Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Pieces of Silver

Kregel Publications Pieces of Silver

Liesel Bonner never questioned her devotion to her country. But because of her heritage, her country questions her. Despite the fact that no one has any proof of her disloyalty. Liesel is fired from her stenographer's position and has great difficulty finding another job because few people trust those with a name as German as her own. When she begins to suspect that the man she loves is involved in espionage against America, Liesel knows she has to do something. As her trust for others crumbles, Liesel finds that only God's loving protection--and the enigmatic agent who is tearing her world apart--can save her.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Pieces of Silver
Review 1 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
This has to rank among the top 5-10 books I've ever read! After reading it, most other books are just boring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
This is an excellent book, well worth reading. I won't give you any details about it, since the other reviewers did such a great job at that. My only complaint is that the author does not give a clear reason why the U.S. entered the war. They did so because Germany was threatening to take over the United States. This was found out through the British decoding of a message from Zimmerman to Mexico, trying to get Mexico's help in attacking the U.S., etc. But it is still well worth the read. It is eye-opening in the fact that it makes you realize that prejudice has always been around, ever since sin entered the world!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gwen
This is a great book!I read it in 3 hours,I couldn't put it down! The plot is so captivating!I never knew what was going to happen! The plot twists are amazing! Towards the beginnig you could tell where it was going,but not completely. It's just really a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Linda Wichman
PIECES OF SILVER is a dynamic novel! Its been a long time since a historical romance set during WWI has stirred my soul and imagination. But with PIECES OF SILVER, Maureen Lang has succeeded in holding me captive with her no holds barred love story of international espionage, betrayal, and vivid characters that you either love or hate. Furthermore, her descriptive prose makes for the most enjoyable read and her surprise ending leaves you wanting more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
S Sleeman
Pieces of Silver is a riveting story that keeps you reading long into the night. Maureen Lang gives us well-rounded characters who tug at your heart along with a compelling story line. Maureen takes the reader back into time in such a way that the struggles of her characters seem timeless. Even if you dont like historical fiction, buy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cynthia M. Hickey
Sometimes its easy to see racism and prejudice in todays world, but Pieces of Silver shows us up front and plain-faced the prejudices rampant when America was young. Then, racism wasnt only about the color of someones skin, but their name and country of origin. Not only does Pieces of Silver show us the struggles of a young America, but it teaches us about forgiveness, tolerance and Gods love. A great story. author of Pursued By Evil, A Dream Fulfilled and Haunted By Evil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jill Eileen Smith
Author Maureen Lang has done an excellent job in her debut novel, Pieces of Silver, in recreating American society during the First World War. So much of that era mimics our contemporary world that I could easily relate to her characters emotions. Ms. Lang has proven her ability as an author to create a believable setting with unforgettable characters. I was entranced by this authors skill and captivated enough to keep turning pages until the very end. Here is a glimpse of the story:Liesel Bonner never questioned her own patriotism, but when America joins the First World War, Liesel not only loses her job because of her German heritage, she must face the possibility of betraying the man she has loved since her girlhood. Worse, she must betray him to a man who has turned her own life upside down from the moment he stepped into it. Torn between her commitment to her faith, her loyalty to her country, and her desire for love - Liesel maneuvers a dangerous path strewn with lies, deceit, and treachery. Her choices will reveal her true loyalties...and her destiny.I had the privilege of interviewing Maureen Lang for my Spotlight section of my website. If you type in my name jilleileensmith.com, you can read about the author behind the story. In any case, please dont hesitate to pick up this book. It is an amazing story and an excellent read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mark Gilbert
Maureen Lang has brought to life a time in our nations history that is often overlooked. For me any good fiction book needs to have strong and believable characters. All the main characters in Pieces of Silver are well developed and draw you into their world. I wnated to know what was going to hapen next. The book was a great read and I look forward to a sequal.Mark Gilbert
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2006
I was hooked from the first page. My family has stories they've handed down from WWI, so I especially enjoyed this book. Lang brings to life a forgotten era, a land of immigrants, and Americans divided in their loyalties. Danger and intrigue were around every corner. Lang's true-to-life portrayal of the tension that dominated America during those years made it impossible for me to put the book down. I read into the wee hours of the morning to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sherri Gallagher
Pieces of Silver by Maureen Lang is a great read! It draws you into the story and the perspective of Liesel immediately. Set in the time of WWI, it provides wonderful, accurate historical information. This is great era and too little has been written about it in current novels. The perspective of being discriminated against for being fair-haired and blue-eyed with a German sounding name is a wonderful teaching tool for our current teenagers. It puts them in the moment and helps to personalize what it feels like to be hated for no reason beyond your looks. The best part is they are learning through an interesting upbeat story filled with hope for the future. I hope Maureen and Kregel Publications come out with a sequel soon. I know as soon as I hear about it I will order it and hope to find out what happens next. This is a great gift to give to older readers or teen readers, everyone can relate to the story and enjoy. If you have a friend that you are not sure of their beliefs, this is a great book to help introduce them to the idea of looking to God in your everyday life. It is well done and may help them to accept Him into their hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lisa Goins
Liesel Bonner is driven by her patriotic desire to serve her country and is devastated when fired from her stenographer job because of her German heritage. Determined to be a productive American citizen she unwillingly agrees to using a false name to keep her new job. Her falsehood is exposed by federal agent, David de Sorre who has been investigating her boyfriend Josef Woerner for espionage. Liesel will be forced to choose between her loyalty to God and country or Josef. A wonderful story I couldn't put down untill I was finished. The faith of the main characters is tested and refined in this story taking place during WWI. Hope there's a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
My grandfather was a veteran of the Great War, the 'war to end all wars.' Sadly, in the shadow of the horrors of WWII, this important era in our nation's history is often forgotten. The author does a wonderful job illuminating the intrigue of espionage on American soil at that time, and she weaves a powerful story of betrayal and sacrifice with a depth not often seen in fiction. Sometimes doing the right thing doesn't feel right, but it still must be done. The heroine, Leisel, had some tough choices to make. As the story continued you saw that her loyalty to America and to her faith superceded all others. A very patriotic and uplifting story, Pieces of Silver was very had to put down. I enjoyed every page and found the story fascinating and very well-written. I admired the hero, David, for his steadfast devotion to God and country as well. The way their plight brought them together was rich, and the love developing between them was truly powerful. This story was worth reading, and unlike your typical war story, there was no actual war content in the story itself. It was more about espionage and the subversive tactics used at war time, and it had me on the edge of my seat. The coolest part of all was the ending. Methinks a sequel is in the works. I can't wait to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pieces of Silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Joelle Charbonneau
Full of vivid descriptions and heartfelt emotion, Pieces of Silver is set in the beginning days of United States involvement in World War One. With a light touch, author Maureen Lang paints a picture of the plight of German Americans in this trying time.Heroine Liesel Bonner is a strong woman who is loyal to her family and to the people she loves. She is a well-rounded character who is courageous and intelligent, but who also makes human mistakes when thrust into a plot of political intrigue. What I find most appealing is the part faith plays in her life. When life is most confusing, Liesel turns to her faith for strength. This is not a book that uses a fictional story to promote Christianity, but a well-crafted and gripping story that contains characters of strong faith. Pieces of Silver is a wonderful love story told amidst a difficult political climate and will entertain any reader who likes history, romance or just a wonderfully told tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.