Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed

Moody Publishers Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed

You can become one of the thousands Gary Chapman has helped to realize their hopes. Constructive action will produce self-development during your separation, as well as development in your relationship to God and to your mate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Review 1 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoughtful, Caring, Encouraging, Realistic

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rknous
Location:Pittsburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book when I was grasping at straws following my wife leaving. It seemed every page either gave insight into our situation or offered possibly solutions.
In his standard writing style, Chapman balances knowledge, stories, biblical truths and practical helps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I needed to hear

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigmyk2k
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sent this book as a gift when I contacted the Focus on the Family counselors after my wife left me and filed for divorce. I just bought 24 to give to my church and counselor to have available to give to others in this situation. It was exactly the book I needed, and now I am praying that it is not too late. (It is never too late for God)
Through the course of the well organized chapters, questions, and assignments, God spoke through Dr. Chapman and answered every question I had about how to approach this process, how to pray, what reconciliation might look like, and what it means to have hope. Additionally, he spoke- almost verbatim- and addressed many of the things that my hard-hearted wife has said. He is very clear- along with the other truth speakers in my life- that she may never change her heart. That God in His love will allow her to remain hard, and to walk away. But, at least now I have hope, answers, and direction.
I'm not giving up, and neither should you. Christ the bridegroom never gives up on us, His bride. If you, or anyone you know is going through this, get this book and read it or give it to them. Don't feel like you are being an imposition. They may not appreciate it at the time, but if you love them, you will show you care. And this book can give them words.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth a read for separated couples

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great read for separated couples who are hoping to reconcile. It gives great biblical advice on how to love your spouse and how to love yourself. It also gives great practical advice on the same. Even if only one wants to reconcile, I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but WRONG & TRAGIC suggestion on page 30!!!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
monast
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was good, I liked how he used parallels to the Bible etc.
However his suggestion on page 30 about how to end an affair was really wrong and tragic. I also let one of my friends who is a therapist to read it and she also became very upset.
You should NOT tell the other person anything about you feeling for him/her, that will just make them to continue have contact you and have a open door for you etc. These feellings are wrong and are not from God, only real love is from God. These feelings are sent from the enemy to destroy marriages and it would be sooo wrong and tragic to tell the other person in such a wrong situation about positive feeling for him/her. My husband did exactly this with the other woman and you can imagine what happened. She continued to contact him, would not leave him alone. In her world he loved her and she had her lust and the enemy on her side so why not manipulate him and get him when he has given him a reason?
Do you understand how stupid that is? I don't understand how a therapist can suggest anything like this?! He should know better. He knows exactly how manipulative these other people can be and that these feeling are just lies from the enemy!
The suggestion from my experience is that when you want to finish something so wrong and disgusting you don't even meet the person. You call the person and tell her or him that it was so wrong what happened and that you LOVE your wife/husband and want to do anything to win them back and restore your marriage. I never had any feelings for you, I was fooled and deceived. Tell the person; respect me and NEVER EVER contact me again!
This is the only right way to cut off something sooo wrong! Don't ever feel sorry for the other person 'cause they knew exactly what they got into. Put your energy on your own marriage and the gift God has given you, that you have damaged.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
ckhale
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very inspiring book. It gave me lots of comfort and helped me look at my marriage problems in a different view. Also helped me focus on what I could do to possibly help my marriage and improve myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chad Hayford
This book is absolutely amazing!!!! It has helped me to see the things I was doing wrong not only when we were together, but now. It has also shown me not only what I needed to change if I want to reconcile my mariage, but how to do it. It has given me hope!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Im not done reading it yet, but the message in this book and my great support system is giving me hope and peace. No matter what, God will always be with us in our times of need. He fills our lives with blessings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hope for The Separated: Wounded Marriages Can Be Healed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Spence
Very good book with lots of great advice and practical, biblical knowledge. I am doing all I can to save my marriage and this book has opened my eyes to my own faults and how to become a better Christian wife
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.