Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook

WaterBrook Press Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Caroline Langston is an investigator for the Labor Commission and often goes undercover as an employee of the company or factory she is investigating in order to determine the working conditions. She reports her findings and based on these findings, changes or charges might be brought against an owner. She is sent to the Dinsmore Chocolate Factory to complete an investigation started by another agent who met an untimely death. She is also supposed to look into this agent’s death to see if it was really an accident as reported or if it was murder. She strikes up a friendship with another worker, Ollie Moore and begins to feel more for him than friendship, but when her investigation is done, she will be going home to Nebraska, leaving Kansas and going to the next job. Caroline also meets three poor children and takes them under her wing. She knows what it is like to be poor, beaten and afraid as she was such as a child. She promotes education for children instead of working in a factory, which puts her in opposition with Ollie. Can they overcome their differences to find love?
Ollie Moore or Oliver Dinsmore is working undercover at his father’s factory to see what improvements he can make and learn the business better for when he takes over from his father. No one knows he is undercover except his father. He offers to help Caroline or Carrie as she is known at the factory in her investigation. He sees her determination, spunk and bravery as well as her faith put to the test. Ollie believes in God, but doesn’t have a personal relationship with Him. As he spends more time with Carrie, he longs to find out who God is and how he can know Him better. Ollie also knows Carrie is the only one for him, but his parents want him to marry someone from his own social class. Can Ollie learn to trust the One who controls everything? Can he learn that prayers are answered and the value of prayer?
Caroline is such a model of Christian compassion, generosity and selflessness. She inspires me to be a better Christian toward the people around me. She had such wonderful mentors in Noble and Annamarie. Even though they are now old, they still mentor and guide Caroline and others; they didn’t retire. Even when Caroline realizes her true purpose in crossing paths with Ollie, she is disappointed, but rejoices with the opportunity God gives her as well. This was just an inspiring, hope-filled story along with some romance that is uplifting to read. I plan to read more of this author’s works and hope other readers will read this one and pass it along to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2014
When I'm in the mood for a compelling historical romance I know I can always count on one of Kim Vogel Sawyer's books. Echoes of Mercy continues her streak of great fiction. She once again brings us a story about a strong female in a non-typical role.
Caroline Lang is an investigator for the Labor Commission. Her heart is for seeing children get an education rather than being forced into labor while they are young. Her mentor and father figure, Noble, has asked her to go investigate the suspicious death of a colleague while undercover at the Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas. Even though she'd rather take some well deserved time off she says yes.
Once she is in Sinclair she interviews for a job at the factory with the sleazy Gordon Hightower. She gets the job as a toter and soon meets the dashingly handsome Ollie Moore. Unbeknownst to anyone at the factory Ollie is really Oliver Dinsmore, son and heir, to the factory. Ollie is there to find out about how the factory works from the inside.
The story proceeds with several unexpected twists and turns that leave Caroline and Ollie seeing to the care of three orphans. The caring of the children draw the two together, but the situation at the factory puts barriers up that seem insurmountable.
One of the things I like about Kim's novels is her clear message of faith. I always come away from one of her books feeling not only entertained but inspired and uplifted. I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a clear gospel message interspersed within an intriguing plot.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touching Story

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Echoes of Mercy by Kim Vogel Sawyer was a good read. There is just something inherently interesting in a historical fiction with the main character being a spy. It's new and different.
The characters were well developed. I felt like they were real people really living somewhere, and I was just watching their lives. It had an interesting plot and was very engaging. That said, I didn't like it as much as I liked Sawyer's What Once Was Lost.
I got this free from Multnomah Publishing for the purpose of this review, which is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Mystery, Child Labor and Romance

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer in her new book “Echoes Of Mercy” published by Waterbrook Press takes us into the life of Caroline Lang.
From the back cover: Sometimes a secret must be kept for the truth to be revealed.
When a suspicious accident occurs at the famous Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate the circumstances surrounding the event and how the factory treats its youngest employees—the child workers. Caroline’s fervent faith, her difficult childhood, and compassionate heart drove her to her job as an investigator for the Labor Commission and she is compelled to see children freed from such heavy adult responsibilities, to allow them to pursue an education.
Oliver Dinsmore, heir to the Dinsmore candy dynasty, has his own investigation to conduct. Posing as a common worker known as “Ollie Moore,” he aims to find out all he can about the family business before he takes over for his father. Caroline and Oliver become fast friends, but tension mounts when the two find themselves at odds about the roles of child workers. Hiding their identities becomes even more difficult when fate brings them together over three children in desperate need. When all is revealed, will the truth destroy the love starting to grow between them?
A Chocolates Factory and a suspicious accident. An investigator for the Labor Commission, Caroline, goes undercover to find out who did it and why. Oliver is also undercover trying to learn about the family company from the bottom up. Both of them collide over child labor and, specifically, three children. Of course there is the element of mystery regarding the accident and the death and that will keep you guessing however the real focus is on child labor before the Child Labor Laws were passed. I knew some of the problems I just didn’t know the full extent of it. Wow, it was terrible. Ms. Sawyer has given us history and social issues all wrapped up in a mystery adventure. Well done! This is also a great romance. Caroline and Oliver are just perfect for one another and it is great fun to go through their relationship with them. Get ready for a very interesting read that will keep you flipping pages.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall...pretty good!

