one.
I must mention that I did receive a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight for parents and children's ministry

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:Erie, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a couple of preteen boys I've had some trouble connecting to as a Children's Ministry director. I got this book to potentially use as a foundation for a mentoring class (taught by a man). In reading through, I gained incredible insight about our guys and have really made huge strides in connecting with them. Read about one Sunday School class here: http://www.growingkidsministry.com/?p=2192
Great book!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Whitaker
Excellent resource for anyone who deals directly with boys. Scriptural reference to backup each claim.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
I am a reviewer for Bethany House and I received a copy of this book in the mail recently. As I was working my way through this book I found a lot of the information provided by the author to accurately reflect the average teenage boy. The authors did an excellent job work with some very tough issues that boys face and parents rarely hear about. These issues are not only difficult for teenage boys to go through but they are difficult for parents as well and this is where this book is very helpful. While the authors are limited in the scope they can offer they do provide an excellent general overview of the issues teenage boys face. It would be extremely difficult to get much past the basic generalizations because every teenage boy is different. God did not make two boys the same and this means the authors would not be able to address every single uniqueness or nuance of teenage boys. With that being said this is an invaluable beginning resource. It provides Biblical and practical ways to deal with the average teenage boy. While more specialized information may be needed for your teenage son, this book will start you off in the right direction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
What Your Son Isnt Telling You by Michael Ross and Susie Shellenberger is an insightful look into the world of teen boys. Raising teens can be difficult and, because boys often do not open up to their parents, they can be especially hard to understand. The topics covered in this helpful book include bullying, anger and depression, safety in cyberspace, dating and lust issues, communication, and more. The book includes many quotes and personal stories from boys that make it real, and gives solid advice to parents about helping their boys in each area.My son is a bit past the teen years, but I still found the book helpful to see somewhat into the male mind and to understand the issues that teen boys struggle with. I wish I had had access to this book when he was thirteen and we were just beginning this journey.I received a free review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
As a professor, I have worked in different grades, from junior high school to postgraduate. This period of boy's lives is a turning point; they are in search for their identity and come to realize that growing up has consequences and responsibilities. I've been able to observe that many teen boys act tough, but their inside is quite different - fragile, thriving for family support and peer acceptance. Thats what called my attention to this book.I enjoyed reading it. It was a wonderful insight into how a teen boy sees life and feels; few books have presented such a unique approach to understanding teenagers as this one does. A real treasure are the many e-mails and letters the authors have used as example. They are a practical way to identify ourselves with them. It is an invitation to see the world from their point of view and exercise a bit of empathy with that boy who is facing a difficult time in his life, wanting independence and needing support at the same time.The authors emphasize the role of parents in shaping and affirming a boys identity, even today, when drugs, bullies, cyber sex, child pornography and other issues threaten every teenager. Besides that, they suggest answers and initiating dialogues from a biblical perspective, always supported on the Scripture. The authors emphasize the different roles of mothers and fathers. However, we are living times when single parents are raising their kids on their own; I would have liked to see more content related to single parenthood, just because of the fact it exists. I wish I could give a copy of this book to every person who has to do with a teen boy, whether a parent, a teacher, a pastor or a counselor. We must realize that they are looking for support and acceptance; if we are not there for them, someone else will who?Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review; in no way has this biased my opinion on the book or on the authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
I have two very young boys age 3 and 6I was interested in reviewing this book as a mother and a youth worker. Although I know there is nothing new under the sun, I also acknowledge that our children face a myriad of things at younger ages. I was surprised at the scope of this book and its readability. It deals with so many issues and offers great biblical wisdom and insight into effectively dealing with these issues and teaching our young men how to deal with them also. An excellent resource for any parent or youth worker. I truly appreciated the way the authors used true life experiences of youth age boys to show examples. A special thanks to the authors for their hard work and thoughtful application of the truth of the Word of God to all situations. An excellent resource I highly recommend it, I know mine will be well used.Thank you Bethany House for this free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie McCoy
Although I don't have teenage boys yet, I do have two sons who will be approaching this stage in the future. When I saw that there was a book co-written by Susie Shellenberger, I agreed to review this book from Bethany House for free. Growing up in the 1980s and 1990s, Susie Shellenberger was well-known in our home. I suscribed to Brio magazine and owned some of her books for teenage girls. Her advice was Biblical and helpful during a very difficult stage of life. With this, I received this book and it's just what a parent needs in understanding the mind of a teenage boy. The other author, Michael Ross, created Breakaway, a magazine for teenage boys. The two authors have written several books for teenagers and have helped parents all over the world in this trying stage of life. This current book is full of wonderful advice for both parents and teenage boys. At the beginning, the book describes "how a boy's world looks and feels (p.12)" by talking about things like "rejection, fascination with the opposite sex, and his drive for independence (p.15)." These things are just a small portion of the basics of teenagehood. There are different stages of puberty and the book describes what happens at each stage. Next come topics such as cruelty caused by peers, emails from teen boys, the different battlegrounds they face, how to communicate to your son and much more. Parents will appreciate the chapters on "what he needs from mom (p.145)" and the important role of fathers, or as described, "guy time (p.161)." As my boys get older and face this stage of life, I know this book will get lots of wear and tear with all the help it's going to give. I highly recommend all parents of teenage boys to own a copy of this book. So many topics are discussed in this book with real life examples for parents to understand and relate. What a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
If you are raising a son you need this book. The authors, Michael Ross and Susie Shellenberger, have combined their many years of experience (more than 50!) in working with teenagers. This book will show you how to get connected in three basic areas and open up a deeper communication with your son. This book combines emails and letters the authors have received from teenage boys, and lays bare the struggles our young men face. It also tells you what you can expect as your son reaches certain ages and how to be sensitive to the changes taking place. A fantastic resource for parents, this book covers it all drugs, sex, pornography, communication, the role of a mother and father, anger, depression, risk taking and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Your Son Isn't Telling You: Unlocking the Secret World of Teen Boys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
T. Cox
Great book ... a definite eye-opener for moms like me. You'll learn how your son thinks and ticks. You'll hear about his struggles from real teens ... and you'll discover how to connect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.