Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

The slim, transportable Bible for on-the-go inspiration. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Large Print is easy for you to carry around and, best of all, it is easy on your eyes. Enjoy reading God's Word with this Bible's 10.5 large-print font, and take it with you wherever you go, knowing the center-column reference system is always there when you want to dig into Scripture.

Features
  • Extra-thin edition
  • Center-column reference system for in-depth study of the Bible
  • Large 10.5-point text for comfortable reading
  • NIV concordance for quick and easy reference
  • Eight pages of full-color maps to enhance Bible study
  • Presentation page—ideal for gift giving
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.25"
  • NIV 2011 update text
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 3190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a gift that met expectations

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
RickT
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a Christmas present for my wife, she loves it! The quality is superb, I will order again!
The only complaint I have is that the embossing should be available in different fonts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GGPD
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my husband, it's large print, but not too large. A nice quality bible. I would recommend without hesitation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Bible

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj99
Location:Roswell GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so love my new NIV. First one I had was hardback and I "used it too death"! I've kept it together with packaging tape for a while! This bible feels like silk in my hand. The leather is the best. I would highly recommend.
My dissatisfaction lies with the personalization of my beautiful bible. It looks as if it's going uphill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I wanted

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbara Marsaw
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an NIV Thinline Study Bible with Christ's words in red, and since the NIV is out of print, I kept my fingers crossed as to whether I could obtain one. I was delighted to be able to order one, and am very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible out there

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AL Ain
Location:Greenwood Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got this amazing bible, I was really suprise with how high the quality of it is. The smell of genuine leather turn me right on and I just fell in love with it and the words of God inside. It is my farorite book to read before I go to bed. The price was awsome also. Great great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Bible You Will Ever Own

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
RFD57
Location:Wyckoff, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching and searching for the perfect Bible. The perfect Bible is a Bible that combines the right materials (it looks right) and the right translation. I tried the ESV. Ok leather, ok translation. I tried the NASB. Below average leather, not an easy translation. NLT? Nice leather, too soft a translation. The NIV is the best translation (sorry all you nitpickers out there) but Zondervan always made it with something called "bonded leather." Until now. FINALLY they have a NIV with a leather cover. And not just any leather. It is as soft and subtle as they come. None better. And I should know, because I own all the others. And the print size is just right. Not too small, not too big. Just perfect. I have the Bible that I will use for the rest of my life. I give it 5 stars because 6 stars is not an option. I don't normally review products, but I could not wait to share my thoughts with those of you out there that have been searching like I have.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a beautiful Bible

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennmarie
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my mom for Christmas. She loved it. It is beautiful and the large lettering are perfect for her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

like this Bible

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah C
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this Bible, It is nice print to read and a nice cover
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Husband Loves It !

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah C
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this to my husband as a gift and he Loves it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I have been waiting for!

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ms Linda
Location:Tega Cay, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this bible! There is nothing negative to say about it. The pages are well printed, the concordance is well done, it has double ribbon markers and the cover is so soft and made with a quality leather that really does lay flat making reading and studying much easier. I have gone from bible to bible for years and now I believe I have found the one that I will be sticking with for many years until it is completely worn through. Thank you Zondervan for taking the time and investing the money into a quality bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Think all Bible orders

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mona
Location:Farmington , Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Should come with chapter markers with price have to pay for Bible
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Les2U
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible. The only thing I miss is having the words of Jesus in red. Otherwise, it is perfect for reading and studying. The cover is soft and pliable. Nice!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't care for thumbnail guides

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dan Bergstrom
Location:Billings, MT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I though I was careful to avoid ordering a Bible with thumbnail guides in the open edge. Unfortunately, this model included the guides, a real distraction.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the maps and the print is great. My complaint would be that the pages are really thin. They stick together and bend very easily. They also wrinkle easily. I was reading my bible last night and every page I went through got wrinkled and a few bent at the bottom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent bible.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
DonC
Location:Greenwich, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this beautiful Bible for my 9-year old daughter. She absolutely loves it and picks it up to look up verses (a new thing for her) nearly every day. It is gorgeously crafted with gilt edged pages, fine leather covers, and all of Jesus' own words in red -- which is a big deal for us. Couldn't be happier with the product. I'd normally expect to pay 2x as much for such quality. Now my 14-year old daughter is asking for one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love The Two Tone Color

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
CINNAMONTEA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do like this Bible. I wanted a NIV, much easier to understand God's word. When you're over 40, large print is needed and a plus to have. In the back there is maps and concordance/reference which is helpful for studing. God's word is boldly in red. Caramel/chocolate two tone is a odd and pretty color to have. Imitation Leather, yet still nice. My only con/negative would be the pages aren't of much durability, made very thin and easily to rip or tear. Very nice large print, reference Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brittney Lynn
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The print is large enough to read with comfort. Easy to use and pretty to boot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful Bible and a good value!

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colonel Fab
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover is soft and buttery and the print in large and bold. The Bible was surprisingly thin for a reference edition and very flexible - which I like. I'm very happy with it. It's something I'll cherish and pass on to one of my kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Very Nice

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toots N Hary
Location:Omaha NE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Bible. Easy to read and understand. Beautifully made and easy to handle. This is a best buy in my opinion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Thinline Reference, Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent value

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Javanut
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the large font - it wasn't too much like a giant print would be but just enough so you can read in comfort without squinting. The simulated leather is a pleasure to hold and for $31 this bible is an excellent value.
I plan on using this one for church conferences and simulcasts where the speaker uses the NIV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>