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“When a suspicious accident occurs at the famous Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate the circumstances surrounding the event and how the factory treats its youngest employees—the child workers.”
As always, there is more to the book than just the snipet description on the back of the book. Caroline Lang is a young woman who is part of the Labor Commission who goes undercover to research labor in American corporations. When a death of a fellow agent occurs, Caroline is called into investigate, the death and complete the work of the previous agent.
While there, she becomes friends with one of the workers, and befriends a young girl, and encourages her to go to school, rather than work in the factories, because she believes education is much more important.
All in all, I did enjoy the book, although the area where the kids run off I found a bit too much. I understand the purpose in the outcome of the book, but as I read it, I kept wondering…why?
Typically I do not like multiple voices in a book, because I’m always have to look up and make sure I’m reading the correct person. This one actually seemed to flow pretty well, and I didn’t get too confused.
I’d keep this book to reread, if anything, to see the details I missed the first time around in my eagerness to find out the end result of the story.
Note: I was provided with a free paperback copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion by the Blogging For Books review program. I was not further compensated for reviewing this product and all thoughts and sentiments expressed above are completely my own and unbiased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a suspicious accident occurs at the famous Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate the circumstances surrounding the event and how the factory treats its youngest employees—the child workers. Caroline’s fervent faith, her difficult childhood, and compassionate heart drove her to her job as an investigator for the Labor Commission and she is compelled to see children freed from such heavy adult responsibilities, to allow them to pursue an education.
Oliver Dinsmore, heir to the Dinsmore candy dynasty, has his own investigation to conduct. Posing as a common worker known as “Ollie Moore,” he aims to find out all he can about the family business before he takes over for his father. Caroline and Oliver become fast friends, but tension mounts when the two find themselves at odds about the roles of child workers. Hiding their identities becomes even more difficult when fate brings them together over three children in desperate need. When all is revealed, will the truth destroy the love starting to grow between them?
My Review:
As always, Sawyer delivers a story that is all things to everyone; exciting, romantic, suspenseful, heart-stopping, intriguing, and passionate in the cause Caroline and Oliver are trying to fight for. The chocolate factory was amazing to read about; (who doesn't love chocolate?!) and seeing what factories used to be like back in the infancy of mass production was quite educational.
The story moved along at a good pace, and with the backbone of the story being truth, lies, and secrets hidden - and it is a recipe for success. (Slight pun intended here.) Something interesting that caught my eye was the fact that Oliver and Caroline were on opposite sides of what they felt was a moral issue, and how even the strongest objections can be overcome by love. A wonderful novel about doing what's right no matter what the cost.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Character-driven historical fiction at its best!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:SW MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer is a name that never disappoints. In this volume, she takes us back to the early 1900's and the issue of child labor in factories. One undercover operative placed in Dinsmore's World-Favorite Chocolate Factory has died a suspicious death as he investigates cheap child labor. Enter Caroline, the new, feisty, and determined clandestine worker who needs to uncover how the original operative died as well as the unfair treatment the children may suffer in the factory. Caroline finds a questionable ally in a janitor, Ollie Moore, who is also more than he seems. As she begins to lose her heart, she questions whether she can trust him with her quest to make things more equitable for the children, especially three she has grown close to and will do most anything to protect. Soon she is in a race to protect her job, "her" children, and even her life. Who does she dare trust?
Sawyer does a great job showing how hurts from the past can make us better or bitter. She also shows us that hanging onto hurts of the past can unnecessarily cripple even the best of hearts, affecting others in our lives. We must choose to let God in that area of our lives and let Him heal the pain, so we can move past it. Another great lesson Sawyer shows is the need to depend on others, and to allow them to help us in the hard times.Sometimes we and others in our lives suffer unnecessarily because we try to do things on our own. And who can miss the lesson that we all have great value, although sometimes our value is hidden to others, waiting for the right moment to appear, for our particular skills and abilities to be needed. Bravo, Kim!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good romance with a little mystery thrown in

