Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric

Tyndale House NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric

Together: The Life Application Study Bible & the NLT Study Bible! You don't have to choose between context and application. Expository study notes from the NLT Study Bible help you understand the Bible like a 1st-Century believer. Best-selling Life Application study notes help you apply its truths in a 21st-century world. This Bible recognizes its application is best done with a thorough knowledge of historical and literary context. The NLT Study Bible is excellent at establishing this base. The Life Application Study Bible content guides you in the concrete steps toward application.

The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today’s English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT’s scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages. That’s why we call it "The Truth Made Clear."

Features

  • Study notes from the NLT Study Bible & the Life Application Study Bible
  • Section introductions
  • Book introductions
  • Cross-references
  • Topical index
  • Dictionary & Index for Hebrew & Greek word studies
  • Dictionary/Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • Presentation page
  • 9.75" x 7.00" x 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Review 1 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I sold mine....

Date:May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jim Smerk
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tho I loved the IDEA of this book, the way it is done left us disappointed. Here are our thoughts...
1. The print itself is WAY too small to use as intended. Even our 16yo & up friends say that they can only use it for short periods.
2. Tho some find the life application notes to be the bomb, after using a nlt life application for 3+ years we find them to be biased towards a neutralizing slant on a lot of Gods word. They could have done better by leaving a lot of them out to make room for more of the very goob study notes & graphics from the nlt study bible.
3. And finally, I LIKE the NLT version of the Bible for everyday reading, but as a serious STUDY Bible, not really. It just is too loose a translation for this IMHO.
Now with all of that said I will still recommend it because of the shear volume of information that is inside. As always, before any studying starts pray that the Lord, thru the Holy Spirit, will guide you & open your eye's to any error's in either the Text, or YOUR interpitation of it.
Grab the Roman's Sampler and check it out before you buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!!!!

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shauna D
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this study bible!! This is my best study bible thus far!! I love the parallel study notes! The NLT study notes breaks down the verses very well, and the Life Application study notes are a boost of encouragement for today's generation.. I truly recommend this study bible, not only for yourself, but this would also make an amazing and special gift for someone..
P.S. the dictionary/concordance , maps, hebrew and greek words in the back of the bible are great as well!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible!

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Alabama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a Christmas gift and am completely satisfied with the personalization!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unparalleled Study Bible!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Clyde
Location:Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This parallel Study Bible is the best I've ever seen because, in my opinion, it gives two types of study notes side by side. You really can't beat that. I have many other study Bibles, but I prefer this one over the rest. The ONLY thing I would change is the size of the text. I LOVE this Bible, but I can't read it very much (for regular readings instead of studying) because I have to strain my eyes to see the text. It's not bad and most people probably wouldn't have an issue with it. But if Tyndale released a Large Print edition... It wouldn't hurt my feelings. ;)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, high quality, Study Bible

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:South East Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received my copy of the NLT parallel study Bible. I had looked at previous reviews that stated there were no maps etc, in this Bible. Not true of my copy. It has a good concordance, nice set of maps, and a very good subject index.
I would recommend this Beautiful Study Bible to any one who is wanting to search the Word for a greater understanding of Scripture, And how to apply it to their lives. I pray that our Wonderful LORD would guide you in your study of His WORD.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sara411
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bible, it makes bible study easier, and you can understand the verses better, you have two study resources right there at your finger tips. A must-have for everyone!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent New Study Bible

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rev Warren Muller
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this Study Bible. By combining the two Study Bibles one gains an excellent commentary on the text. Context and application are the two unique features of the commentary, both of which are seldom found together in one Study Bible. I prefer the notes in this Study Bible to the ESV Study Bible, the NIV Study Bible, the Reformation Study Bible, and the Spirit Filled Study Bible all of which I use. The drawbacks would be the font size which could be bigger and I more literal translation for Bible Study would be better. All these things considered I would still highly recommend it as possibly the best all purpose Study Bible out there. I would love to get a leather copy to replace my current hardcover.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study aid

