Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed

Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed

The slim, transportable Bible for on-the-go inspiration. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Large Print is easy for you to carry around and, best of all, it is easy on your eyes. Enjoy reading God's Word with this Bible's 10.5 large-print font, and take it with you wherever you go, knowing the center-column reference system is always there when you want to dig into Scripture.

Features
  • Extra-thin edition—less than one inch thick
  • Center-column reference system for in-depth study of the Bible
  • Large 10.5-point text for comfortable reading
  • NIV concordance for quick and easy reference
  • Eight pages of full-color maps to enhance Bible study
  • Presentation page—ideal for gift giving
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a gift that met expectations

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
RickT
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a Christmas present for my wife, she loves it! The quality is superb, I will order again!
The only complaint I have is that the embossing should be available in different fonts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GGPD
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my husband, it's large print, but not too large. A nice quality bible. I would recommend without hesitation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Bible

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj99
Location:Roswell GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so love my new NIV. First one I had was hardback and I "used it too death"! I've kept it together with packaging tape for a while! This bible feels like silk in my hand. The leather is the best. I would highly recommend.
My dissatisfaction lies with the personalization of my beautiful bible. It looks as if it's going uphill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible out there

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AL Ain
Location:Greenwood Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got this amazing bible, I was really suprise with how high the quality of it is. The smell of genuine leather turn me right on and I just fell in love with it and the words of God inside. It is my farorite book to read before I go to bed. The price was awsome also. Great great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Bible You Will Ever Own

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
RFD57
Location:Wyckoff, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching and searching for the perfect Bible. The perfect Bible is a Bible that combines the right materials (it looks right) and the right translation. I tried the ESV. Ok leather, ok translation. I tried the NASB. Below average leather, not an easy translation. NLT? Nice leather, too soft a translation. The NIV is the best translation (sorry all you nitpickers out there) but Zondervan always made it with something called "bonded leather." Until now. FINALLY they have a NIV with a leather cover. And not just any leather. It is as soft and subtle as they come. None better. And I should know, because I own all the others. And the print size is just right. Not too small, not too big. Just perfect. I have the Bible that I will use for the rest of my life. I give it 5 stars because 6 stars is not an option. I don't normally review products, but I could not wait to share my thoughts with those of you out there that have been searching like I have.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I have been waiting for!

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ms Linda
Location:Tega Cay, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this bible! There is nothing negative to say about it. The pages are well printed, the concordance is well done, it has double ribbon markers and the cover is so soft and made with a quality leather that really does lay flat making reading and studying much easier. I have gone from bible to bible for years and now I believe I have found the one that I will be sticking with for many years until it is completely worn through. Thank you Zondervan for taking the time and investing the money into a quality bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't care for thumbnail guides

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dan Bergstrom
Location:Billings, MT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I though I was careful to avoid ordering a Bible with thumbnail guides in the open edge. Unfortunately, this model included the guides, a real distraction.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Les2U
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible. The only thing I miss is having the words of Jesus in red. Otherwise, it is perfect for reading and studying. The cover is soft and pliable. Nice!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful Bible and a good value!

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colonel Fab
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover is soft and buttery and the print in large and bold. The Bible was surprisingly thin for a reference edition and very flexible - which I like. I'm very happy with it. It's something I'll cherish and pass on to one of my kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Very Nice

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toots N Hary
Location:Omaha NE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Bible. Easy to read and understand. Beautifully made and easy to handle. This is a best buy in my opinion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is exactly what I was looking for.

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is exactly what I was looking for. I didn't want to keep straining my eyes to read the smaller print Bibles. I have a NIV Life Application Study Bible and the print is a little small. This Reference Bible is much easier to read especially during a Church service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 THINLINE NIV REFERENCE BIBLE LARGEPRINT

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
GLORIA SCHOEN
Location:Deer Park,NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE LEATHER IS BUTTERY SOFT. THE LARGE PRINT IS VERY EASY TO READ. THE PAPER USED IS THIN BUT DOES NOT BLEED THROUGH WITH A BALLPOINT PEN. VERY, VERY PLEASED WITH THE QUALITY OF THS BIBLE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sweetie Love
Location:Tougaloo, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible looks very nice and it is in large print and compact, just what I need when I am at Church and when I am studing the Bible at home. My name on the Bible makes the Bible all the more personal, thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Leather Feel !

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leee
Location:california
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray, hooray! I FINALLY found the leather feel that I've been searching for. I even bought a very expensive Highland Goatskin Bible in my quest for the most supple, softest feeling leather. I returned that Bible as it didn't meet the expectation for the price and found this NIV Premium Leather for 1/2 the cost! Beautiful soft leather. Two ribbons are fine ... although I usually add more of my own later :). Large enough print but not huge if you need really large. Very wide (nice!) center column. Great feel regarding the size...not to large or thick! And I guess I will be okay with the new wording added of "Brothers and Sisters" versus "Brethren" or "Brothers" (ie: 1 Thess 4:13). The leather makes up for the wording :) Pretty silver gilt edged paper. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this new NIV Bible: The quality of the leather cover is awesome. The description says it's cowhide but it actually feels more like a fine goatskin...very soft and supple. The paper quality is a bit less than what I would expect in such a luxurious binding, but it's still a good quality and an overall non-issue. Print size is perfect for my maturing eyesight. I expect many years of daily service from this quality product. An excellent value for the money!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Thinline Reference, Black Thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding in every way -- highly recommend

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Wheaton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I am very happy with this Bible. The smythe-sewn binding lays flat out of the box. The typeface and layout are outstanding, and the paper quality is better than most, but not quite excellent. Nice dark print on bright white paper, and minimal ghosting / bleed-through. 10.5 typeface is readable without being GIANT. Feels very natural, like a regular book. The ebony premium leather appears to be the same stuff that Zondervan used to call "Renaissance Fine Leather." Very flexible and feels great in the hand. Only complaint is that the binding is paper-lined rather than leather-lined, which shouldn't be the case with a Bible at this price. But you can't have everything. Two ribbon markers, 100-page Concordance, and 8 maps.
Another big plus, from my standpoint: as far as I know, this is the only black-letter edition of the NIV 2011.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.