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Echoes of Mercy is a Christian romance with intrigue, suspense, and a really nasty villain. Caroline, our heroine, is an undercover agent for the Labor Commission. Her mission is to investigate the mysterious death of a fellow agent at the Dinsmore candy factory. She is distracted from her investigation by the handsome and mysterious janitor, Ollie Moore. She tries to ignore her feelings for him, but he keeps popping up everywhere. Another distraction is the family of orphans that have come to depend on her, and all of her questions and snooping have aroused the suspicions of the slimy factory manager, Gordon.
I thought the main plot of Echoes of Mercy was interesting. Caroline and Ollie had to put their heads together to figure out what had happened to the previous agent. Lots of sparks flew between them, and they had good chemistry. I did feel like there were too many subplots that distracted from the main characters and their budding romance. I also felt like there were too many characters to really get to know any of them very well. I did like the bad guy. He was very creepy.
Overall, this was a fun story that I think fans of Christian romance will enjoy very much. If you like Jannette Oke, or similar authors, you would enjoy Echoes of Mercy.
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for free for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ECHOES OF MERCY by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
ECHOES OF MERCY by Kim Vogel Sawyer is another exciting inspirational Historical Fiction set in Sinclair, Kansas. Ms. Sawyer delivers every time wth her thought-provoking tales of romance, love, faith, struggle, healing and forgiveness.
Meet Caroline, Lang, investigator for the Labor Commission, Oliver Dinsmore(Ollie Moore), heir to the Dinsmore Candy Dynasty.
Becoming fast friends, both are hiding secrets, and their identities. Caroline is at Dinsmore to investigate the youngest employees,the child workers at the plant, Oliver poses as a common worker, he wishes to learn all he can before he takes over for his father.
ECHOES OF MERCY will not only capture your heart, but will also have you turning pages long into the night as you learn the fate to list cast of characters. Filled with desperation, struggles, secrets, child workers, and the plight of child workers during the 1900's.
Ms. Sawyer is an amazing storyteller whose stories flows seamlessly, are thought provoking and compassionate. A sweet romance! A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echoes of Mercy by Kim Vogel Sawyer was another of my favorites of hers. I love the author's style of writing and I've read several of her books.
Echoes of Mercy is set in the early 1900's and takes place in Lincoln, Ne as the story opens. It's always fun to read a book with a story from your home state.
This story centers around an "accident" at the Dinsmore's World-Famous Chocolate Factory. Caroline Lang works undercover at the factory to see if she can find out what really happened to a coworker.
The factory employs several children and being an investigator for the Labor commission, Caroline also fights for their rights to be children and attend school.
The factory's heir Oliver Dinsmore, is also working undercover, to understand how it all works before taking over.
As you can imagine, the two meet and emotions collide as they feel they are fighting against each other for what they believe.
This book kept me turning the pages and I highly recommend it.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet historcial romance.

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer again offers up a light mystery set in a historical romance. Carrie or Caroline Lang has worked with the Labor Commission for sometime. She prides herself in her investigations skills and is proud of the work she does to help the children in factories. She is a strong believer of education and letting children be children. As a member of the Labor Commission, Carrie goes undercover to factories to see how the conditions are for the people and children working. Ollie Moore, or Oliver Dinsmore is an educated man who wants to see how his father's business runs before he takes over things himself. Knowing he would get special treatment and not see the full picture if he showed up as the heir, disguised himself and started working in his father's candy factory as a janitor. It is here at his father's factory, he runs into Carrie, a girl working as a toter of candy. As he starts to get to know Carrie, he realizes, this girl isn't like most women who work in the factory. She is educated and carries herself with decorum.
As Carrie and Ollie get to know each other, they discover that their ideas on how a company should be run differ greatly and cause strife between them, but when they both set their sights on investigating the manager, Hightower, they see how they can help each other.
In the beginning of the 1900's, it was tough to be a kid. I cringe a little when I read a story of a child having to work at such a young age. I had to cheer on Carrie and her desire to help kids and see that they get an education. Carrie had a good heart and wasn't timid when it came to fighting for the little guy. Ollie grew on me in the story. As began to see things for himself and not as he has been taught.
I felt the story get a little side tracked when Carrie is introduced to and then volunteered to care for three siblings. The story veered more toward their lives and how to help them, but in the end, the kids had a part that was important to the story.
It was sweet story.
Thank you to Blogging for Books, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Historical Fiction