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frd889
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a fan of the NLT translation as far as a deep scholarly study of the Bible, but for a devotional reading it is very nice. That being said, With the extensive notes both scholarly & life application I can say that this Bible is becoming a favorite for basic daily Bible reading. I have all of your major study Bibles & I have to say that the scholar notes on the verses have given me some very interesting info that the other study Bibles do not. In fact these notes have actually broadened my understanding. I would highly reccomend this Bible perhaps not for the translation unless you don't care if it is literal, but I reccomend it for the notes. Don't get me wrong I was led to the Lord in an NLT so I feel even though there is controversy over the translation in some verses, if the Lord used an NLT to save me than thats good enough for me. Combining the scholar notes & life app notes was genious!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Parallel Bible

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Winters
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instead of comparing different translations side by side, this new parallel bible displays study notes and life application notes side by side. This eliminates the need to be switching between a study bible and a life application bible. Nicely done!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this translation.

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
jpickel
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great idea to have two different sets of notes to read with the text I enjoy so much. Makes explaining things to friends so much quicker and more complete.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
none
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible I purchased is a great study guide to help me better understand things in the Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features.

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I like it very much, but think I should have ordered the Large Print version. May return it and order it instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Meets a very specific need . . .

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pammy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the idea. But, this looks like a rough draft. Something that the publisher would release internally or to a focus group for comments before releasing to the public. It does not look like a finished product. The paper seems dull and recycled (forget about using a highlighter), and the print is too small. I think I am comparing this publication with the contents and quality of the two separate publications -- the Life Application Bible and the NLT Study Bible. What have been noticeably excluded from this publication are all those profiles, maps, charts and articles. Basically, what you have here are only the annotations. For those who just want one volume, with notes only, minus all the bells and whistles of the two separate publications, this is your answer. The print could be a but larger though, since it is a Study Bible.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butch
Location:Rockford, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the Bible, and the notes with it.
I only wish there were a dozen blank pages where you, as an individual, could make notations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
This review is fromNLT Parallel Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sher
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the NLT Translation, but the NLT Parallel Bible is disappointing compared to the NLT Study Bible. I have both in hardcover.
Negatives - I didn't notice before I purchased this Bible that the words of Christ are not in red letter, something that is a must for me in any Bible. Many important and useful features that were in the NLT Study Bible have been removed in the NLT Parallel Bible, perhaps to make room for the Life Application study notes without adding many more pages. Gone are Theme Notes, Person Profiles, Visual Aids - Maps, Timelines, Illustrations, Charts & Diagrams. The study notes at the bottom are lighter and somewhat harder to read and the Concordance is a smaller font.
Positives - I do prefer the paper in the NLT Parallel Bible as it feels a bit more substantial. The Book Introductions are shorter and more to the point making it easier to quickly locate important information. Having the Study notes and Life Application notes in one Bible is a great idea.
Undecided - Single column Scripture text in the Parallel Bible. This isn't a major issue except when you're trying to highlight or underline, then it's easier in a double column.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Parallel Study Bible, TuTone IL Black Ornate Floral Fabric
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Brilliant Idea!

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
CBDrocks
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastically brilliant idea! Speaking of the pre-release, one cannot adequately address issues related binding, the size and selection of type font, etc. But hey folks, look what you're getting! The scholarly and detailed resourcefulness of of the NLT Study Bible, combined with the every-day practical insights and features of the Life Application Study Bible, plus the faithfully-rendered and easy-to-read translation (not paraphrase) of the NLT. I daresay you have one of the best Study Bibles available in the history of the English language, or any language for that matter! Now THAT is something to celebrate as we mark the 400th anniversary of the King James Version. If the translators of that majestic version are watching from heaven, I'm sure they're just as eager as we are to see this product released. Kudos to Tyndale and to the individual(s) who came up with this ingenious idea! Soli Deo Gloria!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.