Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy

Zondervan NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy

The slim, transportable Bible for on-the-go inspiration. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Large Print is easy for you to carry around and, best of all, it is easy on your eyes. Enjoy reading God's Word with this Bible's 10.5 large-print font, and take it with you wherever you go, knowing the center-column reference system is always there when you want to dig into Scripture.

Features
  • Extra-thin edition—less than one inch thick
  • Center-column reference system for in-depth study of the Bible
  • Large 10.5-point text for comfortable reading
  • NIV concordance for quick and easy reference
  • Eight pages of full-color maps to enhance Bible study
  • Presentation page—ideal for gift giving
  • Words of Christ in red
  • NIV 2011 update text
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1771%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Review 1 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I wanted

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbara Marsaw
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an NIV Thinline Study Bible with Christ's words in red, and since the NIV is out of print, I kept my fingers crossed as to whether I could obtain one. I was delighted to be able to order one, and am very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, but stay away from bonded leather

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GZimmy
Location:Mankato, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bible back when the 2011 NIV first came on the market, so I've had it long enough to see how it will wear. I have to say that overall it is an excellent, if not outstanding, format. The text is nearly perfect in size and layout, and the black-letter is so much easier to read than the silly red-letter. The notes and cross-references are also in a good size font for those of us with aging eyes. Zondervan does need to fix their reference system, because it's maddeningly difficult to distinguish between the cross-reference letters and the text notes letters. I'm always looking for a text note that isn't there. But very few manufacturers do have a good system for that. The paper is thin, but strong. I have had very little trouble with it aside from a little wrinkling of pages, particularly at the front and back of the Bible. The silver page edging seems durable. I don't care for the appearance and would prefer gold, but that's a matter of personal preference. But I do wish Zondervan would give us that option instead of making black Bibles with ONLY silver edging. The Bible lays flat as advertised. I appreciate the Smyth-sewn binding in such an inexpensive Bible. The biggest weakness I have found is the bonded leather cover. In about two years of frequent, sometimes heavy use, it is nearly falling apart. I have had far better success with genuine leather and the new soft-feel imitation leathers for durability. Stay away from the bonded leather! If you must buy cheap, buy the imitation leather. Better yet, pop for the premium genuine leather.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The quality is good and print is easy to read

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:McMinnville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had two NIV's picked out, one of which was the NIV 2011, not the one I wanted, but it was the one I ordered by mistake. After it came I saw my error and turned around and order the same font and style in the NIV 1984 version which I prefer. I am enjoying it; the print is comfortable to read, the pages thin, but stout for underlining and sufficient margins for notes. Just wished it was available in genuine leather
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
dsieplinga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent overall. Great print size and double colume make it very readable. But it's difficult to tell the difference between footnote notations and cross-reference notations that are within the text.
The (very) brief introductions to each book are okay, I guess, but too short to be very helpful or accurate and really unnecessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

like this Bible

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah C
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this Bible, It is nice print to read and a nice cover
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Think all Bible orders

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mona
Location:Farmington , Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Should come with chapter markers with price have to pay for Bible
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the maps and the print is great. My complaint would be that the pages are really thin. They stick together and bend very easily. They also wrinkle easily. I was reading my bible last night and every page I went through got wrinkled and a few bent at the bottom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brittney Lynn
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The print is large enough to read with comfort. Easy to use and pretty to boot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent value

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Javanut
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the large font - it wasn't too much like a giant print would be but just enough so you can read in comfort without squinting. The simulated leather is a pleasure to hold and for $31 this bible is an excellent value.
I plan on using this one for church conferences and simulcasts where the speaker uses the NIV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful print size

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
quilterknitter
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the new NIV translation. It is easy to read. The print size is excellent. The center column reference helpful. My only complaint is the feel of the cover. It just feels "cheap" kind of rough. The color was what appealed to me and the size of the Bible for carrying to church. If I were to purchase another, it would be a leather cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality. Great value.

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dude77
Location:Davis, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bonded leather is very good quality as well as the binding, gold edging, and pages. The large print is good for my older eyes. I prefer black letter but cannot find a Zondervan NIV edition that offers it. One small criticism is that this edition did not contain explanations of the cross-referencing system, although it was easy to figure out for myself. I highly recommend the NIV 2011 version and believe it is an improvement over both the tNIV and the NIV 1984 version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Disappointed

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in the new niv reference Bible. It is not red letter and the concordance is less than adequate. For a reference Bible it is over advertized and under performed. Wish I wouldn't have bought it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recomend

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christopher Heady
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly recommend the NIV 2011 updated version in large print with center column references.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

product has great features.

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
jamie
Location:california
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
as an older individual, the large type this product provides makes for easy reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Serviceable Bible With Some Flaws

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oecolampad
Location:West Haven, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In most ways this is a serviceable Bible and gives good value for the price. The NIV 2011 is the best overall translation of the Bible into English in the world today. In almost every verse where they modified the NIV 1984 (39%) a marked improvement may be observed.
But on two counts I found it a disappointment. 1) It does not lie flat as the slip cover claims. 2) It has much less than a full set of cross references in its center column.
For more details see my review of the TNIV Reference Bible, ISBN: 9780310938415.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smooth, unclunky read, in paragraphs.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
tintin
Location:Willamette Valley, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm liking reading this particular NIV very much.
I'm really curious how it differs from a "language-inclusive" NIV I got from England over a decade ago, which was not allowed to be sold in the U.S., at that time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Largeprint, Thinline, Reference Bible, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wished it had a concordance

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alan A Lyon
Location:Lexington, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very nice size print, easier to read then the smaller print in the NIV and TNIV large print bibles. They should have included a concordance and also I don't think the paper quality is all that good. None the less I am happy with it and I'm in the process of switching from my TNIV to this one. Al
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.