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echoes of Mercy takes place in the early 1900′s in Sinclair, Kansas and deals with some pressing issues for its time. Child labor, the discrepancy in pay for women and children compared to men, workplace safety, and the differences that existed between the classes in society.
This was a really enjoyable book. The characters are very well-written and interesting to read about. Ollie and Carrie are attracted to each other, but both are working undercover in the Dinsmore Chocolate Factory and don’t feel that they can fully reveal their true selves to each other. This alone brings a lot of tension to their relationship. Speaking of their relationship, it is a sweet one that develops softly throughout the story, but is fully satisfying in its growth.
I enjoyed the side characters and felt that they were well-written also. I felt intense dislike for the foreman, frustration with Letta and her brothers for some of their actions, and really enjoyed Noble and Annamarie. All of these characters really made for a well rounded story.
The author did a great job making me feel that I was really back in this time, working in the factory. I felt that I could truly “see” it and all of the busyness of the workers shuffling about in their activity. There was a good mystery throughout the book that the heroine was trying to discover the answer to, growth of certain characters as they learned to trust in God, and a satisfying conclusion. A lovely piece of historical fiction.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review, which I have given. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Original Undercover Boss

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many good things about this book; the story, the characters and the lessons that were taught. Carrie Lang has strong feelings and she’s not afraid to let people know what they are, especially when it comes to children working in factories instead of learning in school. It doesn’t take long for her to butt heads with not only her new boss, but the factory’s newest janitor, Ollie Moore. The chemistry between Carrie and Ollie was fun to watch as they both fight the growing attraction. I think my favorite character, was Keisha, the restaurant owner. She was full of life and was secure in who she was so she wasn’t afraid to call things the way they were.
This is another strong story by an excellent author. The primary storyline is Carries attempt to determine the cause of a co-worker’s death. However, the author weaves not only some romance and suspense into the story but redemption and self worth. I also loved the storyline with Lank, it was a joy to watch where the author took him in this story.
The author not only gives an entertaining story but she gives us good reminders about life and what things are truly important. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book, I was under no obligation to give anything but my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phebe S
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book i have read by Kim Vogel Sawyer, so at first glance I didn't know what to expect, but it was a great book! Excellent plot. Thrilling storyline, an amazing writing style, not to mention great morals! so if you ever have the chance and need something to read. pick up this book, you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Book Review

Date:February 25, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What could be better than a good book with chocolate? Maybe a book about chocolate!
At Dinsmore’s World Famous Chocolate Factory, everything is not as it seems. The mysterious death of an inspector working undercover. A janitor exploring the business he will inherit from the inside out. A manager set on exploiting the man who took him from nothing and made him something. A young woman, sent to finish the inspector’s job and discover if the accident that killed him was truly an accident who has a heart to see that children go to school instead of spending long hours working. As the worlds of these characters collide, they discover that God’s mercy and justice are ever present.
Kim Vogel Sawyer’s Echoes of Mercy is a very good read and will keep you wondering as to what will happen next. So, grab a box of chocolates and enjoy!
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and thought-provoking plot

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ollie Moore, the day janitor at Dinsmore’s World-Famous Chocolate Factor finds himself attracted to the new toter, Carrie Lang. But he knows Carrie isn’t someone his parents will approve of. After all, he’s not really janitor Ollie Moore. He’s Oliver Fulton Dinsmore, son of the owner of the chocolate factor, working in disguise to investigate working practices at the factory, and the factory manager, Gordon Hightower.
Carrie isn’t who she seems, either. She’s an undercover investigator for the Labor Commission, working to ascertain whether the recent death at the factory was an accident or something more sinister, and with a personal mission to end child labour (sorry. New Zealand spelling coming through here). Carrie is attracted by Ollie, but suspects there is more to him than meets the eye—he might look like a common factory worker, but he doesn’t always sound like one.
I have enjoyed the previous books I’ve read by Kim Vogel Sawyer, and Echoes of Mercy was no different. She combines interesting and likeable characters with a historical romance plot that manages to exceed my expectations in the way she weaves in issues of the day, in this case, child labour. Yet this theme is a natural outflowing of the story and never seems forced, and she gives weight to the arguments both for and against child labour: economic necessity vs. human compassion.
The story also includes a subtle but solid Christian element, best evidenced for me with this quote:
“Jesus tells us in the eleventh chapter of Matthew, verse twenty-eight, ‘Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest’. He’ll honor the promise, but you must do your part in laying down the burden.”
We live in a world where so many of us are so very busy, yet we are not always prepared to lay that burden at the cross. Hmm …
Overall, I highly recommend Echoes of Mercy as a good story with a thought-provoking yet unobtrusive theme.
Thanks to Waterbrook Multnomah and Blogging for Books for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A faith-filled adventure

