Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

The slim, transportable Bible for on-the-go inspiration. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible packs the study tools you want into a slender, convenient size. This Bible is as travel-ready as you are, providing a center-column reference system for quick and easy study. Don't let this Bible fool you—it may be small and portable, but it's a heavyweight when it comes to searching the Scriptures.

Features
  • Extra-thin edition—less than one inch thick
  • Center-column reference system for in-depth study of the Bible
  • NIV concise concordance for quick and easy reference
  • Eight pages of full-color maps to enhance Bible study
  • Presentation page—ideal for gift giving
  • Words of Christ in red
  • NIV 2011 Update text
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice quality for the price...

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GGPD
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for my daughter, and she loves it. It is a nice quality for the price. The same bible in bookstores cost considerably more. Should have years of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samuel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just as expected. The engraving was also done very professionally. Would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect first adult Bible for teens!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
plank5
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter Bible for teens moving up to adult Bible. Tabs are helpful for finding the books quickly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
RichG
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Bible and the purchasing process was easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the wait.

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miriam Maurer
Location:Altoona,PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I had to wait (which I really don't do well) from February till April for the reference edition...it was worth the wait. Thankfully the good(calling Phoebe a deacon rather than a servant) of the 2011 update far outweighs the bad(The Valley of the shadow of death).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact, easy to read and with great features

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rev John
Location:Cheshire, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very compact but clear print and easy to read. With all the essential features (cross reference and concordance especially) for Bible study on the move. Binding is attractive and seems tough enough to wear well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lovely color but.....

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
geneseegem
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this bible in order to read the changes made to the NIV. The bible was a lovely color and I knew, in advance, that it was 'imitation' leather. That wasn't a problem for me as I've had other 'imitation' leather-like bibles and haven't experienced any problems (so far) with the construction of the bible. For the price point, I wasn't expecting a fancy leather item. What disappointed me was the translation as well as the translation team's discussion of the reasons for the changes made to the 1984 version. I much prefer the older version and gave the Bible to a friend (who loves lavender !). I would say the bible was a fair to good choice in the price category if someone was looking to own the 2011 NIV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lower overall quality.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kenneth
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The new 2011 NIV is a very good upgrade from the 1984 translation, and has kept many of the very appropriate changes brought about in the TNIV of 2005. I have bought several of Zondervan's Bibles in the past and have been very satisfied with the quality, but the quality of paper and the stiff cover make this Bible feel cheaper made. I know that as times get tougher manufacturers have to cut some corners to make ends meet. I do applaud
Zondervan for keeping the prices of God's Holy Word affordable! Maybe in time and use this Bible will loosen up.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poorly made/quality

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:TeXas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User submitted photo
I was SO excited when I found this bible and couldn't wait to receive it. Upon receiving it I was disappointed with the quality of how it was made. The binding was glued and already coming apart. It was printed in China. The ribbon was cheap quality and crooked and not even centered in the bible. It is a gorgeous bible, but the quality was very disappointing. I was planning on having this bible for the rest of my life even when it was falling apart, but due to the poor quality I can see it falling apart in months or a couple of years. :( ... I was also unaware that the NIV has updated their version from the 1984 that we are all used to, so that was a surprise. I do however like the 2011 NIV. If you want a quality made bible, this is not for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too much clutter and repeat cross references.

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
vballking61
Location:New Port Richey, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the NIV 2011, but I don't recommend a thinline reference edition. It does not make for an enjoyable reading experience because it feels cluttered and looks confusing. There is also a lot of repeat cross references because in this Bible there are also footnotes. These footnotes will give you meanings or variants, but they will also give you some cross references. The cross references that are in the footnotes are also contained in the cross reference column. Also, the subscripts for the two are only slightly different in font, and that can be very confusing. If you want a good reading Bible get the thinline non-reference edition. If you want a good study Bible get a reference edition, but don't get the thinline version.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.