Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Till We Have Faces

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Till We Have Faces

The unlovely Orual, eldest daughter of the King of Glome, becomes so consumed by her mingled love for and jealousy of her beautiful half-sister that she makes a complaint to the gods---and receives an answer she did not expect. This novel, possibly Lewis' best work and his personal favorite, is the compelling reworking of the myth of Cupid and Psyche. 313 pages, softcover from Harcourt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Till We Have Faces
Review 1 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth reading again and again

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
pilgrimjack
Location:Tioga County, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lewis excelled in writing fantasy. This tale based loosely on an ancient myth is definitely worth reading again and again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Location:Hickory Grove, South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Till We Have Faces was C.S. Lewis's favourite and many people regard it as his best work. It's hard to stop reading once you start! I definitely recommend this incredibly fascinating book to everyone! Read it more than once! There's so much more there than meets the eye. I guarantee that you will always find something new each time you read Till We Have Faces. I learned so much through reading this book, and still am! 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a classic. Period, exclamation mark! I was doing some research on C.S. Lewis and when I found out this was his personal favorite, I was kind of, well...shocked. Why, I wondered, have I not heard of it? I mean, in my little world I am like the biggest C.S. Lewis fan EVER and yet...I didn't know about his personal favorite?!
Long and short of it all, I had to buy it. After reading it, I had a new question. Why isn't this book as well known as the Chronicles of Narnia or The Screwtape Letters?!
This book was AMAZING! It completely changed me. I feel like a new person after reading it. A wiser person. I see life and the world in a complete different perspective. Like, I cannot even BEGIN to describe what this book has done to me!
This is a book you NEED to read and one I can't wait to pick up again! Buy it! It will change you. And for the good!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book is excellet allegory

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MMay
Location:Onalaska, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Books were in excellent shape. Delivery was earlier than expected. Was able to forward one of the books to a teacher friend who will use it as an option for students to read. Will keep the other. Thanks for the great service!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Meaghan
"Till We Have Faces" is a timeless tale intertwined with countless morals and values that cannot possibly be discovered after being read only once. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is considering reading it. It's the kind of book everyone should find the time to read. But I also recommend that it be read more than once, for there is much more to this book than meets the eye. Study it and I am sure you will learn more from it than you imagined. It is not a book to simply be left on the shelf.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Erin
My favorite, my favorite, my absolute work by Jack. Actually my favorite novel, period. Something is just so intoxicating and tangible in it. I try to read it every year at Thanksgiving, when I first purchased it. Knowing this work and the Space Trilogy are signs of a true fan.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sir Iliad
One of the the best books ever written. This is undoubtedly my favorite work of fiction by the renowned author CS Lewis. I have read it and reread it and each time I am touched in new ways. This is a truly epic tale of the depths of pain and the heights of beauty of the human soul. Reader's hearts will be moved in incredible ways as they read the powerful story of Psyche and Orual. The Queen of the Veil and the Queen of the Mountain. Each of the characters is developed so deeply as to be unforgetable, and the unexpected twist halfway through the book, man! I felt like I had been hit in the face with a crowbar! The philisophical genuis that Lewis put into the book is purely amazing, one that will open the reader's soul to new realms of beauty, hate, envy, and love. Perhaps a little uncomfortable is how the book, like all of Lewis' tales, reveals the reader's heart to themself. A truly fantastic book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Steve Falkinburg
I have read many of Lewis' works and this is one of my favorites. He masterfully uses the story to address many of the core issues we face today - the established, ancient religion vs. the enlightened philosophy of the day; a possessive love vs. a love that trusts and desires what the loved one longs for; blaming God for the pain we experience in life vs. trusting in His plan and direction. While one must be careful about drawing too much comparison between the characters in the story and the Christian life, lessons can certainly be learned in reference to the innocence and obedience of Psyche, the vulnerability of the Fox's wisdom, the service and dedication of Bardia, and the frustration and unfulfillment of Orual. We cannot understand life until we have faces and we will not have faces until we have grappled with God's truth and applied it to the many difficulties and uncetainties we encounter in life. I encourage you to read Till We Have Faces. You will enjoy the story and it will challenge you to think.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Steve
An extraordinary take on an old tale. Part fantasy, but using elements from the real world, Lewis weaves together sometimes seemingly disparate strands to re-tell the myth of Psyche in a unique way...I don't want to give the twist away, as it is best experienced, so I fear I must end the review with this...this book is in my top ten fiction books. Enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
John Otte
A fantastic book. Like the other reviewers have said, a regrettably unknown classic. While the spirituality of "Faces" isn't hit-you-over-the-head obvious, it is there. Here's a hint: Orual and Psyche are two different kinds of Christians, and their life experiences relate to the two ways people come to God. One finds the journey easy, the other is converted, kicking and screaming the whole way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Melissa
I read a C.S. Lewis' biography, and it stated that this book is both cryptic and hard to read. However, a good friend lent me this book, and I read it, and it was very good. But it has almost no spiritual application. There are two parts, and there is some in the second part, especially where they are describing Orual realizing how to really love someone, but the rest of the book has no spiritual applicatio -- it is a myth retold. The myth of Cupid and Psyche. Therefore it needs to be treated as such.It has been noted, by a biographer, that this book is the only book C.S. Lewis ever wrote without copying someone else's writing style. The other books he wrote he used his favorite author's technique's of writing. Like George Macdonald.Blessed Be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kelly Rose
I agree with Steve from NC. This book is to be read over and over again. It is full of revealing truths that are OFTEN not caught on the first reading. It's a pity that more people haven't read this book; everyone that has loves it. It was Lewis's personal favorite of all his works, and it's mine as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
M. B.
What a delightful book! It is my personal favorite. It is an absolute shame that more books like this do not exist: books that communicate timeless and eternal truths through the power of storytelling. This retelling of the Cupid/Psyche myth engaged my mind and heart in a powerful way. I doubt anyone can read this book without being changed by the underlying message.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Till We Have Faces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2000
Customer Avatar
Steve Vishanoff
Here is the rich fruit of Lewis' long reflection on religion, love, and grace. This is not the place to begin reading Lewis; it is a place to return again and again for some of his best thought and writing. It deserves to be called a classic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.