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
TanyaK
Location:TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echoes of Mercy is set in 1904 Sinclair, Kansas. Investigator Caroline Lang ua sent to go undercover at the Dinsmore's World-Famous Chocolate Factory to investigate an accident.
Oliver Dinsmore who is the factory owner's son, is also undercover in his father’s factory to see how things are run before he takes it over.
He goes under the name of Ollie Moore and soon meets up with Carrie Lang and they become friends when trying to find a way to help three needy children. But he has no idea what she is hiding and her true identity. They are both faced with lying to each other about their backgrounds. What will happen to these two when their secrets are revealed?
It's a story about truth, lies and secrets. Overall, it was an excellent book and I would recommend it to those who enjoy Christian mystery or romance novels.
Thank you to Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program for my free copy which I received in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Setting EVER!

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful book! My favorite part of it? The setting. A chocolate factory is a primary factor in the story, and let me tell you – chocolate factories are awesome, and this one is no exception. Just reading about it made my mouth water more than once! This was such a sweet story (and not just because of all the chocolate) and it’s sure to touch your heart like it touched mine. Caroline was a heroine to love, and I certainly could identify with her. Ollie too was a dear, quite a lovable hero. My only problem with him was his name: Ollie is Oliver Hardy in Laurel and Hardy to me and I could never quite take this Ollie seriously. ;) The mystery was absolutely awesome and can I just say again – I really loved the setting. This one is staying on my keeper shelf!
**Blogging for Books sent me this book in return for my honest review. I wasn’t paid in any other way, nor was I required to post positively. All opinions are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A faith-filled adventure...

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Working as an undercover investigator, Caroline Lang secures a position at the Dinsmore’s World Famous Chocolates Factory in Kansas. Much to her surprise, Oliver Dinsmore has the same idea-working as an undercover janitor to monitor the factory which he soon will inherit. Through many unexpected circumstances, orphan children, questioned morals, prayers, and a sheltered heart, Caroline must stay true to her priorities and values while overcoming her own past. “Sometimes a secret must be kept for the truth to be revealed“…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Excited to read Kim Vogel Sawyer’s newest novel, I was not disappointed. With grace and mercy, she weaves an intriguing story line with equally developed characters. Some hard issues were touched upon during the course of the novel but the main character, Caroline, stayed faithful to her values, heart and beliefs. I enjoyed all the twists and turns as well as the subtle humor and genuine hope interspersed. A very well written, well thought-out, and well developed story which I enjoyed to the very end.
RATING:
5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Echoes of Mercy from WaterBrook Press Publishing for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Echoes of Mercy: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromEchoes of Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a suspicious accident occurs at the famous Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate the circumstances surrounding the event and how the factory treats its youngest employees—the child workers. Caroline’s fervent faith, her difficult childhood, and compassionate heart drove her to her job as an investigator for the Labor Commission and she is compelled to see children freed from such heavy adult responsibilities, to allow them to pursue an education.
Oliver Dinsmore, heir to the Dinsmore candy dynasty, has his own investigation to conduct. Posing as a common worker known as “Ollie Moore,” he aims to find out all he can about the family business before he takes over for his father. Caroline and Oliver become fast friends, but tension mounts when the two find themselves at odds about the roles of child workers. Hiding their identities becomes even more difficult when fate brings them together over three children in desperate need. When all is revealed, will the truth destroy the love starting to grow between them?
My Review:
As always, Sawyer delivers a story that is all things to everyone; exciting, romantic, suspenseful, heart-stopping, intriguing, and passionate in the cause Caroline and Oliver are trying to fight for. The chocolate factory was amazing to read about; (who doesn't love chocolate?!) and seeing what factories used to be like back in the infancy of mass production was quite educational.
The story moved along at a good pace, and with the backbone of the story being truth, lies, and secrets hidden - and it is a recipe for success. (Slight pun intended here.) Something interesting that caught my eye was the fact that Oliver and Caroline were on opposite sides of what they felt was a moral issue, and how even the strongest objections can be overcome by love. A wonderful novel about doing what's right no matter what the cost.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>