Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black

Zondervan NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black

Lightweight. Versatile. Easy to read. This Bible was made to be your everyday go-to Bible. Whether carrying it to church, packing it in your suitcase, or taking it to Bible study, its thin size is built to travel. And with a 10.5 large-print font, the NIV Thinline Bible, Large Print allows you to read God's Word with ease.

Features
  • Large 10.5-point text for comfortable reading
  • Presentation page—ideal for gift giving
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Ribbon marker
  • NIV 2011 update text
  • Gold page edges
  • Extra-thin edition
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I am satisfied with this purchase.

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
charlie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I forgot to check if enough Reference/helps would be included . My main purpose for this purchase was the LARGE PRINT.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor translation...the NIV has changed.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
River Smith
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish that I had not had my husband's name inscribed on this Bible because I would return it in a heart beat had I realized that the NIV has changed from the 1984 version. I am SO disappointed with this translation.
Now, the quality of the Bible is fine. The size of the large print is fine. But there was no other NIV option but this translation. And that is a poor business decision on behalf of the company, in my opinion.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Niv Bible

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adriano Teixeira Da Silva
Location:Brazil - São Paulo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautifully bound Bible, the cover is nice. It could have books introductions, but it's a fine Bible.
Adriano - Brazil
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to read.

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lulu
Location:Alexandria MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase. Only regret is that it does not have a concordance. It is "man sized" so not appropriate for a lady.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was ideal as a gift.

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stan
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific as a gift for a man who needed large print. He had long cherished my Bible, which is not large print, but didn't know that large print is available in a Bible similar to mine. He very much appreciates the leather cover, as well; I had his name placed on the cover.
He's a happy man!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Bible at a Nice Price!

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
saintfine
Location:Chattanooga TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like the NIV translation this is a handy Bible for church or your briefcase. Very thin. Nice Bible at a Nice Price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a perfect bible

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
dfinnan
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? As a pastor of 35 years, this bible meets my expectations first in biblical translation and quality of workmanship. It is thin, flexible and lays flat every time I open it, and the print size is perfect for public reading from a distance as well as personal. I highly recommend it to all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Husband LOVED it!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grammy Cross
Location:Gore, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband picked this out from dozens that he looked at online. It's exactly what he wanted. He finds it easy to carry because it's not big and heavy, and the print is large enough that he almost doesn't need his glasses to read it! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love everything but the cover

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surly Steve
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the updated version of NIV. The format is great and easy to read.
My only disappointment was my understanding of "Top Grain Leather"... I was expecting the cover to be the soft, nice smelling, expensive leather.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Print and Quality

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Steve
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just what I was looking for. Print I can read in the pulpit and a quality binding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ok but a little too flimsy.

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bklyn for Christ
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bible so that I wouldn't have to use glasses to read it. It's OK as far as the font size goes, but it IS large. For some reason I hought it would be thicker and not so large H & W wise. The cover and the pages are very thin and probably won't last very long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thinline Large-Print Bible--top grain leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice, Portable Bible

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
trek4fr
Location:DFW, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This edition of the NIV is probably the ultimate in portability, which means that while it is a great "take-with" Bible, it has no "bells and whistles."
The Pros: The font size is good (10.5 pt) and the paper is fairly white with not too much ghosting (text showing through from the reverse page) for a thinline. It is indeed thin and light which makes it easy to carry. The words of Jesus are in red (almost a light maroon in my copy) which, although I don't find that to be absolutely necessary, reminds me that Jesus' teachings trump the rest of the scriptures if they disagree with him. :) The cover is top grain leather and has a nice, supple feel to it. I don't know if this Bible is Smyth-sewn or not but the binding does look good, especially for a "Chinese-made" Bible. This Bible also has a number of thick, empty pages at the front and at the back where a few notes can be inscribed if so desired. And, of course, this is the NIV 2011 update, which I wanted and appreciate.
The Cons: There is no concordance, something that I always need. There are no maps. There are no cross-references. As I said, no bells or whistles, just text (except for textual notes and a table of weights and measures). Finally, I wish it was single-column instead of double-column.
All in all, for me the pros of this edition outweigh the cons. If it only had a concordance and was single-column, it would be the perfect Bible for me and my needs. But I'll enjoy it until a better edition comes along.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.