Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Remember Me

Kregel Publications Remember Me

Josef von Woerner is a wanted man, only he doesn't know it. Raised to love Germany above everything else, Josef once had few qualms about taking any action necessary to deprive the Allies of essential armaments. In this dramatic sequel to Pieces of Silver, again set during World War I, Josef falls in love with one of the most patriotic women in America,who would surely have nothing to do with him if she knew his past.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Remember Me
Review 1 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2010
I loved Pieces of Silver, but I loved this sequel even more! A truly beautiful love story. Maureen Lang is a brilliant author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
Another excellent read. I don't believe I have ever read another story that so shows the power of God to change lives. It was a beautiful picture of being a new creation in Christ!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Schmid
Excellent!! I could imagine every scene she painted with her words. After reading Pieces of Silver, I was not sure I would like to read more about Josef but the story was wonderful. It is so touching and powerful.I have read several others of her books and they are excellent as well. Highly recommend her books and cannot wait for any more to come from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Galliford
This is one of the most wonderful stories I've read. Don't like to put it down as am anxious to see what happens in the end. Would love to read more of her books. Worth the money. Praise the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gwen
I really liked Pieces of Silver. But I was disappointed with this one. I didn't think it was as good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri Clay
The year was 1917 during WWI and Josef wakes to find himself in the care of a stranger who he only knows as Hank. He cant understand why he is here let alone who he is. Finally Hank begins to fill in some details especially since he is moving him to his farm in Culpepper, Virginia. Hank admitted to being Josefs biological father, having had an affair with his mother who was now dead and was raised by his mothers husband Otto von Woerner. Hank filled in a few more details that confused Josef he was born American but Otto raised him as a German.In Culpepper Josef meets Lissa Parker a nurse who lives down the road. From the beginning love grows between them despite Hanks attempts to separate them. Josef cant remember his past nor will Hank tell him anything. Lissa gives Josef a Bible to read which causes Josef to remember the faith in God his mother had taught him. Lissa continues to nurse Josef back to health knowing that she must leave soon. Since shes leaving Josef decides to enlist even though he still does not know about his past, only Hank seems to know the truth that Josef is a wanted man. Later Josef is captured and in an enemy prison camp his memory comes back. Josef knows he must pay for his past but what about Lissa, the most patriotic woman he knows will she stand by him? He knows he must find her. Read how he amazingly escapes from the prison camp, runs to Lissas side only to find her sick with fever and is arrested and returned to the states without her even knowing he was there. Remember Me is the sequel to Pieces of Silver, an awesomely unique historical fiction novel. The author Maureen Lang has really painted a true picture of life during WWI. Youll really begin to believe youre reading a true story ripped from the headlines of a newspaper during WWI and not a fiction novel. Youll see how Gods hand moves upon the hearts and lives of his people and that no matter what God is in control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Remember Me by Maureen Lang, a very timely book about two young adults caught up in the maelstrom of War. Lissa Parker is making plans to head overseas as a nurse with the Red Cross in 1917 when she meets and falls in love with a young man who has lost his memory. Josef von Woerner heads to Europe to fight. As his memory comes back in bits and pieces he is faced with several life-changing decisions. This is not just a love story, but a heart-searching book with many twists and turns. If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love reading this book and learn much about this era in the process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Josef Warner, as he knows himself now, is given a chance few people receive; to start over with a completely blank slate. However, that comes with its own consequences. After being shot by an American agent and rescued by a man he doesnt know, he starts a new phase of life with no memory of his past.He meets a Lissa Parker. Shes a compassionate nurse, beautiful woman and loyal patriot. They begin a journey together creating a present, planning the future and hoping is memory will return. When she travels to war torn Europe to serve in the Red Cross, he enlists to fight for his country, the United States of America. When, in the stress of battle, Josefs memory of his German heritage and staunch resistance to the American involvement in the war returns, his future is threatened. Will his present service and sacrifice atone for his past crimes? Can his renewed faith in Gods truth carry him through the present trials? And, will the love between him and Lissa survive into their future?Maureen Lang has written an historical masterpiece. Her understanding of a tumultuous time in our nations history makes the line between fiction and non-fiction blur. Her compelling characters and tender love story draw your heart. And, in a day when our nation still struggles over the issues of war and peace, she touches the heart with Gods truth above all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story was fantastic! Like Tricia Goyer, Maureen Lang can get you to fall in love with the characters and their stories and make you sad when the story ends. Yet, there is always a satisfying conclusion that will make you smile. I am a total fan of Lang's historicals. She had me cringing several times over the descriptions which were vivid and realistic to the point where I felt that lump forming in my throat. War is so devastating. At any rate, the main focus of the book was not so much the war as the story of two people fighting for what they believed. The court scenes were fabulous and the devastation of the flu epidemic was well done.I don't want to give away some of the high points of the story because that will give away what happened, but I feel I can share that this story gives you a strong sense of patriotism and that glow you feel about American history. Overall, this story kept me on the edge of my seat. I really didn't know what would happen next. I detest a predictable story. Oh, and I was mentally living in 1917-1919 during WWI, also known as The Great War. It was that good. In fact, I can't think of a single weakness in this story. It made my heart sing. And this author is a master at dragging out the tension and building it until you want to either scream or cry with the characters. Fabulous historical fiction!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra Moore
Josef imagines he is a loyal American and falls in love with one of the most patriotic women in America--a Red Cross nurse, Lissa Parker. But Josef is really a wanted man. When his memory returns, Josef is convinced he must make himself worthy of Lissa's love--but will she still love him once she knows the terrible truth?Another historical written with great attention to detail, Maureen Lang's sweeping story of Josef Woerner's triumph in love and tragic descent into the confusion of his past, will delight your senses and warm your heart. Though Josef's continual stream of heroism overseas seemed a bit too perfect, the detail and flow of the writing, not to mention the climactic ending, are both satisfying and heartwarming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Hickey
We meet Josef von Woerner in Pieces of Silver, where we learn of his love for Germany, the fatherland. In Remember Me, Josef wakes up injured and not knowing who he is. He is being cared for by a stranger named, Hank and falls in love with a beautiful, very patriotic nurse, Lissa Parker.As their love grows, Josef enters the first World War, fighting on the side of United States and the allies. The stress and trauma of being captured brings back his memory. His newly accepted faith spurs him to do the right thing, even if coming forward about all the things he had done to try and prevent America from entering into the war, causes him the love of Lissa.Remember Me is a story of God's redemption, the power of love, and one man's undying desire to follow God's will. I found this book very hard to put down, wondering what would happen to Josef next. The love story is pure and powerful. I am eagerly awaiting Maureen Lang's next book. - author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Remember Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sherri Gallagher
This is a must read for Christians in this time of war. Whether you are pro-, anti, or unsure of your feelings about what is happening in Iraq, you need to read this book. It is a wonderful romance set against the backdrop of WWI. I finished it in one sitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.